Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook

Worthy Publishing MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook

Jennifer Grant's girlhood dream of being the perfect mom withered quickly once she got a real taste of the messy, creative, sometimes hilarious, and often taxing process of raising a family. With MOMumental, she presents a warm, compassionate audio book filled with uncommon and amusing insights about being an intentional parent - and about realizing that family matters, no matter what yours is like. eBook version.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Review 1 for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I was hoping for more

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jennifer Grant shares her perspective and her stories on motherhood and raising a family. Let me share with you a few sentences.
These days, instead of focusing on creating a conflict-free home, raising picture-perfect kids, and being an ideal mother-comprised of equal parts of June Cleaver, Eleanor Roosevelt, and Angelina Jolie- I have embraced a more realistic view of what I can and cannot do as a parent. this reality-based, "Velveteen parenting", includes, but is not limited to, the following general guidelines:"
After reading this statement and adding Angelina Jolie into the women as ideal mothers, she totally lost me. I was a bit let down as I read this book. I was expecting more and was left feeling a little empty as I closed the last page.
What did I take away from these pages? It's okay that we are not perfect parents. No matter how much we try it just simply isn't going to happen. God's grace washes over us and the more we can draw near to Him the better people we truly are. The most important lesson is not to compare yourself to another. We take the good, the bad and the ugly and reach for God's grace.
Jennifer Grant shares humorous stories about her family and does give some good advice throughout the book, but for the most part, it just wasn't for me. You may pick up this book and just love it and soak in the words and gain great insight. Remember, this is just my thoughts about the book.
This book was a gift from Worthy Publishers for it's review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
CaElRo
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has been my experience that most parenting books want to tell you that your baby or child must do: A, B, C. And to do this, as the parent, you must do: X, Y, Z. If it fails, then you must assume that you are doing something wrong.
I learned during my early days of parenting that these books aren't worth the paper they're printed on.
However, if you're looking for guidance in the parenting department, starting with MOMumental is not a bad idea. This book is different. It's a lighthearted, humorous view on parenthood (because, really, there are time we have to laugh to stop us from crying). And Ms. Grant quickly become an ally in parenting. This is not another 'mom vs. mom' fire ignite (think Time magazine) or someone spouting off a list of dos and don'ts. Instead, Grant is a mom who has been there, lived through the early years of parenthood with a handful of kids, and is here to tell us that the feelings and thoughts we have, especially in the early years, are normal. And we will survive.
Grant does not paint herself as a perfect parent. Oh, she did have dreams of being a perfect parent, especially as a child. Her childhood, being raised in a single parent home after her parent divorced and her dad fell out of the picture, led her to have a fantasy about her future life with her future family. The reality is a much different life than the envisioned future of a young girl living through a family torn apart. But Grand is quick to remind us that reality does not equate "bad." Parenthood may not be easy, but it can turn out okay.
I'm usually hesitant about reading "parenting" or "mom" books I'm happy I gave this one a chance. In a world where moms have to be perfect with perfect children or face the harshness of other moms and society in general, MOMumental is a breath of fresh air. It is a reminder that no mom or dad is prefect and that we will make mistakes. Grant also reminds us that we shouldn't feel guilty of these mistakes because most will not have any long term effects upon the children. Having a fantasy family is just that--a fantasy. But with hard work, and some stumbles along the way, we can create something wonderful within our family. And reading Grant's book is like sitting around with your girlfriends over a cup of coffee, sharing your parenting dirt with sympathetic compassion instead of condemnation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intentional and Relaxed Parenting

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn’t really looking for another book on parenting to review as I’ve received several of these in the last while. However, when I was given the opportunity to read MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family by Jennifer Grant, I jumped at the chance. My parenting leans heavily toward the messy side and I have found parenting to be one adventure after another – how could I resist such a book?
Grant opens the door to her life as a mother raising four children and honestly shares her struggles and successes. I particularly appreciated how she directs the focus toward being more intentional with our children. This has been a recurring theme in my life and it is great to have it reinforced again. Life happens at such a frantic pace, and I have found many parents who are struggling to remember to stop and live “in the moment” with their children.
The writing is conversational and casual, and the chapters are short enough to read during quiet moments snatched throughout the day. Grant gently guides the reader to remember God’s grace in their parenting and challenges parents to keep God as the primary focus in their children’s lives. She even includes a prayer from the Episcopalian Book of Common Prayer for parents to rip out of the back of the book and post on the fridge.
MOMumental is not so much a how-to book as it is an encouraging and comforting story of one mom trying her best and getting it right, and a challenge for us to do the same—all while getting messy and loving the adventure.
I give this book 5 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from Worthy Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a great uplifting book for moms

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is wonderful not one of those parenting books that makes you feel like you've done everything wrong and very little right. Momumental is a parenting book that is down to earth and uplifting. You will love how frank Jennifer Grant is with you and will be telling all your mom friends about this wonderful read!!!
This would make a great mom's book club book selection! Are you looking for a light hearted, wonderful and postive parenting book that won't make you feel bad in the end? Then go to your local book store (or library) and grab a copy of Momumental
thank you Jennifer Grant and Worthy Publishing for allowing me to review your great book for all us moms!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book to inspire and encourage moms

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momumental is a well-written, smoothly flowing book that will have you smiling, laughing, and nodding along with the author in agreement with her bang-on assessment of life and the joys and pitfalls of parenting. Jennifer Grant has written a treasure, a book that assures parents, and obviously moms in particular, that it's okay not to be perfect and that they are not alone. I utterly appreciated Grant's ability to speak to the reader in a manner that makes you feel like you are sitting down having coffee with her and comparing notes on the craziness and beauty of guiding the next generation. The book is chock-full of wisdom, yet it is delivered with such wit and realness and in such a non-judgemental manner that you cannot help but soak it up and think about how you could apply it to your own life. What I most take away is the assurance that despite our mistakes, that as we parent our children with love "our children will keep growing and changing, becoming more independent, more empathetic, more the people God has created them to be". Sometimes it's easy to forget that we are not parenting alone, but that God is right there along side us and that he has an even better plan than we do for their lives. I thank the author for the courage in sharing so much of her life with us readers, and blessing us in the process.
I strongly recommend this book and give it a rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher and Handlebar Marketing, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun Mom Memoir

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In January of this year, my oldest daughter asked me if I had made any New Year's resolutions. "Nope," I said, "Do you have any suggestions?"
"Play more video games," she said seriously.
It was a sign to me that while I'm a scheduled mom, a caring mom, a disciplined mom, an attentive mom, an involved mom, and probably a hovering mom . . . I'm not really a fun mom. I'm never the mom making spontaneous trips to the beach or letting her kids eat ice cream for dinner or playing Nerf gun wars or dancing in the rain with her kids or all the wild and crazy things that fun moms do.
I'd say that Jennifer Grant is a fun mom, which makes her so very different from me. She's different in other ways, too. In fact, we probably have totally different Mom Styles.
But the great thing about this book is that it isn't a parenting manual or a mom's guide to practical child-rearing. It isn't going to teach you how to discipline, how to get your newborn to sleep, how to get your toddler to eat, or how to get your teen to respect you.
It's more about encouragement. She basically tells you that it's okay to parent differently than other moms. It's okay to show yourself a little grace and not take things too seriously all the time. It's okay to be a little "selfish" at times, taking time for your own needs and your adult friendships.
It's self-described as a "memoir" and that's exactly what it is. It's Jennifer Grant's personal stories of life as a mom to four kids. There were some chapters that were significantly shorter than others with ideas that weren't quite as developed and sounded more like a blog and less like a book. This is fun and easy reading, but you could have gotten it from say . . . . a blog. While it might have been difficult to choose to remove those chapters completely (who wants to take out some of your own favorite stories??), it probably would have helped the consistency of the book's flow.
In the back of the book, she includes a page with a "Prayer To Tear Out of This Book." It's from the Book of Common Prayer and it's worth tearing out and praying and memorizing. Not being from the same ecumenical background as Grant, I'd never read the prayer before. Even if you skip through the book unaffected by her stories and grace-filled Mom advice, this powerful prayer will hopefully make you pause, reflect, and pray and what mom doesn't need that?
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An entertaining book about being a mom

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this was an entertaining book about being a mom. The author, Jennifer Grant, uses her personal experiences to reiterate a principle she is trying to get across to moms. From learning when to step in if the kids are fighting to remembering they are just kids and not to expect them to be more mature then they are, each chapter highlights an incident most moms will encounter.
The best principle to take away from this book is to stop judging yourself so harshly. I also liked how she talked about not being so judgmental of other moms! The author shows that learning to give yourself and others a break will help you be a better mom.
I did have a negative that led me to only give this book 4/5 stars. There were just too many personal stories. I think the book would be more enjoyable with less of the personal experiences. That said she is a good writer and you will learn valuable lessons from the book.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

In good company

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Merce
Location:San Juan, PR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, what's great —no, wonderful— about this book: mothers everywhere will feel in good company. The book begins by confirming the fact that we, as mothers, all go through the same things: the same experiences, the same self-doubts, the same moments of exasperation, tiredness, and loneliness, and the same moments when we all think that we are the only ones who have a child misbehaving, disobeying, waking up at night, talking back... and well, you can fill in the blanks. It is a great book that offers solidarity and hope. "We all go through it" and "Don't worry, it gets better" are wonderful, encouraging phrases we need to hear, and the author not only tells us, but shows us, through her own experiences raising her 4 children, that this is true. That just because your toddler laughs when somebody falls down doesn't mean he or she will grow up to be an insensitive adult, or just because your toddler lies to you today doesn't mean he or she will grow up to be a pathological liar. That is great. You've probably heard it before, but in this book you will see proof of it, great examples, stories, that will definitely put your mind at ease. It's like talking to a good friend, sharing your doubts and worries with a friend who has gone through it and can offer you advice.
However, I thought that, although the book was certainly funny at times, it wasn't as funny as the author and her editors thought it would be. You know how it is when you tell a cute, funny story about your kid only to realize midway through that maybe it was funny to you because it's your kid? Or that maybe you had to be there to really "get it"? That's exactly how I felt when reading some of her stories. Sometimes it felt like walking in on an inside joke. Also, I thought it was too long, a few chapters too long, which made it repetitive.
But all in all, it is a good parenting book, with good advice and personal stories. I did not agree with quite a few things, but those things and approaches I agreed with will be put to the test with my son soon enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.