Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Soul Saver

Barbour Publishing The Soul Saver

Lexie Baltimore is in the supernatural battle of her life. In obedience to God's calling, Lexie uses her art and dreams to help others. But will she have enough courage to help herself when she becomes torn between her atheist husband and a godly man? A widower and a father, Pastor Nate Winslow is drowning in darkness. Will he resist his treacherous assignment to win Lexie's heart or give in to the attraction between them? As events unfold, Lexie becomes entangled in a twisted plot. Will she overcome the evil assailing her or yield to the dark side?
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Soul Saver
Review 1 for The Soul Saver
This review is fromThe Soul Saver - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lexie Baltimore is a sculptor that uses her talents in obedience to God's calling. Remembering the faces that she dreams of, she sculpts them to help them. But one day she sculpts a face that isn't an easy in-and-out mission like the others were. Instead, she embarks on a mission that is the biggest one she's ever taken on - herself. Will she be able to see the truth before it's too late?
Nate Winslow is drowning in the regret of the past. He has one mission and one mission only; to win Lexie's heart. She is a married woman that is shackled to an unbeliever, and Nate is the kind of man she imagines her husband Hugh, capable of being if he would only believe. Will the dangerous game he is playing endanger more than his daughter? Or is there more at stake than either of them realize?
This book was a little different than I'm used to reading. But I couldn't help but get sucked into the story, with it's page turning action and excitement. Miller really went out on a limb by writing this kind of story, and I have to admit I really got into it and was sad to read the final page. The simple humanity of the darkness portrayed in this novel is very down to earth and realistic, and it wasn't until the truth was revealed that I realized what was happening. A very compelling read and a fast paced plot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I couldn't put it down

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great book. It really shows how easy it can be to convince ourselves that what we know is wrong might be OK after all and how easy it is to recognize that others need help while not seeing the help we need ourselves. How easy it can be for Satan to slip through the cracks of our lives and start to deceive us into following his will instead of keeping our trust in God. This is a great thought-provoking story. I would recommend it to anyone but especially to believers who are considering non-believers or perhaps are already living in a marriage like that. It really shows some of the problems that could result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritual warfare in real life

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alexis Baltimore senses a diving calling to sculpt the faces of those she is to aid. Her physics professor husband, Hugh, feels at odds with his wife’s Christian beliefs. He struggles to gain tenure at the university, but it may be at the risk of his marriage. Lexie loves her family, but is torn between pleasing Hugh and following her faith and her heart.
The ongoing battle between good and evil is realistically portrayed in the novel Soul Saver by Dineen Miller. This story brings to mind Goethe’s Faust and his deal with the devil along with Frank Peretti’s This Present Darkness. Be prepared for an encounter with a demon in human form—his mission is to destroy, and he will stop at nothing because he has nothing to lose.
Can Lexie save those she cares about or will she allow the enemy to win? Open your eyes to the spiritual battle that is all too real.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lexie Baltimore is a sculptor that uses her talents in obedience to God's calling. Remembering the faces that she dreams of, she sculpts them to help them. But one day she sculpts a face that isn't an easy in-and-out mission like the others were. Instead, she embarks on a mission that is the biggest one she's ever taken on - herself. Will she be able to see the truth before it's too late?
Nate Winslow is drowning in the regret of the past. He has one mission and one mission only; to win Lexie's heart. She is a married woman that is shackled to an unbeliever, and Nate is the kind of man she imagines her husband Hugh, capable of being if he would only believe. Will the dangerous game he is playing endanger more than his daughter? Or is there more at stake than either of them realize?
This book was a little different than I'm used to reading. But I couldn't help but get sucked into the story, with it's page turning action and excitement. Miller really went out on a limb by writing this kind of story, and I have to admit I really got into it and was sad to read the final page. The simple humanity of the darkness portrayed in this novel is very down to earth and realistic, and it wasn't until the truth was revealed that I realized what was happening. A very compelling read and a fast paced plot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Supernatural Story Harkens Back to Peretti

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christina Berry
Location:Portland, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This debut novel by Dineen Miller is clear from the first pages that it's not your usual book. The Soul Saver is a supernatural story of a woman in a mismatched marriage, meaning she is a strong believer in Christ and her husband has lost his faith.
Desperate to love each other and have the strongest marriage possible despite their different beliefs, Lexie and Hugh find common ground in many areas. But Lexie has a special talent, a calling straight from God, and Hugh could never understand it. Or could he?
With a demonic presence out to get Lexie through a most unlikely source, both she and her husband will be stretched beyond what they thought they could bear emotionally, physically, and spiritually. If you are a fan of Frank Peretti, you will love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Story

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChasAMo2Go
Location:Brownsville, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished reading "The Soul Saver." Poignantly and tenderly written, but a woman who has probably experienced everything she writes about in her novel. Very encouraging book about trusting God in all situations, while our tendency is to trust ourselves. Well written, and very compelling. A good read for anyone and everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"The Soul Saver" - a MUST read!!!

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
MeGailmo
Location:Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
After reading Dineen Miller's book co -authored with Lynn Donovan "Winning Him Without Words" I was so excited to hear the Dineen had a Christian fiction book out - "The Soul Saver". I couldn't wait to read it. The pages came alive for me as I read about Hugh and Lexie Baltimore, in a spiritually unmatched marriage. Not only is there encouragement for others in marriages like Hugh and Lexie's, but also how God moves in our lives and how alive spiritual warfare is. Hugh is a college professor turned atheist after they lost their daughter to cancer. Lexie is a clay sculptress who is strong in her faith. God gives her a vision of a face that she then sculpts of someone who she will soon meet and be of help in some way. She trusts God to lead her to the person she has sculpted and to guide her in her mission. One of her sculptures is of a pastor, Nate, who is a widow and who has sold his soul to Satan. Lexie turns to Nate because he is the Godly man she wishes Hugh was. Little does she know that Satan is alive and well in Nate's life in the person of Tobias. Abby, Lexie's mentor encourages her to trust God with her marriage. "The Soul Saver" is a book you will not be able to put down. Highly recommended for anyone in a spiritually unmatched marriage, those desiring a mentoring relationship, and those who know that spiritual warfare exists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritual Warfare for the Spiritually Mismatched

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lexis Baltimore feels confused. She feels trapped in a marriage to a man who does not share her faith. She feels drawn to a pastor, Nate Winslow, who has sold his soul to the devil. She feels the loss of her daughter who died a horrible death by cancer.
And now she finds herself in the midst of a spiritual battle that could totally destroy her marriage and witness.
She also has Christians willing to walk alongside her - Abby and her group of fellow prayers are the most readily available, but there are others. It will take the effort of all to resolve the tension rising to the surface in the lives of all those around.
Using the lessons in the author’s previous book, Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage, Lexis begins to understand that she must ultimately trust God - she cannot drag her husband into heaven, only God can save him. I was reminded of three questions that my wife and I have had to learn the answer to when faced with life’s most difficult circumstances:
* Who is in control? - God
* Who do I need to trust? - God
* What else do I need to do? - Nothing
It would take time, but Nate, Lexis, and her husband would each learn these lessons. And Satan would lose the battle for their souls and they each would individually experience God’s grace.
Designed to encourage the spouse with an unbelieving spouse, the book will also provide support for the man or woman caught up in a spiritual battle or whose spouse is feared to be an adulterer; or serve as support for the person who is called to walk alongside those facing these difficulties in life.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Debut Novel

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dineen Miller has crafted a page turner. Once I started reading the book I could not put it down. The Soul Saver has all the elements that I love about secular writer Iris Johansen. The sculpture of faces, the paranormal action. However I appreciate Miller’s Christian worldview.
I always respect an author who makes me stop and think. Satan knows each of our weaknesses. And that is what he uses to tempt us. If I were in Hugh Baltimore’s shoes, how would I react? Or if God kept sending me on these missions and my husband refused to see God in them. Would I give up on him like Lexie was tempted to do?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touched me deeply.

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryLu Tyndall
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the wife of a former unbeliever, this novel touched me in ways I hadn't expected. I felt the pain and heartache of the main character Lexie as if it was my own, as if I was reliving my past. I remember those days of crying out to God, of yearning for my husband to know God and to be someone I could share my faith with. It's a lonely place to be and Ms. Miller captured it expertly. Of course she would. She's in the same position and understands the sorrow and pain first hand. I loved this novel! I loved the symbolism in the sculptures God led Lexie to make... how each person was someone God wanted her to help! I loved the angst between husband and wife. It was so real, so heart rendering, that I just wanted to reach out and hug them both! But most of all, I loved the spiritual warfare! Ms Miller showed so skillfully how the enemy battles us on all fronts when a soul is at stake. At work, at home, with family...always trying to pull husband and wife apart using every tactic he can: personal failure, career problems, sexual temptation, etc. This is something most people rarely acknowledge or remember when they are going through tough times. We have an enemy and he is powerful and evil and wants to drag us to hell! But Gods' love always wins out in the end. The spiritual lessons woven through this novel will benefit many wives in similar situations, but you don't have to be in a mismatched marriage to enjoy this novel and to learn powerful truths about the battle between good and evil and how God wants us to look inside ourselves before we can truly look out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A reality based spiritual battle indeed!!

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
GTHC
Location:Jonesboro, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are a (Lexie) as in the book, this is a must read for you!! If you are a book lover you will appreciate this book just as well. The characters represent their roles perfectly. The author combined many aspects of walking in the spirit that may not be spoken of very much, but are real and everyday experiences. A great eye-opener for anyone in a unequally yoked marriage. You will find courage, hope, faith, truth, love, and even events from the (dark side). You will enjoy every page from first to last...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is nothing short of amazing!

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Markeitha C
Location:Mckinney, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dineen Miller is a wonderful author, her skills are unmatched in this spirited Christian novel. This book keeps you turning page after page! I found myself relating to the main character Lexie and living through her as the story unfolded! The suspense and gasps I experienced from diving into this read are incomparable! I have not read a book of this quality in a long time!
Lexie is the everyday Christian woman! She loves her husband, loves her son, and loves her unique ministry. She is struggling with the battle of living in a spiritually mismatched marriage but even a woman with a saved husband can identify with Lexie and some of her struggles. Dineen does not simply tell a story, she is clearly led by God on the unique and intriguing ways to incorporate issues we Christians don't normally talk about. The Soul Saver will keep you engulfed until the very last page! I am amazed at the quality in which this book was written! This is a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Spiritual Battle is unleashed!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Temptation exists all around us. Waiting in the shadows and in the dark to lead us astray if we are willing to open ourselves up to it. That is just what The Soul Saver by Dineen Miller is all about.
Hugh Baltimore has been striving for the very best life has to offer for the last seven years at the Stanford University where he is working on his tenure. After the loss of his daughter, Mandy, he has found solace and peace in the answers science can offer him. Whereas, his wife Lexie has clung to her faith in God to help her move forward in her life with Hugh and their remaining child, eight-year-old Jeremy. This has created a huge divide in their marriage and as long as Lexie keeps her faith to herself and stops trying to win Hugh over to God, maybe they can agree to disagree with where their futures are headed.
By it's Hugh's soul that is the ultimate prize and one that Tobias wants. He has made a pact with the former pastor of Freedom Church, Nate Winslow that he will save his daughter Sam, a recent heart recipient if he will help him in his evil plans. Knowing that God didn't help him save his wife in the accident that almost claimed Sam, he was willing to do whatever it took to ensure that he didn't lose Sam as well.
Lexie Baltimore has an extraordinaire gift from God. It's a vision he has given her to sculpt a bust of whomever he wants Lexie on a mission. Whenever she sculpts their face, Lexie knows that God will place that person in her path and she will listen to whatever promptings God places on her heart to intervene and right now that person is Nate Winslow.
I received The Soul Saver by Dineen Miller compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and LOVED it. This is a very different look at how temptation can affect the believer and the unbeliever alike in the most astonishing ways imaginable. Let us never forget how truly real this can be in our daily battles with the enemy. Spiritual warfare is an ongoing battle and the souls that God wants to save may be the very ones we are the closest to! I highly recommend this book and rate it a 5 out of 5 stars. This truly shows us just how powerful our God is, and how effective our spiritual armor and prayer can be in winning wars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME Debut Novel

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobinCaroll
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a life-changer! Focusing on the hot-topic of a spiritually mismatched marriage, this book grabs you by the heart and doesn't let go until you turn the last page. With a natural talent for penning beautiful prose, Miller paints a story sure to make you stop and evaluate your faith and your heart. This is a read not to be missed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, Exciting Read

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lexie Baltimore is the wife of a non-believer, but her faith is so strong that God speaks to her through her gift. She creates clay busts of unknown people when God sends her on a mission to help them. Then, marital problems begin to crack through her shield and she turns to one of her missions, a preacher himself who turned his back on God when his wife died last year. Rumors and accusations abound, as a demon called Tobias sets the scene to grab the soul of Lexie’s husband. Although Lexie hears the voice of God, she still has doubts and fears about her life and her choices, giving her a realistic quality.
Spiritual warfare always grabs my attention, and in The Soul Saver Dineen A. Miller, definitely has a hit. The twists of the plot create a depth that keeps the reader looking for the next turn. Great, exciting story.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Soul Saver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling & Heartwrenching!

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
RonieK
Location:North Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Watching the drama and distance unfold between Lexi and Hugh is heart-wrenching! Miller does a fantastic job weaving a compelling story, sprinkled with ominous manipulation by supernatural forces. Miller's firsthand knowledge of a mismatched marriage lends itself beautiful--and achingly--to this story, adding depth and dimension that is lacking in other stories like this. Dineen is definitely an author to watch!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.