Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3

Barbour Publishing Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3

Former Navy handler Timbrel Hogan has more attitude than her Explosives Detection Dog, Beowulf. Green Beret Tony "Candyman" VanAllen likes a challenge and convincing the hard-hitting handler they belong together might just get him killed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Review 1 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Explosives and Romance Action Adventure Thriller

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronie Kendig, in her new book, “Beowulf: Explosives Detection Dog” Book Three in the A Breed Apart series published by Barbour Publishing takes us on a thrilling adventure with Timbrel Hogan and her Explosives Detection Dog, Beowulf.
From the back cover: She doesn’t know it, but Timbrel Hogan is on a mission for her life…
Beowulf—a hulky, brindle-coated bullmastiff—is the only “boy” for Timbrel Hogan.
And she has a history to remind her why.
But when Timbrel, a handler at A Breed Apart, embarks on a mission to detect WMDs in Afghanistan, she reunites with Tony “Candyman” VanAllen and her no-other-man philosophy is challenged.
While tension mounts between Timbrel and Tony, the team comes under fire after Beowulf gets a “hit.” When tragedy threatens Tony’s career and Timbrel’s courage, they must maneuver through an intricate plot and a mission like no other. . . .
In case you are not aware of how explosives work, you set a fuse which reaches the explosive and then it explodes. When it does explode it does a variety of damage and can kill or maim people or animals. I say this in sincerity I want to stay away from explosives as they are deadly. I cannot imagine my job to be hunting for explosives and to make sure they do not go off. So with this in mind I started reading “Beowulf: Explosives Detection Dog” already on the edge of my seat and Ms. Kendig did her level best to keep me there. This is a thriller as all the heroes lives, including Beowulf, are in great peril. On top of everything “Beowulf: Explosives Detection Dog” is also a romance. Nail biting suspense in a wonderful page turner that will keep you up late at night. I am sorry that this series is ending but the good news is another series from Ms. Kendig will be beginning!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Ronie Kendig's books and love this one!

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK
I have really enjoyed Ronie Kendig’s A Breed Apart Series and I will miss the awesome stories of these unusual and amazing heroes! I enjoyed getting to know Candyman and Timbrel more in this book, and I especially loved getting to know Beowulf and following his journey of doing what he does so well! But the main focus for me in this book was the relationship between Candyman and Timbrel. There were so many differences and difficulties between these two, and I was rooting for them to finally find a way to get together.
Before this series I had never heard stories about Military War Dogs, and each story has amazed me in what these animals and their handlers can do. And I really like that Ronie Kendig writes about soldiers that have returned home for various reasons, and what their life was like after returning home. And Ms. Kendig’s writes the stories so well, throughout this series, I really felt like I was reading about the lives of real people. After each book, I felt like I had a new set of friends. As you can see, I loved Beowulf and as well as Trinity and Talon. And if you enjoy military stories, suspense thrillers, or just plain good, clean fiction, you will enjoy Beowulf and the rest of this series.
I received this book from the Barbour Books to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely awesome once again

Date:March 3, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I say this a lot when referring to Ms. Kendig's books, but it's worth repeating -- this was great. The main problem I had with Beowulf was that it ended. Not how it ended, but that it did. I wanted to keep reading, and reading, and reading. It's destined to be one of the better books released in 2014, well, until Raptor 6 releases because her books keep getting better and better.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner!!!

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beowulf resounds with quintessential Kendig. Packed with deep characterization, rich descriptions, and her trademark rapid-fire dialogue, once you start reading you won’t be able to stop.
This military romantic suspense story is filled with delightful scenes between Tony ‘Candyman’ VanAllen and Timbrel Hogan. She wasn’t one of my favorite characters in the first two books of this series but I can honestly say that by the time I finished Beowulf, she endeared herself to me. And of course Beowulf, a huge Mastiff that never leaves her side, absolutely steals the show at times.
The romance is subtle between the two and yet sizzles at the same time. But how is Tony going to convince Timbrel that he is serious about her with that hulk of a dog around? Let me tell you, Tony is one determined man and nothing, not even a brute of a dog, is going to stop him.
Whether you are snowed in or lounging on a beach, I can highly recommend this book along with the first two if you haven’t already read them. You’ll be hooked on Kendig.
I appreciate the author and publisher sending me a copy for review purposes. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Timbrel Hogan is not the girl we thought she was. She has a secret past that will catch up with her in Ronie Kendig’s third and final book in the fabulous A Breed Apart Series—BEOWULF!
Timbrel’s brindle-coated bullmastiff, Beowulf, is a huge dog—some call him ugly and mean—but he is the only ‘man’ Timbrel wants in her life. He is faithful and will protect her with all his might. Beo’s sniffer is trained to find bombs, drugs, and WMDs, but could it be possible that the dog is mistaken when no one can find the source for his ‘hit’?
Tony VanAllen is part of a Special Forces team. He and Timbrel have worked together earlier in the previous books in this series—Trinity and Talon. In Beowulf they team up again and are sent on a dangerous mission to Afghanistan.
Tony really likes Timbrel and wants to be a part of her life, while she is trying to keep him at a distance. But if Timbrel is really honest with herself, she must admit she likes Tony’s attention.
Throughout this story—that is filled with action, intrigue, and suspense—we get to know the real reason why Timbrel is such a difficult character that keeps men on a distance. Inside she is fighting a personal battle and Tony doesn’t make it any easier for her when he doesn’t give up on trying to win her heart. While growing closer to each other, tragedy strikes that will change the course of their lives. Both must find their new paths in life and learn to give God control of everything and trust Him above all.
As always, Kendig writes a fantastic, fast-paced novel and honors the men and women in the military. She also creates awareness of how much soldiers give of themselves for the freedom and protection of their country.
I really loved the characters! Although I didn’t like Timbrel so much in the previous books, I truly have learned to love her in this one. Beowulf made me giggle—he added a cute twist to the story. And Tony is an admirable character that will surely steal the hearts of the female reader.
This was a great series—all books were worth five stars in my opinion, but I think Beowulf is my favorite of all.
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to Put Down

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
KGD history teacher
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beowulf was another exciting novel by writer Ronie Kendig. She has produced several novels reflecting the courage and character of our men, women, and in this case, dogs who protect and serve our country. This was the story of Tony, a Green Beret, and Timbrel, a dog handler, and her dog Beowulf. They become involved in a terrorist plot that may transfer from Afghanistan to the shores of America. The story is very fast paced and difficult to put down as the reader is quite unsure how it will resolve itself. There are several side stories not least of them is the usefulness of dogs both in combat zones and as a service dogs to disabled veterans. In fact, the author gives information as to how readers can get involved with this program at the end of the book. The author also brings both disabled veterans and disabled active duty soldiers into the story.
The book also follows the story of the making of a terrorist and how his personal tragedy leads him to follow the path of revenge. It follows the building of his terrorist following and his efforts to brainwash a young man in to his evil way of thinking. We see his merciless taking of lives and the plotting to take many more. To me, the most touching scenes were with a young Christian girl who had suffered much at the hands of Muslim fanatics and a young Muslim protégé.
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Third in a Fun, Interesting Series

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third story about the dogs and people at a dog training facility that involves highly trained dogs, love, and military personnel. This book is a little different from the other two books in this series in that although some of this book takes place with the military overseas, a large portion occurs here in the states. I enjoyed the first two books, but this one seems a little more complex making it more enjoyable. The main characters have some family as well as personal problems that they have to work through while resolving the main story line. Since I am a dog lover and enjoy stories that include military people as well as a Christian, this book touched me on several interests.
I recommend this for Christian dog lovers that enjoy a more complex romantic suspense story.
I received an ARC from NetGalley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart-pounding Thriller!

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel is so much better than I imagined it to be! I do not typically read action novels that include active military maneuvers, which is why I erringly bypassed Ronie Kendig’s novels in the past. In a style known as “Rapid Fire Fiction”, Ronie Kendig’s book, Beowulf, is nearly impossible to put down.
I immediately adored Beowulf, a 120# bull mastiff Military War Dog who was trained to detect Weapons of Mass Destruction. Timbrel Hogan, former military, was Beowulf’s handler. Tony VanAllen, Green Beret, led the special mission into Afghanistan that included Timbrel and Beowulf, while his heart led him toward Timbrel. Wounded and betrayed in the past, Timbrel guarded her heart as closely as Beowulf guarded her.
With only limited knowledge of Service Dogs, I have been impressed with their love, loyalty, and work as they assist those with various physical needs. I knew far less of what Military War Dogs do. This book has shown me the necessity and seriousness of their work.
God works in our hearts through the animals He puts in our lives – whether they are service animals or pets who seemingly choose us as their owners. Beowulf is a comparably small, earthly example of God’s outrageous, selfless love as the dog is always with Timbrel, looking to protect her and love her as no human ever has. From deep within her wounded heart, Timbrel loves Beowulf as she has loved no human – a love and trust that shows what is in her heart that can be redirected to the Lord. A timbrel is a musical instrument that was used in the early worship lives of the Israelites; it is fashioned similar to today’s tambourine, which is used in many worship services today. Timbrel Hogan’s work is that of a finely tuned instrument as her life becomes a beautiful offering to the Lord.
Ronie Kendig has designed an intricately-plotted novel that includes battles, injuries, loss of life and limb, and even quiet demonstrations of gentle faith (Psalm 91) to show what the Lord can do through the characters. Will Tony and Timbrel continue to hide behind their family secrets that they use to keep them from serious relational commitments? Will they grow closer to the Lord through these times or further away when nothing makes sense? Can they learn to trust each other after serious life changes, at least enough to go through one more incredibly dangerous mission that has been building through the background of the novel?
This breathtaking, high-energy novel is worth every heart-pounding moment of lost sleep until you have finished reading it – absolutely highly recommended!
I won a copy of this book through Goodreads. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beo will grab you and not let go until the end!

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
SarahsReading
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
‘Beowulf’ certainly didn’t leave me wanting. In fact, Beowulf had an intenseness that I didn’t really expect. Now, with a title like ‘Rapid-fire fiction’, you can be assured that it’s going to be fast paced and ‘Beowulf’ is no exception. This story also puts the reader into the inner-workings of a terrorist cell. I found this to be quite a different story from the others in this series. Each story in this trilogy deals with war, but this one impacted me more with this point of view. I was fascinated and saddened at the same time. I can’t imagine how hard this point-of-view must have been to write.
The main characters are awesome! This is no surprise to you if you’ve ever read a Ronie Kendig book before. Tony is an amazing hero. I’ve been a huge fan of Tony ‘Candyman’ VanAllan since he first appeared with his swagger and taunted Timbrel. Timbrel Hogan is a strong, tough woman. She needs no one and nothing except her explosives detection dog, Beowulf. Timbrel, who seems beyond strong, is so soft for this dog of hers. She lets no-one in to her space except Beowulf. Tony isn’t one to give up easily, and is up to the fight or so he thinks. Both dog and handler seem to want nothing to do with Tony. Can he get past Timbrel’s defences and, harder yet, Beowulf?
Timbrel and Tony have to work together in spite of the tension between the two of them. There is much more at stake than Timbrel’s pride and Tony’s attraction. A search leads to failure but Timbrel is behind Beowulf and knows something more is going on. Tony is hit with something that threatens all that he is and Timbrel is desperate to prove both herself and Beowulf. Will they both be able to see past themselves to what they need to do and what God has in mind for them?
‘Beowulf’ is a fast-paced, adrenaline ride! He will draw you in with the first bark and he will not release you until the final page, and then you’ll be begging for more! If you’ve read the first two in the series ‘Trinity’ and ‘Talon’ then you need to pick this one up! If not, you can start here and then I know you’ll want to read the first two!
Ronie Kendig knows how to write! Boy, is that an understatement! You can almost feel the sweat drip down your neck as you scour buildings in Afghanistan and feel the numbing cold of mountain passes. Once you go Rapid-Fire Fiction, you’ll never look back!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Comments
Wow, what a GREAT book, it’s worth MUCH MORE than 5 stars! From the FIRST ten pages, I knew I was gonna love this story and I was NOT disappointed. Beowulf starts exactly where Talon leaves off at. As Timbrel runs from Candyman in her car, he takes chase and she calls the police on him knowing that will be the only way to subdue him….couldn’t believe she did that!
Timbrel is determined to have only one man in her life and that’s her dog, Beowulf. Too many men, boyfriends and step dads, have failed her in the past and she refuses to let anyone guy get close to her now. However, Candyman’s different and determined even though Timbrel makes it clear she’s not interested. Will Candyman be able to see past her brokenness and barriers to have a future with her?
James Tony “Candyman” VanAllen is the best at his job being a Green Beret Special Ops soldier and he loves serving his country. He has always been a flirt and a charmer with the ladies and he enjoys annoying Timbrel with his jibes. However, no matter how badly she treats him, he can’t stop thinking of her. What will it take on his part to prove he’s the real deal in her life, that he won’t fail her?
What I loved in this story:
Candyman’s team of soldiers, they make things lively and interesting, they stick together through everything
Tony’s family back home; his parents, his siblings, and his niece and nephew….they enhance the storyline tremendously
Without a doubt, Beowulf, an ugly beast (that I easily fell in love with) who never fails his handler or their missions….he was the real hero in the story all the way!
The conversation between Timbrel and Tony’s mom….seriously loved that scene between these two women who are very special to Tony
Loved that Candyman and Timbrel get to work together in more than one emergency/mission
Really loved the movie lines between Tony and Timbrel
There is no profanity or inappropriate content and there is plenty of constant action
Kendig includes a small glossary explaining what EDD (and others) stand for
I thought of the movie Turner and Hooch and that’s kind of the idea I had of Beowulf. This video conveys that even though I’m convinced that Beowulf is much better trained and more deadly than Hooch, they are both vicious dogs to cross paths with.
“No, I’m trying to make you understand that Timbrel won’t give you that chance. She’s been hurt. You pose a threat. She’s had enough training through hard life experiences to know not to let anyone in, that even if she wants to, she can’t take that risk. So like I said, Timbrel won’t give you the chance you want.”
Jaw set, Tony refused to back down. “Then I’ll take it.”
“Take it, how?” Ghost scowled. “You hurt her and I’ll--“
“No, I mean…Listen, I’ve got a dad at home who doesn’t recognize me half the time. I work some of the most dangerous missions in some of the darkest places on earth. I don’t scare easily. I’ll do what I do in the field with the candy bars, gaining the trust of the people.”
“You’re going to give her candy bars?”
Tony grinned. “I’m going to make her life sweet.”
Kendig doesn’t just describe combat, she places the reader in the heart of it with honesty and respect. The story is filled with action, humor, loyalty, passion, intensity, with some sadness but always hope, romance, faith, anger/frustration, integrity, an amazing explosives detection dog who never fails, a few misunderstandings, forgiveness, learning to let go and redemption. I was in amazement over the way Timbrel spoke and her attitude (did she just say that? no way, she did not just take that risk!) in much of the story, but I wouldn’t have her ANY OTHER way. You will NOT be able to put this book down once you’ve started it and you will have new respect for military dogs and their handlers. There are characters from Trinity and Talon in the story, but I consider Beowulf a standalone read. The entire series is awesome, but Beowulf was my favorite and a great conclusion. God bless EDDs, their handlers, and amazing writers like Kendig who tells their stories with passion, humor, and authenticity! Go Beowulf and rock on Timbrel!
I want to thank the author for the review copy and giveaway copy provided. The opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action-Packed with Great Romance and Storyline

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read Talon (A Breed Apart #2) last year, I have been anxiously awaiting the next book in the series, Beowulf. This book can definitely stand alone if you have not read the other two books in the series. However, since I have read Talon, I was really anticipating this story that covers the relationship of Timbrel and Candyman.
Beowulf is definitely not a lighthearted romance! This is a hard-hitting, action packed adventure from page one! There are moments of humor, romance, fear, hurt, anger, and many other emotions that make for an extremely believable story. I really enjoyed the main characters. Tony, “Candyman”, is in love with “Timbrel”. He has been for a while now, but she just won’t let him close. It doesn’t take long to realize that this is one traumatized woman. Will she ever be able to trust again?
And the action in this book is great. Just like in Talon, we switch back and forth in the book between seeing what the “good guys” are up to and what the “bad guys” are doing. When I start military-themed books, it always takes me a couple of chapters to get into the hang of understanding military jargon. This is just a shortcoming that I have! Nothing wrong with the book at all. Once I got going, though, I had trouble setting this book down. I constantly wanted to know what would happen next.
All of the characters in Beowulf just seemed so real. The author did a great job of creating all of the personalities, including those of the dogs. Looking toward this book’s release, I felt that this was going to be a very good book with a great storyline between Tony and Timbrel, but it truly exceeded my expectations. (5 stars)
I was blessed to win a copy of Beowulf in a Goodreads First Reads Giveaway and was not required to write a review, but happily do so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exciting and deep story

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanP
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronie Kendig has knocked it out of the park again with her third book in her working dog series. Gritty, hard hitting, dangerous real to life moments that drag you along on this roller coaster ride of emotions. The author puts depth into her characters so you feel right along with them. There are heart breaking moments, joyous moments and times where you are on the edge of your seat. You have the tough-as-nails female dog handler and the hunky confident special ops military man. This is their story of overcoming their past with the help of trusting God through it all. And it's not done easily at all - including life changing circumstances. She also puts in the perspective of the opposite side - so you know the inner workings of the danger that is out there and our real life military is working with.
This wonderful story of danger and intrigue - including a slobbery, monstrous working dog - will strike your heart and challenge you in trusting your every moment to God.
I highly recommend EVERY book by Ronie Kendig.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hang on to your seat

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found Beowulf to be a real page turner, romantic, full of of action, and informative on what today's men and women in the military face while fighting for our country. I loved how Timbrel and Beo had such a beautiful bond. Throughout the book I found myself laughing, crying, and hanging on to my seat to see what happens next. I was completely surprised to what happens to one of the main characters. I did NOT see that coming!
This is a great book and series! 5 stars
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good romantic suspense

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don’t know why I requested a review copy of Beowulf, as I didn’t particularly enjoy the last Ronie Kendig book I reviewed. Perhaps I thought I should give Ronie Kendig another chance. I’m glad I did.
Timbrel Hogan is a dog handler with private firm A Breed Apart, working with Beowulf (surprise!), an explosives detection dog. James Anthony “Candyman” VanAllen is more than half in love with her, even though she won’t give him the time of day. When Timbrel and Beowulf are assigned to Tony’s unit, the two are forced to work together in a suspenseful plot that moves from Iraq to the US.
There were still aspects of Beowulf that didn’t appeal to me. I thought there were too many minor characters, and I had trouble working out who many of them were (and were they even relevant to the story?). There was a glossary of military terms at the start of the novel: I would have found a list of characters far more useful. And while I know Ronie is known for “rapid-fire fiction”, there were times I felt the writing was too rapid-fire. It almost felt as though she hadn’t finished one thought before moving on to the next. And I found the parts where we moved to Iraq confusing, as it wasn’t clear who the viewpoint character was, or what their connection was to the main plot.
But I really liked Timbrel and Tony (although I didn’t quite get what Tony saw in Timbrel at the start). They were both flawed but real characters, both with their own internal struggles. Tony has a strong Christian faith; Timbrel moves from not believing in God at the start of the book to a Christian faith at the end. And I really liked the progression of their relationship, and the way Tony demonstrated endless patience with Timbrel, reflecting God’s endless patience with us. This, to me, was the strength of the book.
Thanks to Barbour Books and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me say something I usually say at the end of a review when I have thoroughly enjoyed a book…don’t miss reading this series! While the series started with Trinity, and continued with Talon, then ending with Beowulf and can be read as stand alone, I believe readers will appreciate the storyline more if all three books are read in order.
The author gives us a glimpse into military life along with its’ dangers and ever presents threats, as well as telling us how the military trains handlers and their dogs. In this particular tale, we watch the ever-growing thread of romance between two team members that started in Trinity. The sparks that fly between the two are both funny and exciting to read. On a wider scale, the audience will watch as a terrorist is slowly planning revenge against the Great Satan. While this man is bent on destruction, he also mentors a young orphan he randomly picks and then the hatred begins to blossom out of control for both man and boy.
One characteristic I really appreciated the author having as part of her characters’ personalities and lives is being a Christian. The way she crafts her characters makes them appear as real people, flawed and all, not perfect or unreal. Another positive for the series is that each book ends with a story about real servicemen who are also dog handlers. The readers can act to support these special people and families as well as four-legged friends as different foundations are shared to help the audience have a concrete way to help those who serve.
While I am sorry to see this series close, I look expectantly to the next book from this author, Raptor 6, coming out in May 2014 that starts off a new series. I want to thank the author and anyone who shows support in various ways to our servicemen and women all over the world and to those who are the unknown heroes. Where would America be today without our brave military and the sacrifice their families make every time they are called to serve?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tanama
Location:TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't wait for Beowulf: Explosives Detection Dog to come out but was also wondering how it could ever be as good as Trinity and Talon. I knew it would be an awesome book because it was written by Ronie Kendig. Not one of her books is even mediocre, they are all great, but to top her previous books was not possible! Well, I was wrong. Beowulf was the best of the A Breed Apart series.
Candyman was a favorite of mine in the previous books, so I was excited to see where his story with Timbrel would go. I have to say, this book takes you on an emotional ride. It's not too often a book will bring a tear to my eye, but this one did. You can NOT read Ronie Kendig books and go away without feeling a deeper sense of pride and respect for our Military.
I knew nothing about the Military Working Dogs before reading A Breed Apart series. These dogs are a huge asset to our country and need to be recognized for their work! I highly recommend these books to everyone and I'm impatiently waiting for May when Raptor 6 from The Quiet Professionals arrives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beowulf: Explosives Detection Dog!

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Emily
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Typical Ronie Kendig nail-biter winner! This book will keep you flipping pages late into the night!
Timbrel Hogan and Tony "Candyman" VanAllen's story has been one that I have been anticipating since book one. I was not disappointed! Tony and Timbrel are both relentless when it comes to their relationship; Tony not taking no for an answer (even after she called the cops on him!), and Timbrel stubbornly refusing to let him in. Their relationship takes on a new level in this book when they are thrown together once again on a mission.
Beowulf- a big, mean, drooling bullmastiff- is the only "boy" Timbrel wants in her life; and he seems to agree, fiercely protecting her from any potential suitor. With his special training in chemical weapon detection, Beo is called to sniff out bombs in Afghanistan, and stumbles across something deadly.
This book will have you laughing, crying, and hanging in suspense at its twisting and heart-wrenching plot. So get some coffee, a warm blanket, and snuggle up and settle in for an edge-of-your-seat kind of experience!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No "fluffy" read!

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
ConnieR
Location:ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're after a lighthearted read to carry you off to pleasant places, don't read this book! If you don't want to have vivid mental pictures and hardhitting action, don't read this book!
"Beowulf, Explosives Detection Dog" is the third in Kendig's "A Breed Apart" series, which honors the dogs who serve our military in different ways. It's hard to believe that Ronie hasn't been in the service herself with her fast-moving, tense writing about the members of ODA452, which is a Special Forces military team, and their participation in combat with the dogs and handlers from A Breed Apart Ranch, which trains military dogs.
"Beowulf" focuses on Timbrel, Beo's trainer/handler, and "Candyman" Tony James VanAllen. Their story is told with honesty and gut-wrenching emotion. After just two chapters, I was entwined into their lives and story and following every twist and turn of the fast-moving plot and tense action scenes. Again, it's hard to believe that the author doesn't have military experience, as she touchingly deals with the sensitive subject of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and the havoc that it can play on families who care for and live with the brave soldiers who deal with this malady. But don't think that she spouts all of the traditional platitudes that dismiss the real heartbreak that comes with PTSD.
One thing that I really loved about this book is the way that the author brings humor and playfulness into a hard, biting, real story, that you just KNOW could be playing out somewhere in the world today, despite the fact that this is a fictional story. And being a Christian myself, I love how Kendig winds the saving love of God into the lives of her characters in a way that mirrors every Christian's daily battle with self, and every seeker's journey towards Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced action, intrigue, faith and romance

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Docmeister7
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEOWULF: EXPLOSIVES DETECTION DOG
RONIE KENDIG
Beowulf. The name says it all. Named after the Scandinavian mythical hero who defeats a troll by tearing its arm from the socket, the brindle-haired beast exists for two things: to detect explosives – specifically, chemical weapons of mass destruction – and to protect Timbrel Hogan, his handler. In fact, the only person who was able to connect with “Beo” and train him for military service.
Beowulf has his hands – paws – full, when Tony “Candyman” VanAllen enters the picture. Tony just can’t seem to take “NO!” for an answer when it comes to Timbrel, or defending those who can’t or won’t protect themselves. Tony likens his service as a calling from God, and carries out that calling in true warrior fashion. He also sees a relationship with Timbrel as a mission . . . and he’s up for it.
The third in Ronie Kendig’s “A Breed Apart” series crackles with the author’s characteristic energy, fast-paced action, intrigue, and suspense. Throw in unexpected romance, and unfeigned devotion to a God who is not content with sitting on the sidelines, and you have all the ingredients for a book that you will not be able to put down.
Ronie has done her homework in researching the military battle sequences, as well as the Military Working Dog training and working scenes. But, like every master craftsman, she’s left the tools in the shed and presents the reader with the finished product.
Since it is the third book in the series, the uninitiated reader may feel like they’ve “dropped into the middle of a conversation,” but this quickly passes and the book easily stands on its own.
5 stars for another “rapid-fire” work of fiction by Ronie Kendig!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beowulf, A Breed Apart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m a big fan of Ronie’s books, so it’s no surprise that I loved Beowulf, the third and final book in her A Breed Apart series. I had a seriously hard time putting this book down! I stayed up late, because I had to find out what was going to happen next! Do not start this book late in the day or just before bed, or you will be up all night reading it! Something you know for a fact when you pick up one of Ronie Kendig’s books, is that you’re in for an adventure. Her books pull you in and don’t let you go until long after the last page is read and Beowulf doesn’t disappoint.
This is Candyman and Timbrel’s book (who we met in the other 2 books). I’ve loved Tony “Candyman” VanAllen since Ronie first introduced him and was super excited to finally get to see him and Timbrel work out their differences. I enjoyed getting to know both of them and seeing Beowulf do his thing. Timbrel and Tony both must learn surrender to God and to trust Him with their lives.
Probably my favorite things about all of Ronie’s books is how real they seem. Each of her books shows a different aspect of being in the military and what some soldiers have to deal with after returning home. I know they are fiction, but it doesn’t seem like fiction. She brings the characters to life in such a way that you truly believe they are real people. I had to remind myself that they weren’t real, ’cause I was thinking about praying for them! That’s how you know it’s a great book!
I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a great story with compelling characters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>