Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1

Barbour Books Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1

To save their father from debtor's prison, three gently bred daughters sell themselves into servitude in America. Rose Harwood, auctioned off to the highest bidder in Virginia, is now the bondswoman of a grubby trader. Will she survive the trek deep into Indian Territory? Footloose frontiersman Nate Kinyon is eager to possess this rather thorny Rose. But is he willing to sacrifice his wealth and freedom to win her heart? When Rose's situation goes from bad to worse, she wonders if God has forsaken her after all. Is the disarming but godless Nate her only hope?
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Review 1 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
This review is fromRose's Pledge - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good with emphasis on Biblical principles

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jody
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was very entertaining...very comfortable read, and lots of really fun parts...most of all I thought it brought to our minds a sometimes forgotten people...the American Indians...and their need for the Lord...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Did not enjoy this book. Will not read sequel.

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Storyline is for young teen girls. Did not finish this book, and will not order the next in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating Story

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lady Di
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great read! I wasn't aware of the history of debtors prison and servitude. The author kept you wanting to read more. It was hard to put the book down. I'm glad this was book one. I'm anxious to read the stories of the other sisters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed the writers’ style

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose’s Pledge is written by Dianna Crawford and Sally Laity and published by Barbour Publishing, Inc.
Rose Harwood can not believe she is on her way to a trading post out west when only weeks ago she was selling all her family owned in England to help keep her father out of debt prison. Coming from England to America by boat and being auctioned off was not all she had hoped it would be. She and her two sisters are now separated and not sure when they will be together again. So far meeting a young man named Nate has been the only positive part of her trip! Nate is attracted to Rose and decides to go on the journey to the trading post with the fur trader and Rose.
I liked the descriptive writing in this story. It was not overdone and really helped me picture the people and settings talked about. The whole story moved quickly and entertained me as well. I enjoyed the writers’ style and thought this was one of the best western fiction books I have read. This is an excellent Christian fiction book to escape into!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Rose is the oldest Harwood Daughter. Her mother died when she was only 13 years of age. She became the mother figure for her younger siblings. She has sacrificed her courting years to take care of her family. Now she's an old spinster.
When her father is in debt and is threatened to go to debt prison, Rose comes up with a plan to get money to pay her father's debt. That plan included selling herself as bond servant to the colonies.
A dirty old man named Smith bought Rose to become his cook. The man is a fur trader and lives on a trading post in Indian territory. While traveling the 30 miles to that post she meets Nate, a handsome frontiersman, who wants to free her from Smith. But Smith doesn't want to sell his cook. Nate travels with Smith and Rose to the trading post and starts to have feelings for Rose.
Rose is a dedicated Christian and Nate isn't. So she's trying to guard her heart, but is attracted to him nevertheless.
It took me a while to get into the story, but once I did I really liked the story. I loved reading about the untamed wilderness, how they traveled and crossed rivers, always on guard for enemy Indians and Frenchmen. Also interesting to read was how the fur trading was done. I liked to read how Rose adapted to life in the wilderness, how she learned the fur trade and became a tough lady.
For the lover of historical fiction, especially frontiers settings, this book is a must read.
*I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and was not required to write a positive review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Would you give up your freedom to save your family

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rose has always been the responsible sister and when a constable arrives on her families doorstep looking for her father as he is to be arrested for unpaid debts , Rose decides to do whatever she can to save her father , so she gathers up all her families property and heads to the Bristol Markets to sell what she can . When she arrives home , her family are distraught as they believe they have been robbed. Rose explains the predicament and how she has managed to save her family but their is one thing she hasn't told her family - in order to get the right amount of money to save her father , she had to sell herself. We then are transported to a servant sale and it seems that her other sisters have offered to stand beside Rose and raise the money for their family. Mariah is sold to Colin , Lucy finds herself due to Rose's help with a lovely older couple and Rose finds herself with Mr Smith. Mr Smith takes Rose on a journey with him into Indian Country, along the journey tags Nate Kinyon , he has fallen in love with Rose and will do anything to save her from Mr Smith's grubby paws and the leering bachelors. On the journey, Rose meets a young women Helen who has been widowed and hurt , Helen is not alone though, she has a little babe named Jenny . Helen's last wish is for Rose to protect Jenny, so during the remainder of the journey Rose cares for Jenny. Will Rose get to keep Jenny when her grandparents are located ? Will Rose be free of Mr. Smith and Nate recieve his dream girl ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Unique Story!

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holly Smith
Location:Charleston, SC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rose Hardwood once lived a life of privilege and dignity. Now, she and her family are in deep trouble. In order to save her family from disgrace, Rose sells herself into indentured servitude. Far from her home in England, she finds herself in the American frontier. When she is sold to a fur trapper who lives in the deepest frontier of America, she finds herself farther from home than she expected and in the heart of Indian Territory. Nate Kinyon has made a living of trapping in Indian Territory for quite some time. When he meets Rose Harwood, he is astonished to discover her owner would bring her into such dangerous territory. He's determined to rescue her from her stubborn and heartless owner who doesn't seem to mind endangering her for his own gain. But just how much is Nate willing to pay to rescue her?
Rose's Pledge is a unique story that covers various topics in history, such as indentured servitude, the fur trapper trade in the early American frontier, the French and Indian war, and of course, the early perception of Native Americans.
With that said, this time period and the topics are not popular settings found in the Christian fiction market today. While colonial settings are starting to rise, readers don't know too much about the topics this story broaches. As a result, there is a lot of new information to take in.
I definitely found this book interesting, but due to the newness and vast topics it covered, this story seemed to have a lot historical detail that at times made me want to skip over the lengthy paragraphs detailing the various tribes and the conflict over the French and Indian War. While the information was essential to know for the purpose of plot advancement, it seemed to be presented as an information dump inside of dialogue or inner monologue. For whatever reason, I didn't find these parts of the story as interesting.
This story is a definite page-turner, and the the authors are skillful at keeping the reader in suspense as we wonder what is going to happen next.
While the cover gives readers the impression that this story is a full-fledged historical romance, I think it would fall more along the lines of a historical. Though the hero and heroine interact with one another early in the story, the sparks don't start to fly until halfway through the novel--and that's about as much as I can mention on that without spoiling the story.
As a historical, Rose's Pledge is definitely an interesting and engaging read. For those who enjoy colonial stories, or anyone interested in the fur trapping that took place during the colonial era, this is a story you will not want to miss.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Start of a Colonial Series

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rose is 25, a spinster, having spent the last twelve years taking care of her family since the death of her mother. Her father, Henry Harwood, a goldsmith, is facing financial ruin and imprisonment because of a large unpaid debt. In order to pay off the debt and save her family, Rose sells herself as an indentured servant for four years, a move which takes her to the city of Baltimore in the American Colonies. She is accompanied by her younger sisters, Mariah and Lily. As they leave England, Rose pledges to keep the family together, but when they arrive in America they are all auctioned off separately.
Rose finds herself deep in Indian country, the bondservant of a trader, Eustice Smith. On the journey to Smith’s trading post, she meets Nathan Kinyon, who is attracted to her and wants to purchase her indenture. Rose is attracted to the handsome man in the fine clothes, despite his rough speech and the fact that he is not a Christian.
The story is told almost entirely from Rose's point of view, which lacks variety, particularly as I did not personally find Rose to be an especially likeable character – she constantly worried that her sisters might not be seeing to their spiritual education, yet never read the Bible herself, although she did pray. She improved as the novel progressed, and she did eventually come to see that her actions in selling herself had been rash. While Rose’s Pledge ended nicely, the first half of the book dragged as Rose was constantly travelling and not much happened. Perhaps this was meant to be an allegory of life, how nothing much seems to be happening as you go through it, but when you look back a whole range of small events have influenced it.
I had a few problems with this book. Firstly, the beginning felt somewhat contrived, as though the authors were trying to find any excuse for the challenges they were about to inflict upon the heroine and her sisters. Secondly, I just found Rose a difficult character to like, so really didn't care much what happened to her. Finally, while the book was generally well researched, there were a few things that didn’t fit with the stated time (1753). Once I find one 'fact' that doesn't fit the time, I start wondering what else is wrong, and this pulls me out of the story. As a result, while I found Rose’s Pledge to be a pleasant enough read, I didn’t think it was outstanding. This is the first book in the Harwood House series, and the second, Mariah’s Quest, is due out mid-2012.
Thanks to Barbour Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A sweeping saga begins!

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
amyrjoy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the eldest Harwood sister, Rose paves the way for her and her sisters' way into the Indian country of America. She was determined for her father to steer clear of prison, and indenturing herself seemed to be the only way to make that a possibility. In doing so, she must travel the vast ocean with her two younger sisters, Lily and Mariah, and all three women endure the fear of their unknown futures.
Rose is bought buy a man who needs a cook, a particular kind of cooking for his stomach trouble. It's interesting to see how this plays in the story, and how the man changes in his sourly ways, to be someone you ALMOST are endeared to.
The only comforting presence for Rose as she is forced to journey into the wilderness with the trader and his guides is Nate, a frontiersman and wanderer by rights. He is besotted with her and finds himself unwilling to force himself away from her sight. He remains close by as much as possible, and they both continue their friendship, and this becomes more as they discover their love for each other.
This first book of a series brings to light a time of history we sometimes forget, as well as its hardships. You will go from Bath, England to the coast of colonial America and then further into the barely known lands of wild America. There are so many unknowns to Rose, especially will she ever hear from or see her sisters again? Will she truly be living in the wilderness for four years, indentured to the rough trader and his hateful wife? Will Nate recognize the Lord for who He is, and enter into a faith as Rose longs him to do?
The writing of Rose's Pledge is superb, springing forth adventure, love, and careful documentations of our nation's history! It is a love story that has it all- adventure, faith, and courage of heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Promising Beginning a New Series

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rose's Pledge is the first novel in the Harwood House series, a promising collaboration between Sally Laity and Dianna Crawford. After reading Dianna Cawford's other novels several years ago, I was excited to discover Rose's Pledge. Set in the untamed wilderness of 1700s America, the novel is filled with rugged peril, sacrifice, joy, and love. The plot begins in the Harwood House in fashionable Bath, England, where the authors paint the backstory for the Harwood sisters' journey to America. As Rose, Mariah, and Lily travel across the Atlantic and face their futures as indentured servants, Laity and Crawford create distinct circumstances and personalities for each. The beginning of Rose's Pledge is a strong foundation for the Rose's story and those of her sisters.
From the beginning, Rose is established as a courageous and loving young woman who will go to great lengths to protect her family. These traits, combined with her faith, make Rose a strong and likable heroine. She faces numerous challenges throughout her journey to an untamed and dangerous land. Her indentured life is filled with underlying dangers, which left me in suspense and moved the plot steadily along. Unexpected moments of joy lighten even the most difficult circumstances.
Nate Kinyon is, in many ways, the opposite of Rose. He is rugged, unrefined, and lacking in faith. Laity and Crawford employ backwoods dialect to lend authenticity to Nate's character. At times I found his written accent a bit distracting and felt that his character was not developed as deeply as Rose's. Nate possesses a goodness that shines through his rough exterior, and his devotion to Rose's protection is endearing.
Rose's Pledge can be read as a satisfying stand-alone novel, but there are more stories to be told. I look forward to the future focus on Mariah and Lily.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from NetGalley, courtesy of Barbour Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rose's Pledge, Harwood House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical by authors I haven't read before

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always enjoyed reading historical novels set in Colonial America. Plots where women had to rough it to survive on the frontier make those types of stories even more intriguing to me. Toss in the fact that the heroine was orignally from England and sold herself as an indentured servant along with her sisters to help keep her father out of debtor's prison, thus causing them all to be shipped off to the Americas... Well, I'll just say that makes for a intriguing plot with major potential. The authors pulled this concept off well and I learned quite a bit about the French and the Indian raids on traders' posts during that perilous period in time. The setting was so well done I was freezing right along with them while they were on the run. The authors' writing and "voice" were seamless, as if written by one person rather than two.
Rose's Pledge was an enthralling novel with excellent pacing. It held my attention so well I wanted to do little else but read. The hero was charming and the spiritual thread in the story was gripping and believable. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and can't help wondering whose story will be next. I'm thinking it will be Mariah's story. I can't wait to read that one because I'm already intrigued with the setting she is in and her delusions of romance and grandeur.
I appreciated how the authors' used Rose's story to show how sometimes God uses the most unlikely circumstances to bring about our greatest joy in life. The authors also showed that sometimes God strips everything from us so that we'll depend on Him for everything and learn to see Him working in every situation in our lives. Peril will cause even the most unlikely people to seek God's protection and help, and sometimes they will even turn their hearts toward Him. Well-written, Rose's Pledge has a solid plot with great pacing, believable characters, and an intriguing setting. But most of all, it is a story of deep and abiding faith. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.