Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Shades of Blue

Zondervan Shades of Blue

Sometimes hope lies somewhere in the shades of blue!

Brad Cutler, twenty-eight, is a rising star at his New York ad agency, about to marry the girl of his dreams. Anyone would agree he has it all ? a great career, a beautiful and loving fiancee, and a fairy tale life ahead of him?when memories of a high school girlfriend begin to torment him.

Lost innocence and one very difficult choice flood his conscience, and he is no longer sure what the future will bring except for this: He must find his old love and make amends. Haunted by the past and confused about the future, he turns to God seeking forgiveness and redemption.

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shades of Blue
Review 1 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
PTB103
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most moving work of fiction I have read dealing with the life issue. I feel every young person, woman especially, should read this book to have an understanding of the ramifications of their actions. I would recommend all Christian high schools have this on their summer reading lists. Told with gentleness but with truth. I have found this to be the work of Karen Kingsbury that has most powerfully impacted me personally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I didn't want to put this book down!

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Madeline
Location:Kerman,Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several of Karens books & this was one of the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first time I read any of
Karen Kingsbury's books and I felt she did an excellent job keeping the reader in suspense and also telling how devastating abortion as be but a person can also receive healing from the Lord.
The book was very difficult to put down.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow. Great book. Awesome story of forgiveness and healing. This is the second book I've ever read of Karen Kingsbury, but I am definitely hooked on her writing. Shades of Blue is the kind of book that you will remember long after you read it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
ruby
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I expected so much more from this well known author. While the storyline was interesting, I got so distracted by the poor syntax (sentence structure). As an English writing professor, it was impossible for me to get past the clipped, fractured fragments. Perhaps a more articulate editor would have made the choppiness less invasive.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
bee4
Location:Winder, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read Karen Kingsbury faithfully and this one is truly one of the best!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ministered to me

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
green
Location:Thornton, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen takes on amazing subjects in her writings. She did a wonderful job of sharing God's redeeming grace even after an abortion and shed light on information I've never heard before in regard to the guilt and pain that both "parents" go through before, during and after an abortion - even years later. And Karen shows how God can heal and forgive as only HE can! Thank you, Karen, for writing this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pulls at your heart!

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
KP1348
Location:Northeast Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a wonderful book to remind us of God's grace and forgiveness! I would recommend this book! It also reminds us of God's sovereignty and love. Make sure you have some tissues handy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent A Must Read!

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasnt quite sure what to expect when I first started reading the book. After the third chapter I was hooked! A very emotional read, I really related to the characters especially to Emma. The author has a way of pulling the reader into the story so much so that it kept me reading into the night just to see how it ended. Be sure to keep a box of tissues nearby!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Margaret Russ
Location:Panama City,Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book it was hard to put down. this book was well written, and covered a very different topic..abortion..and how this couple, years later, had to deal with forgiveness
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
amandadoc
Location:Wilson, North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book!! I purchased it as a gift. I was able to purchase two books from christianbook.com and stayed within the $20 price limit we had set. Great value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
P. Toni Burger
This book was very interesting and I enjoyed reading it very much. Would highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becca S.
I believe this is the best book I have ever read. Which is saying a lot cause I have read a lot of books, and normally hate sad books. And this book was absolutely heartbreaking, I cried the whole way through. But even though it was so sad, it ended well. And was very thought provoking. I highly recommend this book to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
Karen Kingsbury is one of my FAVORITE authors! She truly has the gift of writing that comes from God. He speaks through her hands. So, I am excited about getting to review this book. It's not only by my favorite author, it takes place in my home state of North Carolina! A double bonus! In Shades of Blue, Karen really touches hearts with this story of secrets, unresolved past issues, loss and forgiveness. Karen really packs this book full of lessons to be learned. Emma and Brad are the main characters in this book...the ones with unresolved issues, and a past that isn't so perfect. Added to these issues, Karen gives a powerful lesson on abortion. I don't want to go into a lot of detail with this review of Karen's book, as I am sure to give away way too many spoilers and we don't want that! All I can truly say is this: Shades of Blue deserves so much more than a 5 star review (but I can only go with a 5 star review!), and so does the author! I highly, highly recommend that EVERYONE read this book...there is something in here for everyone, even if it is just to get closer to God. But there is one warning with this book (as it is with ALL of Karen's books): take a stock in TISSUES!!! You WILL need them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Isabel Vasquez
Great story of forgiveness!! Cried alot but loved the book! What an amazing blessing for women who may have regrets of not keeping a baby
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shades of Blue
This review is fromShades of Blue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Crosby
This book does an excellent job of dealing with the after affects of abortion. It helps Christian understand both the pain and long-term effects, and also the Christ-like response we should have toward those who have walked this difficult path. A delightful story of hope and forgiveness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kasey Rose
This book had everything I enjoy in a fiction novel. Not only did it tell a sort of love story, but it intertwined the perfect amount of God, faith, and redemption. The characters are people you can relate with and the feelings they feel can be felt throughout yourself. I loved this book and did not want it to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mildred Butterfield
Shades of Blue was an outstanding book that touches your heart. It carries a much needed message that may help others going through a simsilar situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
A
I loved this book this was the first of her books I have ever read and i absolutely fell in love with it!! It was so good!!! I could read it ten more times and it still wouldnt get old
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shades of Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
This book is wonderful. It was hard to put down. I'm anxious for Mama to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.