Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Coming Home

Zondervan Coming Home

Coming Home is a novel about tremendous victory and unprecedented loss, a story of faith and a forever kind of love, love that will stay with you long after the last page. This stand-alone novel will serve as either a grand introduction or a beautiful conclusion in the saga of the Baxter Family. The Baxters make plans to come together for a summer lakeside reunion, a celebration like they haven't had in years. But before the big day, the unthinkable happens. As the Baxter Family rallies together, memories come to light in the grief-stricken hours of waiting and praying, memories that bring healing and hope during a time when otherwise darkness might have the final word. In a season that changes all of them, the brilliance of family love overshadows even the valley of heartache as the Baxters draw closer to God and each other. Along the way, secrets are revealed and the truth about the Baxter Family history is finally made known. Ultimately, in this portrait of family love, the Baxters cling to each other and to God's promise of forever.
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
55 out of 6190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coming Home
Review 1 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better Than I Thought It Would Be

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
CiCi
Location:IN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I love anything with the Baxtors,based on what I heard about this book,I wasn't too eager to read a "sad" book.I finally decided to read it.
As a parent who suffered the loss of a child and a very young cousin,I thought Karen did a great job of writing how her characters handled loss and grief.Not every family grieves the loss of a child and/or family member[s] the same way.Nor does every person who suffers the loss of a child grieve in the way we "think" they should.
This isn't my favorite book she has wrote,I wish she could have focused more of the character's lives a bit more,it seemed a bit rushed.That was a bit of a disappointment.
Overall,as a Baxtor Family fan,I liked it and am putting this on my 'To Buy List'.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tearjerker

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tiggie
Location:Valley Springs CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all of Karen Kingsbury's books in this series and loved that she wrote another one but I cried through most of the book. I get very emotionally involved with her books and this one was a tearjerker, but, it had a uplifting ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nana from Texas
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love reading all of Karens Kingsbury's book. But I loved the Baxter series most of all. I went from one book to the other untill I had read them all. But when it came to the end I was not a happy camper. I really did not want to see any more death for the Baxter's. I had a hard time finishing this book. I cried. I did not like how it turned out. Too sad. Glad it was a Fiction. But so wish it could have had another ending. I still look forward to the next series. Hope it's not too much longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Ending

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
CAROL
Location:Fremont, Nebrasaka
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I have read all of Karen's books. I get excited when I know one is coming out and am anxious to read it. I cried and had to put the book down a few times as didnt want the family to loose there loved one. But couldnt stay away from it for long. Karen has a way of bringing you in so you are right there with the characters. I hate to see the Baxter family end. But if there is anythiing that I took away from this book it that, if we are believers in Christ and believe he died for our sins and rose again we will be saved. And I look forward to that someday. Hopefully, when I am old. Another good book by Karen K everyone should read it.
Carol of Nebrasaka
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Oma H
Location:Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great end to a great series. I enjoyed all the books about the Baxter family. It dealt with alot of timely issues. As soon as I finished one book I was waiting for the next one. Coming Home was not what I expected but I don't think Karen could have done a better job ending the series than she did. I am waiting for her next series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great example of family love

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Goody
Location:ND
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent, though sad story of family faith and love. Only their faith in God could get them through this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The family was realistic in today's world.

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
mangomom
Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The way they faced their adversity was faith-promoting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was incredible.

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Siegler
Location:Carmichael, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read almost all of Karen Kingsbury's books which includes all of the Baxter family books. I felt like I was part of this family experiencing the same emotions as as they did. I hate to see this series end. Karen Kingsbury has been blessed with the gift of writing. I look forward to many more books by her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Lancaster, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! Very emotional ending to the Baxter Family series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
momof6
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good read. As always Karen Kingsbury does an excellent job!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Penny B.
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an absolute must read. It ties together an unbelieveable ending to the series. Have the kleenex ready when you read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dust
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good. Usually I like Karen K. as it puts christian values in a non preaching session.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent writing, as expected!

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glolee1
Location:Glen Burnie, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me 3 days to read Coming Home. It is very difficult to put Karen Kingsbury's books down once you start reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Phoenix AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Karen Kingsbury fan and this one certainly lives up to, even exceeds, expectations.
I appreciate the softcover format which makes it cost efficient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smiler
Location:scoltand
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has many challenges and teaches us much about a family living closely together in faith love and trust in God
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

COMING HOME

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherrie
Location:Bridgeton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prepare yourself with a box of tissues before you start reading this book! Even though it was so emotional it was an excellent book. I have read every book in the Baxter family series but you wouldn't have had to to read this book and keep up with the story. The story wasn't what I was expecting so it made it even better. Everyone I have spoken to about it thinks the storyline was excellent and well written. Karen Kingsbury is an exceptional writer and she makes you feel you know all of the characters personally when you are finished reading her books. I hope this was a beginning of a new series not the final chapter for the Baxter's because I am emotionally involved with this family even if it is fictional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Coming Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a wonderful God inspired book.

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:Whitakers, North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By the time this final book was published I had begun to associate some of the characters in this book with members of my own family. All the characters are such down to earth people. Their problems, and the way they were solved, giving God the glory always, was such a blessing to me. It has been a wonderful series of books. Karen Kingsbury is a gifted christian author that makes you know you have just received a blessing when you finish reading one of her books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mommo
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Several years ago I had read the Baxter series and really enjoyed them. Coming Home quickly brought me up to date and the memories came flooding back from each book I had read previously. This book kept me interested and involved to the end and showed how God is with us no matter what happens in our lives. Great ending to this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sorry, but not worth the read

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyfuliz
Location:NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sadly, Karen's works have take a turn for the worse. The last few (and I've read them all) were contrived and not nearly as good as her earlier works.
I've been a Karen Kingsbury fan for many years and have recommended her to my daughters and friends. I will no longer do so. I have walked through the death of children with two of my strong Christian friends. Karen's description of these events do not even approach the reality of grief. This presents an unrealistic view of what grief "should look like" for a believer and sets up a Christian family for a sense of failure when the reality of grieving hits. I have seen strong believers walk through these times and rely on the Lord. It does not even come CLOSE to what Karen portrays.
Honestly, I am sorely disappointed in her for publishing her last few books.
I would take a very close look at any future books and ask for "new eyes" to review them before being published.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Coming Home
This review is fromComing Home.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book met my expectations ,

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
fancynancy
Location:Powassan, ON
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book as the family deals with a death and all the memories of the family members who died in the accident. Their trust in the Lord shines through as always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.