Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook

Tyndale House Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook

Help your daughter journey into womanhood with a healthy self-image and knowledge of who she is in Christ! Writing from their personal experiences, co-authors Farrel and Hanna stress the importance of creating a rite-of-passage ceremony for your young woman; provide helpful tips in chapter-end "Mentor Moments"; and offer an entire chapter for father figures. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Review 1 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

training them up in the way they should go

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Denham
Location:Independence, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have not actually read yet. looking forward to it. have also purchased 'Raising a Modern Day Knight'. have heard excellent reviews on these 2 items. so thankful to receive them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book as some good ideas

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
swaw0924
Location:Erin, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book has some good ideas for celebrating the moments. However, it is from far too worldly a perspective for my taste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I bought this as a gift.

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandie
I bought this as a gift for my son and daughter-in-law who have a 3 month old baby girl and I'm hoping that this book will help them in raising her to be a beautiful Christian woman.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Our Country Road
Ms. Farrel & Ms. Hanna have created a program called The Modern Day Princess Group and another called Daughters of the King. These programs are 'Rite of Passage' ceremonies that fill a gap that is missing in our American culture. In this book, they discuss what a Rite of Passage ceremony is and why our daughters need them. They give wonderful ideas for creating your own ceremony and information about their programs.But, they don't just stop at the rite of passage ceremony. Ms. Farrel and Ms. Hanna discuss how so many events in life can be a way to show your daughter love, and to encourage her as she grows in her walk with the Lord. She may grow to realize that she doesnt live in a castle, she doesnt have a fairy godmother, and glass slippers arent in fashion. But, that doesnt mean your daughter cannot grow up to be a Princess.I HIGHLY recommend adding this one to your library. Thank you to the Tyndale House Media Group for providing me with a complementary copy of Raising a Modern Day Princess for my review. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
If you are a Mom, Grandma, Aunt, or an influential woman in the life of any girl you will not only appreciate this book, but benefit greatly from it, too. Pam Farrel and Doreen Hanna have written a book that will encourage you in your relationship with your daughter(s) as well as walk you through many things we want to do, but just don't know how to do. Most of us want to inspire our daughters and breath purpose into their lives and Raising A Modern-Day Princess is the guide to help you do just that.I appreciated the combination of personal stories and insight that Farrel and Hanna shared along with all the simple and practical tips on how to raise a modern-day princess in a world that wants just the opposite for them. The book is easy to read and offers huge amounts of creative ideas for you to glean from.The focus of this book is on teaching young girls about becoming godly young women. My favorite part of all that was shared was the idea of intentionally choosing mentors, along with your daughter, to mentor her. There is a treasure trove of information in this book to help you at whatever place in life you are at. Not everything will be for everyone, but I doubt anyone could walk away without gleaning something.* * * * *This review copy was provided by Tyndale House Publishers and the opinions expressed our strictly my own
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
JLP
Now, I dont have a daughter, but I happen to be one. So I thought reading Raising A Modern-Day Princess by Pam Farrel and Doreen Hanna might be interesting from my point of view, but the book surprised me. A more appropriate title would have been How to throw a great party for your teen daughter. It didnt have much to do with actually raising girls! The advice the authors give on treating your daughter is good, but it could have all been written in one chapter. In fact, the whole book could have been written in three. The book talks mostly about creating a rite-of-passage party for your daughter, which I think is a great idea. This book can help you plan a celebration that prepares your teen for adulthood. My parents held one for me, and I cant describe the love I felt that day as people blessed and prayed for me. Everyone should have that experience. Overall I approve this book, since it endeavours to turn the heart of the fathers to the children, and the heart of the children to their fathers. *Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seth Williams
I love this book although my daughter is still a bit young for some of the info we have tailored it to her needs an prepares me for what is still ahead as foar as raising my little princess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
This book is center is around making your daughters entrance into womanhood memorable with a rite-of-passage. It tells the hows and whys to have a rite-of-passage. Gives invaluable ideas and advice on how and when to hold RoP. Godly guidence and Biblical truths are used throughout the book. You can make your daughter walk into the future with courage and confidence. You'll find this book has all kinds of resources (journal, leader's guide and more) at Becoming a Modern day Princess. There is an appendix in the back of the book with worksheets and some ideas also. This program may be used individually or as a group. Make this program something your young lady will not forget. I must say this book isn't what I was expecting. It is geared toward a information book not a how-to book. It deals with how-to and why have a Rite-of-Passage not How to Raise a MDP. Very good if you're looking for hosting your daughter in a RoP night.A copy of this book was provided by Tyndale for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Raising a Modern Day Princess by authors Pam Farrel and Doreen Hanna sets out to inspire parents of daughters as Raising a Modern Knight did parents of boys. Farrel and Hanna want parents to capitalize on that innate longing within the heart of every girl to be a princess. This princess fantasy presents an opportunity to mold and nurture our daughters' character and spiritual growth into daughters of the King. If you are in search of a rite of passage for your growing daughter, look no further than this book.One especially helpful chapter within this book covers the character traits of security, industry, nobility and generosity, encouraging mothers to cultivate these traits within themselves as well as their daughters. Perhaps the most inspiring portion of this book was the examples of blessings fathers have written for their daughters especially for these rites of passage. Yet most of this book focuses on how to plan and execute a meaningful rite of passage for adolescent girls.In what this book sets out to cover, it covers well. Family, church and community rites of passage are presented as options for celebrating daughters' crossover into womanhood. As Hanna is the author of the Modern-Day Princess program, she naturally recommends this resource, so at times this title almost seems a self-serving commercial enterprise. Yet, it contains some insights perhaps not covered elsewhere.Disclosure: Tyndale provided me a complimentary copy of this title for review. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2010
Raising a Modern Day Princess by authors Pam Farrel and Doreen Hanna introduced a good number of ideas about parenting teenage girls.This book suggests many types of rite of passage celebrations both big and small that can change and impact a girls life forever. This is a practical book filled with ideas and stories of what other moms and mentors have done to come alongside young women and affirm their self-confidence, beauty, and value.I highly recommend this book to anyone who has young girls in their life. God calls us to train our children in the way they should go, but many parents feels that it is too awkward to talk about. This "relationship stuff" is one of the most important teachings teenagers need, and crave. Who better than to teach it that theer loving parents?I am the mother of one grown daughter but enjoyed the book, I raised my three sons and one daughter in Church and taught them the best that I knew how. My daughter and I have always been really close even when she was a teenager. Now she had a daughter of her own and is passing what I taught her own. She is a modern aged mother as I am considered Old Fashioned but I believe I did good.Disclosure: I received the book from Tyndale House Publishers for the purpose of writing a review on my blog. No other compensation was received. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erica
I just finished reading Raising a Modern Day Princess and was rather disappointed. The whole reason for purchasing the book was to learn how to raise a princess. Instead it was a 200 page advertisment on why you should start a MDP program. Which sounds awsome, but again I wanted to learn how not, why to have the MDP program or how great it is. In fact the the description of the book, "help your daughter journey into womanhood with a healthy self-image and knowledge of wh oshe is in Christ!"... Is false advertising because none of that was in the book.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Isabella Sacchetti
Amazing book! Very helpful -- it made me realize how important fathers are to forming a well-balanced woman! We moms have to pray for our husbands to step up to the plate and love on our daughters. We girls so need our father's approval and unconditional love and dads may fail but thank God we have a Father that will never fail us. All moms (and dads) should read this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
jubilee
I have to say that reading this book has spurred me on to be more deliberate in making memories for my kids, and my daughter in particular. And to remind her of past events that she is too young to remember.And now, after reading this book, I have many ideas and strategies to keep that practice going.Doreen and Pam have hearts for young women and it shows in their writing and creative ideas to help make girls feel special and a princess of the King. The authors' idea of building up young women through mentoring is Biblical - a practice that must be deliberate, thoughtful and bathed in prayer. We cannot just hope for it to happen. And crowning that mentoring journey (if I may be so bold as to use that phrase) is a special party honoring your princess. This party is akin to a sweet sixteen party or a debutante party, but families can create a party that fits within their budget and comfort zone. The important part is taking the time to honor and challenge the young lady to live a life of a daughter of the King. Which the mentoring process (before the party) focuses upon.These ideas can be adapted to Non-Christian situations. Pam and Doreen show how civic and other community groups can facilitate these parties also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy
I was not sure what to expect from Raising a Modern Day Princess. I am a mom of three young girls so a lot of the content I have not started thinking about. This book gave me a lot to think on and some really good ideas for raising my girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Have you ever wanted something so badly you looked forward to it for weeks, only to find out when you got it, it wasn't at all what you wanted?That is exactly how I feel about this book. Raising a Modern Day Princess by Pam Ferrel and Doreen Hanna. I've procrastinated this review all day because while this book was good, it wasn't at all what I was expecting. It wasn't what I thought it would be.I wanted a book that told me how to raise my daughters to be Princesses, to really be daughters of the King. I wanted to know, not some step-by-step plan, because those don't work. But I wanted to know what I can do to help me raise my daughters to be godly young women.This book instead is about mentoring. Don't get me wrong, I'm not opposed to mentoring. Not at all. This book deals with rite-of-passage ceremonies, and not with the nitty-gritty details I desperately need.I wanted help raising my girls to be godly, not some book about mentoring and having rite-of -passage ceremonies. I don't want my girls to be godly for a ceremony, I want them to be godly for life.I'd have to give this book 2 stars, it is very well written but so not want I wanted or expected.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danica Favorite
I am so glad I got the chance to read this book. I've needed a book like this. As the mother of young girls, I've struggled with the thought of raising them to be women of God in today's world. I was not raised in a Christian home, and so I don't have a framework for raising my girls in the way I want them to be raised. For me, this is a lifeline, and I think it will be for a lot of parents who want the same.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erin Lowmaster
The book Raising a Modern-Day Princess by authors Pam Farrel and Doreen Hanna has moved me and it's entirely changed my way of thinking in how to raise my own daughter as well as taught me how to influence the young woman around me.Grace, dignity, inner beauty, and self worth, traits every daughter of the King should have instilled into her life. Often enough no one is taking the time to celebrate daughter's journey into becoming the woman God has created them to be. It's not hard at at all to do this, in fact Raising a Modern-Day Princess suggest many types of rite of passage celebrations both big and small that can change and impact a girls life forever. The examples of personal testimony of mothers, fathers, and daughters that took part in this are ever so moving.Not often is it that a book speaks such revelations that tugged at my heart strings and left me in tears. I encourage every sister as well as brothers in Christ to pick up this book and read it.I promise you, if you take the advice of this book, whom ever God has laid on your heart will feel purpose, value, and strength in moving forward and following the path God has laid in front of them.This book is on the top favorite reads for 2010 and ten for me, and I am quite honored and blessed by those that contributed in writing these words of truth. If I could, I would personally give everyone I know a copy of Raising a Modern-Day Princess.I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
This book has some very interesting ideas about parenting teenage girls. Whether you believe in the authors' ideas or not, it is a book well worth reading. They provide good examples of what other societies consider as rites of passage and the influence of fathers and mothers on their children and how the good parts of these rites can be incorporated into your own life. They use sound biblical examples of what is expected of fathers and mothers in their parenting obligations and how the commission of these tasks influence the teen in her current life as well as in the future. I especially liked the chapter on how words themselves can really impact a girl and stick with her into her adult life. The book was easy to read and had many thoughtful insights and ideas.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Most girls dream of living out their own fairy-tale romance. They are bombarded from childhood with stories of beautiful princesses swept off their feet by a handsome, noble prince. Its a beautiful dream, but without practical, life-changing mentoring, girls are often disillusioned when their first love disappoints. Some girls fall into a pattern of giving their heart to the wrong guy. And those of us whove been hurt know there is no Band-Aid for a broken heart.Here is a practical book filled with ideas and stories of what other moms and mentors have done to come alongside young women and affirm their self-confidence, beauty, and value. The authors share the importance of mentoring and coming-of-age ceremonies that teach girls who they are and how to recognize a handsome, noble prince beyond his outward appearance. Readers are encouraged to seize the challenge of imparting wisdom to the girls in their life. If we dont do it, someone else will or our girls will be left to face the world on their own.I highly recommend this book to anyone who has young girls in their life. God calls us to train a child in the way that they should go, but many adults skip the relationship stuff as being too awkward to talk about. This relationship stuff is one of the most important teachings teenagers need, crave. Who better than to teach it that the loving adults in their life?Having served in youth ministry for eleven years, Ive seen heartbreaking things. But almost more heartbreaking that a girls broken heart is the fact that her parents neglected the challenge to teach her the truth. Parents, we cant control the choices our children make, but we are called by God to give them the tools and knowledge to make the right choice. The world is teaching them every day. Get this book for your daughters and get Raising a Modern-Day Knight for your sons. Affirm your children as they journey into adulthood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Raising a Modern-Day Princess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather @ Marine Corps Nomads
Raising a Modern Day Princess introduced a good number of ideas that I hadn't considered prior to reading this book. I like the idea of the rite of passage type ceremony for a girl. It helped me think about ways to make my daughter's journey into womanhood special and memorable for her. The ideas for having the father be active in the rite of passage ceremony as he affirms his daughter's worth were wonderful. I appreciated the encouragement to mothers as we seek to make sure our daughters know their worth in the sight of God, their Heavenly Father.One thing that I had a difficult time with was the importance placed on outside mentors. Maybe, because my daughter is only 10, I am a little naive, but I feel that the Christian mother should be the main mentor in the daughter's life. We, as parents, are given the responsibility of raising our child(ren). Since we will be held accountable for our actions, I believe that we should be the ones mentoring our children. That is not to say there isn't a place for outside mentors, but I don't put as great of an importance on them as the authors of the book do (at least in a solid Christian home).Even though I didn't agree with everything in the book, I liked the ideas and concepts in this book and would recommend it to others.Disclosure: I received the book from Tyndale House Publishers for the purpose of writing a review on my blog. No other compensation was received. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.