Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1

Barbour Publishing Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1

Annie Friesen, a software creator, needs to protect her intellectual property from her scheming partner. After escaping the hustle and bustle of Colorado Springs, she runs straight into the hospitality of an Amish family in San Luis Valley. When, after a little digging, Annie discovers her own ancestral connection to the plain people, her worlds collide. It appears she'll have to stay awhile, especially when she finds herself attracted to Rufus Beiler.

A cabinetmaker by trade, Rufus is having troubles of his own. Because of a competitor's false accusations, his business is in jeopardy. And so is his family when his sister, Ruth, leaves the Amish community.

Now Annie, an outsider, begins meddling in affairs that don't concern her. When Rufus tells her she can't continue to hide among the Amish and it's time for her to go home, Annie is torn. What will she choose-loneliness and the high-tech modern culture of Colorado Springs, or Rufus and the simplicity of the San Luis Valley Amish?

Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Review 1 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Book!!!

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is allmost 3 a.m. and I simply had to finish Accidently Amish. I enjoyed it very, very much and could not put it down. I have ordered book 2 and 3 in this series and cannot wait for them to arrive . I enjoyed seeing how the ancestors survived and lived and also tried to place myself in Annie's situation as to what decision she had made and wondered if I could do the same. Delightful, intersting book so don't miss it!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Different than normal twist on Amish story

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daws1996
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally, I'm not much for Amish stories. I can't quite put my finger on it, but while I don't mind the occasional Amish-themed book, I tend to avoid them. However the premise of Accidentally Amish by Olivia Newport had enough suggested adventure that I had to give it a try.
"Our life is grounded in submission, and yours seeks control. You can't have both." (Page 304)
Annie must run away from Colorado Springs just long enough to decide what she's going to do to avoid the schemes of her partner and boyfriend. She takes refuge at an Amish farm, and soon learns the eldest son, Rufus, is walking through his own battle with a local contractor.
What I Liked
Mrs. Newport did an excellent job weaving in the secondary story of the Jakob, the ancestor who first brought Rufus' family to America. Through his life, you get a glimpse past the depth of the Amish culture to the sacrifice those who dare to step outside the confines of the church must endure. I found his story very interesting, adding true love to the overall story and insight to the chapters about the modern characters, Annie and Rufus.
I liked sensing the struggle in Rufus, both in his developing feelings for Annie, and his turmoil over his sister's decision. Yet his beliefs were never called into question through his steadfastness and the honor he showed his parents.
I also enjoyed the fresh ending on the story of the Rich Young Ruler from Matthew 10 as seen through Annie's story. What if this young man has looked at Jesus and decided to try life God's way?
What I Didn't Like
The only thing that really comes to mind is the relationship between Annie and her partner. During the story, Annie tries to reach out a couple times, and although it can be assumed things ended the way she wanted, it still seems unfinished. Now, I do know that another book follows this one, telling more of Annie's story (In Plain View), so perhaps this is addressed there.
The Bottom Line - 5 stars
This book was very enjoyable, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you enjoy Amish books or would like to see what an Englischer considering the Amish lifestyle might look like, then I recommend giving this book a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charming and out-of-the ordinary

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accidentally Amish isn’t a typical Amish book in that the main character, Annie Frieson, is not Amish. Also, this work is actually 2 parallel stories interwoven into one novel. In addition to the contemporary, romantic suspense of Annie, there is a second story about Annie’s ancestors, who came to America in 1737.
The main story, about Annie, takes the reader quickly on a chase as Annie flees from her former boyfriend and lawyer, whom she no longer trusts. Annie’s frightful flight from the city terminates in an Amish barn far from her hectic life as a software developer. There she meets the Beiler family as her world and her heart collide with the world of the Amish.
I enjoyed reading Accidentally Amish. I like the way the stories move right along. The characters are interesting and have unique personalities. I especially like the historical story about Jakob and Verona, who along with their five children, left Switzerland and came to American seeking religious freedom. The hardships they endured with resolution, for their faith, are difficult to imagine.
A common theme running through both stories is how to live your faith, stay true to your God and then accept the results of those decisions. The author did a great job in addressing her writing to encompass this question that is common to us all.
I am not convinced that Annie’s decisions are totally realistic, so it will be interesting to see what happens in the book that follows.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Stories in One

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this to be a captivating read...two stories in one. One back in the 1700's and the other in modern time Colorado.
Annie Friesen, is a very smart and rich software creator. When her lawyer decides to steal from her, she is on the run from him, and ends up in the back of a pickup. From there she lands on an Amish farm, sleeping in the barn.
Jacob and Verona Beyeler and their 5 children, start their story on the ship to America and to Pennsylvania and religious freedom. When we read at the end of the book that this is actually the author's relatives...how interesting!
Annie encounters Rufus Beyler and finds as she goes along her growing fondness for him. Loved the relationship forged between Ruth and Annie. So sweet...and Rufus's family are great.
I see that this is a three part series, and I hope that some of my unanswered questions are going to be answered. Will Annie become Amish? Will Ruth return to her community? Will Rufus leave and marry Annie? What about that evil man Karl Kramer? There are more? Can't wait for the next book!!
I received this book from the publisher Barbour Books, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A different twist with Amish Fiction

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Annie is a software creature and her product is in jeopardy of being stolen and if she is not careful her life could also be in danger. While trying to flee from harm she hides in the back of a truck which ends up in Amish country. She ends up in the barn owned by Rufus’s family. Even though they don’t know her Rufus and his family help her out. She is hiding out for a while and tries to keep her software and herself safe. At first Annie find the Amish way of like hard with the lack of electricity and other modern convinces but the more time she spends with them the more she starts to feel at home and to question where she is going in life. Rufus knows to keep his distance from the pretty English lady but he finds himself caring for her. Can these two over come their social differences and find love? Will Annie keep her software and herself safe?
I was not sure how I was going to like this book when I first read the description but it turned out to be a pretty good book.
What I liked: This book had a little of everything. Romance, Suspense, Amish and even Historical. I liked both Annie and Rufus as well at Rufus’s sister Ruth. There was also a interesting side story dealing with past relatives back in the 1700-1800 hundreds. I thought all the different angles of this story flowed pretty well together.
What I did not like: I thought the suspense part of the story was a little weak. I expected a little more suspense at the climax but there wasn’t much. I am also going to say the idea of someone like Annie turning Amish really does not seem likely. Of course it could happen but it seems quite unbelievable to me. As much as I liked the historical side of the story and it did fit okay into the whole storyline I kind of wish it has been a book itself. I liked the characters and wish we could have spent more time with them.
Over all this was a good book and I enjoyed it. I am interested to see where the 2nd book goes. This book is different them some I have read and think others will enjoy it as well it has something for everyone.
As I was writing this review I came across what the 2nd book is going to be about. It appears this is going to be a 3 part series on Annie and her struggle to turn Amish which makes this book more believable. Now I am really looking forward to the rest of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure, History, Danger and Romance

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olivia Newport in her new book, “Accidentally Amish” Book One in the Valley of Choice series published by Barbour Publishing, Inc. brings us into the life of Annie Friesen.
From the Back Cover: Torn between two cultures…
When software creator Annie Friesen needs to protect her intellectual property from her scheming partner, she escapes the chaos of Colorado Springs for the hospitality of an Amish family in the San Luis Valley. Annie’s own ancestral connection to early Amish settlers unfolds in a story within a story, and her worlds collide… especially when she feels an attraction to her host, Rufus Beiler.
A cabinetmaker by trade, Rufus has troubles of his own. Because of a competitor’s false accusations, his business is in jeopardy. And so is his family, ever since his sister, Ruth, left the Amish community in a shroud of questions.
Now Annie, an outsider, begins meddling in affairs that don’t concern her. When Rufus tells her she can’t continue to hide among the Amish forever, Annie is torn. Will she return to her accomplishments in the high-tech modern culture of Colorado Springs or remain with Rufus and the humble simplicity of the San Luis Valley Amish?
“Accidentally Amish” is more than just a wonderful romantic drama it is also history. The history that brought the Amish to Colorado and the fictionalized real life stories of Jakob Beyeler, an ancestor of Olivia Newport. Ms. Newport packs quite a bit into this story, there is danger and suspense as Annie is trying to hide out from her attorney who is trying to rob her. There is the history as Annie explores her connection to this Amish community. And there is conflict as Rufus has to deal with Karl Kramer, a competitor, who is trying to drive him out of business. And then there is the romance. Ms. Newport is quite the author as she is able to juggle all these components and come up with a winner of a story. Ms. Newport has an amazing way with her characters as she breathes life into them. We get so caught up with the them and their stories that we want there to be more even as we see the book coming to an end. This is a great beginning to an interesting series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing, Inc. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting, different Amish story

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Redcurt
Location:Denver, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fascinating book. I couldn't put it down. It is different with an edgy feel to it that I found so compelling. It is a complex story with mystery and romance woven together with many facets to make this book a very exciting read. With every page I read I didn't want it to end while anxious to see what happened next. I loved, loved, loved this story. I can't say enough about this well-written book by Olivia Newport, a newcomer to the Amish genre. I highly recommend this book. I cannot wait for the next one in this new series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Found: A New Amazing and Talented Author!!!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Annie pulled her phone out and touched the screen. The three text messages she ignored the night before were now seven.
DON'T BE A FOOL, ANNIE.
YOU'RE THROWING EVERYTHING AWAY.
THIS IS NOT OVER. " (pg. 22)
Technology software creator and designer, Annie Friesen learns that her boyfriend/lawyer, Rick Stebbins and her business partner, Barnett Paige are attempting to steal her latest software launch and take away her business, she knows she has to do something to protect her investment. She puts up multiple firewalls to prevent Barnett from hacking into the software while she plans to beat them at their own game. What she didn't realize is how desperate they would become to stop her. When Annie makes plans to disappear from Rick, the plans backfire and she finds him attempting to stop her. She manages to jump into the back of a pickup truck just before it departs leaving Rick attempting to find her on foot.
When the truck arrives at its destination, she learns she has arrived at the Amish farm of Rufus Beiler. Hiding in the barn hoping she can make new plans in the morning, she doesn't plan on the barn animals giving away her hiding place. When Rufus discovers her, he allows her to stay in the barn until morning, and offers her a ride into town the next day. When they arrive to meet with Tom, the owner of the pick up truck she stowed away in, she learns that someone has slashed all four of his tires. She discovers through overhearing a conversation between Rufus and Tom, that they believe it's the work of Karl Kramer, a local English contractor that wants to put Rufus out of business because he believes Rufus is a threat to his business. But Rufus refuses to pursue legal action against Karl because that is not the way of the Amish. He believes God will take care of him.
Annie believes that she can help Rufus but he refuses even her offer of help. While she attempts to stay hidden in the town of Westcliff, Colorado, a very small town, until she can locate an attorney who can help her salvage her business from Rick and Barnett, she finds that perhaps there is something to be said for small town life compared to her own busy one. Will she find more than the solution to her business problem in the heart of this small town? Does she in fact have a tie to the Beiler family through her own family history? You'll have to read Accidentally Amish by Olivia Newport to find out.
I received Accidentally Amish compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Barbour Publishers for my honest review. This is the first book in the Valley of Choice series and honestly, Olivia had my attention from the very first page. Part suspense fiction and part historical romance, this is a perfect blend of genres to create something that you will want to immerse yourself in and hope the book never ends. To me that's the sure sign of a great book, especially a first in the series. It's like a rich decadent dessert you want to last so you take your time and savor every bit of the story! I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and this is a keeper in my personal library and is on my watch list for upcoming sequels in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First in this series

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book One in the Valley of Choice Series by Olivia Newport. Annie is on the run; will she run into the arms of Rufus, her new found Amish friend?
Annie lives a very busy life. Filled with the most up to date technology used to make her life easier. When she finds herself in need of a hiding place she ends up in the barn of Rufus Beiler who is part of the Amish community. Will she learn to like the ways of the Amish better then her technology filled world? Will Rufus have an influence on her or will his lifestyle cause her to run again?
I gave this book 4/5 stars. I thought the book was good but missed that certain zing that catches your attention when reading a good book. I liked the characters but they did not have much depth. Overall it was a good story and if you are looking for a Christian fiction book to escape into this book will do just fine.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accidentally Amish

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was not your typical Amish book! I loved it! The book started out with a high-paced scene full of emotion where the English world and the Amish world collide. You sense from the very first pages that this book will keep you reading.
The main character is very interesting and Olivia Newport created an intense, lovable, deep story around her life. The author also added incredible history and generational information throughout the book. She weaves new faith, personal discovery and traditional values together to develop a wonderful story readers will love.
I appreciated the energy behind the book and the emotion you feel as you journey with the characters. This book takes turns that usual Amish books don't explore and it was good to read a new perspective of Amish life.
If you enjoy Amish fiction, this book will give you a different point of view from what you are used to reading. I definitely enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Accidentally Amish, Valley of Choice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God Knows our Journeys and Hearts Desires

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's amazing that sometimes when life gets tough, it could be that God has other things in store for us all . Accidentally Amish by Olivia Newport tells the story of Annalise aka Annie Friesen. She belongs or so she thought in the englisch world , she owned a large software company and her whole upbringing as been surrounded by modern technology. When danger strikes and the people she thought she could trust turn out to be against her , Olivia panics and tries to escape town but things don't go as accordingly to the plan and she ends up as a stowaway in somebody's truck. The truck ends up to be owned by an Amish man named Rufus Beiler. Imagine, his and his families surprise when they discover an Englischer hiding out in their barn. As the tale goes on , Annie tries to stay hidden but by staying away is she putting her new friends in danger ? . As Annie begins to enjoy life the Amish way and of course Rufus , her mind flashes back and we discover that one of Annie's ancestors was Amish - Jakob Byler. Told in the past and the present, Accidentally Amish is about one girls journey to discover who she really is and to show us that sometimes it's when things get really tough and we feel like our life is about to fall apart , that God reveals to us his path and journey. Will Annie embrace the Amish life or will she find herself missing her modern appliances and technology ?
Find out in Accidentally Amish by Olivia Newport, Book #1 in a new series that I look forward to reading the rest of
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.