Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth

Patrick and Beth's next adventure leads them to Plymouth Plantation in 1621, where they meet William Bradford, Miles Standish, and Chief Massasoit, who are trying to establish peace between the Pilgrims and the Indians. Things are anything but peaceful though when a musket is stolen and the Pilgrims conclude that the Indians are planning war. Only Patrick and Beth know who the real thief is-the traitor Hugh-and it's up to them to find him and stop him from causing trouble. When the cousins hear a gunshot during the first Thanksgiving feast, their worst fears are realized. They rush to the Mayflower and try to set right history, even as Hugh desperately tries to change it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Educational and Interesting

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This episode resolves the troubles with the traitor Hugh, so the kids can move on to new adventures. The story is full of interesting history, and even though it often is sad, it explains well for young readers, and keeps the action going until the happy ending. This is a great series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book in this series

Date:July 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
J4Life5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I continue to love this series! It offers younger readers an interesting look at history in a way that parents can feel good about. I love the way Hering and Younger combine real and fictional characters to bring history to life.
In this book, Patrick and Beth visit Plymouth and readers gain knowledge of the Mayflower, as well as well-known pilgrims. The illustrations add to the prose and the chapters are short enough to hold the attention of even young readers during a read aloud time.
This series continues to deliver a positive alternative to the Magic Tree House series, which I love. I have yet to read any of these books that I haven't enjoyed. On a side note, although this is a series of books, they do not need to be read in order. Each one stands alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Edge of your seat read for kids

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Problems in Plymouth is another great book in the Imagination Station series and this time Beth and Patrick venture to 1621 at Plymouth Plantation. At Plymouth, they meet Miles Standish, William Bradford, and Indian Chief Massasoit during a time where there is unrest between the Indians and Pilgrims. The unrest is made worse when Hugh, the archenemy, steals a musket causing the Pilgrims to believe the Indians stole them with war in their minds. Beth and Patrick race against the clock to catch Hugh before he can change history and to prevent a war from occurring between the Pilgrims and Indians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Problems in Plymouth

Date:July 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are the best kids books ever! This one follows Patrick and Beth as they go back into the Imagination Station. They are looking for a time-traveling villain this time. They go back to the time when the Pilgrims celebrated their first Thanksgiving. They also encounter the Pilgrims meeting the Indians for the first time. These stories really bring alive history to children and adults alike. I would recommend this book to especially children but also to adults. It's a very easy read and helps make history a little easier to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Problems in Plymouth is book number 6 in The Imagination Station Series which features Mr. Whittaker and his invention from Adventures in Odyssey. Patrick and Beth, cousins, are off on another adventure and will hopefully stop Hugh and his escapades. This time they end up in Plymouth just before the first Thanksgiving. But when things start to seem a bit fishy Patrick and Beth know that Hugh is up to no good. Can they stop him in time and get this all straightened out?
This book series is a fabulous substitute for the hugely popular Magic Treehouse books. If you are looking for something that can help your kids learn about history but from a Biblical perspective and without the magic this is the series for you. My 9 year old loves them but they are more at a 1st-2nd grade reading level. I highly recommend getting this whole series for your children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Problems in Plymouth

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Problems in Plymouth, Beth and Patrick team up again to go back in time to the colony of Plymouth. They are in search of the troublemaker, Hugh. They wind up finding themselves in the middle of a squabble between the Native Americans and the Pilgrims. I found this story to be interesting and is a fun way to teach my children the early history of the United States. I’m really loving the Imagination Station series.
5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun & Educational

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Problems in Plymouth Patrick and Beth are successful in their quest to find Hugh and return him to his own time. The Imagination Station Books allow kids to have an entertaining story while at the same time getting a glimpse into real life history and learning important life lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book...

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ashley
Location:Germany
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son (10) loves these books and can't wait to get the next one. He didn't think this one was as good as the previous one in the series, but he still read it in one day. I just love the content can be trusted to impart spiritual truths all while he's reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

on Giving Thanks for Catching the Bad Guy

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cousins Beth and Patrick are back in action and still trying to track down that dastardly character Hugh who has managed to hijack the Imagination Station and continues to inflict his high jinx on history. This time (as I'm sure you can guess by the title), they end up at the Plymouth settlement, where they learn about Pilgrims, participate in the first Thanksgiving, and (of course) right a few wrongs caused by Hugh.
I've seen some complaints that this book doesn't dive deeply into the rich historical account of the Pilgrims and paint a more thorough picture of the early settlers, but I think those complaints are off the mark. One of the best parts of this series (and other historical fiction) is the introduction, the whetting of the appetite that encourages readers (young and old) to explore the time period further and see what's accurate or inaccurate about the writer's portrayal of the time period. Any more depth in the context of this book would likely slow the storyline to a crawl and disengage the enthusiastic readers who are already hooked on the series.
Another quick read and enjoyable story for younger readers and fans of Magic Tree House or Secrets of Droon books who are looking for (or at least don't mind) a Christian twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Kids love these stories

Date:January 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChBW
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stories and adventures that my kids just love. Wonderful Christian content which make a refreshing change to all the other stories on offer to kids these days. They teach Godly values and real life problems and solutions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for kids

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for young readers!
Chances are that the kids in your life have heard and fallen in love with the Adventures in Odyssey audios, and the kids' many Imagination Station adventures. Well there's a whole new book series of adventures for young readers.
Patrick and Beth's adventure finds them in 1621, where they meet many historic figures and stumble into another adventure! When food and muskets go missing the Pilgrims fear that the Indians may be planning a war, but Patrick and Beth know who is really responsible. Will they be able to expose the truth and prevent a war?
This is the perfect read for children that are growing in confidence with their reading, ages 7 and up. I have many younger friends who have said that these books are simply the best. Also there are a few moms that I know who have said that they had a hard time tearing their reluctant reader from the pages of these books. So I thought I'd give 'em a whirl to see if they were something that I could recommend. And I am happy to say that they are! I loved how this book had nice big print and simple words yet still conveyed a great story with lots of actions and a great lesson for young readers. The Adventures in Odyssey franchise has found another winner. Reading it brought me back to my younger days listening to Adventures in Odyssey. Though I was a bit surprised that there were characters I didn't recognize at the forefront. I guess I'm getting old!
Overall this is a book, and series that I would heartily recommend to my younger friends, and to parents who want to get their kids reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Imagination Station book six, Problems in Plymouth By, Marsahal Younger and Marianne Hering is a good read. Adventures in Odyssey lovers will be sure to fall in love with these books. The series follows cousins Patrick and Beth in their various adventures in the imagination station. The series is written for younger readers but people of all ages will love the Christian values it teaches and enjoy the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tyndale Summer Reading Program by Ethan Terry

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:ny
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Problems in Plymouth” Marianne Hering and Marshal Younger
Cousins Beth and Patrick visit Whit's End. They went in the imagination station to Plymouth. Hugh traveled there in the last book. When they got to Plymouth they met the boy pilgrim John. He helped them sneak past the his father's army. John's father was fighting against Native Americans. John's father and the enemy chief made a trade with Beth's mirror and the chief's beads. Hugh was hiding in a cave so Beth and Patrick couldn't get the ring they needed to have Mr. Whitaker use to travel in the imagination station to get Albert back. Two soldiers helped Patrick and Beth find Hugh. The cousins took the ring and the imagination station appeared. They went home and gave the ring to Mr. Whitaker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the Best Introduction to Plymouth

Date:July 10, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beth and Patrick find themselves in 1621 Plymouth, pursuing a thief from 1450 introduced earlier in the series. In the process, they watch as the Pilgrim/Wampanoag Treaty is threatened and a war is almost begun over false rumors. They also manage to make it to the First Thanksgiving.
As the final book in this story arc, the plot focuses on tying up the loose ends from the first five books, and in the process fails to invest in the characters and setting of Plymouth. The way the plot is developed, the First Thanksgiving seems more of a celebration that a Pilgrim-Indian war didn't start than thanksgiving to God.
I would not recommend this book as a standalone read for children; events happen so quickly in the story that outside resources should be used to make sure that young readers understand who everyone is and how events factually occurred without added fictional characters interfering. I would completely avoid using this book as an introduction to Plymouth and the Pilgrims for that reason.
Other than that, it's a good read for the first grade and up crowd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

and the adventure continues!

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With this series you get to travel through time on an adventure to the unknown to find objects or people all while having fun learning history and Biblical truths. I love the balance of the fun and the educational aspects of these books, it’s a great combination. In book #5 we travel back to Biblical times and meet non-other than young David as he's heading to take food to his brothers in battle against Philistines and Goliath. This is one of my children's favorite Bible passages and I know they are going to enjoy this twist to the story. It's so enjoyable to imagine what it would be like to step back in time to experience firsthand these historical events and these books do a great job in imagining just what it might have been like. And then there’s the very timely arrival of book #6 which takes readers back through time to the first Thanksgiving celebration at Plymouth. I think I might just skip out of order and read this with my two as part of our Thanksgiving reading this month. These books of course are written as part of a series but a great feature is the prologue which can be found at the beginning of all books that sets the background storyline of the previous books in case you decide to read them out of order, making it so you can easily transition into the adventure for any of the books. It is simply an exceptional series for young readers and I am once again anxious to see where the adventure will take us too next. Tyndale House Publishers has provided me complimentary copies of these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Eh

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There's trouble in Plymouth, and young cousins Beth and Patrick are right in the middle of it. In Problems in Plymouth, the 6th book in the Imagination Station series by Marianne Hering and Marshal Younger, the children follow the trouble-making Hugh to Plymouth Plantation where none other than William Bradford is governor. But not-so-friendly natives are everywhere and they capture Beth and Patrick. Held hostage in a tepee, the cousins meet a young Pilgrim who got lost in the woods and was also captured. But before long, William Bradford and a group of pilgrim men come to trade items for the children.
But trouble doesn't stop there. Some natives are accidentally shot by the Pilgrims, their friend Squanto is missing, and Beth and Patrick are afraid Hugh might try to incite war between the Pilgrims and natives. Or, they speculate, maybe he wants to bring an advanced weapon - a musket - back to his own time of castles and knights.
In the meantime, Squanto is found and the Pilgrims and natives hold a big feast - later known as the first Thanksgiving. But Patrick is suspicious. Hugh still hasn't shown up. At last, they discover him in the store house, where he threatens the cousins with a musket. He steals Patrick's pouch and discovers a ring there - a ring he thinks will bring the Imagination Station to him. It does, but it also sends him back to his own time. Patrick and Beth follow him, using another ring to call the Imagination Station.
Back in his own time, book 6 now picks up where book 4 left off when Hugh disappeared in the Imagination Station: Hugh is arrested, and Beth and Patrick go back home.
What I Like: I always appreciate novels that make history more inviting, and I love the idea of covering the Pilgrims in more depth.
What I Dislike: Unfortunately, the authors barely scratch the surface of who the Pilgrims were - and often offer a conflicting account. For example, the book talks about the true event of the Pilgrims stealing corn from the natives; it also shows some Pilgrims having a definite war-like attitude. We don't even get to see how God is part of their daily lives, although Bradford does pray before the feast. Yet, at the end of the book, Mr. Whittaker says, "The Pilgrims were honest and trustworthy." But only Bradford is actually depicted as honest, trustworthy, and someone to try to be more like. In addition, this book has a weak plot. Lots of little things happen to the Pilgrims, but there isn't much of a story arch. This is especially disappointing after the really excellent book 5, Showdown with the Shepherd. Problems in Plymouth isn't a bad book, but it's not a great book, either.
Overall Rating: Good.
Kristina Seleshanko, Christian Children's Book Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #6: Problems in Plymouth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Children's Series!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Happy Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
We just had the opportunity to read one of the newest books in the Imagination Station Series, #6 Problems in Plymouth. I read this book aloud to my crew (9,7,6,4,2,8 months) although my 9 year old could have read them on his own. I love that this series of books is Christian based, historical, and adventure all in one. The main characters are cousins, a boy, and a girl, making the stories appeal to both boys and girls. The illustrations are also very well done. What I love the most though, is that my children love them! When reading aloud, they beg for, "Just one more chapter please!" Fun for me to read, children love them, and I don't have to worry about explaining any evolutionary content, The Imagination Station Series is a hit in my house!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.