Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Postmark: Christmas (Florida)

Barbour Publishing Postmark: Christmas (Florida)

The holidays are stamped for love in Christmas, Florida. While keeping her eye open for her next job lead, will nomadic event planner Stella find romance instead? How will one retired major change war widow Randi's postcard-sending mission? Can photographer David Levine draw shy Gabi Archer out of her shell? Will retired police officer Rick Stanton be able to steal postmistress Edie Hathaway's heart?
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Review 1 for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Another Christmas read

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gayle Rector
Location:Denver, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This one didn't do it for me as much as the other two did, perhaps I had read too much already and this one just didn't click for me, but that doesn't mean it wouldn't for someone else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christmas Read

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rose McCauley
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Christmas books and read them the whole month of December. This is one of the best I have read this year. As one of Barbour's Romancing America line, it follows the typical format of 4 novellas in one book with many connections in each book such as the post office in Christmas, Florida and many of the characters. The characters have varied occupations (event planner, building contractor, teacher, retired major, store clerk, photographer, retired police officer and postmaster) and ages ranging from 20s to 60s, so there is something for all interests here.
All of the stories are excellent. Several scenes made me cry, especially in the final story where the hero keeps trying to woo his love interest after repeated rejections because it reminded me of how Christ woes each of us to Himself. If you love Christmas and Christmas stories, this is a must read! Available in paperback and kindle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect

Date:January 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa G.
Location:Albany, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the 4 short stories, each different but connected via the town. Very appropriate for teen on up. Also would recommend for unbelievers as the gospel message is gentle and sweetly shown in each story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Sunday afternoon getaway

Date:October 14, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just love Christmas novels, but this set is not just about Christmas, the holiday, it's about the town of Christmas, Florida.
I loved each of the novellas. They are what I consider "sweet" stories that make you feel uplifted all the way through. I enjoyed the love connections made by each set of characters.
Enjoy a bubble-bath, a drink (of your choosing), and grab this book. You'll forget whatever it is that's outside your door--at least until the water gets cold. :-)
***This book was provided to me free by the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4 Christmas Romance stories in 1 Book!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my favorite past times is to enjoy celebrating the Christmas season with a great book. Yet sometimes you find something a bit more amazing when you pick one up, much like I did, when reaching for Postmark: Christmas, I found a delightful and charming collection of 4 short Christmas romance stories all in one, centering around four different encounters in the town of Christmas, Florida. Each of the authors, Paige Winship Dooly, Darlene Franklin, Kathleen E. Kovach, and Paula Moldenhauer, each create a heartwarming romance story set with the town of Christmas, Florida as the background just as a Christmas festival is slated for the residents.
In the first story, Home for Christmas from Paige Winship Dooly, we immediately meet Stella McCall who has been hired as the event planner by Brick Myer to put together the town's Christmas festival. Stella's a seasoned road warrior who spends her life moving from town to town in her RV whenever the jobs call for her to plan a local event. Since most of her family has passed away, her only traveling companion is her GPS, she has affectionately named Roger. When she misses her exit, she finds herself trapped in deep sand trying to turn her RV around and she is rescued by none other than Brick Myer and his young son Seth. Has love trapped Stella in the town of Christmas for all the right reasons?
The next story in this collection is Merry Christmas, with Love from Darlene Franklin. Here we meet a young widowed mother, Randi Pearson, who has spent the last 5 years reaching out to service men and women sending them cards and letters as reminders that they are not forgotten. When she arrives to volunteer at the post office run by her mother, she meets fellow volunteer Major Troy Brennan, who has just retired from the army. He is seeking to find the lady who owns Box 1 at the post office because he believes God has planned for them to be together. It's through this woman's faithful correspondence that got his through his last tour and longs to tell her so. Will their fate be sealed with a Christmas card?
A Blessed Angel by Kathleen E. Kovach is the delightful third story in this collection. Gabi Archer works at Jungle Adventures Nature Park and dreams of falling in love with a man with an adventurous heart, that's why she's so attracted to Captain Ron, a co-worker who tells the most amazing stories of his adventures abroad, but when her friend Naylene, believes that they are just fabricated stories designed to entice the customers, she pushes her to find a real adventurer. In to the gift store walks David Preston, a national photographer who has been using his love of photography to bring the unseen life in nature into peoples lives through his pictures in National Geographic and other magazines and books. But it's his gentle heart that Gabi sees in interacting with her disabled sister, Jerica, who was hit by a drunk driver when she was a baby. Will David's past come back to spoil his hunt for love with Gabi?
The final story, You're a Charmer, Mr. Grinch by Paula Moldenhauer takes the reader back to meet Edie Hathaway, the postmaster of the local post office, and Randi's mother from the story Merry Christmas, with Love, who is being pursued by Rick Stanton, retired policeman, who is attempting to charm his way into Edie's heart. In fact, the whole town knows of his infatuation with Edie but it seems like Edie want's to keep him at arms length. What will it take to melt her heart and fall in love again?
I received Postmark: Christmas by these wonderful talented women compliments of Barbour Publishing and Net Galley for my honest review. This will be one of those books that I will continue to read as the Christmas season approaches to get into the Christmas spirit. Each of these heartwarming stories brings the people of Christmas, Florida together in a perfect blend of romance and the Spirit of the season. I easily rate this a 5 out of 5 stars and thinks it's the perfect book to read on a cold, night before a fire. For fans of Christmas Romance Fiction, this is a must read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Little Disappointing

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book follows four coupled in the town of Christmas, Florida during the Christmas holiday. We start with Stella who is a party planner and is hired to plan the Christmas festival. Will she stick around and find love as well? The next story deals with Randi who sends Christmas cards to soldiers. When one of those soldiers come to find her will it be her happy ever after? Gabi is the 3rd story and she is a shy young lady who finds her wings and maybe love. The 4th and final story deals with Edie the postmistress. She puts all her energy into her work yet a man who has shown her interest will not back down and maybe she will find love as well.
This book was a little disappointing. As a lot of the Romancing America books work there was a common area and sub storyline that all four stories worked off of but the way they tied together was weak.
What I liked: Of the four ladies I liked Gabi the best. I also felt the story had the most depth and being a short story the plot moved along fast but it still was enjoyable. I also enjoyed Edie’s story. She had to let go of some things that happened when she was younger and she had to trust God and not rely on herself and I really liked that message.
What I did not like: The first two stories where okay. I felt Stella fell in love way to fast and it just seemed rushed. The idea behind Randi’s story was interesting but again it felt rushed and there where points where I just wished the story could slow down and explain things more. I also felt that even though the four stories over lapped they did not feel like they fit. Something happened in the 4th story that I thought could have been mentioned in the 2nd story and it was not and felt like the stories where just not fitting together right.
Over all this book was okay not one I would tell others to read and did not live up to my Romancing America expectations I have grown to expect from these books. I still gave it three stars because it was not hard to read and I liked the characters I was just disappointed in how they tied together and the lack of depth at times.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Postmark Christmas is a collection of four stories that all take place in Christmas Florida. I liked how each of the stories had the Christmas Festival in common. I'm not positive but I had the impression that they were all taking place simultaneously. Two of the stories had several of the same characters in them, which I found to be a very nice surprise. Each of these stories flowed well and had likable characters.
If you enjoy short stories that don't require a lot of time or emotional commitment then I think you'd enjoy Postmark Christmas.They are each a light, fun read.
Special thanks to Barbour Books for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Postmark: Christmas (Florida)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Some great stories

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a four in one book with four stories that are connected by the town of Christmas, Florida. Each author writes a unique story that takes place in the town. Each story is different and each author writes in her own style.
I liked the individual stories and found each one to be entertaining. I thought they all had just enough romance to keep you reading. I liked how the characters interacted and their conversations flowed well. None of the stories were boring and each one could really stand on its own as an easy to read romance.
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I liked how the stories were all centered on the post office in town. I liked that the stories were each different yet all were connected. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun romance book that is also a quick read.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.