Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House I Promise - eBook

Bethany House I Promise - eBook

Christy Miller and Todd Spencer are engaged at last! But now the wedding work begins. Todd's breezy view of life clashes with Christy's meticulous planning. The issues of when and where to get married seem obvious--until everyone's expectations are compared. Then Aunt Marty, Mrs. I-Love-to-Plan-a-Party, jumps in, ready to lay siege over each wedding detail. It's enough to make anyone sing the wedding-bell blues.

Meanwhile, Katie has some unanticipated news of her own. Her renewed relationship with Rick is developing, but everyone wonders what's going on. Is Rick about to break her heart again, or could this be something lasting?

As the time draws closer to the wedding, Todd and Christy face differences between them that might make married life more complicated that they thought, and Christy wonders if their relationship can work when put to the test. Will they make it down the aisle to tell each other "I promise" for the rest of their lives?

Christy and Todd: The College Years series provides deeper, more mature story lines that follow Christy into decisions about life and love. Each story will offer a thought-provoking and inspiring model of Christian courtship and romance.

Average Customer Rating:
4.924 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Promise - eBook
Review 1 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These books are good reads AND Christian examples.

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoyO
Location:New Hampshire
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started reading the Christy Miller series when I was 12. Now as an adult I still like to go back and read the College years and Katie's series. These were some of the books I grew up on. They are funny, sweet, romantic, heartfelt, and Godly.
In short, they are real.
I read an earlier review which basically said these books were not at all Christian. And since these books have been my companions for a good decade, I felt the need to defend them.
So just to clarify a few things.
These books ARE Christian, and HAVE GOD IN THEM. And God just may touch you through reading them.
Are the characters like us completely? Obviously not. Are they perfect? No way! That's how we relate to them! They mess up and make huge mistakes and have some major attitude problems. They are "human." Just like us! :) But despite it all, they love God and do their humanly best to follow Him. And that's why these books are so good. It's us.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
I love how the characters in this book are so real. They do relate to people in my life. I have a crazy Katie, a gentle Tracy, and a free-spirited Sierra. These are such great Christian books. Mrs. Gunn I think you did a fantastic job!! oh yeah, I love the new Katie Weldon book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kate
This book was good, but the news about Sierra really ruined it. It really makes the whole "Sierra Jensen" series just pointless, if she and Paul are nothing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
ABIOLA
Lol. these books crack me up sooooo much. Firstly, Christy, Todd, Katie, Doug, Tracy, Rick. All fake people!!!!Some of the reviews i read really make me sad. these are romance books with a little bit of Christianity thrown in. My friend who is a real and true atheist recognizes how un-christ like Christy and Todd are. We both agree that the best character is Katie because she is real. If the author did not make Christy a "christain" she would be just like Katie desperate and lonely. this book is well written, but should not be under the title of Christian book.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becca S.
I loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved all of the Christy Miller books!!! And I loved the College Years even better!!!! Untill Tomorrow wasn't as good as As you wish and I promise, but they were still really great!!! I love how even though Todd wanted to marry Christy like two years ago, he waited because he knew her year in Switzerland was an important year in her life and how he knew he didn't have enough money to support them yet. I hope that when I grow up I'll meet a guy just like Todd... Well actually I think a mixture between Doug, Rick, and Todd would be great! But I know that God already has someone pickt that will be perfect for me!! Thank You Robin!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
No doubt about it, Christy Miller leads a wonderful life, even if it's just fantisy. I am in the 7th grade and these Christy Miller series are my absolute favorite books of all time! I just can't get enough of them. In "I Promise", Christy and Todd are planning their wedding. This book is so tender and endering, I find myself choking up with the love and exitement. They go through some arguments and struggles trying to communicate better and become comfortable with each other's weaknesses and differences. After months of detailed planning, the loving and unique vows of I promise are exchanged under their flowered arch in the meadow of Rancho Corona University. At last they began their new life as Mr. and Mrs. Todd Spencer. This book was extreamely enjoyable. Ever since I picked up the first volume of Christy Miller I have become closer to God. Christy is not just like some fairytale. Her life and choices are realistic. You can really relate to her and her friend, Sierra Jensen. The Christy Miller books are filled with scripture, God's love and promises. Through this I'm saving myself for my "Todd" by saving kisses in my piggy bank, just like Christy and Todd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2007
Okay, I only read the college years because I am not a teenager, but the mother of one who went crazy over the Christy Miller series. For me, the wedding lacked so much detail considering their were about 14 books leading to this moment. There should have been so much more about the ceremony, the vows, the reception. Something was lacking for me and I only read 3 books. Perhaps it's my age and teenagers don't need details. But since I teach teenagers, I know they want reality and information. Just not enough for me, but it is wholesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brianna
OH MY WORD!!! I was so EXSTATIC when I found out that there's gonna be a Katie Weldon Series!!! I"m SO HAPPY!!! Right after I got done writing my first review, i went to RJG's website and looked at coming soon and that was there! I was so happy I thought my heart was literally gonna ZING right out of my body. . . NO JOKE!!! :) Thank you so MUCH RJG!! You're the BEST!!! It's coming out right in time for it 2 b a birthday present! I"m SO HAPPY, i can't even put it into words right now! THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brianna
This boook was THE BEST book i have EVER read. . . and believe me when i say i read ALL the time! :) I absolutely LOVED this book! I love how RJG pulled everything together, the wedding, todd and christy's relashonship, how marty was becoming closer to God. That's AMAZING!!! I really hope Mrs. Gunn comes up with another series. Todd and Christy: Married Years. That would be the best thing EVER! I loved the ending of the college years, but it's just like it's the start of a new beginning for todd and christy! So I REALLY REALLY hope that you write more on Todd and Christy, I think I speak for all of us when i say that. . . RIGHT GIRLS??! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
anjie
Ok this book was the best! It was so good! I really hope that Mrs.Gunn will write the married years and tell about Christy, Todd, Katie, Rick, Doug, and Tracy!! My whole school are in love with these books. All the girls are now holding out for their Todd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Genevieve
I love this book!! I'm so happy that Todd and Christy are FINALLY getting married!! All us Christy fans have waited SO long for this...YEA!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Oh this is an awesome book!!! I absolutely loved it. It is the perfect ending to a perfect series!!Although I really wish Mrs. Gunn would write more!! Everyone needs to read this book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kirsty Pearce
I think one reason why i like this book so much is because Todd and Christy get married. I still like the other two books in the college series better, but this one is pretty good to. The wedding is an absolute dream. Christy has the most beautiful dress, and bunch of flowers that she carries, all white, and everything is just so wonderful. But you have to read it for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2007
Whoa. This book was...WHOA. How can RJG do this to us Christy fans??!! Just leave us hangin when stuff gets good. I'm not shocked at how good this book was (all of RJG's books are FANTABULOUS), I'm just so excited and happy for Christy and Todd. They are perfect for each other, and I can't beleive there aren't any more Christy books!! I love this book, and there had better be more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
joanne
I think that this book could be really cheesy and stupid and us Christy fans would still like it because it's CHRISTY! The good news is that it's an awesome book. So romantic and wonderful. I think it was the perfect conclusion to Christy's story and any girl who reads Christy Miller and this series is upon finishing this book going to join the sisterhood of gals everywhere praying that God will lead Mrs. Gunn to write more about Christy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
Allison
The Christy Miller series have been such a blessing in my life, and I am so sad the series is over. I would love it, if there were a Christy and Todd marriage series or even a movie! RJG, please keep writing...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2004
Customer Avatar
Katie Haase
I LOVE this series SOOOOOOO MUCH! I think Robin Jones Gunn should write more storys about Christy, Todd, Doug, Katie and the rest of the gang! I've learned more about my relationship with God through these books then I could at bible study!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2003
Customer Avatar
Anna Thorne
I LOVE THIS SERIES! I read the first 12 straight through in 4 days and was bummed that the story didn't continue until I found out about the college years books. I read the first one but the library didn't have the second one yet and I was so anxious to read more that I skipped right to the third one so I'll have to read the second one later! I totally agree with all the people that have said there needs to be a "Christy and Todd:The Married Years" because Todd is the sweetest guy ever---too bad he isn't real!---and Christy goes perfectly with him. PLEASEPLEASEPLEASEPLEASEPLEASE write more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2002
Customer Avatar
Erica
These books are my all time favorites! Every time someone asks me if I know of any good books I tell them about this series! They really make me think about my life and how I live it. They have really taught me a lot. Sometimes I will be thinking about something in my life and be thinking about a time I remember someone having the same problem and then I realize it was Christy! I love them soo much and never want the series to end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for I Promise - eBook
This review is fromI Promise, Christy & Todd College Years Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2002
Customer Avatar
Erica
I LOVE these series!!! I love learning with Christy about her relationship with God. You should never stop writing these books!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.