Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island

Barbour Publishing A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island

Attorney Alanna Stone has never forgotten Jonathon Covington--or the pain of his betrayal. In fact, he's why she's avoided returning to Mackinac Island. But an exhausting, high profile case and an urgent plea from her parents bring her home. She immediately finds herself thrust into controversy as an unsolved murder once again turns public opinion against her family. Jonathon has been waiting for her return, but the woman he sees now has little in common with the one who left. Will they be able to lay aside the past and let God heal their hearts, or will reconciliation come too late?
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Review 1 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun and intriguing

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island is a fun and exciting read, with well-drawn characters and a lovely setting that inspires both relaxation and mystery. As a lawyer herself, Cara Putman makes the criminal and legal aspects of the story intriguing and understandable. I highly recommend this novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a sweet book!

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island is a sweet, fun, and well-written story. I had visited Mackinac Island years ago and now am hoping to return someday and to explore some of the sites mentioned in the book. I eagerly looked forward to each time I could take a few minutes to sit down and read this book. The story moves right along, including secrets, mysteries, and even murder on the island. I recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance, Mystery and Mackinac Island

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cara C. Putman in her new book, “A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island” published by Barbour Publishing Inc. takes us to modern-day Mackinac Island, Michigan.
From the back cover: When past and present collide, God still has a plan.
Attorney Alana Stone vowed long ago to avoid Mackinac Island. Although it may seem like the perfect place to heal, for Alanna it holds too many memories of a painful past.
But an exhausting high-profile case and an urgent plea from her parents have brought Alanna home. Moving into the cabin next o Jonathan Covington doesn’t help her. Jonathan may have been her first love, but he was also her first lesson in betrayal. Now Alanna must protect her privacy and her heart. Then secrets and a murder intersect, and she’s thrust into controversy once again as tragedy turns public opinion against her and potentially her family.
For years, Jonathan has stubbornly resisted the urging of his family and friends to date, believing he’s already found the perfect woman. With Alanna’s return, he begins to wonder if he’s waited too long for someone who isn’t the right one after all.
Will Alanna and Jonathan be able to lay aside the past and let God heal their hearts?
Even though I have never been there I have a fondness for Mackinac Island. Why, you ask. I really like the movie “Somewhere in Time” and it takes place most on Mackinac Island and it looks great there. So when I found out that ”A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island” was going to take place there, well I just had to read this book. Let me tell you it most certainly does not disappoint. ”A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island” is great fun to read. It is a nice romance and it is funny. On top of this Ms. Putman drops in a murder investigation and a huge helping of suspense. Ms. Putman has a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Her characters are wonderful and she gives them life and unique voices. All this and Mackinac Island also. A really enjoyable read.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing Inc. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
As Alanna Stone was getting on the ferry to carry her to Mackinac Island she was thinking that she had swore that she would never return. It just held too many memories for her. But abiding by the request from her parents, she was on her way.
When she arrived she was going to live in a cabin next to her first love Jonathan Covington who had betrayed her. She was determined not too let him into her life again. But secrets and a murder threw her back into the public.
Jonathan had never married and resisted the urging of his family and friend to find that perfect woman. Would Alanna's return bring back feeling he thought was gone?
I want to thank Barbour Publishers for sending me this copy to read and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Romance with Suspense

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
WriterAshley
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book tells the sweet romance of an attorney, who comes back to Mackinac Island to help her family in a time of need, and her long-lost high school love. But the past holds secrets long buried, and these secrets are particularly meaningful to the attorney since they mean her brother's implication in a tragic accident. When the attorney and her high school sweetheart realize that the accident was actually a crime, things really start to heat up. Memories collide with feelings that never faded, and the couple must decide where to go with their developing relationship, even as their safety is in jeopardy.
The setting in this novel is so quaint it will make you want to pack your bags and head to Mackinac. Cara Putman does a fabulous job drawing out details, from fudge shops to bicycles, that make you feel like you're there. Her chapter endings leave you turning the page, for instance: "At the time, he'd thought they'd spend the rest of their lives shoulder to shoulder, taking on the world. Another dynamic duo. Poised to change the world. Then life happened. The world changed. And so did they."
This novel is quick and breezy, and will keep you guessing as to what's coming next with the full cast of characters she's assembled. A must read if you're interested in Mackinac!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Treat!

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jfromke
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like the fudge shops that pepper Mackinac Island, A Wedding Transpires . . . is a sweet treat for any reader. There is a delightful mystery tucked in between a very sweet romance. The setting is stunning, and very true to life! If you have not visited Mackinac Island before you read this book, you'll want to go when you finish with the story. The characters ring true. The ending is just right. I hope you'll give this book a try - you'll be hooked on Putman's writing for sure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great setting for romance/mystery

Date:April 15, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have ever been to Mackinac Island you will love returning there through Cara Putman's book. Mackinac Island is my favorite place to visit and I loved the chance to visit again through this book. The sights, sounds and smells were all present and easy to visualize.
If you have never been to Mackinac Island you should grab this book for a chance to visit this unique destination and discover some of its joys.
Mackinac Island was a great setting for this book. The tension of being on the island and how to get medical help when needed added another dimension to the story. If you are looking for a fun, yet suspenseful read you will enjoy this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Book---Now I want to visit this island!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patti Jo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading Cara Putman's book, A WEDDING TRANSPIRES ON MACKINAC ISLAND. Since I've never visited there I was eager to read not only this story but learn a little about the island. It was fun to do both! Cara Putman's characters came alive for me, and she has a very good balance of romance, action, and suspense in this story to keep me turning pages. Five stars for Cara's book!!! (and I'm ready to pack and visit Mackinac Island!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take a visit to Mackinac Island this spring!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Alanna vows never to return to Mackinac Island after the death that her brother was blamed for. She leaves and doesn't come back... until her parents need her and she takes a break from her successful career as a high profile attorney to run their art studio until they can come back. From the minute she is back she is haunted by the past even though most people seem to have let it go. Alanna runs into Jonathan as soon as she is back and she quickly realizes that her high school romance may be why she has never married. In the middle of the past resurfacing she is also confronted by mystery at every turn. Can she figure things out so that she can finally move on with her life? Another murder speeds up the need for solving the questions of the past and unraveling the questions of the present before its too late.
I expected a contemporary romance (not my favorite genre of all time, but I don't mind it) and was surprised to find that this book was more mystery/romance than contemporary romance. I didn't want to be interrupted as I raced to the end of this book. A wonderful read that I highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A delightful tale with surprising twists and turns. I've been to Mackinac Island and wondered
what it was like for residents. Did they dislike having the tourists? Did they really bike, walk or take
a horse drawn buggy taxi? Putman answered all of those questions for me.
A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island is what I call a nice bathtub read. The story is engaging and at times gets your heart rate up, but not so much that you
want to run while looking over your shoulder.
I enjoyed returning to Mackinac via the pages of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So Sweet!

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Second time around in reading this novel, this time as a hard copy in my hands, has gotten even better than the rough draft version I had on my computer.
“A Wedding Transpires” is a sweet story, mixed with a generous dose of romance, but also the perfect amount of character angst and pinch of suspense. Mix that all up on a setting that seems it must be larger than life and you have a novel that will lull you away in sweet contentment for the hours you spend among the pages.
What I loved the most is the story takes normal, everyday life and makes it perfect for the pages of a novel. A right balance of pace and story, the kind that makes for a quick read, but definitely a fulfilling one.
And just because I had the chance to help the author in the early stages of the novel, does not make me bias. I love to escape into such a novel. I don’t have to worry about broken plot pace, characters that act of well…character. Or a story that fails to entertain me. I can simply focus on finding a comfy, quiet place to read and settle in for a few hundred pages.
A great addition to the new Barbour destination collection, but also a sweet, quick read that will add pleasure to a few hours of your day. I know it did to mine.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author and publisher for my copy to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wedding Transpires another hit by Putman!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sabrina Fox
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've long been a fan of anything written by Cara Putman. So it was with great excitement that I opened A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island this weekend.
In this book, attorney Alanna Stone left Mackinac Island as a young woman and vowed never to return. After years away and only at the request of her mother, she returns to run the family art studio. We soon learn that when Alanna left Mackinac she also left behind her first love, Jonathan Covington.
For Jonathan, the loss of Alanna completely turned him off to dating and relationships in general. He never knew why she left and never returned. He didn't know what he'd done and though he tried to get over her, he realizes, he never did. Now, since Alanna's return, he begins to wonder if he's waited too long to find love.
Interspersed with all the romance is a mystery that's plagued the island for many years and is the sole reason of Alanna's departure. Both Alanna and Jonathan have to put aside their past heartbreak and work together to solve the mystery.
What I loved about this book, other than the great romance, is the wonderful job Putman does with transporting us to Mackinac. She made the island a character in itself and I loved that! If you've ever been, you will see how well she researched and weaved into the story all the quaint details that are so Mackinac. If you've never been, you'll want to go see this charming place for yourself.
After reading this book, I longed for a trip to the island and could almost imagine running into Alanna and Jonathan. Overall, another, great, easy read by Cara Putman. And if you've never read her other books I highly recommend Stars in the Night. One of her best.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.