Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1

Zondervan Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1

The Bailey Flanigan series begins with Bailey leaving Bloomington for the adventure of a lifetime. She has won an audition for the ensemble of a Broadway musical in New York City.

She's determined to take advantage of this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, but is she really ready to leave family and friends for the loneliness of the city? And what of Cody? His disappearance has her worried about their future and praying that their love can survive. In order to be closer to his mother in jail, Cody takes a coaching job in a small community outside Indianapolis. New friends, distance, and circumstances expose cracks in his relationship with Bailey Flanigan.

Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 out of 56100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Review 1 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just as moving as ever!

Date:May 6, 2012
I think I have read every novel Karen Kingsbury has written. I'm a fan. So I was thrilled with the opportunity to get my hands on Karen's latest novel Leaving. Leaving picks up the story of Bailey Flanigan, one of the main characters in previous series.
Leaving is an incredible story about a girl trying to determine the direction that God is leading. Should she stay in Bloomington? Should she pursue a Broadway role in New York City? Should she move to California to pursue Hollywood? Is God opening the door to a new relationship and closing the door on an old one? As Bailey comes to terms with leaving everything familiar and starting over again.
Kingsbury is just as moving as ever. Her writing evokes real emotion and reminded me why I fell in love with her stories years ago. The events throughout the novel are fairly realistic and she's not afraid to put a beloved character through a difficult time. At times, the way some of the stories are resolved seem a bit cheesy ... but sometimes that's life! Also, I love that the Flanigan family is based on Kingsbury's own family.
Leaving is the first novel in the Bailey Flanigan series, but it's not the first story featuring Bailey and the Baxter family. If you want to start from the very beginning (which is what I would recommend), start with the Redemption series (Redemption, Remember, Return, Rejoice, Reunion), the Firstborn series (Fame, Forgiven, Found, Family, Forever), the Sunrise series (Sunrise, Summer, Someday, Sunset), and the Above the Line series (Take One, Take Two, Take Three, Take Four) before diving into Leaving. BUT Kingsbury does a great job filling in some of the gaps if you want to start with Leaving.
I would highly recommend Leaving or any other book by Karen Kingsbury!
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Char
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series for me was very uplifting. To be able to put yourself into these families and experiencing the ups and
downs that they went through, makes one feel they can
cope with their daily lives on a higher scale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4.5 Stars! Wasn't planing on give it that much...

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leaving, by Karen Kingsbury. Well, this was an interesting book to read and review. However, I'll have to admit that in the beginning, I was SOO tempted to give up on this book. I mean, it was a cute story, easy to read (which is good because some books are nice, but way too complicated.) I also think that everyone will be able to relate to the message, one way or another. But that said, sweet saints, where was the drama??. What really keeps me in a story is to be able to anticipate what's going to happen, but in the beginning, it's so picture perfect and sometimes the character's next move was so obvious, even as things were 'moving' to fast, if you ask me. However, somewhere along the way, she got my attention. I mean, I could feel it when the Blake family was fighting for Landon's health even while Cody was getting ready to take on the football team for Jesus and Bailey, living her dreams, with her family and all.. (Three cheers for the fact that it's based on the author's family.) I began to love every one of those God-given characters, living for Him, though twist and turns. And have mercy, there's even a rich Hollywood star, living for Jesus? She's a genius! Great! You know at some point, you have to give this author's book a try, when you keep seeing her name in Christian Fiction. She's a sweet woman, and a writer good at making the characters come alive in a story. (got me tearing up, in the end.) I'm definitely looking foward to Cody and Bailey's next adventure! Beautiful love story, anyone?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the story

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gale
Location:Robbinsville, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not read a Karen Kingsbury that I did not like she is a wonderful author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent. Always reads well

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
avidreader
Location:CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This again is a delightful reading experience. Captivates the imagination and keeps you enthralled the whole time
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I found it to be a "page turner". Hard to put down

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Twiggy
Location:Liverpool, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book, which prompted me to order the rest of the series. I could not put it down without wanting to get back to it. I'm looking forward to receipt of the next three books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall message and story, terrific!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:Graham, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think there is too much hugging, romatic emotion between characters that claim they are just good friends waiting for God to show them the next step. The bodily contact is obviously stimulating in unhealthy ways. Less of that would be welcome in future books. I have read them all and gift them to children, grandchildren.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
MissRN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great start to a new series. Especially if you have read previous series by Karen Kingsbury. She follows some of the same characters who had prominent positions in her Above the Line series. However you do not need to have read those books to fall in love with Bailey and the other characters. What I love is that Karen doesn't make easy decisions for her characters. They face real trials and don't always make the best decisions and have to work through their consequences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Leaving

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Leaving, Karen Kingsbury continues the story of Bailey and Cody, taking us to Cody’s life after he leaves…… and Bailey’s trip to Broadway. She finds a Christian couple in the area to rent a room from, and tries to reach her co-workers for the Lord. But this doesn’t work too well, because they think she just had the job because of her leading part in the movie Unlocked.
Cody is taking classes and working at a pizza joint, until his teacher helps find a job as an assistant coach at a small high school in a small rural Christian area. He visits his mom in jail, trying to encourage her in her relationship with the Lord. Cody is a very likeable person because of his background and the way he now strives to live for the Lord.
I enjoyed reading this first book in Bailey’s series, with Bailey and Cody struggling to now live apart from each other. I really like Cody, he’s the bad boy turned good, and seems he is content following the Lord’s lead in his life, wanting to help others in need. However, Bailey is a different story for me. Her character is just too perfect! There are just no young ladies, or young men for that matter that is perfect in everything they do, go for the lead roles in movies or plays and get the lead part, befriends a movie star that is now almost perfect, making their relationship almost perfect. The characters of Bailey and Brandon are so flat and perfect throughout the book it was kind of sickening to read. I think having a few flaws would make a more interesting story, because life is full of flaws, no matter who you are.
It was nice to read about Ashley and Landon again, and the difficulties with Landon’s health issues did make the story more interesting. Not that I want anything to happen to Landon. He’s one of my favorites.
On to book two in the series for me, and will let you know how that ends.
Leaving is a book I purchased myself for my stash of books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The book keeps your interest all the way through.

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Thomas
Location:Denton, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book leaves wanting to know more!! Am thankful I ordered Learning as well to follow through. Karen Kingbury books are so good to read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can I give 6 stars?

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth Rivenbark
Location:Salisbury, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is as good as all the other books. Karen Kingsbury has a great way of making a story come alive. I feel this with all her books. I laugh when the character laughs, cry when they cry, etc. I can't wait for the next book, Learning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emduck87
Location:Bloomington, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome! Ive waited to read this book since I read the end of the series before this one and it held up to my expectations! I would recommend this to anybody who loves a good love story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kingsbury never disappoints...

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
candids
Location:Watertown, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read Kinsbury’s work in the past and was excited to delve into this new series with some of the popular characters from the Baxter series mixed in. Though I haven’t read all of the Baxter books, I felt like Kingsbury shared enough information in this book to make it stand alone as well as making me want to go back and get the back story on some of these likeable characters.
Kingsbury creates believable characters in the Flannigan family. This book centers around Bailey Flannigan, a college student who is a gifted singer and dancer. She dreams of Broadway, but she has yet to see her dream come true.
Though she has just completed a starring role in a film opposite one of the country’s most famous movie stars, she comes across as very down to earth and open to the Lord’s leading.
Bailey’s love story is left unfinished as this first in the Bailey Flannigan series ends and I, for one, can’t wait for the next book in the series to be published to learn more of what God has for Bailey Flannigan and the other characters in Leaving.
Kingsbury is a gifted author and you can see her love for the Lord and for family woven throughout the plot of Leaving.
I received this book free for the purpose of review. My opinion, however, is my own and I have not been forced to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good example of the struggles of young adults.

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
AnnieB
Location:Cross Timbers, Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the book for my daughter who loved it. Read it in one day. I also enjoyed the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:May 26, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury is one of my favorite authors and the whole Baxter family series are some of my favorite books. I feel like I'm part of this family! Leaving is the first in the Bailey Flanigan series. You don't have to have read the other sets of series in order to understand what is happening, but I do recommend reading them because they are so good.
Leaving was as wonderful book. I did find myself crying at the end as Bailey is all grown up now and moving on with her life and where God is leading her. Cody is still in this series and he's still distancing himself from Bailey because he thinks that she's better off without him. It doesn't help that since she starred in Unlocked opposite of Brandon Paul that the paparazzi would be digging for dirt on whoever Bailey hung out with. Cody's past and his family life isn't the cleanest and he has a hard time letting go of the shame. His flashbacks are still coming back from his time in Iraq and his POW time so he also feels inadequate because of that.
As they both figure out the plans God has for them, will they realize that they need to be with other people or will they jump hurdles and circumstances to mend the heartbreak that has been caused?
________________________________
Zondervan provided me with the book free of charge, for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Up to Karen Kingsbury's fine standard.

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:AUSTRALIA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is always nice to catch up with Bailey and her activities and I look forward to the 2nd book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
leebeecee
Location:Fort Walton Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've loved every book by Karen Kingsbury...She makes you feel like part of the families she's writing about. I'm anxious to read the next installment....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You will enjoy this book

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
lipto
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have read some of the previous series from Karen Kingsbury, then you are probably very familiar with Bailey Flanigan. We are first introduced to during the Baxter series of books. And then her story is continued in the recent Above the Line series. Now, Bailey has her own story. Even if you haven't read any of the other books, you will still enjoy this book.
Bailey is now in college and ready to face life's next adventure. She loves the theater and arts and it is her dream to someday perform on Broadway. Her recent heartbreak over her breakup with Cody is leaving her feeling empty and not sure what to do next. When her good friend, and Hollywood star, Brandon Paul, starts working his way into her heart, will she leave the dreams of Broadway for Hollywood? When a call comes from Broadway, Bailey is excited about going, but also a little sad -- leaving home and moving to New York City sounds too good to be true. But can she really leave her family, Cody, and Brandon, behind and start this adventure on her own?
While Bailey is beginning her new adventure, we also follow Cody, who is starting and adventure of his own. He has moved to Indianapolis and has taken a football coaching job in the small town of Lyle. Here, his faith is tested and big decisions are made. In the midst of this, has Cody moved on from Bailey and found somebody else?
Also in this series, we are back on another journey with the Ashley Baxter. Landon is having asthma attacks and his health is worrying Ashley. Did his time at Ground Zero affect his lungs? What will be next for this couple?
Leaving is your typical Karen Kingsbury novel. Prayer fills the pages as each person faces a new trial. If you enjoy Karen Kingsbury, you will enjoy this book. If you have read any of the Baxter series books (Redemption, Firstborn, Sunrise) then you will want to read this book and continue on the journey.
I have received this book from Zondervan at no cost for me to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy all the Karen Kingsbuy books. I like following these families thru their lives, seeing how they handle the ups and downs of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Leaving, Bailey Flanigan Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"Leaving" Review

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bailey Flannigan is a college student from Bloomington, Indiana who has dreams of performing on Broadway. She has just landed the audition of a lifetime for the musical Hairspray in New York City. While she is excited about this opportunity, Bailey is anxious about leaving her beloved home and family in the Midwest. She also has reservations about her former boyfriend, Cody, who broke things off with her without much of an explanation.
Cody Coleman knows that his decision to end things with Bailey was for her best. He moves to Indianapolis to be closer to his mother and to pursue a job as an assistant high school football coach. While Cody’s life seems to be headed in the right direction, he still can’t get Bailey out of his mind and heart.
I received this book through a blog tour, and I was told that it was the first in a new series. Imagine my surprise when I discover that the characters in this book have already been established in three or four other series based on the Baxter/Flannigan families. I felt as if I was starting a movie halfway through or trying to watch a TV show drama that had already been on for three seasons. I was confused. I have to say, though, that the author did a pretty good job of catching me up on what I needed to know in the lives of the characters. However, there were so many characters to keep straight from the very beginning of the book that I felt as if a family tree listing somewhere in the book would have been very helpful.
This first book in a series of four sets the stage for the tale of Bailey Flannigan and her adventures in New York and also with the major decisions that take place in the life of a 20-year-old.
I felt that the author did very well incorporating faith in God into all areas of the characters’ lives.
However, it was hard for me to relate to most of the characters in this book. I am not in their stage of life, and I have never had to make the decisions that Bailey does (to date the movie star or the NFL player or to take a role on Broadway or in a Hollywood movie!)
If you are a fan of Karen Kingsbury, and especially if you have read the previous series, I’m sure you will enjoy this new one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.