Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Take One, Above The Line Series #1

Zondervan Take One, Above The Line Series #1

In the high-powered world of filmmaking, two unknown producers struggle to make a name for themselves. They have done the impossible - raised enough money to independently produce a feature film with a message they hope will change the world. With millions of investors' dollars on the line, everything starts to fall apart and they realize they may be in over their heads, a couple of Davids in a world of Hollywood Goliaths. Is it possible to keep things above the line, to beat the odds and make a movie unlike anything ever done before? Or, will they lose everything in the process?
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Review 1 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trish
Location:Farmington, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't gotten to this book yet, but Karen Kingsbury has never let me down. The price was great and shipped quickly. Would purchase from Christianbook.com again & would recommend this site to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
This review is fromTake One - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
USCHI
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to download even for person not blessed with computer skills. It was easy reading. I enjoyed the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
This review is fromTake One - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth reading this series

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Sequim, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great series! It is engaging, addresses current cultural issues from a strong but compassionate Christian viewpoint. Read all four!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Start to a New Series

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I have been a fan of Karen Kingsbury since the start of her writing career. Her early novels are some of the best that Christian fiction has to offer. More so, her novels featuring the Baxter family pretty much have their own shelf at the bookstore. :o) This new series, Above the Line, still features the Baxter family, but they are no longer in the forefront as they have been in Karen's three sets of series preceeding this one.
What impressed me most about this book was that it dealt with real-life issues: jealousy, peer pressure, alcohol, temptation, etc. I have to say this was a nice change from some of her recent books where everything seems so tidy and everyone has a happy ending. The person that seemed to struggle the most in this book was Andi, the daughter of one of the movie producers. She's grown up the child of missionary parents, and feels that she's always been held to a different standard. She knows what she's been taught from God's Word, but she's reached the time in her life that she wants to experience things for herself, and not shy away from them simply because that's what she's always been told. I really applaud Kingsbury for creating a character that struggled with day-to-day life, and not another one who had a Scripture-verse answer for everything that went wrong. Mind you, those type of characters are not bad, but when you've been around them for the last 14 books of the Baxter saga, anything different is a welcome change.
With all that said, I'm looking forward to the rest of this series. I'm particularly anxious to see what happens between Bailey and Cody and Tim...methinks that little love triangle will be around for awhile. My rating for Take One is 4 Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
This review is fromTake One, Above the Line Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Filmmakers Chase and Keith are excited to start filming their first major film. The catch is that the film has a Christian theme with minimal financial support. So begins the story of these two former missionaries making their own film in a largely non-Christian business. They are filming this venture in Bloomington, Indiana. This is the same hometown where the Baxter family, from author Karen Kingsbury’s Redemption, Firstborn and Sunrise series, live. There are quick glimpses of the Baxter family woven into this fast paced story.
Along with the making of the film and the hardships the directors encounter, you also follow the story of two young college girls trying to find their place as Christian’s in a secular college. If you have read any of the authors other Bloomington series you will recognize one of the girls as the best actress in the Christian Kids Theater, Bailey. This book follows her relationships with her new roommate Andi, high school sweetheart Tim, and war hero Cody.
As you read how the Lord leads each character to trust Him and follow His leading you will be encouraged in your own walk with the Lord. This book is a must read for any Karen Kingsbury fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joy Karel
Totally enjoying this series! The author's writings of the Baxter family reminds me of my family and the closeness is so refreshing, yet so realistic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela
As the story starts you find out that Chase & Keith are directing a movie on only 2 million dollars from investors. As you read on you read about the trials that Chase & Keith are going through. Then God speaks to them. What I really liked about that was it was like the book was talking right to me at that point, because of the trials that I am going through right now. Take One also includes the Baxter family (from Karen Kingsbury's other books). Like I said I can't wait to read the rest of the series, to see what happens next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Jo Underly
As usual, Karen Kingsbury has done it again. This series is great and I am thoroughly enjoying the characters. I love the way she has brought in the characters of her former series, the Baxters, and the community of Bloomington, IN. Can't wait to read the other books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Take One by Karen Kingsbury (Zondervan) is the story of Keith Ellison and Chase Ryan, missionaries who have developed a movie script they believe will significantly impact the world by offering a message of hope and forgiveness. The two men and their families are confident they can produce a high quality, independent film. The central story-line centers around a critical miracle needed to get the financing to finish the project and doing it without sacrificing integrity. There are subordinate story lines in the text, and Above the Line: Take One readers should be prepared to be left hanging in some instances. In Above the Line: Take One, Kingsbury casts light on the challenges Christians face in living above the line with integrity. Kingsbury addresses topics such as jealousy between friends, temptation in the young adult community, and the dangers that accompany celebrity and accessibility. Kingsbury's writing in Above the Line: Take One is easy to follow, and her voice leaves you feeling as if you've just had a conversation with an old friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
C. Rose Photo Creations
Exciting, hard-to-put-down book. Another winner from Karen Kingsbury. I love how she tackles real-life issues that are so prevelant today and weaves in spiritual truths throughout each situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
This review is fromTake One, Above the Line Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina
I loved how she brought the Baxters into this new series! This is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Very disappointed in this book. This is the first time I put a Karen Kingbury book down and never had the desire to finish it or continue reading. Plot, characters, etc. are all so very predictable. I'm a bit tired of the same old characters and would love to see something new and fresh from Kingsbury.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lloyd Faechner
Love the Kingsbury books, they really are all good and enjoy sharing them with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Another great book from Karen Kingsbury. Love a book that holds your interest from first page to the last. Since I've read her Redemption, firstborn and Sunrise series it was nice to revisit the Baxters. Loved all of them. Karen has a God given talent to write and I appreciate the fact she uses it to write christian fiction. Would recomend her books to everyone. Have "Take Two" and looking forward to reading it. Also looking forward to rest of books in this series. Thanks Karen for another great series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Mcgee
She is still writting great books. Karen Kingsbury takes todays people and problems and keeps you reading. It's hard to put this book down. I would recommend this book to any book lover. I can't wait to pick up Take Two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Wadsworth
I thought I had ordered Take Two. I already had Take One. My mistake, but I am happy with all the other orders I have received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
I am so glad that Karen Kingsbury decided to continue the story of the Flanigan's and see sneak peeks into the lives of the Baxter's."Take One" gives us an insight to movie making. There is so much you can read in tabloids (and probably rarely true) and Karen gives us a true look into what goes on and the struggles that Christian actors, producers, etc face.It was hard for me to read at first, because I just wanted to know what was going to happen to Bailey and Cody. But a few pages in, I warmed up to the new actors. I look forward to reading Take Two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Geri Ford
Anything that Karen Kingsbury writes is wonderful. She always brings into her books a personal relationship with GOD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Berrio
Karen Kingsbury never fails to draw a reader into the lives of her characters. This book was a wonderful introduction to new 'faces' while giving the reader a glimpse into the lives of the characters that we already love so much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Take One, Above The Line Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patti
I enjoyed this book a lot. I'm interested to see where Bailey and Cody go. Also the relationship between Andi and Bailey will be interesting. Glad to visit with the Baxters again. I thought that Dwayne woud come up to be an investor in the movie, but Karen tricked me on that one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.