Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook

B&H Books Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook

When Marianna Sommer returns to her home in Indiana after spending time in Montana, she looks forward to planning her wedding to Aaron Zook. But as secrets are revealed about a child, a past relationship, and God's plans, Marianna longs for Montana. Will she be able to decide where---and with whom---her heart truly belongs?
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fine read!

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Magister
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better quality and depth than many "Amish fiction" books. Well worth your time. The characters seem authentic and you will find yourself drawn along, looking forward to the sequels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Of My Favorite Amish Series--Ever!

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer has penned a powerfully moving novel of forbidden love and grace, that takes the reader from Indiana to beautiful Montana, a land of beautiful mountain peaks, sparkling lakes, verdant meadows, and rolling pine-filled hills; in Beyond Hope's Valley, the third installment in The Big Sky Series.
Marianna Sommer is heartbroken when her Amish family decides to leave Indiana to move to Montana, leaving behind everything she has ever known and loved her whole life...including her sweetheart, Aaron Zook. Aaron has built a wonderful home for Marianna, and becoming impatient when she doesn't come back to Indiana right away, Aaron decides to go to her in Montana. However, once there, Marianna finds a peace in the beautiful countryside than she has ever known, coupled with a freedom to serve God in a more personal, intimate relationship, aided by the friendship of a very special man, the Englischer, Ben Stone.
As confusion begins to take hold of Marianna, and fear of her feelings for someone who isn't Amish, Marianna decides to accept Aaron's marriage proposal and return to Indiana with him. However as lies, deception, and secrets begin to surface concerning the parentage of a new baby and a past relationship, and Aaron rebels against Marianna's new found relationship with the Lord, she begins to experience an uneasiness in her soul. Will she be a perfect Amish woman and marry the man of her dreams?...or will Ben continue to haunt them?
This was a wonderful Amish series-one of the best I have ever read! The realistic storyline, humanly flawed, complex characters, and a strong spiritual thread throughout, made this a series I could hardly put down! Tricia Goyer is a master of storytelling, and I am thrilled to have finally gotten acquainted with some of her work. With a satisfying conclusion, I would not only highly recommend this book, but the whole series--I read all three in three days! Very nicely done, Ms. Goyer!
*I received Beyond Hope's Valley from Net Galley in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Following God's Plans

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have so enjoyed my visit with Sommer family and have loved Marianne, and her sweet giving personality.
We begin this book on our way back to where we started in Indiana. You will wonder if Marianne is about to finally wed Aaron Zook, a wedding she has planned in her mind forever. We also wonder about her feelings for Ben...if we all could look ahead down the future road. I love the reliance on God!
We have been following these beloved characters through three books and this one being the final. I hate to say goodbye, you will have to read through a lot of heartache, and love.
Although you can read this book alone, I wouldn't miss reading Beside Still Waters and Along Wooded Paths you will "Love" them.
Be ready for a great conclusion to this wonderful series, and wish I could have more visits. Enjoy!!
I received this book through Litfuse Book Tours, and the Publisher B & H Books, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2012
Finally! The long-awaited conclusion of the Big Sky series is here! And what a conclusion it was! Tricia picked up right where she left off in Along Wooded Paths and caught up with Marianna as she returns to Indiana to help her brother and his bride-to-be as they start a family—a little out of order! As Marianna and Aaron get closer to the time when they believe they will be married, Marianna continues to be plagued with doubts and wonders if this is really what God has planned for her.
Coming into this final installment in the Big Sky series, I wasn't sure how I wanted the series to end. Should Marianna choose Aaron and the Amish way of life? Or Ben and an English lifestyle? I was so conflicted and really felt the emotions that Marianna was experiencing throughout this book. I loved the focus on Marianne's discovery of having a relationship with God—rather than simple rituals or tradition passed down through generations. At time, it even seemed that the human relationships took a backseat, which I appreciated. Don't get me wrong, though . . . there is plenty of angst, heartache, and soul-searching in this novel! I thoroughly enjoyed Beyond Hope's Valley—and the emotional journey to the conclusion. I hated to see it end and am keeping my fingers crossed for future visits to this charming community! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from B&H Books and LitFuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Honesty in Relationships

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Get ready for a heart-pounding rush of emotions as Marianna returns to Pennsylvania with the love of her life, Aaron Zook. Her mother had invited him to Montana to steer her away from Ben Stone, an Englisch man from the area. Upon arrival, Aaron was in a car accident, and ended up recuperating at the home of Marianna’s parents.
After spending time with Aaron there, Marianna chooses to marry Aaron, her childhood love. They hope for a quick wedding once her brother Levi and Naomi are wed. What they find is Naomi pregnant before marriage. Marianna and Aaron’s hopes of a quick marriage come to a halt, at least until Naomi’s baby is born, and Levi and Naomi are allowed to marry.
As Marianna is courted by Aaron, strange behaviors and attitudes shoot forth from Aaron, something Marianna hasn’t ever seen before. Surely it’s because they have been apart for so long. Right?
As secrets and rumors are exposed, a whole new dilemma occurs, sending Marianna into upheaval. The return of her parents for Levi and Naomi’s wedding stirs up additional rumors and innuendos, as Ben is with them with a large trailer.
Trisha’s characters are real, deep and complex, and the emotional roller coaster rides in Beyond Hope’s Valley are real, difficult and exhaustive. Trisha really digs into the meat of the issues and they are presented in a way that she truly masters. Twists and turns keep you wondering how anything can work out. Love is tested. Suspicions reign. The storyline keeps the pages turning!
Having given her heart to the Lord in Montana, Trisha has Marianna traveling the fine line of Pennsylvania Amish life and truly following the Lord. Her exuberance in sharing her newfound joy isn’t always accepted, though the Amish ways are delicately woven in her life. With this rejection, Trisha brings out the travesties of Marianna’s friends back in Pennsylvania.
You will want to read Beside Still Waters and Along Wooded Paths to get a better feeling for the angst in Beyond Hope’s Valley. Trisha has written books in several genres, and I’ve loved them all. These included. You won’t be disappointed with her Montana Big Sky Amish series!
This book was provided by Amy Lathrop of Litfuse Group in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Conclusion to the Big Sky Series

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the first two books of the Big Sky series so much, I had a hard time being patient for the third book to come out! It far exceeded my expectations. The characters are so realistic, and the author painted the Montana location so well I felt like I was there!The characters and storyline of this series is very different than any other Amish series I've read, and I've read a lot! Marianna was a sweet amish girl trying to do what her parents and faith dictated, but she has strong feelings for an Englisher. In this book she is struggling to follow hear heart and to follow God's will for her life. I was sad to see Beyond Hope's Valley be the end of this series, but Ms. Goyer did a wonderful job of wrapping everything up-a beautiful story! I look forward to reading more of Tricia Goyer's books, and HIGHLY recommend Beyond Hope's Valley and the rest of the Big Sky series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Ending

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book three and the final book of this series. The book starts with Marianna coming back to Indiana with her soon to be husband Aaron. She can’t wait to get back and settle in. She looks forward to welcoming her brother back into the fold as well as a new niece or nephew. But as she settles in with her new faith in Jesus she finds her community not as willing to listen to her beliefs and everyone is watching her closely. Also after seeing the house that Aaron build for her and spending time with him she starts to wonder if he really is the one and she finds herself thinking about Ben more then she wants to.
Meanwhile Ben is on tour for his hit song he wrote about Marianna but he finds himself not enjoying it as much the second time around and wishes he could go to Marianna and convincer her they belong together. We also get the final piece of the puzzle when it comes to Marianna’s mom and dad. Will a man from her moms past threaten to shatter the peace they had found in Montana?
I was excited to read the 3rd book and see who Marianna ended up with and was pretty satisfied with the outcome.
What I liked: For a final book in a series I was happy with how the book wrapped up and it did not feel like it was not finished. I liked how Marianna was strong in her faith and knew what she wanted. Even though the community in Indiana was not overly happy with her at times she stuck to what she believed. I also really enjoyed the spiritual message about her personal relationship with Christ I thought it was well written.
What I did not like: Like the other two books in the series the first half of the book seemed to drag for me. Once I got around 70% it started to pick up.
Over all I enjoyed this book. I was happy with the ending and glad to see everything resolved from the previous two books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great conclusion to a beloved Amish series!

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life is finally coming to a conclusion for some of the residents in Indiana especially for the Sommer family. Now that Marianna and Levi have come back to Indiana after moving to Montana, they are ready for some major changes in both their lives.
For Levi, he left Indiana looking for what he dreamed the perfect woman would be and after careful consideration realized that the woman he was looking for was the one he left behind. The only problem is that Naomi is pregnant and it's not Levi's child. However, seeing that he's in love with her, he is willing to do whatever is necessary even if it mean letting everyone else believe he is the father. The only problem is that Naomi won't tell him who the real father is and he won't pressure her to tell him. The wedding won't happen until after Naomi has the baby to assure that both Naomi and Levi are making the right decision.
Marianna is here to help with the planning of the wedding and to help both Naomi and Levi with the preparations of having a baby soon. Now that she's finally coming to realize just how much she loves Aaron, once the wedding for her brother Levi and Naomi have taken place, she can begin planning their wedding. She is still struggling with her new found faith in God, reading the English version of the Bible instead of the High German one, most Amish families use. Her relationship has grown and even her Mam and Dat in Montana have begun to embrace some of the changes from the old Amish order to a blend of the English and Amish ways.
The only thing that still remains in her old life is her heart still belongs to Ben, an English musician who introduced her to a personal relationship in God! Now that she finds herself growing in that relationship, she fears that she won't be able to pursue that once she returns home back to Indiana and to the Amish ways of her family and friends. It isn't something that the Amish do is question the authorities of their church in what the Bible has to say but now that Marianna can read it for herself, she finds herself conflicted with what her people believe.
What will happen in each of these relationships? Will Naomi finally tell Levi who the father of the baby is before they get married or will the father step in and do the right thing and take responsibility for the baby and marry Naomi himself? Will Marianna end up marrying Aaron and go back to her Amish roots or will her love for God bring her to realize He may have other plans in mind for her?
In the concluding book in the Big Sky series, Beyond Hope's Valley by Tricia Goyer brings to a close the relationships we have come to love since the beginning. I am so happy to know the outcome of Marianna's life and how her family would deal with their knowledge of the Bible and a personal relationships with God being raised in the Amish Order. I have always wanted to know how the Amish would deal these types of situations and how that would impact their relationships on both sides of the fence. I think Tricia did an outstanding job at answering all the questions I had through this series in this final novel in this series. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend this series for those of you that would love to see the Amish and English blend together in some interesting ways.
I received Beyond Hope's Valley by Tricia Goyer compliments of Litfuse Publicity for my honest review and now the only sad part is that is done. I will miss the Sommer family, especially Marianna but know that she will be just fine after finding her true heart's desire in the end. This can be read as a stand alone but TRUST me, you'll want to read the entire series from the beginning. It's simply that great a series for Amish fans everywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Wrap Up!

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not wait to start this book and see what was in store for Marianna, Aaron and Ben. I kept reading and reading and loved every minute of it.
Ms. Goyer takes a departure from the more common settings for Amish novels of Pennsylvania and Ohio. And while part of her story takes place in Indiana, the addition of the Montana Amish community is a refreshing change.
It captured and held my interest trying to absorb all of the nuances of the Montana folks. I found myself looking up West Kootenai and Lake Koocanusa on google maps to see how far away they were. Yep, I've got a bug to rent a cabin in the mountains of Montana this summer.
As for the characters of the story, I just fell in love with them. Ben was so very real to me and his friendship with Marianna built right up to his love for her.
I don't think Amish fans will be disappointed with this novel and I would highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beyond Hope's Valley

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading about Marianna's life back in Indiana, as she and Aaron prepare for their wedding. The people there sure made things hard for her. I enjoyed the letters scattered throughout the book, and trying to decide whether Ben or Aaron wrote them. The end of the series was satisfying, though I'm sad there won't be any more books about Marianna. I would love to see a book about Naomi & Levi, as well as more about Aaron, Rebecca, Ike, Annie, maybe even Marianna's Aunt Ida (what turned her into such a judgmental sourpuss anyway?!) and others from the series... Mostly, I'm sad to see the series end.
With thanks to B&H Publishing via NetGalley for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the wait!

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH/ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: B&H PUBLISHING
PUBLICATION DATE: APRIL 01, 2012
RATING: 4.5 OUT OF 5 STARS – EXCELLENT
PROS: Satisfyingly wraps up the series; compelling sub-plots about secondary characters; continues the challenging spiritual thread from previous books
CONS: Novel has much a slower start than previous books in the series; most of the book takes place away from the series’ original setting of Montana
After living in Montana with her family for some time, Marianna Sommers has finally decided to return to her Amish community in Indiana and marry her childhood sweetheart, Aaron Zook. Ben Stone, the English man that she fell for in Montana, is pursuing his music career, a sure sign that they aren’t meant to be together. But even though Marianna always thought that returning to Indiana and marrying Aaron was the right thing to do, she can’t help but miss Montana and the friends and family that she left behind. Her every move is watched by her Amish neighbours in Indiana, who are convinced that she’s becoming too liberal and worldly in her time away. Worse, none of them understand the new connection she’s made with God. As Marianna helps her brother and his girlfriend prepare for their wedding and the birth of their first child, she wonders whether what is right for Levi might not be what is right for her. Is it really God’s plan for her to join the Amish community and marry Aaron, even if they aren’t as a close as Levi and Naomi? Haunted by her mother’s old romance with an Englisher, Marianna doesn’t want to bring similar hurt to her family by leaving the faith, even if it means having to hide her true beliefs. But is this truly what God wants for her life, or just what she feels obligated to do? Will the reappearance of Ben change her mind?
I only discovered Amish fiction a couple of years ago, but I quickly became a fan of this rapidly-expanding genre. Plenty of established Christian authors are starting to dip their toes into the waters of Amish fiction, including B. J. Hoff, Lori Copeland, Kathryn Cushman, Mindy Starns Clark and, as you can see, Tricia Goyer. I have to admit, I hadn’t read anything by Tricia Goyer before I picked up Beside Still Waters in 2011, but I was immediately sucked in by her compelling plots and challenging spiritual messages. Beyond Hope’s Valley was on my “must read” list for 2012. I’m pleased with how Tricia decided to end the series, although I’m holding on to the hope that she revisits Marianna in future books. This final instalment was almost impossible to put down in places, and I became quite emotionally invested in the lives of the characters. I got angry at the nosy women in Indiana for their judgemental attitudes, felt spiritually challenged alongside Marianna, cheered Ruth on when she stood up to a man from her past, and felt incredibly proud of Levi for stepping up into the role of husband and father that had been placed before him.
That said, I didn’t feel quite as wrapped up in the story and characters as I had in the previous two books. Beside Still Waters and Along Wooded Paths had totally blown me away and definitely made my list of top ten reads for 2011, so maybe I was setting myself up for a little disappointment. My qualms with this book are small, but I will voice them: I felt that the plot was a bit slow to get started, and a good twenty-percent of the book seemed to be spent setting up events that were to come. Having now finished the book, I kind of wish that that some of that space could have been shifted to the end of the book, so that we had more time to spend with Marianna and her chosen beau! The ending came quite quickly (and no, I’m not telling you who she chooses!) and as cheesy as I often find epilogues, I really wanted one this time! I also missed the Montana setting, since nearly the entire novel takes place in Indiana, or following Ben around on his tour. Tricia describes Montana so beautifully in the other books in the series and I hope that she chooses to set another series there as it made a great backdrop for these novels.
But what Beyond Hope’s Valley was lacking in terms of setting, it made up for in the development of secondary characters. I really felt that Tricia delved further into the emotions of Ruth, Marianna’s mother, and her brother, Levi. Whole passages of this novel are told from Ruth’s perspective, and while I was initially sceptical about what her point of view was going to add to the novel, the inclusion of Ruth’s experiences heightened my sense of the family dynamics and cleared up some underlying issues that I’d been mulling over throughout the series. Ever wondered what difficulties Marianna’s parents had before they moved to Montana? Or why Ruth wasn’t keen on Marianna’s friendship with Ben? Now you’ll find out. While Tricia doesn’t dwell on Levi’s perspective so much as she does with Ruth, it was encouraging to see how much he’d grown since the first book in the series, and the scenes between him, Naomi and their child were really touching. We’d been given a teaser that included Levi at the end of Along Wooded Paths and I can tell you that this scene was just as good this time around, and made Levi even more endearing to the reader. Maybe it’s been too long since I read the previous books in the series, but I honestly felt that Tricia had developed her secondary characters a lot more in this book. I’m looking forward to her next Amish series, and even if she doesn’t revisit these characters (although I kind of wish that Levi and Naomi would get their own book), the strength of her character development makes me hopeful for what’s to come.
Beyond Hope’s Valley is a satisfying conclusion to the Big Sky saga, and has the kind of ending that makes you sigh with relief and let out the breath you’ve been holding for the last couple of pages. Unlike some romantic series, I honestly didn’t know who Marianna was going to choose until I was almost at the end of the last book. I think that’s what makes this series so appealing; the characters change and develop so much over the course of the books that you can’t predict how the series will end. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed following Marianna on her journey to come closer to God and ultimately discover the man that she’s destined to be with. I’d like to think that I’ve grown along with her. The Big Sky series sticks out from the plethora of Amish novels in that it not challenges the readers’ perceptions of the Amish way of life, but it also challenges their own faith. Although Tricia likes to shake things up a bit by addressing certain conflicts within Amish theology, I can honestly say that I come out of these books not wondering whether the Amish are living their lives in a way that is pleasing to God, but whether I’m living my life appropriately. These aren’t books about pleasant young Amish women who like to bake and go on buggy rides with their beaus, but stories of real people struggling with the issues that we Englishers also have to deal with. There’s still romance in this book, but I’d be hard pressed to call this book predictable. If you’ve been intrigued by Amish fiction but you’ve been put off by the pastel coloured covers, this series would be a good place to start – but do begin with Beside Still Waters. This is not a series that can be read out of order, but Beyond Hope’s Valley is well worth the wait in getting there.
Review title provided by B&H Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beyond Hope's Valley: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond Hope's Valley

Date:April 9, 2012
Marianna Sommer knew she had changed from living in Montana. She was no longer just following traditions that were passed down from one generation to the next. She had a personal relationship with Jesus. She was reading her Bible and praying on her own. She experienced a closeness with God that she never thought possible. Now she was back in Indiana wondering how she was going to fit in again. Here, rules and traditions were above all else. One of those rules hit her square in the face the moment she arrived back in Indiana.
At the train station, a little English girl had gotten hurt. Marianna quickly went over to help her. She saw the staring eyes of the Amish around her looking in disbelief. The Amish didn't associate with the English in Indiana like they did in Montana. At least she had Aaron Zook with her and the life they planned to spend together. They would be married soon. Marianna came back to Indiana to be with Aaron and help her brother, Levi, and his girlfriend, Naomi, with their wedding plans. She also was there to help Naomi throughout her pregnancy and after the baby was born. Levi had left the Amish, but returned when he discovered that Naomi was pregnant.
Aaron had also dated Naomi. They had a short lived relationship when Levi left the community and Marianna and her family left the state. But Aaron loved Marianna more than anything. He was happy Marianna agreed to be his wife. He would do anything to be with her. Aaron had already built the house where they would live. He was glad to back to the life he knew in Indiana. He was an upstanding member of the community.
Marianna longed for Montana, her family and English friends still there, and mostly for how she felt so close to God. Marianna loved Aaron but she still couldn't shake thoughts of Ben Stone. He was an Englisher that she met in Montana. He helped her see following God as more than just rules. She was also very attracted to him. Ben had recently went on tour. The song that he wrote about Marianna had topped the charts. He would be famous again.
Beyond Hope's Valley is about Marianna and her relationship with God and the other people in her life. There are other stories also going on in this book. Aaron winning over Marianna's heart. The relationship between Levi and Naomi. Marianna's mother, Ruth, facing her past. Marianna's parents dealing with the grief of their dead daughters. Ben and his struggle to be a Christian example while being on tour.
Throughout the book, there are several letters to different people, but mostly to Marianna. The last letter in the book is the one that puts everything together - but you discover that things aren't as they seemed. I really liked Marianna and felt bad she was struggling with so much. Aaron, Levi, and Ben wanted to honor God with their actions, but one failed by the end of this book. I enjoyed reading Beyond Hope's Valley, I would recommend it to all fans of Amish fiction.
The Big Sky Series
#1 Beside Still Waters
#2 Along Wooded Paths - read my review on my blog
#3 Beyond Hope's Valley
I received a free copy of this e-book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.