Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd

Patrick and Beth go to the Holy Land in the 10th century B.C., where their goal is to get back the ring Hugh stole and return it to him in 1450s England where he belongs. But troubles await them as soon as they step out of the Imagination Station-first they meet an angry bear and then later they meet an angry giant! Join the cousins as they learn that having a giant faith is more important than having a giant on your side.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

on Something (at which) to Sling a Rock

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To be perfectly honest, this is what I expected when I heard about these Imagination Station books. A novelized version of Superbook or The Flying House. (Google those, if you need to.) Essentially, time travel, but to places and events from the Bible. I'm fine with that and there's absolutely nothing wrong with this installment, but I'm kind of glad that more of history is covered by the series. I guess it kind of lends more credulity to the books and the Bible.
Now, the gist of the book. Beth and Patrick find themselves on yet another quest and this time, they're chasing a moving target. The Imagination Station drops them off in the world of a shepherd boy named David and there is no shortage of adventure. Bear attacks, secret missions, and more action than you can sling a rock at, Showdown with a Shepherd is another solid addition to the growing catalog of this young reader's series.
Another quick read and enjoyable story for younger readers and fans of Magic Tree House or Secrets of Droon books who are looking for (or at least don't mind) a Christian twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical imagination station adventure!

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Biblical adventure in the Imagination Station.
Patrick and Beth are on a mission to find the ring stolen by Hugh and return him to his proper time. When they step out of the Imagination Station Beth and Patrick are flung into a full blown adventure!
I think that this particular novel in the series was especially cool because Beth and Patrick traveled back to Bible times, during the time when David faced the giant. What I love about these books is that they are so children friendly with big print and managable words, that are easy for young readers to understand. But not only that, they contain historic facts interwoven with the storyline, plus a great lesson about courage and faith.
There's plenty of action in these short books, so don't let the size fool you. These books are perfect for kids who are just starting to read on their own, that age when it's hard to find a book that will engage and is at the appropriate reading level.
Overall a series that I highly recommend to children to read on their own or to have their parents read to them :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Showdown with the Shepherd, book five in the Imagination Station series By Marianne Hering and Brock Eastman was a great book! The series follows cousins Patrick and Beth in their various adventures in the imagination station. Adventures in Odyssey lover will fall in love with these books. The series is written for younger readers but people of all ages will love the christian values it teaches and enjoy the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tyndale Summer Reading Program by Ethan Terry

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:ny
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Showdown with the Shepherd” Brock Eastman and Marianne Hering
Patrick and Beth visited Whit's End and traveled in the imagination station to David the shepherd's time. They were trying to find the ring that Hugh took and give it to Mr. Whitaker so that he could travel in the imagination station. David the shepherd saved them from a bear. They watched David fight Goliath and win. Hugh was hiding out in the Philistine army. The cousins found Hugh hiding in a bush. They all jumped into the imagination station, barely missing a bear chasing them. When they got in the imagination station, Hugh disappeared and the ring was left. The story continues with the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Historical Fiction for Younger Kids!

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:Lovely, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 5th book in the Imagination Station series is a bit different as it's based on a bible story (the others, so far, weren't). It follows the adventure of Beth and Patrick as they continue to uncover the mystery of the Imagination Station, Albert, Hugh, Lord Darkthorn, and the stolen treasures. This book is written at a 2nd grade reading level, but even I was captured with the story! Definitely a page turner that keeps you hooked and makes you want to read more about the real historical figures between its pages.
My children and I have read all of the Imagination Station books in order up to this one. You could read them alone, but the story is a continuing one and I highly recommend starting with the 1st in the series, Voyage With the Vikings.
As a homeschooling mom, I use these as part of my history curriculum. Yes, historical fiction may be a bit unorthodox, but it grabs my children's interest, real-life characters are featured in these books, and the authors stick as close to possible to real life events as can be expected with 2nd graders historical fiction. It feeds my kids interest in going deeper with history, and gives them a love for it that most public school history classes don't. This is my favorite series for this age level and I couldn't recommend it more highly!
By the way, you can get Imagination Station books for free by participating in Tyndale's Summer Reading Program! Google it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

5th In A Series

Date:July 10, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like Adventures in Odyssey, and this new series for intermediate readers doesn't change my opinion.
This book tells (re-tells) the story of David and Goliath. Since I am already completely familiar with biblical account, the plot was less entertaining than some of the other books in the series. Nonetheless, I highly recommend the series to elementary aged readers. It also makes a great read aloud to younger kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved every bit of the book

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Swiss Miss
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Showdown with the Shepherd, encouragement from God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

And the adventure continues

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With this series you get to travel through time on an adventure to the unknown to find objects or people all while having fun learning history and Biblical truths. I love the balance of the fun and the educational aspects of these books, it’s a great combination. In book #5 we travel back to Biblical times and meet non-other than young David as he's heading to take food to his brothers in battle against Philistines and Goliath. This is one of my children's favorite Bible passages and I know they are going to enjoy this twist to the story. It's so enjoyable to imagine what it would be like to step back in time to experience firsthand these historical events and these books do a great job in imagining just what it might have been like. And then there’s the very timely arrival of book #6 which takes readers back through time to the first Thanksgiving celebration at Plymouth. I think I might just skip out of order and read this with my two as part of our Thanksgiving reading this month. They are a little younger than this series age group so I've yet to read any of this series with them. These books of course are written as part of a series but a great feature is the prologue which can be found at the beginning of all books that sets the background storyline of the previous books in case you decide to read them out of order, making it so you can easily transition into the adventure for any of the books. It is simply an exceptional series for young readers and I am once again anxious to see where the adventure will take us too next. I recieved a copy of this book from Tyndale Publising for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Children's Series!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Happy Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just had the opportunity to read and review the next book in the Imagination Station series #5 Showdown With the Shepherd. I read this book aloud to my crew (9,7,6,4,2,8 months) although my 9 year old could have read them on his own. I love that this series of books is Christian based, historical, and adventure all in one. The main characters are cousins, a boy, and a girl, making the stories appeal to both boys and girls. The illustrations are also very well done. What I love the most though, is that my children love them! When reading aloud, they beg for, "Just one more chapter please!" When book 5 ended my 9 year old jumped up and said, "That can't be it! We need to find out what happened next!" (luckily we had book 6 on the shelf!) Fun for me to read, children love them, and I don't have to worry about explaining any evolutionary content, The Imagination Station Series is a hit in my house!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #5: Showdown with the Shepherd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A real page turner

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attacks by ferocious wild bears, a near miss with a legendary giant, secret messages, and outsmarting a bad guy who wants to change history. Kids will discover all this and more in Showdown with the Shepherd, book #5 in The Imagination Station series written by Marianne Hering and Brock Eastman.
In this installment, Mr. Whittaker sends young cousins Patrick and Beth back to Bible times to ensure bad guy Hugh (from book #4) doesn't succeed in altering history. Upon "landing," the kids are immediately attacked by a bear. Just when it seems they'll be the bear's lunch, however, a young shepherd with a sling shot scares the bear away. Beth and Patrick soon realize this is David - who will someday be King of Israel.
David is on his way to the army camp to give food to his brothers, so Patrick and Beth go along with him. But David isn't well received by his brothers - even before he says he will defeat the giant Philistine called Goliath if no one else is brave enough to do so.
Yet before David can do battle, Hugh appears, wanting to speak to King Saul. He is working with the Philistines. After threatening the Israelites, Hugh throws fire powder into the torches, creating smoke that makes it easy for him to grab Beth and take her to the Philistine camp. There, Beth sees Hugh has helped create a weapon unknown in biblical times: A catapult. Using her harmonica to play the "ABC" song, she sends this message to Patrick, still in the Israelite camp.
Late that night, Patrick steals into the Philistine camp to rescue Beth. When David shows up, too, they try to disarm the catapult - but they're not sure Patrick's plan to do so will work.
The following day, David faces Goliath, knocking him out with a stone from his sling, then killing him with his own sword. But the Philistines - led by Hugh, who imagines lording over the Philistines once the war is over - throw a fireball into the Israelite army. Patrick feels defeated; his plan didn't work. But when the Philistines try to throw a second fireball, the catapult won't shoot and soons burns beyond use.
Their mission completed, Beth and Patrick head back to where the Imagination Station can take them back to their own time. But Hugh is there, too. To top it off, the bear attacks again, and Patrick, Beth, and Hugh barely escape inside the machine. When Beth and Patrick look up - Hugh, who entered the machine with them - has disappeared.
What I Like: Here is an action packed page turner any kid is sure to love. I read it to my 6 year old daughter in one sitting because she kept saying, "You've got to read what happens next! Read more! Read more!" I also really appreciate how the authors depicted David. As they write: "Patrick admired David's faith in God. He wished he could be more like the shepherd."
What I Dislike: Nothing, really, although I am not a big fan of the black and white illustrations in this book. (There are about 11). Illustrator David Hohn's work here is a bit too stylized for me; I don't like how the people look like walking skeletons. However, this is a minor issue in an otherwise outstanding book.
Overall Rating: Excellent.
Kristina Seleshanko, Christian Children's Book Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.