Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2

Barbour Books Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2

Embark on an exotic adventure in Book 2 of the Escape to Paradise series from bestselling author MaryLu Tyndall. In the fledgling colony of New Hope, their friends struggle to create a Southern utopia in Brazil soon after the Civil War. But Hayden is seeking revenge-relentlessly. And Magnolia is seeking a way out-desperately. They both seek to use the other for their own purposes-deceptively. Falling in love was never part of their plans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.725 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
79 out of 8099%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Review 1 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Profanity use in book

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
yaya
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
And yet we have what is suppose to be a christian author use God's name in vain in her book…very disappointed :-(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting journey of adventure and hope!

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
NorthernBelle
Location:Savage, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elusive Hope continues the story of a group of post-Civil War Southerners who have left the United States and relocated to Brazil to begin a new life there. The story centers around Southern belle Magnolia Scott and conman Hayden Gale. Although they come from very different backgrounds, they are both facing personal battles including unresolved conflicts with their fathers.
As the story progresses Magnolia and Hayden find themselves on a journey—a physical one (through the jungles of Brazil) as well as an emotional and spiritual one.
MaryLu Tyndall does an excellent job of drawing the reader into the compelling story. As a reader you feel like you are on the journey with Magnolia and Hayden, and you feel their pain and their eventual joy as they discover faith and hope, and the healing power of love and forgiveness.
I also thoroughly enjoyed how the author wove elements of humor and emotion into a beautiful story of adventure and love and redemption. I highly recommend Elusive Hope!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elusive Hope: Escape to Paradise (Book 2)
By: MaryLu Tyndall
MaryLu writes such wonderful Historical books. Elusive Hope is number 2 in the series. They just get better. Very strong characters. Lots of adventure. This is the story of Hayden and Magnolia. Magnolia daughter to a plantation owner use to getting her way seeks to get what she wants no matter what. Hayden who isn't trust worthy is out to get what he wants these two are using each other to get what they want. Will Hayden and Magnolia get to gather? Will they put their Faith and Hope in Jesus?
MaryLu has a way of telling a story where there is some adventure and some romance but done in taste ,then she always blends in the Spiritual. I leave this book looking forward to the next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
GRITS
Location:Georgia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Elusive Hope is a continuation of Fallen Dreams. I love this series since they are from the South in the book, about from where I am from :) which always makes it a good read :). Do y'all remember Magnolia Scott? She was that prissy whinny girl from the first book that liked to flirt and decided to try drinking? Yea she's back! lol But she is trying to change, unfortunately her parents don't really approve of this change or condone it. She decides to leave for that fancy pants 'Fiance' She says she has back in the states, but the only person she can find that is going that direction is Hayden Gale. A man she isn't very fond of.
Hayden Gale, all he is wanting to do is find his Father and have his revenge. It's the only reason for being in Brazil in the first place, Not to babysit some rich spoiled little girl. Until he realizes what he can earn from this 'position'. They both start bluffing each other and using each other on their way back to the states. Little did they know what trials would be waiting for them on the Journey. Or how closely knit their lives truly were.
*I received my copy from the author for free, but have been in no way told what to say in my review be it positive or negative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brazilian adventure!

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
potosrose
Location:Colorado Springs, Co
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magnolia is far, far away from the charmed life she is used to. In fact, she is on a completely different continent from her charmed life in Georgia. Of course, that was before the Civil War, before the incident with Martin, before her father decided all of the hopes and dreams for the Scott family rested on Magnolia’s slim shoulders. And as far as that insufferable Hayden Gale goes-well, he may be good-looking but he is as far from a gentleman as a man can get! But it is so infuriating how he manages to get under her skin! Now if only he will cooperate and be her guide to Rio so she can go back to Georgia and try to regain her life. Sure she will have to fib and tell him he will receive a large sum of money at the end of the journey, but really, anything to get her home and back to a semblance of normal. Away from Brazil, away from her father, and away from Hayden’s tempting good looks. And getting away from the strange happenings around their village will be wonderful too. Several people say they have seen ghostly visions of people they knew, people who hurt them in the past. But that’s impossible…isn’t it?
Oh Marylu, you spoil me. Writing such wonderful stories with characters that I am sad to leave at the last turn of the page. I love it! The banter between Hayden and Magnolia made me laugh out loud and scare my dogs, which made me laugh more ;) Cannot wait for the next book in the series!
**I received this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The adventure continues in Elusive Hope!

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lady Katy
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Escape to Paradise series is continuing to live up to the expectations I have for it! In the second installment, Elusive Hope , I find myself back with the people I had come to know (and some love ;-) in Forsaken Dreams. Not all the people looking to start a new life in New Hope are likable or even kind, but -- in true Tyndall fashion -- all the characters are realistic and memorable.
I will come right out and admit that I did not like Magnolia in the first book, Forsaken Dreams. She was very annoying and not the person I would want to spend time with, if I had been on that voyage! So I had to hand it to Hayden when he was so determined to flirt with her in both Forsaken Dreams and then now in Elusive Hope . It fit his character, though, and I enjoyed the banter that went on between the two.
With all that said about Magnolia, I was very glad to see her change and mature in Elusive Hope . I think Hayden's firm hand had a lot to do with Magnolia's change of heart --- I mean, I know it's obvious they fell in love with each other...but I think the way Hayden spoke bluntly to her really made her realize how selfishly she was behaving. So while I had my doubts about liking this book -- since it was centered on Magnolia -- I ended up liking her very much by the end of the book. :-)
There were several rather 'scandalous' moments in Elusive Hope where Magnolia and Hayden were either caught in something of an inappropriate situation together or exchanging a passionate kiss. There was a bit more physical attraction going on in the book than I personally like, but if you don't mind that, then you shouldn't have any qualms about this book.
It was really neat getting a glimpse into what it's like in Brazil. From Elusive Hope , it sounds miserably humid! I'm not sure if I would like building a new town in a place like that, but it was neat reading about it! With the cliffhanger ended that MaryLu Tyndall left us with , I know I'm not the only one looking forward to the next book coming out! That temple sure is spooky!!
I reviewed this book for the author. It was not required that I give a positive review, but solely to express my own thoughts and opinions of this book, which I have done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
JoyGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elusive Hope tells a story of a group of misfits that are trying to form a new colony. It deals with the basic struggles that any group would have when starting a new life together in the middle of nowhere. The only problem is that there is more than just those problems, there is something deeper, much deeper, that lies in the land. The people face a darkness that is there, a spiritual darkness.
The main characters in the book, Magnolia and Hayden, also face many struggles. Magnolia is unhappy with being uprooted from her home and being brought along to start the new colony. She blames her father for taking her away from her comfortable, upper-class life. Magnolia has a hard time dealing with these changes. Hayden is also unhappy with his current situation. While it was his choice to go on the journey with the rest of the group to colonize this new land, he had ulterior motives. His true reason for going to Brazil is to look for his father, who he believes killed his mother. Hayden and Magnolia are each on their own journey, but get thrown together time and again.
Will they find love or will they continue to butt heads at every turn? You will have to read the book to find out!
MaryLu Tyndall has a way of weaving a fun romance into a story. She also captures deep issues and the real life struggles of everyday life. I think you will enjoy the story and I would recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Discovering faith in a jungle

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
BurtonBookReview
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second installment to the Escape to Paradise trilogy focuses on Magnolia Scott and Hayden Gale who we met during Forsaken Dreams. The first novel featured the background to the travelers on the journey to Brazil and should be read first. I was looking forward to continuing this story of a new colony of Southerners eager to make a fresh start close to a jungle far from home, and far from the damages of the Civil War.
While Forsaken Dreams focused on rebuilding a Southern Utopia, this novel seemed to focus more on the characters' interactions with each other with a major focus on the love blossoming between the opposites attract angle between Magnolia and Hayden. Deep down they weren't very opposite as they were both self serving and difficult to get along with, which made their relationship that much more fun to watch develop.
The intriguing twist to this romance was the ominous shadow that had that supernatural quivering tingle underneath the main plot line, and it wasn't until the end that we get to that climatic conclusion... but it wasn't a conclusion except more of a cliffhanger which will again entice MaryLu's readers to pick up her next novel. It was well-written with just the right dose of faith-based discovery, with characters that really help flesh out this intriguing setting. Definitely not to be read as a stand-alone though, as newcomers will lose the sense of the story if they start here.
With thanks to the author for providing me with a review copy in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hold on! You're in for one fabulous ride!

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vickie McDonough
Location:OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of Marylu Tyndall’s books since the first one I read. Her latest book, Elusive Hope, is one of her best so far. The descriptions of the jungle are so visually stunning, you’ll hear the birds and bugs and feel the sweltering heat. The chemistry between the hunky, hurting hero and spoiled Southern belle heroine was so fabulous that I didn’t want the book to end. The sinister villain will have you looking over your shoulder and jumping at noises, but the message of faith, forgiveness, and hope will encourage you. I can’t say enough about this wonderful book. Marylu Tyndall is one of the best authors in Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A novel of the struggle of good vs. evil.

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
KBSP
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from bookfun.org in return for my honest opinion.Book two in the Escape to Paradise series joins the southerners in Rio de Janeiro shortly after their arrival. They have found a deserted settlement and have set up their town. It is after the Civil war and the Southerners have sailed to South America in search of a Utopia like the one they lost. Hayden Gale came in search of his father so that he may have his vengeance against him and the vile things he’s done. Magnolia Scott was dragged by her parents to this god-forsaken place in hopes of marrying her off to the highest bidder. But Magnolia has left a fiancé back home in America and is fighting tooth and nail to return to him. While these two go about their separate quests, the township is plagued with inexplicable and terrible visions. It is only if they look to God and use their brains that they will overcome these circumstances and triumph over evil. It is a wonderful story about the struggle of good and evil with some history thrown in for good measure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Steamy and Fun

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessie G
Location:Post Falls, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elusive Hope is a steamy, fun read while remaining clean and completely redemptive. How she do that?
I love MaryLu Tyndall's novels and I'm not normally a romance reader but her stories always deal with struggling, realistic characters who fight against their imperfections to overcome with the help of Christ. If that sounds good to you, that is the essence of Transfomational Fiction. You can find a group of authors promoting that type of fiction on Facebook. Adding to Tyndall's great plots and characters personal struggles is sexual tension and clean romance that really sizzles. Is that even possible? Well if you like romance novels and you want a book with great Christian values, read this one and see for yourself.
Elusive Hope stands alone but is a sequel to Forsake Dreams. If I had to pick one though, Elusive Hope is my favorite of the two.
Here is the book description from the back cover:
Embark on an exotic adventure in Book 2 of the Escape to Paradise series from bestselling author MaryLu Tyndall. In the fledgling colony of New Hope, their friends struggle to create a Southern utopia in Brazil soon after the Civil War. But Hayden is seeking revenge—relentlessly. And Magnolia is seeking a way out—desperately. They both seek to use the other for their own purposes—deceptively. Falling in love was never part of their plans. . . .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Story of Love and Adventure

Date:April 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Elusive Hope is the story of spoiled southern belle Magnolia Scott and con man Hayden Gale. Magnolia has been forced by her parents to leave her beloved south and start over in the wilds of Brazil in hopes of securing a rich husband to restore the family fortunes. Hayden is on a mission to find his father and make him pay for walking out on his mother and leaving them destitute while Hayden was still a child. But as Hayden's and Magnolia's paths collide, sparks begin to fly!
This is a great story of adventure and love as God begins to do a work the hearts and lives of the Colony of New Hope. Marylu Tyndall is a gifted writer who creates interesting characters and story lines. I enjoyed seeing her take a character who I didn't like very much in the beginning and change them into someone I was rooting for. I do feel I should mention that there is a super natural element written into the storyline.
I was given a copy of the book by The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You've got to read this book!

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Johnette
Location:Salem, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One thing I love about MaryLu's books (and there are many things I love about them) are her dedications. Elusive Hope is dedicated to : all those who feel they never measure up. Wow! I've been there, have you? This is the sense I got from many of the characters.
Have you ever felt trapped? Living your life just to please everyone else? Thinking all that you are worth,comes from your outward looks? Letting your past dictate who you are now and how you feel about yourself? Trapped by anger or feelings ...not being able to let the past go? Feeling God has left you because you let Him down? You quickly sense that most of the characters of Elusive Hope feel trapped. They've traveled all the way to Brazil to escape the torn country and to gain freedom...and yet they are still trapped!
I love banter between two of the main characters...Hayden and Magnolia, and the situations they find themselves in as they make there way through the jungles of brazil.
MaryLu is so descriptive. I tell you I could almost feel a hot mist on my skin, see the drops of dew on the lush greenery and hear the birds and noises of animals as I read this book.
The twists and turns, pirates, a temple, spiritual warfare, love, searching for gold and so much more wrapped up in one book! MaryLu masterfully spins a tale that leaves you begging for another chapter....or two...okay about 40! Thank you, MaryLu for your hard work. Your love for the Lord shines as you share His love in your books! Thank you for once again blessing me as I read!
I cannot wait to continue this trilogy when Abandoned Memories comes out in June! If you haven't read this series, you must get your hands on it! Forsaken Dreams is the first book in the series and a great place to start.
Oh, and if you are one that doesn't feel like you measure up...God loves you just the way you are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic follow-up

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
BeeV
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elusive Hope continues the story that began in Forsaken Dreams about the group of Confederates that have fled the post-Civil War South for Brazil. The immigrants have settled into their new homes only to face a new set of challenges. In this book author MaryLu Tyndall focuses on Hayden Gale, a conman set on searching out his father, and Magnolia Scott, a debutant set on searching out a way back home. The second book in the Escape to Paradise series gives readers an up-close look into the wilds of 1860’s Brazil, possibly a closer look than one could hope for.
The story keeps you hooked, laughing and gasping, until the very last word and will have you wishing for more from these travelling dreamers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

filled w/ spiritual truths, adventure & romance!!

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
pwnmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this second book of the Escape to Paradise series, MaryLu Tyndall has continued the story of the characters from the first book, but moved the focus to another set of "main characters." Elusive Hope revolves around Magnolia, a spoiled, well-to-do young Southern Belle who has "ruined her family name and owes her parents a good marriage," and Hayden- a handsome charismatic young man who has used his looks and charisma to swindle his way from childhood to adulthood in one piece. Magnolia seeks attention and appreciation from any man who will give it to her, not necessarily in the best of ways and Hayden seeks revenge on the father who abandoned himself and his mother when he was young, leaving them poor and unable to take care of themselves. When Hayden sets off to find his father, Magnolia follows him, but when dark comes and nocturnal animals come out... Hayden takes care of Magnolia. Meanwhile, back at the settlement, things get weird. A spiritual darkness attacks the different settlers... and then along comes pirates.
If you haven't read the Forsaken Dreams, the first book in the series, I would highly recommend reading it first, but it's not a requirement. This book is a great read filled with spiritual truths, adventure and romance!! Check it out!! I cannot wait for the third book, Abandoned Memories, due out July 2014. If you read these two books and need something else to read, check out the rest of MaryLu's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Second in the Series Doesn't Disappoint....

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jaxom
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though this is the second book in the series, it can be read without reading the first book. Yes, the characters are introduced in the first book, but there is enough information that Elusive Hope can be read as a stand-alone book (though I don’t think this will be true for book 3). I do recommend that you read the first book, Forsaken Dreams, to get the whole story.
As the colony of New Hope is being established in the jungles of Brazil, things are not what they seem. There is a darkness present that will test everyone’s faith. Some of the colonists are having haunting visions. This subplot of Elusive Hope will probably be concluded in book 3 – Abandoned Memories – due out in June 2014.
The main plot of Elusive Hope centers around Hayden Gale, a scoundrel of his own making, who is seeking revenge on the father that left him and his mother penniless. The other main character is spoiled rich girl Magnolia Scott, who not only has a drinking problem, but a fiancé back in the states that she desperately wants to return to and marry. As Hayden and Magnolia make their way through the jungle, I just had to laugh. The adventures and situations the two of them find themselves in cracked me up. Hayden lets go of his hate as Magnolia realizes that inner beauty is much better than outer beauty….and the two of them get close. I won’t spoil it.
I don’t want to give away too many details, but MaryLu does a great job describing the jungle and the hardships Hayden and Magnolia go through. It left me wanting them to stay in the jungle and never arrive at their destinations. Magnolia changed the most, going from a spoiled, rich brat that I wanted to slap, to a woman that is no longer under her daddy’s thumb and can stand soundly on her own two feet.
Bravo MaryLu for creating a world in 1866 that I wish I could visit! I also wouldn’t mind challenging Magnolia for the handsome Hayden (yes, I realize I’m married…it’s called a book fantasy). I anxiously await the next installment of the Escape to Paradise Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love and Adventure

Date:February 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Southern Blessings
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you read book one, you'll know that these two characters aren't the most lovable. They both have many flaws, as do every one of us. Our heroine, Magnolia was forced by her father to leave the south and is desperate to get back to everything she loved in the states including her fiance. Hayden came to Brazil in order to find his father and punish him for what happened to his mother.
While in South America Magnolia hears of a ship heading back to the states and attaches herself to Hayden in order to try and get to it. Hayden has his own reasons for letting Magnolia tag along and they aren't so noble. Their journey through the dark and mysterious jungle is filled with beauty, suspense, and even spiritual warfare!
MaryLu really brings the story to life with vivid descriptions of the characters and the lush vegetation in the jungle. She makes it hard for you to put down Elusive Hope. Luckily there will be another book in this series very shortly!
I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
miamigirl07
Location:Hamilton, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryLu Tyndall has created another intriguing, page turning story. I couldn’t put it down. Elusive Hope, Book 2 in the Escape to Paradise Series is a must read! Elusive Hope begins in the Jungles of Brazil. All of our favorite characters from Forsaken Dreams are back as they strive to forget the devastation of the war torn South following the Civil War their past and begin their new lives in the Colony of New Hope.
Magnolia Scott is a southern belle out of her element in jungles of Brazil. She is desperately seeking a way back to the states, her former life, and her fiancé. Magnolia must get to Rio de Janerio to find a ship headed back home. She is willing to get home at any cost even if she has to plead, bribe, or beg the scoundrel Hayden Gale to help her accomplish her goal.
Hayden Gale is a confidence man, out for revenge to find and destroy the man he holds responsible for his mother’s death… his father. His search has lead him to the shores of Brazil, where reports say his father is amongst the Southern Colonists. Hayden will stop at nothing to exact the revenge he is seeking. Information Hayden receives leads him to set out for Rio de Janerio as the next place to look for his father.
As the unlikely pair set out on their journey through the mysterious jungles of Brazil neither are aware of the dangers they will face physically, spiritually, and emotionally As they each battle their past and present demons, using one another to fulfill their own destinies, the most unexpected happens along their journey. They find a growing love that demands to be explored and a new faith in the Lord that needs to grow. Will they forsake their own original quest of revenge and absolution to see what God has given them a chance for a new life and new beginning with each other?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Historical Novel!

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
SuzieHousley2014
Location:Oak Ridge, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ravages of the Civil War have ripped two countries apart, to avoid being caught up in the devastation of this war torn land, Magnolia Scott's father drags his family to the safety of Brazil. Magnolia is not impressed with her surroundings, she dreams of escaping back to her Georgia home and her fiancee.
Vengeance has kept Hayden Gale set on his primary mission for years. He has spent countless hours trying to track down his father, who he believes is responsible for the death of his mother. Stowing away on a ship bound for Brazil, he hopes this new lead will help him locate the scoundrel and finally be able to have the justice of revenge he soul craves.
When Magnolia meets Hayden she sees him as her one opportunity to escape this savage land and return back to her beloved hometown. When Hayden discovers that Magnolia has been following him, he allows her to accompany him to Rio de Janeiro.
As Magnolia and Hayden set out on their journey, each is unaware of the dangers they about to embark upon. Together they will enter into a world neither expected, and along the way they find a growing love that demands to be explored.
ELUSIVE HOPE is an exceptional historical romance. From page one, the reader cannot help but be drawn into pages of this addictive novel. MaryLu Tyndall is an author who provides readers the utmost reading pleasure in how she is able to spin her tale that will quickly wrap its way around anyone's heart. The rich historical detail she blends into her books make for a realistic adventure that will have your heat beating fast. There is no doubt, that MaryLu Tyndall is the Queen of the Historical Romance gene, her endless talent continues to leave me speechless.
Other titles in the ESCAPE TO PARADISE series include:
---FORSAKEN DREAMS (Escape to Paradise, Book 1).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Elusive Hope, Escape to Paradise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I can't say enough positive things, I LOVED it!!!

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough positive things about this book. I LOVED IT!!!
In starting this review I have to admit that I can't say enough good things about this novel. I loved it! In Elusive Hope MaryLu Tyndall has topped the previous book in the Escape To Paradise series. There is simply more; more danger, more mystery, more romance, more secrets, more adventure...
I never would have thought that combing historical fiction with spiritual warfare fiction could possibly work but somehow MaryLu Tyndall has managed to do precisely that. Elusive Hope was a welcome break from typical historical fare.
Well written, the story pulled me in and left me breathlessly turning the next page and telling myself “Just one more chapter, just one more.” I honestly started the book thinking that I would read it over a several-day period, I read the first couple of chapters and I still thought so, but about chapter 3 or 4 I figured out that was not going to happen, and then finished it in about a day pretty much only taking time to sleep. I was pretty glad that I didn't have anything pressing to attend to because it would have all fallen to wayside until I was finished.
In some ways it's kind of funny what I wrote above because at times I didn't particularly like Magnolia or Hayden. They are both very flawed people that have been terribly hurt by the people they should have been able to trust the most. Will they be able to forgive those that hurt them – and each other – in time for a happy ending?
The spiritual aspect was even stronger in this book. In Forsaken Dreams it was hinted at but in Elusive Hope it is laid out more clearly and the reader starts to get a few answers and also more questions. I am anxiously awaiting the next book in the series, Abandoned Memories. This book is engrossing and at times creepy in the way that readers love. Interwoven with the spiritual realm and some of its affects are important themes of forgiveness and true beauty.
This is an excellent story that will appeal to more than just lovers of historical fiction. So, go out and get yourself a copy but be prepared to stay up all night reading...
(I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are entirely my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.