Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2

Barbour Publishing Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2

Aspen Courtland is out to find her missing brother. Only his combat tracking dog, Talon, knows where to look. Problem is, after a brutal attack that separated dog and handler, Talon's afraid of his own shadow. The search is on, but when one mistake means disaster, can Talon muster the courage for one last mission?
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Review 1 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The U.S. Marine Corps Says He’s Dead…

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Her brother is missing, and her only chance of finding him lies with a combat dog that has lost his edge.”
TalonAspen is sure her twin still lives – she would have known if he was dead. But her brother’s tracking dog, Talon, suffers from P.T.S.D. and quivers at the slightest noise. She’s about to go to her brother’s last known location by herself, with Talon along hopefully to help and not to tuck tail under and hide. As she’s readying for the trip, help appears from an unexpected quarter.
Dane Markoski, a puzzling and enigmatic military intelligence agent, also wants to find Austin – he’s never lost an operative. He appears by “chance” to help Aspen, but he really only wants Talon – he’d never work with a woman. Should she trust the shadowy Dane? Is he friend – or foe? With them both putting misgivings aside, they finally join forces, but can be successful only if Talon can rise to his old state of competence.
Full of twists and turns, this tale of a tail will have you troubled one moment and touched the next. Talon, the second of three novels in Ronie Kendig’s series on Military War Dogs, is as much a winner s the first, Trinity, was. Her third, Beowulf, will release soon. If you like action, adventure, romance, and most of all, dogs, you’ll want to buy the series. Ronie is one of my fave authors and will become one of yours, too, I’m certain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Example of Heroes & Dogs

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pumpkin
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the series of War Dogs, and again, she has done a great job of showing how to write a clean story that people will be able to share with their teenagers. Great writing, great interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AN INTENSE ACTION PACKED STORY

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
TALON: COMBAT TRACKING TEAM by Ronie Kendig is an exciting Romantic Suspense. #2 in the "A Breed Apart" series, see, "Trinity",but can be read as a stand alone. Another action packed series by this talented author. Filled with tension,traveling through foreign cities, exotic ports,unsung heroes, Military combat canines,faith,forgiveness,passion and the power of love. Talon, must muster his courage to help is handler's sister,Aspen, find her missing twin brother,Austin....Enter the sexy Dane. Together, they must find her brother,when you add in a spy or two, a kidnapping, a blast or two and you have an action packed story! Ms. Kendig is a true Military romance writer who lends her expertise to creating an exciting plot, filled with action and adventure. Her characters are heroes to be sure, they are engaging and realistic. What not to enjoy about a fast paced story. While, "Talon" is a Christian title, please do not let this slow you down or deter you from reading this amazing title. You will not regret the time to read this story. A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Memorable Read!

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
amb32
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Non-stop action and sizzling chemistry best describe the experience of reading Talon! The suspense scenes make your heart beat faster, and I'm not quite sure how once again Kendig is able to create such intense chemistry between her hero and heroine. She describes how the characters simply look at each other with skill, so that you feel like you are actually there watching their romance develop in person. Yet, the book is not just about a romance relationship. Kendig has definitely researched her topic, and her knowledge of military practices really enhance the suspense scenes, and the plot is interesting and keeps the reader turning page after page. Just like with Trinity, the first book in this series, I was drawn in by the idea of a war dog being one of the main characters. This is the first series I've ever read that uses that particular theme. Thanks again to Ronie Kendig for creating a memorable, enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Talon is a 5++ book!

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talon by Ronie Kendig is packed full of adventure. This is a new genre and author for me, but I will be reading more by this author. First up will be Trinity, book #1 in the A Breed Apart Series, which introduces the reader to the world of military war dogs.
The suspense, romance and danger kept me reading long after I should have been asleep. With the unforgettable characters of Cardinal, Aspen and the "star" of the book Talon, this is a book and series for men as well as women and sure the please both. I give Talon a 5++ rating.
I received this book from Net Galley and Barbour Publishing for my honest review and was not paid in any way for the review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romantic Suspense Thriller

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lois Lane
Location:Los Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suspense, romance, action combine to make this a page-turner you won’t be able to put down! Aspen Courtland goes in search of her MIA twin brother under the belief that he is still alive. She teams up with mystery man, Dane Markoski, in a very volatile partnership that turns into an undercover marriage. I highly recommend this book to anyone. The Christian theme is subtle and does not come across preachy and there are definitely not any “slow parts” in this book. I am not really into animal lover books, so I was skeptical, but the author uses Talon more as a support character. Though not a dog lover myself, I had to fall in love with Talon. This is the first book I have read in this series, but I have already ordered Trinity and put Beowulf on my “wish list”. One disclaimer though, the prologue almost turned me off because of all the military terms. This is not the style of the rest of the book and don’t be fooled into missing out on an exceptional novel. This is an outstanding action packed thriller with a touch of romance. Non-stop action you won’t want to miss!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Less Romance, More Suspense

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though Talon is still, basically, Christian romantic suspense, it is heavier on the suspense than the romance. The characters spend more time attempting to unravel the mystery, and the Talon’s skills are less of a priority. The story has several plot lines running throughout giving the story a full and interesting feel. This is definitely a book that has enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the end. I will admit that I love dogs, and the efforts of the Military War Dogs and their handlers fascinates me, but I don’t think I’m too prejudiced. I enjoyed the book very much. If you prefer your books to be heavy on the suspense, with a twist of romance, you will enjoy Talon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it and I don't even like dogs!

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Whew! Since Ronie Kendig burst onto the scene a few years ago with her first Rapid-Fire Fiction military suspense novel, Christian fiction hasn't been the same. And that's a very good thing! The second book of her A Breed Apart series (I reviewed the first book, Trinity here), Talon, is a boots-to-the-pavement, no-holds-barred adventure that will fully engage your senses and leave you breathless. While plenty of adrenaline-laced, heart-stopping action with grenades and bullets flying will satisfy the most ardent fans of military fiction, lovers of intricate plots and masterful character portrayals will be equally captivated by the many layers of intrigue, suspense, and even romance. An expert wordsmith, Kendig's keen abilities to depict the many elements of a scene (physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual) while maintaining the rapid-fire pace made this book impossible to put down. Dane and Aspen are both stars in their own right in this novel, but the real hero is Talon, as Kendig's quest to honor the often unknown and unsung heroes of our miltary forces shines the spotlight on this incredible military working dog. I don't even like dogs but Ronie Kendig has made me a fan of Talon! This is her best novel yet, which is quite an accomplishment considering the awards she's received for her previous books. I predict this will be another award-winner; don't miss it!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from Ronie Kendig and Barbour Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ronie Always Delivers

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was skeptical to read this series about combat dogs, but it was Ronie, so I had to give it a try. Now I'm sad I waited until book two and cannot wait to get my hands on Trinity--not to mention I'm counting down the days until Beowolf comes out.
As usual, Ronie delivers her trademark Rapid-Fire-Fiction with a punch. With great intrigue she kept me guessing on who I could trust, all the while delivering romantic tension between the two leads, both aspects keeping me flipping pages eagerly.
If you've been waiting to dig into this series, wait no longer! Pick up Talon today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

lots of action with hyped writing

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Aspen's twin brother, Austin, is missing after an assignment for the government. There had been a serious attack, but his body was never found. Aspen is sure he is alive. She has his combat dog, separated from her brother during the attack. But Talon is traumatized. Aspen knows the dog could lead her to her brother, but is he up to it?
Enter “Cardinal,” a government undercover operative who manipulates Aspen into going with him and his unit to find Austin. Cardinal has a Russian past that he would rather keep hidden.
Aspen is an odd character. She boxes – men. She's tough. Yet she makes the dumbest decision when she is in a dangerous situation. It seemed so out of her character. I wanted to like her as a character but it was difficult.
Kendig's writing irritates me. (“Plaster leapt at her.” Well, no. Plaster is not alive. It didn't leap. It was propelled by a bullet hitting the building. “The pang of conscience clunked him over the head.” Really. Clunked?) Sometimes her use of descriptive words just don't work for me. For example, “A war seemed to erupt within him, dancing in his blue eyes.” Somehow an erupting war and dancing in blue eyes just don't seem to go together. But then a few sentences his eyebrows danced...
She is also a master of the cliff hanging end of a chapter. You know, the kind where the gun is aimed at his chest and the trigger is pulled. Then we find out in the next chapter, a few paragraphs in, that at the last minute the gun was pulled aside and he just received a graze on his arm. I don't like that kind of writing that deliberately jerks the reader around.
If I find her writing so irritating, why have I continued to read her novels? There is something compelling about them. There is so much action, so much feeling. At the same time, I think much of the novel's intensity is created by Kendig's style of writing, not necessarily the action itself. For example, “His steel eyes rammed into hers...”
But I think this is it. I am going to pass on any more of her galleys I'm offered.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of Heart Pounding Action - For Real!

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another great book from Ronie, as the passage above shows! Full of action and adventure, unique twists and turns, scenes that will tear YOUR heart out or make you fall in love…it’s not every day you find a book that can do all of that within 343 pages! There were scenes in here, especially toward the end, that literally had my heart pounding and my eyes flying over the page. I didn’t have so much empathy/love for Talon (the dog) as for Trinity from book one. However, as you can see, I still really enjoyed this book. I smiled several times over the interactions between Candyman and Timbrel…really looking forward to reading their story (and Beowulf’s!). Can’t wait to see what else Ronie has coming up!
**The publisher sent me a copy of this book for review. I wasn’t required to post positively, and I wasn’t paid for this review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Emily
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally loved this book! It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole entire time. You will definitely want to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kendig never stops 'rawking'--TALON is exceptional

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris10TheRN
Location:Ft Worth, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There has yet to be a moment when author Ronie Kendig did not fully engage my imagination with her gifted and inspired writing. Once again, TALON measured up to the highest mark of entertainment and enjoyment in fictional reading. With her masterfully written story of love, patriotic passion, suspense, and mystery, TALON was a superb read! Intertwined into the mixture of well-trained military professionals are powerfully strong friendships and loyalty to one another, country, and their faith in God. Kendig's ability to build a complex world of military espionage and engage the reader is exceptional. Her attention to detail in international relations and geography and particularly with the unsung heroes, our military war dogs, was both educational and thought-provoking. Kendig writes as a well-versed and seasoned professional--she's really done her homework!
TALON consistently gives us characters to stand behind with conviction, grieve with in moments of sorrow and regret, and cheer for with smiles as we fall in love with their moments of triumph each time. There were twists to the story I didn't expect--and I love that Ronie Kendig never ceases to be predictable in her writing. At one point, I found myself holding my breath and slowly exhaling before I pursued the next page--intense, powerful, exciting. I canNOT get enough of this author's work--get ready to ride an awesome roller coaster with TALON, Aspen Courtland, and their band of incredible brothers/broads! Kendig is packing some serious heat with this one!
(P.S. I've already bought three extra copies for friends--yep, it's THAT good.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Movie Material!!

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talon
First off- this is a movie material book!! The story-line, the action, the flashbacks to Dane-Nikol's childhood, the mystery and Talon - I very strongly believe it would make s great family movie which not only kids or only parent will enjoy but -BOTH! Action for Daddy, romance for Mommy and the healing and heroism of the dog - Talon for children. And of course a hint of a comedy for all (Timbrel and Candymann and General Burnett)
It is perfect - my mind conjured such a fine action movie that i couldn't stop reading it..
This is my first read by Ronie Kendig and i am amazed ! I am totally going back to read the first book in this series..
A slight correction though, on Russian language it is best to have someone Russian to translate the sentences because their structure is completely different from English. ( I'm sorry, its just that Russian is my first language and I had to reorder words in sentences to make sense).
Great book. Interesting characters. Adorable dog. And quite a lesson- we truly are a New creation in Christ and should let go of our past. Sometimes we mistake naive people for the once with pure heart, who see the good through all the ugly exterior of some...in my book its a trait to be admired not mocked like poor Aspen was even by her close friends...
One loose end that left me wondering, what happened to Kalina? Did she die or recover??
Disclaimer: I got a free copy of this book from Barbour Publishing, through NetGalley.com, in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aspen Courtland’s twin brother Austin has been declared MIA and now considered dead. Aspen is determined to find any way possible to go search for her brother. She has been training with Austin’s dog Talon in order to take him with her to track Austin’s whereabouts. Talon is unpredictable because of the PTSD that coming back from combat and losing his partner has created. Aspen knows though that if she takes Talon she will have a greater chance of finding Austin.
Dane Markoski is the best undercover operative that America has. His superior thinks it best that he team up with Aspen to go find her brother. When Dane discovers that she is a woman he refuses to go on the mission. What Dane doesn’t count on is the lengths that his superior will go in order to achieve the purpose of the mission.
Dane is determined to not let Aspen under his skin. She is beautiful and too trusting for her own good. Warned by her friend Timbrel that Dane is playing her, Aspen still gives Dane the benefit of the doubt even when he tells her not to trust him.
As Talon gets more and more hits on Austin the enemy moves closer and closer. With each clue to her brother’s disappearance Aspen discovers that she doesn’t know either Dane or Austin like she thought. Who can she trust? Her twin whom she feels a part of or the man that she has come to love? Both have secrets they are keeping and both are playing a deadly game.
Talon is the second book in the A Breed Apart series. I found the story gripping and moving. The descriptions of combat were exciting and nail-biting. Reading about Talon’s loyalty to his partner was especially moving. Not only were the combat scenes tense, but the relationships between the characters were also tense. I’m looking forward to reading more about Timbrel and her relationship with Candyman. I haven’t read the first book in the series, but I intend to go back and read Trinity and I can’t wait for the third book in the series Beowulf coming out in January 2014.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It!!!!!

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
IrishGirlatHeart
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one major problem with this book...I couldn't put it down!! I stayed up way too late reading. There is so much going on in the book that it was hard to find the end of a chapter that didn't leave me hanging and needing to read more so I could find out what happens.
This was the first I have read of Ronie's, therefore I didn't know what to expect.
I really loved the characters. They each had there own distinct personality (sometimes they seem flat almost as if they are all the same), and it was fun walking (or running due to the fast pace of the book =] ) with them in their journey of faith and healing.
The plot was fast paced but not confusing, though you do need to pay attention, as there is a lot going on!
From time to time we hear a story on the news about one of the military service dogs, but we don't really get a clear picture of the important role they play in saving the lives of our brave men and women fighting for our freedom and safety. Their service dogs are also soldiers, warriors and heroes. Be sure to read the soldier's story at the end of the book!
I am very excited to read more of Ronie's books! Especially the first in this series and the next one to come. Can't wait to watch Candyman's and Timbrel's story unfold!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sinks it's teeth in and won't let go!

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
SarahsReading
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OORAH!!
I went into this book expecting it to be very good. I have loved everything by Ronie Kendig to date. Well, Talon: Combat Tracking Team not only exceeded my expectation, but I think I’ve found a new favourite by Ronie! (Wolfsbane now moves to runner-up!)
Aspen was a wonderful character. A sweet woman who just wants to find the brother she believes is alive. He relationship with Talon is beautiful. I love how Ronie wrote Talon. I could almost feel his soft fur and see the sorrow in his eyes. I wanted to wrap my hands around his neck and assure him that everything would be okay.
Dane is a volcano. Dangerous and mysterious and oh so appealing. I love Ronie’s heroines, they are brave and bold and strong… but, oh boy, can she write a smouldering hero!! Dane is fantastic. He’s a riddle that you get to try to sort out as Aspen does. I didn’t see the end coming! WOW!
Dane and Aspen are like dynamite. You can feel the sizzle as they meet and the sparks ignite more as their lives are wound together. Great, great chemistry!
Talon: Combat Tracking Team is a fast-paced run through foreign cities and exotic ports. Just when you think all is calm for Aspen and Dane, you’re hit broadside by another twist. This book is beautifully written and will keep you reading well into the night… if it let’s go at all.
Talon: Combat Tracking Team locked it’s teeth in to me as soon as I picked it up and didn’t let go until the last page! Ronie has done it again. A great story, fantastic characters and a ride that’s as fast as Talon is!
Seems like 5/5 stars is too few stars! Can I say 6/5?
*I received a complimentary e-book copy of this novel from NetGalley, courtesy of Barbour Publishing. I didn’t get paid and I didn’t have to give a positive review! My opinions are my own and this book rocks! :)*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Talon, A Breed Apart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Military fiction and mystery.

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose this book because it was military fiction- and I have loved books about the military since reading Flag Of Our Fathers and Flyboys, two awesome true-story books of heroism. This book is also a mystery, and I love mystery- where did Austin Courtland go after the explosion in the building? Who is this man, Dane Markoski? Can Dane and Aspen Courtland and Austin's combat tacking dog Talon find him in Africa, or will the people who captured Austin claim their lives? Or...will Austin? Has he turned against them? Is Dane the target of Austin's hatred, and why?
Aspen, Austin's twin, was a very interesting character...strong, but with a soft feminine side. She was at her best when she was allowing others to protect her. And Dane wanted to protect her, and would give his life for her. As he grew to love her, protecting Aspen became his aim.
Dane's life story that is slowly revealed is haunting, and you want for him to know that he can be a new creature in Christ. This man who is drawn to churches can be forgiven and freed from his memories.
The problem with their romance was that is was in violation of the command in Corinthians, Do not be yoked with unbelievers. In modern Christian novels, I see a pattern. Woman "falls in love" with an unbelieving man, and at the end of the 200 or 300 page novel, he converts and they get married. The trouble is, the relationship is still wrong to begin that way, and there is no promise that unbelievers will convert.
The romance was not over the top- parts of it seemed quite good. I would like it to be made a bit more subtle...toned down to about the level of the romance in the Pacific Coast Justice Series (Nick and Carly).
I will be looking forward to finding out what happens to Candyman and Timbrel- they are perfect for each other- although Timbrel doesn't think so! I hope they are in book three, which I intend to read if I get the chance. I really liked the character of Candyman and his friend Watterboy: Confident, brave, quick thinking, heavily armed and dangerous, these two are the men you want watching your back. {Not to mention that Candyman is hilarious. He was making me laugh almost every time he appeared. I love that kind of humor. Will the next book maybe be about him?} Timbrel is a character I think would make a book of her own. She needs someone to make her laugh-like Candyman.
There were snipers and spies in this book, military action that made me want to read more. If the romance were toned down, and a few modern slang expressions removed, this could make my favorites list. And maybe the next book could be longer too?I didn't want this one to end that fast.
I received this book from Netgalley to review. I will be looking for book three!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.