Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California

Barbour Publishing A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California

When her brother is injured fighting overseas, Harvey Girl Meghan raises money for wounded soldiers by sewing quilts. And all the while, she labels local horse breeder Caleb McBride a coward and war profiteer for not enlisting in the army. But when she discovers his secret infirmity, can she find a way to mend his heart? 320 pages, softcover from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Review 1 for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read...

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stargazer
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a long time since I've read a book that was hard to put down. I ended up reading this book in one sitting. I loved that the whole story was based on actual history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a great read!

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy Vanzandt
Location:Palmdale, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only does this book have a great story line, but the historical aspect will add to your knowledge of the early days of the railroad and the Harvey girls! Was so surprised and delighted with this novel; I had not read this author before, so my expectations were not too high. But she exceeded them all! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You just can't beat a book with a quilt!

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this story. It was a nice quiet read, perfect for relaxing on an afternoon or before bed.
I had to enjoy Meghan's enthusiasm and her ability to actually finish what she started, though, at times I agreed with Caleb and wanted to shake some sense into her when she kept leaping before she looked.
I wish we could still find doctors who cared half as much as Doc. You really had to admire his patience, love, and hard work on behalf of his patients. I was very impressed with his devotion!
Another character we should all try to be more like was Natalie. Her love and determination to help and take care of her husband's family was very admirable. Her loyalty and friendship to Meghan were a very precious thing. I would love to someday read a book of Natalie's own.
Ms. Vetsch did a wonderful job in engaging the reader's emotions. I felt disappointed, angry, and excited with Meghan and Caleb. At times I just wanted to slap Mrs. Gregory, she was just SO unfair!
While reading about the El Garces (Harvey) Hotel and all the wonderful girls being trained into their jobs, I kept having scenes from the 1946 movie The Harvey Girls starring Judy Garland. Ms. Vetsch has captured that nostalgic quality that seems to have disappeared from books and movies these days.
One of the highlights for me was the matter-of-fact descriptions of the influenza epidemic. Many authors will skirt over the illness they are writing about so it was nice to have, not only the emotional response, but a description of the physical cause for those emotions.
By the way, you will want to read this one with a tall glass of cold lemonade. Needles is hot and Ms. Vetsch has done a good job making her readers feel the desert heat!
All in all this was a great read and I will be looking for more books by Erica Vetsch.
I give A Bride Sews With Love In Needles California 5 Stars
You just can't beat a book with a quilt!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming Storytelling

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oh sweet romance, what a pleasure you are to indulge in.
Yes, I am emotionally passionate reader. I liked the romance of Julie Lessman and Laura Frantz, but a sweet romance such as this title makes me just as happy and satisfied. A compelling time period matched with equally as compelling characters and I found a sweet, enjoyable story that warmed my heart to read.
One thing I loved: Meghan’s spunk. I wish I had just a little dose of her spirit in dealing with difficult situations. Caleb is a complex (and frustrating) character, one that I wished would simply share what was wrong with his situation and why he hadn’t enlisted in the war. But then, as I so often like to instruct my dad in these kind of novel situations: then you wouldn’t have a story.
And what a fun story it is! Needles must be one *hot* place, because I felt the oven baking heat through the entire book. I enjoyed the glimpse into the life of a Harvey girl and the devastating calamity of an influenza outbreak.
Truly? A wonderful book to add to my collection. It’s charming and sweet of course, but lively and spunky. The romance is a forbidden one that drives the characters all the further toward resolution until it seems quite impossible.
Heartwarming story telling from page one.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author and publisher for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An enjoyable reading experience

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A BRIDE SEWS WITH LOVE
In Needles, California by Erica Vetsch
I like compelling stories that make me feel uplifted when I come to the end.
This book was like that. Only thing, while Meghan Thorson works the intense challenging life of a Harvey girl serving the Harvey hotels along the railroad west, I couldn’t figure out how sewing had anything to do with it.
Although she’s had trouble with achievement, she is compelled to make her father proud. Meghan rises to the demanding job that requires near perfection, but she has more ambitions. Her dreams go to World War II’s front lines in France where her brother serves in the military. An upcoming auction to benefit soldiers causes her to make an almost unreasonable pledge to contribute $1,000 toward an ambulance. She hopes to raise the money through a signature quilt. She plans to sell quilt pieces donors sign and then she embroiders the signatures. The pieces make the beautiful quilt.
A major distraction, however, is handsome Caleb McBride who is accused of being a coward because he raises horses for the Army instead of volunteering. Meghan’s boss refuses to serve Caleb in the Harvey restaurant and others in the town ridicule him. But still there is an invisible connection between Caleb and Meghan.
A roommate hiding her marriage and pregnancy, plus a dangerous epidemic further challenge Meghan’s job, her success and her confused heart.
The book is full of suspense, a little humor, and satisfaction for the reader. I recommend it.
Note: The publisher provided a copy of this book, but in no way does that influence my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California is a really good read. One of the top books I've read in 2012. Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Harvey Girl romance

Date:November 2, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must admit that I've loved every Harvey Girl novel I've read and this one is no exception. I have had the feeling of never measuring up to someone else's expectation, no matter how hard I tried. I commiserated with Meghan. On the other hand, I also understand what it's like to have a secret that you don't want anyone to know about because of how it will change their perspective, just like Caleb. Ms. Vetsch's writing touched me in several different ways with this novel and I'm sure it'll touch you too.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming Historical Romance

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a word, A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California is wonderful! Erica Vetsch has created compelling characters I cared for from the start. I enjoyed every minute spent with impassioned but impulsive Meghan and brave but burdened Caleb. This well-written story is rich in historical detail and will engage the emotions at every turn. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.