Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Fall, The 13 Series #1

Barbour Publishing Fall, The 13 Series #1

Former Black Ops specialist-turned-CIA-operative Jonathan Keene joins a battle against an enemy nobody saw coming---yet waits on America's doorstep. Teaming with FBI agent Megan Taylor, he fights against illegal immigration, even as our nation's borders are pushed back to the original 13 colonies. Can he stem the tide---and face demons from his past?
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fall, The 13 Series #1
Review 1 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing Read

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Spencer County KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best books I've read in a long time. You are riveted right from the start. Given the state of our world today and End Time Prophecies the scenes laid out in the narrative are very believable. We all need to take heed and live faithfully for Jesus and lead others to Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Starts slow but gets better

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teri
Location:Neosho, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I confess I started this book several times before I actually read but it all the way through. It starts out kind of quirky but once you get into it, it becomes fascinating. If you enjoy political thrillers and wonder what life might be like if America were to be invaded, you will enjoy this book. It did have some problems grammatically but you will forgive these due to the quality of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
D Jaye
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book quite by accident. I bought a book (The Guardian) at a store that was selling it at a reduced price.
I had never heard of the authors, however the review was
interesting and I found I could hardly lay it down. Then the next book (The 13: Fall) was reviewed at the end. I had quite a time trying to get that one. Could not find it so went to the library and they were able to get. This one I found was also very thought provoking and had a hard time putting it down. I would recommend it to anyone ... however would suggest they begin with the Guardian. Will keep these.
Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
This review is fromThe 13: Fall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How/when we will face Armeggedon in the US?

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My reviews normally focus on the characters in the books I read because I am a "people person," but this book's very plausible and realistically terrifying plot captured my attention immediately!
I have always wondered why there was no mention of anything remotely similar to the United States in the book of Revelation--this book forced me to begin some contemplation on possible scenarios that could account for the disappearance of the USA as we know her. I was very curious in unravelling the meaning of the title until I realized the significance near the very end, but it was a most intriguing puzzle that kept me on my literary toes through the entire novel.
The timing of this book in 2025 causes a very real chill to run up my back-- that the happenings in the book are so realistic, it makes me determined to do everything that I can as an individual citiazne to keep America free! I loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
This review is fromThe 13: Fall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johnna Prudhomme
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good read. It is a little unsettling how easy the author makes the plot believable and that it could happen today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
This review is fromThe 13: Fall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Seemed rather liberal than Biblical in theoloy

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wannie
Location:Asia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Maybe the next book in the series will level out the hills of the strange approach to the Christianity and Biblical interpretation as seen in this book. Because it has been a while since I read it, I cannot state details, but I really did not like the universalism that the book seemed to hold toward religion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great adventure!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Christian suspense book. I enjoyed the setting and different cities the story took place in. I thought the characters were interesting and kept me cheering for them throughout the book. The plot itself was exciting and had me entertained the whole time. I gave this book 5/5 stars. If you enjoy action, suspense and a Christian themed story, then you will really enjoy this book! One of the best books I have read in the past year!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The end of the world is near even at the door

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I feel that the authors are talking about a Prophet that they think is a terrorist and the Bible does talk about a anti-Christ that will walk the earth and this could be happening today. As the former CIA Johathan Keene is called to the White House he had no idea why. Also FBI agent Megan Taylor was called to the meeting. They were asked to track down who ever this is that the goverment is afraid is another terrorist about to strike at America. These two would be working alone with chaplain Boz Hamilton as he had the Bible knowledge that they could use. As they worked and the US was pushed toward a situation that it has never seen, will it force them to trust in God in a way they have never before. Johnthan Keene felt that he was being forced to find a faith that he wanted to stay buried. But God is working on him and something always happens when God intervens.
This book was a hard read as it carried me back to way before I was born when this great country of ours was struggling with immigration from all countries including illegal trade of humans. I feel that God made all of us and one color person is no better than the other and we sure was not formed from God's image to be bought and sold. Even in the old testement of the Bible they were.
As America today seems to be at the doorsteps of something bad happening to this country as we have fallen so far away from God. The authors are talking about a Prophet that they think is a terrorist and the Bible does talk about a anti-Christ that will walk the earth and this could be happening today. As the former CIA Johathan Keene is called to the White House he had no idea why. Also FBI agent Megan Taylor was called to the meeting. They were asked to track down who ever this is that the goverment is afraid is another terrorist about to strike at America.
Thanks to the authors and to the publisher for sending me this book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the predicted judgment on the U.S. arrives

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a little over a decade in the future. The President of the U.S. has been receiving mysterious announcements from a man who is warning the President about a future judgment on the nation. Unless the nation returns to honoring God, the judgment will come. While the President is a Christian, he is in a turmoil. Is this man a crackpot, a sham, or is this really a word from the Lord?
The President assembles a team of the best in national security to find this man they have dubbed The Prophet. Jon Keene is an extraordinary CIA agent with a chip on his shoulder against God for letting his wife die. Megan Taylor is undoubtedly the best computer hacker the FBI has in their ranks. A fervent Christian, she can get into any server, connect with any secured network, anytime. And Bozwell Hamilton, an ex-special ops soldier turned pastor.
As the three work to find The Prophet, the unthinkable happens. The greedy head of the recently combined national defense agencies has made a deal with the Chinese. New stealth technology has allowed the Chinese to hover at the U.S. borders. The scheme is that the Chinese would be allowed into U. S. protected areas to drill for their much needed oil. But the Chinese have a much more serious plan in mind – invasion.
This is a well written suspenseful novel. The characters are well developed, the plot is superb and the action is continuous. I highly recommend this novel as it portrays a very possible future for the United States. This is the first in a series and the book leaves you waiting for the next installment!
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fall, The 13 Series #1
This review is fromThe 13: Fall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought-provoking Futuristic Thriller

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prologue: It is July 4, 2025, the Chinese are amassing an army in Mexico, and every major West Coast city from San Diego to Seattle has been devastated by a nuclear strike. The action then moves back in time by two weeks, to President Calvin Grant. Grant receives a message from a man calling himself The Prophet, claiming to speak on behalf of The Lord Most High. The message claims that God is going to punish the world for its evil, starting in fourteen days.
CIA agent Jonathan Keene is teamed with FBI agent Megan Taylor and ex-special forces man Bozwell Hamilton to find and stop The Prophet. Keene’s immediate reaction is that The Prophet is a terrorist, but Hamilton and Grant are strong Christians, and they aren’t so sure… Well, we already know from the prologue that they don’t succeed. What they do find is a bigger plot that could destroy America, and they don’t know where The Prophet fits in.
For the most part, The 13: Fall is a sound thriller with a good level of suspense and an interesting cast of characters who are introduced appropriately. But there are occasional literary mishaps, like unnecessary background descriptions, an overuse of exclamation marks, and scenes that felt as if it came straight from an old action movie (specifically The Fugitive and Matrix). And despite the fact that it is set in 2025, there don't appear to have been any major leaps in technology (well, all the police have smartphones, but this technology already exists). I suppose this is only thirteen years in the future, but the last thirteen years have brought in-home broadband, Facebook, Twitter, Netflix and Youtube, all of which have changed the way we communicate. On this basis, if it was so important that everyone heard The Prophet's message, why did he send it in a private email? Why not on Youtube or the 2025 equivalent?
Despite the faults, this was an enjoyable book. It was fast-paced, with an interesting plot and a group of characters that I, as a reader, wanted to succeed. The 13: Fall is more overtly Christian than a lot of contemporary Christian fiction, but it is a sound thriller, and it will be interesting to read future books in the series.
Thanks to Barbour and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.