Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb

When cousins Beth and Patrick accidentally press the red button on the Imagination Station, they find themselves in Egypt where they befriend a boy named Gilead and his second cousin a girl named Sherah. Their family is in turmoil-their great-grandfather has died and now their grandfathers feud over who will control the family palace. Patrick and Beth witness the grand Egyptian burial, help Gilead and Sherah learn to get along better, and explore the city of Aramis with its ancient wonders and Egyptian customs-all the while trying to figure out a way back to Whit's End. As they are leaving Egypt, they realize that the funeral they attended was for the biblical Joseph.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Series

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story has surprises, hope, and exotic places to help the kids learn. I enjoy the creative way the stories are retold. Young readers will be intrigued and inspired. In this story, the kids learn several lessons, including how comfortable we are in our times compared to ancient times. They also have a responsible assignment to complete. It is fun to guess the identity of the Prince before it is revealed. This book can be read on its own, because it does not depend on any earlier books in the Imagination Station series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Series

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Secret of the Prince’s Tomb, Patrick and Beth go to Ancient Egypt. There they befriend a girl named Tabitha and they go on a quest to discover a long-held secret that will give hope to a nation that is being forced into slavery. Their quest takes them to a burial vault, a mummy, and many dangers along the way. Will the cousins be able to safely maneuver their way through the mazes of the vault? Will they be able to discover what the symbols mean?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secret of the Prince's Tomb

Date:July 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secret of the Prince's Tomb sends Beth and Patrick to Ancient Egypt. This is where they meet with Egyptians who worship many gods and Hebrews who worship the one true God. What a great adventure that even involves mummies. A fun Read and a good lesson to learn about early believers of God.
5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secret of the Prince's Tomb

Date:July 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved all of these books in this series but I believe this was my favorite. This had a little more adventure than the last ones. Patrick and Beth are in the Imaginary Station and they are traveling back to Egypt. They encounter a girl about their age named Tabitha. They try to help her family and along the way they encounter pyramids and mummy's along with a lot of other adventures! These books really bring history alive for the younger generation. I would recommend this book mainly to children but also to adults that would like a very easy read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Secrets of the Prince's Tomb is book 7 in The Imagination Station series of books. These are from the show we all love, Adventures in Odyssey, and feature Mr. Whittaker and his invention, The Imagination Station. The Imagination Station is a machine that helps you travel in time. This whole series of books revolves around Patrick and Beth. In this story Patrick is complaining about having to go back to school and how he feels like a slave. Whit sends them back in time to just when the Hebrews were being enslaved by the Egyptians so they could learn what slavery is really like. They also learn much about their faith and having hope in God.
This book series is a fabulous substitute for the hugely popular Magic Treehouse books. If you are looking for something that can help your kids learn about history but from a Biblical perspective and without the magic this is the series for you. My 9 year old loves them but they are more at a 1st-2nd grade reading level. I highly recommend getting this whole series for your children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun trip into history!

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secret of the Prince’s Tomb is the 7th book in The Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station series. The series follows the adventures of cousins Patrick and Beth as they travel through history. In this story, they travel to ancient Egypt and encounter the Hebrew people as they enter into slavery to the Pharaoh. The lesson they learn is “It’s easy for people to put their hope in the wrong thing when things go bad. Putting our hope in the right thing when times are bad is what counts. God wants me to have hope in Him, not it what happens to me.” What a great lesson for all of us!
I thought this a wonderful story for the targeted age group, age 7 and up. At the end of the book is a secret word puzzle in which you can figure out the secret word and then open up a special page on TheImaginationStation.com page. That page also includes a family devotional, parent’s page and vocabulary list for each book. The book has large spacious print for the emerging reader and nice black and white drawings every couple of chapters.
This book is very reminiscent of the Magic Tree House books my children loved when they were younger, but with a Christian focus. I would have loved for them to read these at that age. I shall remember this series when there are grandchildren!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such an Exciting Read!

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:The Hot Dry Desert
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kiddos and I read this book together as soon as it came out. This one has quite a bit of mystery and my kids were on the edge of their seats half the time. They couldn't wait to see what happened next and, I have to admit, either could I. All of us learned quite a bit more about Egyptian culture and made some exciting discoveries about the biblical Joseph. Highly recommend!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
aunt nan
Location:West Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The story plot was good -- great for kids. Just enough adventure to keep you interested and enough history that the reader learns something new along the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

He's enamored with these books!

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
homeschooling four
Location:Lake Mills, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 year old son has been a fine reader, but he hasn't shared my love for getting in a book and experiencing it... until now! Being an avid listener of the Odyssey series, I suspected that he'd enjoy the books, and he has, from the first page through to the end. Like me, he began reading in bed before falling asleep... when the Secret of the Prince's Tomb got a little 'scary,' he began reading it first thing in the morning. He wants all of the books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secret of the Prince's Tomb is the seventh book in the Imagination Station series by Marianne Hering and Marshall Younger. The stories follow cousins Patrick and Beth in their various adventures in the imagination station. Lovers of the radio series Adventures in Odyssey will be sure to fall in love with these books. The series is written for younger readers but people of all ages will love the Christian values it teaches and enjoy the story. All in all it was a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Note: The story summary given is inaccurate

Date:July 10, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The seventh book in the Imagination Station series is a standalone adventure following the completion of the story arc which carried books 1-6.
Dreading the first day of school, Patrick and Beth take the Imagination Station to ancient Egypt and find themselves confronted by the enslavement of the Habiru. They begin a journey to find a way to give the Habiru hope, and learn a valuable lesson themselves.
An enjoyable read for ages 7 and up. The book also includes additional information about ancient Egypt and a puzzle for the reader to complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
mabel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this series! He's in 3rd grade and a strong reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #7: Secret of the Prince's Tomb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kids love it

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
SCogswell
Location:Moncton, NB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids (ages 5-9) really enjoy these books. I like the historical references and there's lots of adventure for them as well, without being too wordy or over-their-heads.
We buy them as soon as we see the new ones come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.