Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Rainbow's End - eBook

Barbour Publishing Rainbow's End - eBook

A geocaching adventure in the spectacular Lake of the Ozarks area of Missouri is the setting for four romances. Lyssa is the enthusiastic volunteer who can't see past her own plans; Madison, a city girl is paired with an outdoorsy guy who gets on her very last nerve; Hadley, who doesn't know enough about guys to realize she's met a womanizer; and cautious Reagan, who meets an equally cautious guy. As each woman looks for hidden treasure, they'll find that God has pointed them in a different sort of treasure altogether.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rainbow's End - eBook
Review 1 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
lindylou
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Stories were good, I enjoyed each of the Authors which were all new to me. It was a fast read. Will pass it on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Geocaching Adventure and Romance! Fun!

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angela Breidenbach
Location:Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to do geocache in the real world :) But haven't been able to yet. Isn't that what novels are for? This gave me my own geocaching and romantic adventure. Delightful read, well done characters, original ideas. All that in one book with four different authors! Valerie Comer sets up the other stories so well that all roll into the setting, contest, and story world naturally. Nicole O'Dell delightfully closes with a heart warming read. Just loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four Authors Bring the Perfect Combo Fun/Romance!

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topaz Treasure is such an enjoyable read! Lyssa is a Christian, but is incredibly shy when speaking about her faith. Then she comes across Kirk Kennedy, her college professor who was cruel to her best friend. Could he possibly be the same guy she remembers from college? Or has his heart finally changed for the better? If only she didn’t feel a connection whenever she sees him, she would happily bring up this uncomfortable conversation and get closure. There’s an unexpected surprise in the story that makes it the perfect light-hearted read and there is indeed a treasure that gets found.
Beneath the Surface brings a story of opposites attract, with just the right amount of tension and sweetness. From hostility to humbleness, from heartbroken to healing; when Madison returns home after several years of being mostly absent she doesn’t expect to make amends with her family. With the help of her sister’s neighbor, adventures in geocaching, and lots of prayer, Madison realizes there’s so much more than what appears on the surface.
Love’s Prize took a little longer to get my interest, but I really enjoyed the romance here as it unfolds and the story overall adds perfectly to this book. Reagan is an accountant having some trouble at home so her brother invites her to stay with him for the summer. His friend and fellow law student, Colton, happily joins in the hopes that he will win the treasure hunt of geocaching while looking after Reagan. I completely relate to Reagan in bringing her camera along to capture the beauty and essence of looking for caches on their excursions. An unexpected twist in the story totally changes everything!
Welcome Home, Love (written by Nicole O’Dell) is dedicated to all the women—old, young, and in between—who struggle with low self-esteem and a poor body image. Having camped there most of my life, I know the stronghold well. May you rise up with wings of beauty and take flight with your Savior as He gazes upon one of His most beautiful creations—you.
With dedications like that, my heart is won over immediately. Hadley has recently lost A LOT of weight and is in the best shape of her life physically. However, her mind is still catching up to this new image. She still sees herself as “the fat girl” instead of seeing how beautiful she has always been. She has difficulty taking compliments, she is determined to prove herself and her new strength by winning the geocache treasure hunt, she has invested thousands of dollars to make this trip in the hopes that NO ONE will recognize who she was before, and she immediately catches the attention of two men. One that broke her heart in the past and the other an obvious player. Will Hadley come to realize how beautiful and special she is in the eyes of God? There’s also a slight twist in this story and an adorable marriage proposal that goes wonderfully wrong!
Each of these stories beautifully convey messages of starting over, starting fresh, forgiveness, healing, adventure, romance, friendship, and love in the midst of one GREAT treasure hunt. I cannot pinpoint which one was best because each of them have amazing characters and obstacles to overcome. I highly recommend this book as it gives the perfect amount of clean romance, hope, fun and faith that will definitely enhance any booklover’s bookshelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Reading

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cath
Location:Medford, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vacation time, is reading time. I so enjoyed Rainbow's End and couldn't believe how each story kept my interest and continued to keep me on my toes. Excellent story lines and excellent writing from each author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Read

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As I have said before the Romancing America series has fast become one of my favorites to read. This book is no exception. This book is told by four different couples over the same time frame. The four stories evolve around a geocaching adventure put on by a local church that lasts for the summer months.
What I liked: I really liked the whole book. My favorite story probably was the last one which has some good suspense and to be honest I was not expecting the outcome and that was a pleasant surprise for such a short story! I felt even though the four stories where not intertwined even thought they followed the same storyline setting that they where well written and fun to read and with the last story being suspenseful really make the ending enjoyable.
What I did not like: Honestly not much. The story was a little slow in one of the stories at times but still a good read.
Over all another good book in the Romancing America series and I highly recommend picking this one up. It’s an easy read and a great one if you need to read a little here and there as with four stories you can stop and start a little easier. Check it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four fun romances

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These stories take place around the Lake of the Ozarks in Missouri and center on a geocache hunt. A geocache hunt is when you use a GPS to find a location where someone else has hidden something. You use your GPS to find that location and once you are at the location you look for the hidden object.
The first story, Topaz Treasure is about Lyssa and Kirk. Their previouse interaction sets up this story. Will Lyssa be able to move past Kirk’s harsh words? Will Kirk be follow his brother down a road of bitterness or be willing to admit he was wrong?
Beneath the Surface is about Madison and Grant. Madison is going through a transition in her life and falling in love with Grant will only make it more complicated. Will they come together before Madison moves on?
Welcome Home, Love is about Hadley and Noah. They have a history but will that help them grow closer or further apart?
The last story is about Reagan and Colton. Their interactions are made interesting by the reason behind their summer connection. Will he be able to protect her? Will they find love with each other?
I liked how each story was separate and how they all took place around the same time and in the same location. All the stories were easy to read and follow. Even though they stories were short the relationships of the main characters were believable and enjoyable!
I gave this book 5/5 stars as each story was good on its own and all the stories together made for a great read!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Characters to spend time with

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topaz Treasure is one out of 4 fun stories in the Rainbow's End novel published by Barbour. I like novellas because of their length you can take them to read in the school car line or sports practices. Being theses stories are quick reads you feel like you had a little me time in your busy day.
Topaz Treasure is a story of holding on to false beliefs, and unwillingness to accept others can change. Lyssa's roommate was fearful that Lyssa would be hurt by Kirk, a known Christian mocker. Was she right? Not telling you! I don't do spoilers. The story is set in the Ozarks and made me feel like I was home. Comer got the setting correct, right down to Ha Ha Tonka State Park. Lyssa and Kirk's characters are well written as is the story. I do wish it could have been a novel so I could have stayed with the characters a bit longer. Topaz Treasure is a unique love story in that it centers around geocaching--hunting for treasure using a GPS. Intrigued by this hobby I'm hoping to take part of some of these myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Geocaching and Romance in Missouri

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These four stories are centred around Rainbow's End in the Missouri Ozarks, where four women arrive to participate in a geocaching hunt – will they find what they are looking for, or will they find love? (It's a romance collection. No prizes for guessing the correct answer, I'm afraid.)
Geocaching is like a treasure hunt with GPS devices. Participants are given GPS locations for caches, and, in these novellas, they also receive clues in the form of poems. The idea is to find as many caches as possible and leave a small memento to prove you were there. I’m not sure this is my idea of fun, but the four authors in this collection certainly manage to inject the challenge into their romances, which all take place over the same two-month period.
In Topaz Treasure by Valerie Comer, Lyssa Quinn is soliciting sponsorship for the Rainbow's End Treasure Hunt being organised by her church when she meets Kirk K, her ex-college professor, who is helping run his brother's new shop. Although she recognises Kirk immediately and remembers his very anti-Christian stance, he does not remember her and does not understand why she is so antagonistic towards him when he asks her out. My favourite part of this story was the point at the end about how we are all parts of the same body, and not all of us are called to be the mouth.
Beneath the Surface by Annalisa Daughety is the story of Madison Wallace, who has returned to her home town in time to enter the geocaching contest with her sister. However, an accident means that Madison is soon working on the geocaching competition with the home town boy next door, who is everything she never wanted, and who seems to disapprove of her too. But spending time together forces them both to overcome their preconceptions about each other.
In Welcome Home, Love by Nicole O’Dell, Hadley Parker has returned to Osage Beach after thirteen years to take part in the geocaching competition. She is flattered to be asked out by handsome Brad, partly because that takes her away from Noah who she liked as a teen. This story had a couple of loose ends that meant it didn’t work as well for me, but it still illustrated an important principle in that we need to ensure we are following our own calling in life, not trying to live someone else’s.
My personal favourite was the final story, Love’s Prize by Cara C. Putman, because it had a suspense element and I really enjoy romantic suspense. Reagan Graham is spending an extended vacation with her brother, Gerard, and his new college roommate, Colton. They have come to remote Osage Beach and the geocaching competition to escape a stalker who has been plaguing Reagan. But they might not have managed to escape after all. I liked the development of the romance in this, and I especially liked the twist at the end that I really didn't see coming.
With the exception of Topaz Treasure, these were not so much Christian romances as clean romances with Christian characters, but they were still enjoyable. I find the Barbour 4-in-1 romance novella collections are always a light-hearted and easy-to-read, perfect for a lazy afternoon when I want a short read with a happy-ever-after that will leave me with a smile.
Thanks to Barbour Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rainbow's End - eBook
This review is fromRainbow's End: Missouri.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4 Light, Fun Romances

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rainbow’s End is a collection of four stories that run concurrently, written by four different authors presenting a very intriguing setup. The stories occur in the Missouri Ozarks at Lake of the Ozarks. All the stories occur during a geocache contest set up by a church that runs over two months. A geocache contest is when teams compete in attempting to locate a series of caches with only the longitude and latitude of the location, along with a poem to help pinpoint the location after arrival. The teams use handheld gps devices to track the exact longitude and latitude. The first three stories are simple romance stories while the fourth has some suspense included. All four stories were worth reading as above average clean romances, and the geocache contest added some fun sideline interest.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.