Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Take Two, Above The Line Series #2

Zondervan Take Two, Above The Line Series #2

Filmmakers Chase Ryan and Keith Ellison have completed their first feature film, and Hollywood is buzzing with the news. In the wake of that excitement, the producers acquire rights to a novel that has all the ingredients they want for their next project. At the same time they cross paths with a well-connected player who introduces them to the right people, and suddenly every studio in town wants to talk to Chase and Keith. The producers' dreams are on the verge of coming true, but Chase's marriage is strained and Keith's daughter - Andi Ellison - is making questionable choices in her quest for stardom. The producers are gaining respect and are on the verge of truly changing culture through the power of film - but is the change worth the cost?
Average Customer Rating:
3.735 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 star
5
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Review 1 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trish
Location:Farmington, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't gotten to this book yet, but Karen Kingsbury has never let me down. The price was great and shipped quickly. Would purchase from Christianbook.com again & would recommend this site to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
I was stunned to see such low ratings on this book. While I do agree it is NOT Karen Kingbury's best work, it does not deserve a 1 start rating. I agree however, that perhaps it's time to come up with a newer theme, fresh town and characters. It very well may be time to leave Bloomington for good. However, children ARE seduced by many things-pictures, words, music, just to name a few. They are exposed to so many things that older people were never exposed to and the fact that the young lady in this book was seduced is very realistic. She also needs to find a faith of her own, which she very obviously doesn't have. Children often live through the faith of their parents and do not learn to develop their own faith until after they have crashed. Of the three in the series thus far, this is the worst book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline D Fallucco
I love everything that Karen Kingsbury writes! She goes into every concievable issue: from alcoholism to adultery, and she doesn't pull any punches...she tells it all like it is...I go back and forth, somewhat, between contemporary fiction and Amish fiction. When I read Amish fiction, I thank God that we have electricity..Our life is not that complicated, if that is all we have ever known. The Amish think being an "Englischer" is complicated, but I feel their lives are harder than ours are... we basicly love what we know and are used to...I enjoy all the fiction I read...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
TINA
I liked the first book better. I didn't like the ending of book #2 and having to wait until March to read book #3. She has me hooked now and I can't wait to read the rest!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rissa
In many ways this is like the 15th book in a series because they link together--which I love because Karen always leaves characters that I want to know about. The plot is not bad--a little redundant--but also realistic in it's challenges. Only a couple chapters dragged on (for me) and the rest left me wanting more. I got so into it that I read at work and spent a Friday night finishing it. : ) All together a good read! Now I have 5 months to wait till the next installment to see what goes on with Bailey, Andi, and the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Connie Fields
I'm tired of what seems like a rerun of Karen's story lines. She's a good author, but a change now and then would be good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tod Cannery
Karent is re-working the same theme with just a different set of names. The story was slow and cumbersome.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Prentiss Abernathy
This just didn't work with all the Hollywood jazz. Karen needs to redirect her writing and thinking concerning what goes into a Christian work of fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Francis
Okay, the story is well-written. But the message doesn't ring true. Karen is presenting a secular story with a dusting of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margott Trueman
I'm less supportive of Karen with each installment of her strongly secular settings and wishy-washy character traits and choices. God is a bit player, not the center of her work anymore and her followers are getting blinders on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karynn Thompson
I'm wondering if all Karen is going to write about revolves around glamour and glitz of the "beautiful people" because unfortunately it sells? God was powerfully absent in this tale and I'm wondering about the direction of her final book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Edward Rameriz
Really disappointed with this story. Seems like I've read the last several books by Karen before, only repackaged. Plus, is Hollywood glitz where it is?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Toni Lamb
I am getting tired of the same old script being refreshed and repackaged. Hollywood has too much of a draw for some Christian writers who need a GODLY perspective in their characters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Salvador Valmont
The film world is such a draw, but the story line just doesn't deliver. The characters were less than and this isn't a book I'd ever push others to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Appleby
Karen Kingsbury has done it again. She is, in my opinion, the best Christian books writer around. The characters are not Christians in name only, but love and serve the Lord in their every day life. They pray to Him when in trouble and He answers them. This book is about the film business and the people working in it. How wonderful it would be if there were really people like them who want to make a change in the industry and in people's lives. Write on, Karen Kingsbury - you are a blessing to all your readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
C P
I personally have really enjoyed the ongoing series that Kingsbury has written. I find myself very much engaged with the characters and their story line(s).Some may disagree with the ending of this book, but I was impressed with her willingness to allow "good" girls to challenge God's path and present the result of choices made. And to show how the enemy tempts and gradually pulls us from the path of righteousness.Again, personally, what I have learned from books has often challenged me to make godly choices. I'm one who does NOT have to go through something to learn what not to do! I will encourage my daughter to read this series as she reaches her older teen years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Malone
I love the continuing story of the Baxters and the Theater. The down to earth problems make you feel you are a part of the family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
M. Joe Ann Winkler
Any book by Karen Kingsbury is the top of the line reading. I read every book she has put out up to date. Her books are exciting and clean fiction. You feel closer to the LORD AFTER READING ANY OF HER BOOKS. I EAGERLY AWAIT HER NEXT BOOK
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karie Ervans
I love Karen Kingsbury and I must say that I was pleased with the way that she handled the questionable content of this novel. While my children are still young, I teach teens and I was impessed with the reality of the novel but also in the non-graphic way Kingsbury included sexual material. It is time for Christian authors to write about truly real situations our teens and college students find themselves in. I was very pleased with how she handled this and once again loved the series! Can't wait to read the next two!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Take Two, Above The Line Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phillip Turner
Karen Kingsbury has put together a good story of people who struggle with the many problems that come with trying to produce a movie with a message to bring people closer to God. A good book with a good message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>