Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook

Revell Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Review 1 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book! Read it today!

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gorsch Mommy
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Many of think we don't have time for real relationships. Tracey teaches us that it is just the opposite--it is actually these kind of relationships that refuel, encourage, and uplift us. Tracey talks about finding our "rhythm" as a mom. She says "If we find the right balance and cadence, which is so very doable for us moms, we just may thrive during motherhood." She addresses topics such as asking for help, discovering our passion (everyone has "one big thing" as she puts it), making time for hobbies, balancing extended family, making our marriage a priority, volunteering, and living out our relationship with Christ in a way that makes a difference in our world. She shares from her heart without dishing up any guilt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I loved reading about making connections!

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stairstep Boys
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The part of this book I was especially excited to read was about connecting with others. She includes connecting with our husbands in this. But, I was really interested to hear what she had to say about connecting with other women. Sometimes it feels like some friendships are in limbo during motherhood. There just isn't the time to invest in my friendships that I once did. And, making new friends seems almost completely overwhelming to me.
One of my favorite things that Tracey said on this topic of developing friendships was this...."We needed time to build history together.", she says of a group of women she felt connections to but was still getting to know. "So, take the risk to connect and then sit back and give that friendship the space and time it takes to grow."
I loved that! I sometimes felt guilty or bad that, while I've met many women since becoming a mom, it's been hard for me to develop that closeness that I crave in these new friendships. Part of it, I know, is me needing to reach out more & make time to spend with them. But, part of it, too, is just that - the need for time. Close friendships form over time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It speaks to you again and again...

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ctarrant
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its like a great Bible lesson. It doesn't matter how many times you read it, it always speaks to you again and again, at different times, in different seasons of life, and always at the right time, when you need it most!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Lifeline for Moms

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Grant
Location:Chicagoland, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the book - Bianchi's clear and practical advice to moms (especially to those who under the influence of "parenting fog" in their kids' early years) is life-giving and will help readers remember who they are as women. I love her advice about saying "no" (could have used that a decade ago!) as well as ideas for creating grace-filled friendships (ditto). This book is a lifeline for moms.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book from a mom who understands "real life"

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written in an easy-to-read, conversational style, this book offers "Mom Tested Tips" at the end of each chapter, as well as questions to reflect upon and a list of additional resources. These helpful tools are an added bonus, allowing the reader to do something with what they've read.
One of my favorite quotes from this book was,"Chaos will not disappear at this life stage, but we can change how we face it." What a great reminder that even though there will always be a cloud of crazy that hangs out in my house, I'm ultimately responsible for how I choose to live my life. I can become a hermit, refusing to invite anyone over because my house is not clean enough, or I can slide the laundry off the couch and reach out to those around me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MOPS book worth reading!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Langston
Location:Arkansas, US
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From reading Tracey Bianchi's written words, I have felt encouraged, supported, challenged, and reminded that I am not alone in this motherhood thing. Throughout this book, she shares personal stories about her life, her friendships, and how she shares God with others through her relationships. She encourages and strengthens us, the reader, to find the rhythm in our lives and to make meaningful, vibrant relationships with other mothers/friends, our spouses, our families, and our extended families (while setting and keeping boundaries!). She challenges and encourages us to pursue these relationships not only for our benefit and because God made us to have relationships, but to help, encourage, support, and share our rhythm and faith with others. She reminds us that we, as mothers, need to take time for ourselves so that we can explore and discover our gifts and talents. She believes that connecting and creating deep relationships with others, while making time for ourselves to pursue our gifts and talents, will help and strengthen us to become better mothers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For the SAHM Tool Box

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
SAHM Survival Guide
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Motherhood can feel like "twirling 100 hula hoops" and moving in "endless circles" (p.17). I think all mothers can relate to that visual! The goal of being at peace with motherhood, according to the author, is to embrace our own personal rhythm and that of our families; find the balance in our lives that will allow us to be the mothers and women we need to be.
Tracey, a mother of three, who is also a writer, takes us through a great process of self-discovery to recognize that we are not alone in facing challenges in this motherhood role. She sheds light on her life as a busy mom with intimate details about her experiences as a woman, mother, wife and daughter. You will laugh while reading this book!
Mom Connection can be more than a casual read, it can be a workbook for self-reflection. You can respond to two short questions at the end of each chapter to further dive into finding your rhythm, but if you don't have time for that, then just read it! One of the BEST parts of the book is the section at the end of each chapter with resources for further exploration on all topics related to being a mom.
I recommend reading it if you are looking to find your rhythm and balance as a mother. For more on this selection, visit http://www.thestay-at-home-momsurvivalguide.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Real Info, Real Author

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sara D
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a very easy, quick read. Each chapter had short sections that helped with the flow of the book. This was helpful because as I stated before I was reading while nursing, so I didn't feel like I had to finish a whole long chapter, I could just read a few sections at a time. Also, the author writes in a way that I feel like I am listening to a friend talk instead of reading a book. The author seems very "real," in a book about connections, I truly felt I could connect with the author and the ideas in each section.
for more of my review: http://whatyousee-dunford.blogspot.com/2012/05/connect.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful, timeless book

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lorraine
Location:Salem, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book with pen in hand because quite a few things jumped out at me and I want to hold onto them and then find them again easily. I would highly reccomend this book to mothers and women of all ages and stages of life. Tracey opens our eyes to the real needs of women everywhere, locally and globally and at the same time reveals the personal needs that you as a reader has. If you follow her suggestions, take the time to read and pray, to journal and go do, I have no doubt that you will discover the restorative power of our Lord and Savior,thus changing the face of your family and heart in the process.
*for full review visit www.aplace2gather.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All moms need to read this!

Date:May 12, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relationships. Motherhood. Connection with others. All of these things go together. However, in the midst of certain seasons in motherhood (namely those tender little years), what gets left out the most? Relationships with others. I have been known to say to myself, "I really need to call so-and-so, but I have so much to tell them so I have to wait until I have more time." That's wonderful and all, but I don't know when I will ever think that I will have MORE time! So far, that hasn't happened. In fact, in those cases where my kids go to stay at grandma's, I swear I have LESS time because I'm making up for all that I don't get done with the kids home and then some more. Who knew I owned scrapbooking supplies!
This book was both an encouragement to me, but also convicted me a little. It made me realize just how much I neglect certain relationships. I don't mean to. In fact, I long to be the friend that's always there for everyone. And that's my problem. Tracey writes to pick a few friends to pour yourself into, but start slow and let the friendship grow. She also helped me realize that I'm not alone in how I feel alone sometimes and at how awkward I am when it comes to approaching a potentially new friend. I could relate to her in her example of moving and just wanting to talk to a friend because when I moved after marriage, I longed to have a local friend to confide in and talk to and do things with. My husband agrees that was the worst year for us, simply because I had to rely on him much more when he would have rather I'd talk to a girl. I think his ears wore out! All of this was an encouragement--to know that I'm not alone and that making friends, even at this stage of the game, isn't easy for many people.
After having just moved to our new house, this book came at the perfect time for me because I was focused on unpacking boxes. This week, as I was reading this, I realized that I need to stop being so focused on that and make sure I'm connecting with my children. So we'd walk to the duck pond, play outside, go run and bike and just make memories with those little kiddos who are growing so fast. "This too will pass."
Moms everywhere will enjoy and relate to this book. If you are looking for a perfect Mother's Day gift or are a mom and just needs a little bit of encouragement that how you feel is normal and you haven't fallen off the deep end, PLEASE get this book! I don't recommend mommy books often because many are about "finding yourself" or "taking lots of breaks from kids", etc. But this one reminds us of our purpose here, the seasons we're in depend on how much we take on, and even saying "no" to things that don't fit into the rhythm of our families.
The book layout is nice. It has "thumbs up, thumbs down" page that is filled with application to what you just read about. Then there is a resources page with each chapter so you can read/learn more about what you just read, if you so desire. I really liked this layout because it would be perfect for mom's groups, if you're looking for an encouragement discussion.
_______________________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mom Connection - a must read for moms

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
eboots21
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracey Bianchi wrote a book every mom needs to read, I had a hard time putting the book down at the end of a chapter and found myself writing so many notes with all of the topics she covered in Mom Connection - I truly could relate to almost everything she was talking about and found myself wanting to share with others and completely could put myself in the situations she has talked about as a mom. Each chapter is a quick read and includes five points to sum up the chapter, questions and resources at the end of each chapter.
It is ultimately our choice how we go about our relationships as moms, but mom connections are around us every day. We just need to open up our lives and step into them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

for every mom who wants to find herself again

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
A. Hoff
Location:Virginia
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom Connection gives us moms something that other books i’ve read do not: an unformulated guidance to creating a balance between being mom, being you, and becoming a better you. Bianchi offers this guidance through easy-read stories of humor, love, and grief…and binds each chapter with five tips to move you forward from the overwhelmedness and negative feelings we sometimes (secretly or not) hoard as mothers. Offering practical ideas, prayer steps, and no-guilt journaling assignments–Bianchi gives each mom reader the freedom to be herself, take tips she can use, discard the ones she can’t and learn to care for yourself through GRACE in this stage of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pull Up a Chair

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Hickman Five
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pour yourself a coffee and sit at the table while you read this ... why? Because that is exactly what it feels like, sitting down connecting with a friend over a cup of coffee.
This book is written in such a way that any mom is going to relate at some point throughout the journey from front cover to back. If you are like me this read will stir tips, tricks and ideas of ways that you can connect with all of your mom friends - digital and IRL (in real life).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a book for all moms!

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author is able to meet every mom where they are. You will get something wonderful out of this book whether you are a single mom, first time mom, an "experienced" mom, a new Christian, or a life long church goer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Practical ideas for relationship-building

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
joyjoy319
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The theme for MOPS 2012-2013 year is Plunge: Love as if your life depended on it. The theme book for the year is Mom Connection by Tracey Bianchi. The theme and this book is all about relationships. Relationships – we need them, we crave them…even though sometimes they are tough. Even introverts like me need relationships…even though most of the time I would love to just hide out in my room and read! :p
Mom Connection is broken up into 3 sections:
1. Why We Need Rhythm in Our Lives
2. Creating a Rhythm for Relationships
3. Sharing Your Rhythm
Here’s what Tracey has to say about a relationship with our husband:
Early on, my husband would joke that we lived man-to-man defense and then, as our pediatrician put it, “switched to zone” once our third child was born. Whatever defense you are playing, you will lose if you are out of sync with the only other teammate you have. Our children also stumble when we are out of whack with our spouse.
She also talks about relationships with relatives, friends, neighbors, and others in our community. In each chapter, Tracey shares with us her wisdom about relationships, gives us FIVE Mom-Tested Tips (3 practical ideas to try, a prayer/blessing, and an idea to journal or write about), asks two review questions, and lists a few more resources regarding the chapter’s topic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read for any mom!

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachiecake1
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author, Tracey Bianchi, does an awesome job of helping moms understand that even though parenting young kids is an all-consuming and often overwhelming task, we can purpose to live our lives more intentionally and make deeper connections with the people around us, our spouses, our kids, our extended family, friends, and even the whole wide world outside our doorstep. Tracey delivers her message with real life stories and in a way that's easy to understand. At the end of each chapter, Tracey offers practical ideas to help apply the concepts she discusses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book for Personal Learning & Group Study

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Farmers Wife
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom Connection likens our lives to spinning a hula hoop. The metaphor is a really good one. Tracey goes on to illustrate all kinds of ways that keeping rhythm in our lives creates lives that are not chaotic and crazy. She offers practical wisdom on how to keep rhythm in all kinds of relationships. . .marriages, extended family, other women, neighbors, and God.
This book lays out some great points on how to make those connections as well as keep those connections. It is truthful, straightforward, and made me realize some things I can do to make more connections, since as the book says, "....I'm not exactly a raging extrovert!"
This book made me feel validated and normal. The scenarios she paints about life as a mom were easy to relate to. There's something about someone being so honest about life that makes you feel normal and okay with your own feelings and short-comings.
Mom Connection would be a great book for a deeper study. At the end of each chapter there are Five Mom Tested Tips as well as a couple questions for deeper thinking. My favorite thing at the end of each chapter are the references for the books and websites that Tracy made mention to in that chapter. This is particularly helpful if I want to do more reading on a chapter - like relationships with other women - I can easily access that information to do more reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring for Moms of All Seasons

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
MomShannon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracey Bianchi has captured the sweet yet challenging task of being a mother and doing all that is required to raise successful little people. Amazing ideas and practical applications abound in each chapter of the book. I highly recommend taking the time to read this book between diaper changes, snacks and bedtime, it will challenge the reader to broaden her horizon while still holding family sacred.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.