Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2

Barbour Publishing Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2

Expecting to find her long lost uncle, Anne discovers an imposter using his name. Her quest to find the new Earl of Stoneford continues--with the swindler and his lady friend hot on the trail. As Dan and Anne struggle to outrun and outwit their adversaries, Dan finds it necessary to guard his heart as carefully as he guards Anne. He's certain he'll never convince Anne to join him on a wheat farm in Oregon when she wants only to return to return to her beloved life in England. But as Anne's quest becomes even more difficult--and dangerous--will she find her priorities shifting?
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2
Review 1 for Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A blending of two genre's for a great new series!

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne Stone has been searching for quite some time for the only remaining family she has left. Her parents died within months of one another and now, her future lies in finding her Uncle David Stone. Traveling along the Oregon Trail by wagon is not where she would have dreamed her search would lead her, especially since leaving her family's estate in London, England. But if she couldn't find her Uncle David, the estate would fall into her cousin Randolph's hands because her parents had no sons to leave the estate to, and a woman could not become heir to the estate. All the money that was tied up, now rested in Anne's hand to locate her Uncle David. Since he hadn't kept in communication, she has been searching for his whereabouts for quite some time, and she now believes he has settled in a ranch in Oregon.
Anne has made those who know her real identity keep it a secret because people had a tendency to treat her differently if they knew she was an heir to an estate in London and was considered a true Lady! But that doesn't stop Dan Adams from falling head over heels in love, even proposing to Anne along the wagon trail. But Anne can't fall in love with anyone until she can resolve her future and for now that means finding her uncle, no matter where it takes her or how long she must travel.
When Anne finds her Uncle's ranch, she is more than surprised to see he is not alone and not at all like the Uncle she remembers from her childhood. Long gone are his well-bred manners and English accent. He has gained considerable weight and has apparently married a woman named Millie. When she informs him of the deaths of his only brothers, he doesn't seem the least bit concerned and instead wants to know more about his inheritance. Anne soon realizes along with Dan that the man, she believed was her Uncle is not really him and soon learns it is a man her Uncle hired to watch over the ranch in his absence while he went mining for gold.
They call in the sheriff who has the man arrested but the woman, Millie flees on horseback. It seems Sam Hastings and his sister Millie are con-artists and have been hired to make sure that David Stone winds up dead and that Anne Stone doesn't find him. What could the connection be and who is behind it all? Will Anne find her Uncle before the Hastings do? Can she save him in time?
I received Lady Anne's Quest by Susan Page Davis compliments of Barbour Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel from start to finish. I couldn't imagine how a lady of proper upbringing could endure have to search for her uncle along a wagon trail and later on horse back during the worst types of weather imaginable while learning that she would need to depend on others to help her along the way from Dan Adams to a cast of lovable characters like the miner Whitey! This one is a must read for those who love a bit of historical elegance along the western trail! I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to read more in the Prairie Dreams series! This is the second book in the series and since I hadn't read the first one, I can honestly say it doesn't need to be read to understand where this one picks up. However, I can't wait to go back and see what I missed out on in the first book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Search Continues!

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An action filled western read!
Lady Anne presses on in her search to find her long lost uncle David, in order to prevent her wicked cousin from inheriting the family estate. But someone else wants to stop her from finding her uncle, will she find him before it's too late?
In my mind, this sequel was better than its predecessor! I loved how this story had so much more action. What made this one different was perhaps how the bad guys were more present and were definitely trying harder to stop Anne from finding her uncle. I liked how the relationship between Anne and Dan grew from sort of awkward, to a close companionship and romance where they could really depend upon each other.
This is probably me just being picky, but I sometimes got a little mixed up with the two heroes having "D" names, there were times when I had to double check to make sure I was thinking of the right guy, but this might have all been just because I was reading so fast.
Overall, a sweet action packed, western read with some great twists in the chase. I look forward to reading Millie and Davids story, considering how devious Millie was in this book! A entertaining read with wonderful setting!
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Kind of blah to me

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anne came to America to find her Uncle so he could claim his title of Earl. In the first book of the series Anna was the side character beside her lady's maid. In this book the 2nd in the series she is the main character and she is now on her own as her lady’s maid is now married. Dan who was on the wagon train with her and finds himself falling hard for her offers to accompany her to meet her uncle. The pair soon realize that the man they meet and says is Anne’s uncle is an imposter and they continue on their search to find him. Will they find him before the one who wants him dead does and will love find them despite their differences?
I was looking forward to getting to know Anne better in this book after reading about her some in the first one. I was a little disappointed but still enjoyed the book.
What I liked: I admit there was nothing that really stood out with this book. It was not a bad book but not a great book and there was just not anything I really liked.
What I did not like: I felt like the characters really did not change much in this book. Really it was a little boring at times. I did not feel like Dan or Anne got developed real well.
Over all the book was okay. The last 30% of the book was interesting enough with the suspense plot that I found myself enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great adventure and fun romance too

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lady Anne’s Quest by Susan Page Davis is one of the books in the Prairie Dreams series. You do not have to read the others in the series to enjoy this book.
Lady Anne Stone is in search of her Uncle David whom she has not seen since she was a child. She has news about the family estate in England and must find him. So far her journey has not yielded much information as to his whereabouts. She finally finds a ranch that is titled in his name but the man saying he is her uncle is not her uncle! So starts the journey written about in this book.
Daniel Adams loves Lady Anne but she does not reciprocate his love. He accompanies her on her search for her uncle in hopes he can win her heart. The adventure that follows is not what he is expecting but will it bring the two of them closer?
The love story between Lady Anne and Daniel is a large part of the story but the search for her uncle is what moves the story along. There are thieves, rain storms, and mistaken identities that help make this story an adventure just as much as a romance.
It took me a bit to get into the story. However, after a few chapters the story picked up its pace and I enjoyed the adventure.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based solely on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Second in Series

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the first book in this series, Lady Anne Stone left England with her maid and friend, Elise Finster, to travel to America in search for her Uncle David after the death of her father. David Stone doesn’t know it yet, but he is the heir to his brother's earldom. Anne and Elise hear that David is in Oregon, so they join a wagon train, and The Lady’s Maid tells the story of the dangers they face from both the geographic challenges and from persons unknown. Lady Anne's Quest opens shortly after their arrival in Oregon (and Elise’s marriage to Eb).
Lady Anne heads south from Eugene to Corvallis to search for her uncle, accompanied by Daniel Adams, who fell in love with her as hey journeyed across America in the wagon train. But the man they find claiming to be David Stone is an illiterate impostor, trying to claim an inheritance that is not his. Anne and Dan find that David owns a mining claim, so they continue to follow the trail. But it soon becomes apparent that they are not the only people searching for David, and that the dangers they faced in their first journey are still following them.
It has been a few months since I read The Lady’s Maid, so I had forgotten some of the details. Normally, that wouldn't matter, except that Lady Anne's Quest jumped straight into the action, leaving me struggling to remember what was what and who was who. However, all became clear after a couple of chapters and I was able to start enjoying Lady Anne’s Quest. Overall, it was a solid historical suspense with a hint of romance as Anne gets to know Dan better. I think I would have liked a bit more detail about the development of their relationship – I like the fact that it was build on friendship and respect, but I still would have liked a little more sizzle.
The third book in the series, A Lady in the Making, is due to be published later this year, which is good because there is still a mystery to solve, and, as Jane Austen says, a single man in possession of a fortune must be in need of a wife...
Thanks to Barbour and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prairie Dreams Series Book 2

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lady Anne's Quest by Susan Page Davis
Book 2 in the Prairie Dreams Series
In the first book, The Lady's Maid, we watch as Lady Anne and her maid Elise travel from England to America in search of Anne's Uncle David. Her father and Uncle John have died leaving the Earldom to David. She refuses to give up on finding him to take his rightful place rather than another relative. Her search continues and leads her to Eugene, Oregon along with her friends Rob, Dulcie and Dan. When they have to travel further yet only Daniel Adams goes with her. She really liked Dan as a friend but nothing more, after all he was going to be a farmer here while she would be returning to England.
Daniel had went with his brother Hector to their new land but he couldn't keep his mind off of Anne. Finally Hector sends him off to find her and see if there is any hope at all to gain her affections. He travels with her to head where the latest rumor says her Uncle is. That he had bought a mine. They come upon all types of adventures as they travel along. Just about the time it looks like Anne might find her elusive Uncle David something else seems to come between them and send them in the wrong direction.
I enjoyed both of these books in this series. Susan did a great job of bringing characters alive. There was Dan who was holding onto a small hope that he could win Anne, and I found myself hurting for him each time he wondered where his life would be if she never did come around. Anne who had to hang on to each thread of hope even though it often looked like she might not find her Uncle alive. The villains that you wanted to see fail at their underhanded ways and the villain that you thought maybe had some good in them...somewhere deep down. The third book in this series, A Lady in the Making, will be David's story and will be released in October.
**Received through NetGalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lady Anne's Quest, Prairie Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A little more historical than romance.

Date:February 20, 2012
Anne Stone continues her quest to find her Uncle David. Rob and his wife along with Dan agree to Escort Anne to a farm her uncle owns. Dan is determined to see Anne safely through her quest but knows that she's not really interested in a future with him. She plans to return to England with her uncle. But when the journey poses more dangers than expected, Anne begins to see Dan in a different light as he continues to stand by her. Will her changing feelings for him be enough to make her want to remain in America?
Lady Anne's Quest is the second installment in the Prairie Dreams Series and pretty much picks up about two weeks after The Lady's Maid. It was a good story but a bit slow-paced for me. I'm being honest when I say, it was hard for me as a reader to feel the connection between Anne and Dan. There were are few moments but nothing that really made me say they belonged together. I would also have liked a little more of an expanded conclusion. I liked the whole mystery surrounding David Stone and although this book finds some answers there is still something left unsolved for the next installment. It was nice to meet up with some of the folks we met in The Lady's Maid. Overall I enjoyed the story and would recommend it for someone who likes a little more of a historical than a romance. A thank you goes to Barbour Publishing for providing this ARC for my review through Netgalley.
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Barbour Books (April 1, 2012)
ISBN-10: 1616264403
ISBN-13: 978-1616264406
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.