Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications The DMZ: A Novel - eBook

Kregel Publications The DMZ: A Novel - eBook

More than a decade after the end of the cold war has chilled the Marxist rebel movements around the world, one hot spot remains: Colombia. Why a democratic country with a growing economy should still feel the brushfires of a civil war is a mystery to U.S. analysts, but not to certain parties on the other side of the world.

The inexplicable loss of three major U.S. assets draws the attention of the world to the Colombian demilitarized zone. Are the local Colombian rebels responsible? Or is a deadly Middle Eastern secret cloaked by the jungle canopy of the DMZ?

Among the contingent of politicians and media headed for the DMZ seeking answers is reporter Julie Baker, whose parents had been missionaries in Colombia. Old hurts and terrors surge as she revisits the place of her birth... and her parents' deaths. When Julie's own abduction by guerrillas triggers a time bomb that has been ticking under the feet of the U.S. for a decade, she is left with more questions than answers.

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fast-paced, gripping suspense

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Environmental reporter Julie Baker returns to Columbia, her birthplace and the site of her missionary parent's death, accompanying a number of politicians and media personal seeking answers to the unexplained deaths of three Americans in the Columbian demilitarized zone. Julie's deeply held hurts, combined with her bitterness for the seeming futility of her parent's lives of service, leads her to sneak into the village where she was born, looking for clarity and answers. Concerned that she is a spy for military intelligence, and desperate to keep hidden their secrets deep in the DMZ jungle, Guerrillas kidnap Julie while she is in the village square. Her abduction triggers an avalanche of events that has the capacity to destroy the US, and reveals secret plans brewing unknown to American intelligence for the last ten years. With the fate of Colombians she knew as a child and the welfare of millions of Americans resting in her hands, Julie learns what love, belief and God's clear call to sacrifice means for her, no matter what her uncertain future may hold.
DMZ is a fast-paced novel that gripped me from the opening scenes. This is actually my second read through the book and will undoubtedly not be my last as I have enjoyed it just as much the second time through! Jeanette Windle is an incredibly skilled author with the ability to transport readers to the world of her characters - in this case war torn Columbia, terrifying guerrilla camps and the beauty of a jungle seemingly untouched by man in all it's created beauty. Windle brings much insight into how civil war has decimated Columbia and yet provides hope in how it still continues to survive. She also provides insight into the hate of Islamic extremists determined to destroy a country they consider the "great Satan". And she ties it all together beautifully with the personal story of a spunky reporter who has to learn what sacrifice means and the many ways sacrifice and love are worth it in the end. Not only does she provide an entertaining read, but she raises important questions about world events and about faith and trust in God at the same time.
I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Kregel, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thrill Ride Of An Adventure

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeanette Windle in her new book, "The DMZ" published by Kregel Publications takes us to Colombia.
The Dictionary defines, "suspense" as " the state or character of being undecided or doubtful". The Dictionary defines, "thriller" as, "a work of fiction or drama designed to hold the interest by the use of a high degree of intrigue, adventure, or suspense". The Director, Alfred Hitchcock, Defined "thriller" in visual terms: "place a bomb set to blow up in an hour under a table in a busy restaurant. Have two women with baby carriages sit down at the table and have lunch. As the clock ticks down the audience should be screaming at the screen for the women to get out". Jeannette Wilder has done for the printed page what Alfred Hitchcock did for the movies. In "The DMZ" Ms. Wilder has placed her characters future in the gravest doubt as they struggle to survive the adventure in the jungles of Colombia.
Julie Baker is a reporter sent to cover the deaths of three U.S. citizens and the disappearance of a sophisticated military aircraft in the Colombian Demilitarized Zone. Julie's parents were missionaries and Columbia is where she was born. Now as she tries to do her job while revisiting the place of her birth and her parents deaths she is faced with old hurts and fears. This is compounded when Julie is kidnapped by guerillas. Now to stay alive she teams up with undercover agent Rick Martini, a member of the 7th Special Operations Group, to find out just what is going on and try to stop it.
In "The DMZ" Jeanette Windle has crafted a perfectly entertaining story that will have you flipping pages as fast as you can read them. Ms. Windle has done an excellent job of research and Colombia is just as much a character in the story as the individuals. Imagine a water slide fifty feet high with you at the top. Once you begin your descent you will be screaming but enjoying every second. This is what Ms. Windle has crafted into her story. I recommend this book highly.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The Suspense Zone. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Long but good story!

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
samwife
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The DMZ
This is not a novel for the faint of heart! The book is long at 512 pages. The cover isn’t very attractive. And the blurbs on the back make it sound like an interesting, but tedious read. I must say that it is anything but.
The author does an amazing job of making you feel as if you have been to, seen and experienced this very trying environment. It is very apparent that the author knows firsthand about the story and setting that she is writing about.
The story begins with Julie Baker going to Columbia with a group of reporters and political leaders to investigate the killing of three Americans. Julie is a missionary kid that grew up in Columbia. While she is there as part of the investigation she decides to go see where she used to live. While she is on this side trip she and a group of others are abducted by guerillas. She does eventually get free, but there are other unseen forces that are involved.
I thought this book was pretty faced paced over all, but I will say that it did have a few spots that entailed the day to day mundaneness that tended to bog the story down. Press on through those parts because you don’t want to miss this story of how God Himself holds us in the palm of His hand. You will be reminded throughout the story that God’s plans are so much bigger than ours. Especially those plans that make no sense at all to us in our finite minds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The DMZ

Date:May 10, 2011
The DMZ by Jeanette Windle is an interesting story about the cold war in Columbia. Jeanette definitely did her homework. The book is thoroughly researched ... a note on the back stated that government agencies have actually questioned her to make sure she hadn't received classified information. The plot is deep with plenty of twists throughout. I will say that this isn't exactly the style novel that I normally choose to read. So ... I'm sure others will really enjoy it ... it just wasn't exactly for me. (The other reviews on Amazon were really positive, so check those out.)
I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense and Gripping

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annette of A Well-Watered Garden
Location:Temple, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book begins by giving the reader a plot that began over a decade ago between 2 countries that are at enmity between each other, yet united against the infidel America. The carrying out of this plan moves to the South American country of Columbia. Columbia a hostile and volatile country that leans toward communism, not to mention the drug cartel. When three Americans are found dead, and their deaths gruesome and under mysterious circumstances, vigilance is given to find out what happened. American Politicians and media are invited to Columbia in order to show goodwill between the 2 countries. Julie Baker a journalist from an environmental magazine travels to Columbia as 1 of the journalist's. Julie's parents were missionaries in Columbia and Julie was born and raised in this country. She thought that she had left it behind several years ago, but the longer she is in Columbia the more she feels confused and her emotions are hard to keep hidden. As the story progresses every fiber of Julie's being will be tested.
The main character in The DMZ is Julie Baker. She is not only a well-rounded character, but she is a character that I grew to care about what happened to her, and I dislike the idea of not knowing the rest of her life story. Even at 512 pages I wanted for the story to continue.
We see her as an intelligent and confident woman, and also with confused and mixed feelings about her past. She is unsettled about unresolved issues, yet tries to stuff those feelings stoically. She is a strong minded independent woman, yet through circumstances she meets her fears and limitations. She is a person that I admire and yet she is approachable.
There are surprises in other characters that were introduced, twists in what I thought they were like.
I was introduced to characters that I do not usually see in Christian fiction, those that are the very debased of humanity.
I am impressed with the knowledge and amount of research from the author; in knowing about the country Columbia, the jungle, Indians, American military and counterintelligence.
I did not feel The DMZ was predictable; but it is intense, well written, just a great story!
The DMZ has it all: missionary work, travel, romance, suspense, military, history, mystery, and I also felt a study in well-written character's.
The Christian fiction element in The DMZ is never alluded to, nor an afterthought. We see Christianity being lived out in the depth and breath of its characters, not in just words that sometimes have nothing deeper.
Thank you to Kregel Publications and LitFuse Publicity Group for my free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much more enjoyable than folding my laundry!

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My laundry didn't get folded this week. I had every intention of getting caught up on that chore, but one evening I grabbed The DMZ to read for awhile. The DMZ, by Jeanette Windle, was a really thick book and I'd been delaying reading it. I knew I needed to review it, but I kept waiting for some extra free time (and being caught up on chores) before starting to dig into its 512 pages. I didn't get very far into it that first night, but I did get hooked on the story. I've been reading it in my spare time ever since ... thus the unfolded laundry.
The DMZ centers around Julie Baker, a young reporter who had been a missionary kid in Colombia. Having been raised in the Amazon rainforest of Colombia, it has been seven years since she left Colombia at the age of sixteen, following her parents' death. She returns to chase down a story, hopefully a Pulitzer prize-winning story. But, she didn't realize that "quick" journalism trip would overwhelm her as she struggles with her grief, her anger, her faith in God, her love for Colombia and its people, and her very survival.
This book begins with an introduction to the supporting cast, and the setting. Readers don't meet Julie Baker until page 71, but they do find themselves thrown into the middle of a dangerous and unknown situation in Colombia that has taken the lives of several American citizens. Someone is hiding something in the DMZ and Julie Baker, and the US government, want to know what is going on deep in the Colombian rainforest. With guerrilla forces, paramilitary forces, Colombian and US military forces already involved in the area, there is also an unknown element endangering the people of Colombia.
Even though the book begins with a history of the complicated political situation in Colombia, I was still hooked from the beginning. By the time I met Julie Baker on page 71, I was invested in exploring the mystery with her. This is the best book I've read this year!! As I read it, I kept wondering how much was truth and how much was fiction, as it all seemed so real and plausible. That realism is a testament to Jeanette's familiarity with Colombia, as well as her extensive research. Originally written in 2001 (completed on September 11, 2001) and published in 2002, the copy I was reading is a re-release. Yet, even 10 years later, this book is still current and realistic.
Even more important, it is a truly CHRISTIAN book. The characters wrestle with deep questions about their faith and the ugliness of this world we live in. As they work through these feelings and confusion, their conversation presents the gospel and God's truth in a way that is entirely natural and compelling. It didn't feel forced or preachy, but it showed the deep faith of the characters as they dealt with their hurts and the harsh reality of the situations they faced in Colombia. The author doesn't offer us easy answers and trite platitudes through her character's lives, either.
The DMZ is a political-suspense book filled with mystery, action, history, romance, and a strong Christian foundation. Its exotic setting introduces you to a new country, as well as the varied people who live there. Jeanette Windle truly brings both Colombia's beauty, and its ugly side to life. She weaves the beliefs and philosophy of its people into the story with artistry and ease. I highly recommend The DMZ ... add it to your summer reading list!
This book was provided free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review. No other compensation was received, and this is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Ultimate Weapon of Revenge?

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More than ten years after the Gulf War, one specific hot spot of revenge remains open–Columbia. “The ultimate weapon of revenge against the U.S.—‘the Great Satan’–lurks in the Colombian jungle.”
Three U.S. assets (people) have been killed in the DMZ (Demilitarized Zone), sparking a host of politicians and media to descend into Colombia seeking answers. Included in this mix is a reporter from Our Earth, Julie Baker, a former MK (missionary kid) from Columbia, whose parents had died there when she was sixteen.
While Julie sneaks out to revisit her former home in Columbia, followed secretly by Tim McAdams, she and the women she meets there that she knew from her childhood, along with Tim, are abducted by the guerrillas. The native women are released, but Julie and Tim are held hostage and she is eventually accused of being a spy. This brings in the help of undercover agent Rick Martini, a member of the 7th Special Operations Group, aka, Green Beret, and the unseen eyes that have been following her and her abductors.
When Jeanette started her book with a list of news headlines, I thought I was going to be bogged down with heavy details of military maneuvers and boring technical information. Was I ever wrong!
The DMZ is a gripping story of life in Columbia that alludes to Julie’s life as an MK, and emerges into the guerrilla and paramilitaries that take over. It’s a time of danger, suspicions, espionage, and murder. The tension of the times is deliberately described to pull you into the danger and the fears that abound with the kidnapping and mysterious deaths. Jeanette does an excellent job of contrasting the metropolis area of Bogota’ and the jungle life and fears of the natives. Julie gives you first-hand descriptions of the massive landscape of the jungle and the ease of getting lost in such a grand area—the grandeur of the beauty and the dangers of death.
The plots and twists keep you intrigued throughout the book–at times fast-paced, and at others the day-by-day routines of the guerrilla tactics. Both make for an excellent read to the end.
I found the conversations very realistic to the circumstances and countries involved. They resonate with fear, danger, hopelessness, prayer, and trust in God. The romantic tensions are offset with the harshness and hardness of Rick’s tone and choice of words.
The ending seemed a little unnatural, but the suspense and surprise make up for it, the latter of which comes out of nowhere!
I was surprised with the idea of a woman writing such a book, but Jeanette personally lived some of what she writes about. She presents a book that you will be glad you picked up! It’s powerful, exciting and suspenseful! It surely opened up my eyes to the work of missionaries, that sometimes seem futile, and the depths that the enemy will go to destroy other countries.
This book was provided by Christy Anderson, Publicist, at Litfuse Publicity Group, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing, suspenseful, full of political drama!

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like intrigue, suspense, political drama, maybe a little romance, then this is the book for you. I know this is a cliche, but once I started reading The DMZ, I couldn't put it down. I was hooked from the first paragraph. I enjoy good writing and I have to say Jeanette Windle is one of the better ones out there.
The DMZ was nothing like I thought it would be. This book can be set next to one of Tom Clancey's, that's how good are the details and characters. Jeanette writes in such a clear and precise manner that her characters not only come to life, but the entire book will have you wondering if what she wrote about is actually taking place, in real life.
I found myself holding my breath and praying for Julie Baker, that's how deep you get into the book. Talk about getting caught in the cross-hairs, Julie Baker made a couple of decisions that not only landed her in danger, but she also stumbled upon a greater danger. One that was pointed directly at the United States.
If you are looking for a great book to read, then this is the one. The DMZ will carry you away to the rain-forests of Colombia, face some real bad guys and leave you thankful for our military here in the United States.
Jeanette Windle and her writing style will not leave you disappointed, but rather, will have you looking for more of her work.
I received a copy of The DMZ from LitFuse Publicity Group for the purpose of review. I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynnette Bonner
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Windle is one of my favorite authors and this book did not disappoint! Intrigue, danger, jungles, drug lords and romance! What more could you ask for in a book? How about undercover agents? Oh there are those too! If you are teetering on the edge, trying to decide whether to buy or not, I say do it! You won't be disappointed. This one goes on the keeper shelf.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The DMZ: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe DMZ.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Political Thriller

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Kaup
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The DMZ by Jeanette Windle is an action packed political suspense novel set in Columbia, a major hot spot for drugs, murder, terrorism, with connections to the Middle East oil. This book is so realistic that there were moments I felt as if I was reading a biography, Time, or viewing 20/20 on ABC.
The story begins with a history of the US involvement in Columbia, the friction between missionaries, aid workers and environmentalists, vs. the Columbia rebels and the Middle East oil. Julie Baker is a journalist who, against her publisher uncle’s wishes, accepts a job covering the turmoil in Columbia. She returns to the country she vowed she’d never enter, after her missionary parents were murdered when she was sixteen. This action packed adventure also has a bit of romance between Julie and her Special Forces officer, Captain Rick Martini. If you enjoy politics and suspense between a book’s jacket, you will enjoy this thriller. This book was completed on September 11, 2001, and is somewhat prophetic in light of the events of the past decade.
As the child of missionary parents, award-winning author and journalist Jeanette Windle grew up in the rural villages, jungles, and mountains of Colombia, which are now guerrilla hot zones. Described as a “top-notch storyteller” by Publishers Weekly, Jeanette’s detailed writing is so realistic and carefully researched that government agencies have questioned her to determine if she has received classified information. Currently based in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, Jeanette has lived in six countries and has traveled extensively on five continents. She has fifteen books in print, including the political suspense best-seller CrossFire, The Parker Twins series for tweens, Betrayed and Veiled Freedom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.