Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Group Publishing Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God

Group Publishing Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God

The world is a scary place, but God is greater than it all! The newest edition of the Kids' Travel Guide series leads your Sunday school or midweek program on a 13-week Scripture-based exploration of the armor of God. Lead them to have a faith so bold they'll be able to stand firm in the midst of terrifying or unclear situations. Kids will explore how to be strong in the decisions they make, and in relationships with others. Take your kids on a travel adventure with pit-stops on prayer, self-discovery, and spiritual commitment. For children in Kindergarten to 5th Grade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Review 1 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Adapted to use as Homeschool Bible Curriculum

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
teaching4
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to teach my children about the Armor of God as part of our homeschool. I used this book paired with laminated pamphlets I purchased here too.
My opinion was that it was very easy to pick apart the different parts of the lesson. I skipped some parts just to suit our needs, and never did an entire lesson in one day.
What was not in the book, that I would have liked to see, was a nice printout for each lesson with the little catch saying and verse for the week. I made my own and posted them on the wall to remind my children the scripture we were learning about.
I copied most of the printouts for my children to work on. They liked the stories and conversation, but not as interested in most of the printouts.
I followed the book by showing the kids the "Theo" video on God's Grace, which was very good and thought provoking.
For the price, and content, I would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly adaptable & full of ideas

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shrode
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Kids’ Travel Guide to the Armor of God is a GREAT book! I’ve been using it as my “idea book” to do a weekly chapel message for about 100 children ages 4-10. However, it was written for a classroom that might have many different ages, and so it is highly adaptable.
There is a reproducible activity for each lesson. Plus lots of hands on stuff to do to reinforce the lesson. And there’s so much material for each lesson, that it’s easy to just skip whatever doesn’t work or fit, and still have plenty.
The other thing I REALLY like about this book is that it doesn’t just do the pieces of the armor of God. It really does a good job of helping you lead the kids through Ephesians 6:10-20. So it covers the things Paul says about being strong in the Lord and resisting the Devil and what that means. There are two intro lessons before you get to the armor of God, that are foundational. Wisely, the author understands that “fighting the devil” could be a scary concept for little kids, so the first lesson is called “No Fear” and it talks about how powerful God is, and what it means to depend on God. Also, after talking about armor, Paul talks about prayer, which is really a part of this passage as well, so there is a lesson about that as well. There are 13 lessons, all are very Scriptural, and I highly recommend you do all 13. It’s a great book!
There was only one lesson, where I changed the main teaching point. The book is Biblically faithful and accurate, but the lesson on Fitted Feet was about telling others about Jesus, whereas me being a pastor, I studied the passage in depth and realized Paul is actually talking about “standing firm” in the Gospel, not so much evangelism there. Most interpret that part – “feet shod with the readiness of the Gospel of peace” – as being about going and telling the good news. But in studying the passage in depth, I realized that Paul is actually talking about being ready to stand firm and resist the Devil’s schemes because we stand on what Christ has already accomplished for us at the Cross. Evangelism’s good, but that particular phrase is about the security we have in Christ, in my opinion. Anyway, the book does a good job of talking about standing firm in the Gospel elsewhere, so iI was OK with that one minor difference. :-)
The other thing I have done that the book provides is a coloring sheet (I turned mine into a transparency) with two kids wearing armor. They can color in the one piece of armor on the day that you talk about that piece, until the whole thing is colored. So at the beginning of each lesson, It gives the kids a cool visual to remind them what they have covered and what they are covering that day for that lesson.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

something different and fun for the kids

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Western Maryland mountains
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a Sunday School lesson plan with some spark and some room to improvise without losing the message. I found it in this series. I haven't started using it yet, as our quarter isn't finished, but I am definitely looking forward to the new lessons.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Typical Group style lessons.

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
busdriver
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These lessons are very typical of Group curriculum, which I don't like. It doesn't break down activities into section, just blends together and you have to pick it apart. The stories and ideas don't coincide with what my idea of The Armor of God represents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT INSTUCTION FOR SUNDAY SCHOOL/VBS TEACHERS

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Carr
Location:CALIFORNIA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THRILLED TO FIND THAT THIS PRODUCT SURPASSED MY EXPECTATIONS AND IS JAM-PACKED WITH TERRIFIC IDEAS IN EXPLAINING GOD'S ARMOR TO YOUNG CHILDREN.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sister B
Our children's church department just began using this new curriculum and it is wonderful. The lessons are so pertinent for our children in this day and age. We have to teach them to trust God for everything. I am so excited about the upcoming lessons about the armor or God. Can hardly wait to get the next travel guide.....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Love this curriculum...I am going to buy all of the series. Kids love it...a lot of fun & teaches important truths our children need to know.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie Johnson
I am using this curriculum for our Children's Church and I love it! Our age group consists of children ages 6-12. The kids are engaged in every lesson and the concepts are illustrated in fun, interactive ways. I have also used "Kid's Travel Guide to the Lord's Prayer" Kid's Travel Guide to the Fruit of the Spirit"... love them all!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pam Scheurer
Haven't got to use this yet but am excited about starting it here in a couple of weeks. I like the layout and how it keeps the kids involved and that is has plenty to do to keep the whole hour going. Love the hands on approach.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula J. Allen
We use this in our children's church time for 8-12yr olds. Excellent content. Concepts well- presented, with Bible-story and appropriate Scripture verses central to the concept. Fits our church service length well. Easy teacher prep. Used 10 Commandments series & our kids really retained the concepts. My one big complaint with this book is its cartoonish illustrations that trivialize the serious of the topic. In this culture that denigrates Christianity & the Bible as folk stories, we really need to make it REAL. Subsequently, I spent considerable time fetching internet images & printing them to better illustrate the topics. PJ Allen, New Life Christian Church Children's Ministry Director
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Russell Ellwood
My kids are having a blast with this and learning so much. We are using this as homeschool curriculum and really enjoying it. A really good buy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim
We used this curriculum for Children's church for ages 3-11. It was so adaptable to our group. I have used so many programs before, and this one impressed me big time. The creativity to implement Bible lessons was great. I also found it so easy to prepare... I'm looking to order another from this series now! Highly recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pinewood Christian Academy
We are using this for our school's chapel services. Teachers will also have access to the ideas for games and activities. The book made it easy to plan a school year's worth of instruction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kids' Travel Guide to the Armour of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Shelly Spickler
We used this Travel Guide to the Armor of God for our summer camp this year. The lessons were easy to use and actively involved the kids. Even the adult staff commented that they learned more about the armor of God than they had ever known before. The lessons require a little prep time to get props and supplies together, but every activity reinforced the point in a way the kids could learn. We added crafts--a belt of truth and shield of faith. I highly recommend this book for Sunday school, Jr. Church, Wed night, or adapt it to fit VBS or camps. We're hoping for more products like this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.