Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD

Zondervan Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD

God loves everyone, so a Christian should, too. In fact, Jesus said the most important thing in life is to love God with everything we've got and love others in the same way. But it's not always easy to love everyone around us, is it? Sometimes we strongly disagree with other people's political views, religious beliefs, behaviors, or something else, and it makes it hard to love them when we feel like we're right and they're very wrong. But Jesus doesn't separate loving God and loving others. So maybe the best way for us to show our love for God is actually by loving other people no matter how hard it sometimes is. Maybe it's the only way. Bullhorn is the ninth DVD of the NOOMA ® series - short films appropriate for personal and small group settings, congregational meetings, and much more. Like parables, they use the experiences of our lives to teach about the fullness of life through Jesus, tackling issues like forgiveness, discipleship, and unconditional love. The study materials accompanying each NOOMA ® encourage meaningful discussion with relevant questions and biblical references.

DVD Features
  • Running time: Approx. 12 minutes
  • Audio: English (Dolby Digital)
  • Subtitles: English, French, German, Korean, Mandarin, Portuguese, Spanish
  • Format: Closed-captioned
Zondervan originally included a discussion guide in all DVDs. Zondervan is transitioning the 32 page material into a PDF File that will not be included in the DVD itself. The Discussion guide will only be accessible from the DVD in PDF Format.
Average Customer Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Review 1 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Was what I needed for a class.

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobby
Location:Bethany MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was what I expected for the class I was teaching on evangelism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Randy Markham
Rob Bells Videos are real & fresh, he gets you to think, and teaches in a captivating video, great tool to show unbelievers, cause they are very relavant and practical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
philip Jones
How did we come to replace sound theology with liberal feel good thought? The character of the "Bullhorn Guy" was insulting and demeaning to anyone who shares Christ. I really liked #1 "Rain" I thought it was a refreshing video. Unfortunately it was just a lightweight intro to the real meat of Bell's theology that we are seeing in his last few DVD's. Let me see if I got this right: Sharing Christ crucified, a stumbling block to some and folly to others, is now wrong and I just need to "love" others into something? I am not sure what I would be loving them into as it clearly would not be Christ or his Kingdom. No Thanks-
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
n0t0fth1s34rth
I get the point, that some (SOME) street preachers do this the wrong way, but there are plenty who do it the right way. Bell sets up a straw man in this video and never addresses the true problem - that evangelism isn't being done the way Jesus and the New Testament church did it. For a much fairer treatment of this whole issue, try The Way of the Master.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lester Ross
It's been a while since I viewed this but I believe Bell is trying to say "Look things have changed and are changing, people respond when we show we care, not when we yell at them."..We cannot eliminate the many methods God may use to reach lost people. It may not be "our way" but reaching lost people is what matters. Buy the video if you want alternatives to yelling at people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tom
Please carefully examine the content of this dvd. If you're impressed with production quality, and have next to zero concern for biblical discernment, Gods glory, the Word of God or the glorious gospel of our Lord Jesus, you will like this dvd and see nothing wrong with what is being said. Sadly this DVD is a postmodern, pragmatic and liberal lash out at established biblical truths while under the guise of encouraging people to "love" others and God. So this does certainly appeal and slide under the radar of many churchgoers. This "love" however is not even remotely defined according to scripture. Rob Bell even goes so far as to use the example of the woman caught in adultery to show that Jesus wouldn't condemn someone or want us to talk about things like sin, judgment, hell, or repentance because it just doesnt "work" or is "making things worse". Even an entry level Bible reader would see that Jesus, who loved perfectly, spoke and confronted the lost with these very important things. The main issue with this dvd is the gospel we preach and a false understanding of what showing "love" to people really means. Please dear brothers and sisters be very careful with these Nooma dvds as a whole.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nate
Great message and great presentation of the message. It's not that it's a bad way to preach, it's just a bad way to preach. People convert when you sit down and share the love of God and how he has affected your life. Not when you tell them they better change their ways or punishment is heading their way. I don't believe that's the Christian way either. We need to show our love and how God lives out that love through us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Chris
I have seen the video, but let's look at Scripture: Pretty much from Noah through the prophets, Jesus, the apostles, and all the way up to William Booth (founder of the Salvation Army) 120 years ago open-air preached, and they had some rather harsh things to say about sin. John Wesley could open-air preach and folks not only would get saved, but end up lying on the ground knocked out because they'd had such a revelation of God. Read Matthew 7 and 23 for a quick example of how Jesus showed love: by not sparing the whole truth, even when it didn't seem loving. When you read the book of Acts, not once did the apostles mention God's love or a relationship in their evangelistic messages; in fact, the word "love" does not come up at all in a search in the ESV text of Acts! It was all about the cross: God's demonstration not only of His love, but how much He hates sin, that He went to such lengths to save us from our sin. As wonderful as John 3:16 is, it's not any more or less true than Psalm 5:5, Romans 2:4-10, or Acts 17:30-31. Sorry, but we cannot ignore God's justice and overemphasize God's love, and unfortunately Rob Bell has done that in this video.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nooma #9: Bullhorn, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Fred Zellner
We are using the Nooma videos for our home bible study, and are finding them very rewarding for our group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.