Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Unlocked: A Love Story

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Unlocked: A Love Story

Holden Harris, 18, is locked in a prison of autism where he's been since he was a happy, boisterous three-year-old. At school he is bullied by kids who do not understand that despite his quiet ways and quirky behaviors, Holden is very happy and socially normal on the inside, where he lives in a private world all his own. Then one day the head cheerleader and star of the high school drama production is rehearsing when Holden stops and listens, clearly drawn to the music. Lauren Reynolds notices and takes an interest in him, learning about autism and eventually helping Holden win a spot in the school play.

At the same time Lauren makes a dramatic discovery. Long ago, her parents and Holden's parents were good friends, and she and Holden played together until his diagnosis of autism, at which time Lauren's mother distanced herself from the friendship. Now Lauren's mom and her MLB baseball player father are trapped in an unhappy marriage and a life that is shallow and meaningless. Not until a tragedy takes place at the high school does Lauren take a public stand against the way the more popular privileged kids treat those who are different.

At the same time, Lauren continues to be a friend to Holden and in time their mothers realize that something special is happening. Hurts from the past are dealt with and all around Holden miracles begin to happen in various relationships. The greatest miracle is the change in Holden, himself, and everyone is stunned by the transformation they witness. Ultimately, the community comes to understand that many people walk around in a personal prison and that only by love and faith can the doors become unlocked, the way they dramatically do for Holden Harris.

Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
54 out of 54100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unlocked: A Love Story
Review 1 for Unlocked: A Love Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hope
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a quick and easy read, but it was engaging.
Kingsbury, as usual, draws you into the characters and makes you feel invested in their lives.
What I appreciated about this book is that it is one I can give to people who maybe don't know a lot about what life with autism can be like for individuals or their families (though it varies for everyone!). While they might not read a book that's more detailed or 'technical,' Kingsbury's fiction presentation in 'Unlocked' is a great introduction.
Be warned, while I'm not typically a crier in public, this one had me doing so on an airplane! I do have loved ones with autism, though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unlocked: A Love Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Karen Kingburys book encourage, inspire, and upli

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melina
Location:Haslet Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen is a great writer. She puts you right in the middle of
the story. Life situations are what we all have to go through.
the point, with Jesus in and through us we can have the victory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new area of interest

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lillian
Location:Attalla, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this story very absorbing. A different life style I never understood before and it opened up a heart-warming, touching story. I was hooked into the story as it unfolded the experiences of different people in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a touching story

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alys J Martinson
Location:Northfield NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All of Karen Kingsbury's books are worth reading and renews our faith in a Loving...Living...God
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I always like Karen Kingsbury book!

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joyce Cagle
Location:Nauvoo, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so real, touching, loving, compassionate. I liked it very much, but of course, I always like Karen Kingsbury's books! She has so many scriptures in her books, living every day with Jesus!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good book for understanding Autism

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Banning, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I appreciated the author's research into Autism. I know very little about it, but this helped to educate me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
momof2
Location:Parkersburg, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received Unlocked as a Christmas present and I couldn't wait to read it. I am proud to say that I read the whole book in 24 hrs. The story made me cry and laugh, it made me realize the blessings I had in my life. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lily
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a truly beautiful story, you've got to read this book. While reading this book I laughed, cried, smiled, and in general just loved every minute of this book. My family loved it too. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unlocked

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlocked is a book about miracles.
It follows the parallel stories of two families, and about five or six people. All of them are in need of a miracle. All of them are locked in their own personal prison. Whether it is lobeliness, autism or failure, every one of them is praying for a miracle, whether they know it or not.
And this is the book of how they get their miracle, each and every one of them, all touched by one very special boy and one incredibly talented and warm-hearted girl.
Music is they key that can unlock Holden's beautiful soul from its prison of autism, but God is the One who ends up changing all these lives.
It was really amazing for me to see that Holden was happy all along, satisfied with his life and his friendship with Jesus, but it was everyone else who needed to see the real him beneath his disability.
I loved unlocked.
I cried after I had read it, and books rarely make me cry.
The story touched me in incredible ways, and it made me rethink some things in my life. It made me look deeper, and question how I see others and myself. How I judge my failures, and what ultimately brings me closer to God.
This story isn't exactly a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, but it has some very crucial references to the fairytale. To me, it was a small masterpiece.
For everyone who has ever felt you were in any kind of prison, and hoped for a miracle to finally pop the lock open, this book is for you.
Rating: 5/5
I received this book from Zondervan in exchange for a review.
blog bookshelfstories dot blogspot dot com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading!

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise
Location:Edgewater, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was amazing! I laughed, I cried and I learned a lot about autism. I'm passing it around to my friends to read as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good from page one.

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonita Harker
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good stand alone book and it also compliments the Above The Line series. There are none of those characters in this book, thus the stand alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unlocked: A Love Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
pjmusickid
Location:Martinez, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a good book indeed, but I must clear a couple misconceptions on this page. a.) it is not really a love story b.) the main characters name is Ella, not Lauren...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first Karen Kingsbury book...all of my friends are always raving about her books...now I see why! This was a tender, special story that helped me to look at autism from a different perspective! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An interesting view of autism.

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gini
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This help you see autism from a different perspective. Told very sweetly, and best of all, offers hope. Characters are very real.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Location:metro DC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading this, I bought copies to give to my prayer group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caroline
Location:Rocky Face, Ga.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book takes the reader into the world of Autism. The author explores the differences made in relation to not only handicaps, but also status in life. She gives a very realistic view of the ripple effect "bullying" has in our society. We learned "sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me". Karen Kingsbury proves this saying is far from the truth. Words often hurt worse and leave deeper scars. This book can lead to alot of healing if it is shared. Thank you Mrs. Kingsbury!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful story.

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rosemary Wright
Location:BIRMINGHAM, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wonderful read. I enjoyed it very much. However, I finished the book wanting more. It just seemed to stop before the ending. I was disappointed in the way it just seemed to stop without a conclusion. Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I learned a lot about autism that I didn't know about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story dealing with Family and autism.

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ganmama
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome story dealing with the struggles Holden, his Family and Friends goes through while dealing with autism.
Ella was the Friend that stood strong and did not cave in to peer pressure. She was a true Friend to Holden.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Payson, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is such an eye opener to helping understand how autism affects so many people. not only those with the disease, but family and friends and others involved. It also shows how we need to just love people for who they are, and love them just the way God made them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unlocked: A Love Story
This review is fromUnlocked: A Love Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The author always writes great book

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
lady
Location:Chicago
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The book shows how each person is here for a special reason.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.