Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Memory Jar - eBook

Zondervan The Memory Jar - eBook

West Kootenai, Montana is known for it's fall hunting season. Amish men "hunting" for brides and a good hunting season, arrive in spring to make sure they have official "residency" for both events!

Sarah Shelter has lived in W. Kootenai for the last ten years and wonders if she will ever fall in love. Since the tragic death of her best friend, she carries her memories in a jar along with the small items connected to them. For just as long, she's also been carrying around her emotions instead of allowing them to penetrate deep into her heart. Will there ever be someone kind and gentle who can break down that wall?

Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Memory Jar - eBook
Review 1 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Fare

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review should not surprise anyone who knows how much I rave about Amish fiction, and this book is no exception to the rule. When I say that this book is a fantastic, clean, Christian romance, you can know that I am sincere. No profanity, no sex, and really no preachiness either. All you will find is everything that makes the Amish people wonderful and hard-working and a sweet romance to boot.
I love the fact that this book shows how things have been changing in some Amish communities. Even our heroine, Sarah, sees that. And Jathan hopes that Sarah will be the one who can help him change. This book celebrates the things that make the Amish people so endearing--baking, woodworking, etc. And whenever they don't understand, they turn to God for direction. Their faith is simple but strong.
The messages of this book are universal. Follow your dreams no matter what. When a loved one dies, you cannot stop living. You have to face your past, or you will not be able to move on with your life. You will find these messages and more--something for everyone. Oh, and there are a couple of twists along the way, so don't think you have it all figured out!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Memory Jar

Date:October 15, 2013
The only thing 24 year old Sarah Shelter had left of her best friend, Patty Litwiller, was a jar full of memories. Soon after Sarah and Patty met, they began putting items in jars when they had an event in their lives they wanted to remember. It had been two years since Patty died, but Sarah was having trouble facing life without her. Sarah worked at the West Kootenai Kraft & Grocery where she’d met several bachelors over the years, yet she still wasn’t a bride.
Jathan Schrock, like many other single men, went to West Kootenai to live for six months to be able to hunt in the area. The men went to hunt and some returned home with a bride. But Jathan wasn’t looking for love, he came for another reason. Jathan was not a typical Amish man. He had ideas that didn’t sit well with certain people.
Sarah and Jathan got to know each other and discovered they had a lot in common. They both had dreams that involved baking. Following their Amish beliefs was very important to them but it was keeping them from realizing their dreams. Jathan and Sarah friendship was growing when Jathan had to unexpectedly return to Berlin, Ohio. Will Jathan be another memory in Sarah’s memory jar?
Tricia Goyer describes the mountain community of West Kootenai in such a way that I could picture myself being there, with all the sights and sounds of the area. I also enjoyed reading Sarah’s memories of growing up with Patty. It gave me a look at how Patty showed Sarah how to live life to the fullest.
I think Jathan and Sarah had trouble communicating their feelings for each other. It was frustrating that they did not get what the other was saying when it came to how they felt towards each other. I wanted to spell it out for them!
This story is about Sarah moving on with her life but not forgetting the wonderful part Patty played in it. Sarah learns to hold on to her special memories but doesn’t let them hold her back. The Memory Jar shows us we need to accept God’s will even though it doesn’t make sense to us here on earth.
Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series:
#1 The Memory Jar
#2 The Promise Box - read my review here
I received a free copy of this book from The Christan Manifesto and Zondervan in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This has made me want to read more Amish fiction.

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beakers Bookshelf
Location:Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do believe this to be the first Amish book I have read and I loved it!
This is the story of Sarah Shelter. Having lost her best friend, Patty, Sarah struggles to allow herself to move on. Having suffered loss of a close loved one, I completely understand. Sarah lives in West Kootenai, Montana where young Amish men come in the spring to live for at least 6 months so they can gain resident status for the hunting season. Each year these "bachelors" often leave with a bride.
For five years, Sarah has allowed love to pass her by, but this year is different. She has some stirrings for Amos not even paying attention to Jathan Schrock. Then, one day a group of friends goes on a hike and life will never be the same!
Sarah keeps a jar with little trinkets she has gathered throughout her life. These serve to remind her of the many memories of life. I love how this habit helps her through her life's decisions and helps her as her life progresses to new adventures. Sarah's dream is to own her own bakery. This dream is a struggle as she likes the 'fancy' things, like decorated cupcakes. So different from the 'simple' things of the Amish life.
Jathan comes from a place where his life has been planned out for him. He is to return to work in the local factory to help take care of his parents. We come to find out that he, too, has an interest in helping with his mom's bakery! Given this hard choice, what would you do? Follow your heart and passion? Or take the job for its security?
You will have to read this great book to find out how it works out in the end. But, suffice to say, that Lord does work in mysterious ways and what we think we want may not be exactly how it works out. Sometimes exciting and new things seem like a good idea and seems like it is the perfect solution to please everyone may or may not work out that way! Change is good, but is it for everyone?
Also, note that you just never know how the people you meet along the way will affect your life's outcome. The great lesson is to trust in the Lord and follow his guidance. Which brings me to the quote I'd like to share: "...the more Sarah thought about the word faith, the more she realized it was all about looking ahead." (pg 240) "...we jest need to keep walking in the direction God pointed us last, and if we keep looking fer him and waiting on him, God will let us know when to make a change of direction." (pg 136)
Do you trust in the Lord to guide you? Enough to follow him? How do you remember your memories? Do you have a jar with a collection of all kinds of things?
Disclosure: As part of the Tricia Goyer 2013Fiction Launch Team, I did receive a free copy of this book; however I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed here are completely my own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Start to a Series

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Memory Jar is a beautiful story of blossoming love and the healing of past hurts. Although both main characters are strong Christians, they must learn to truly trust that God has their best interests at heart.
Sarah Shelter must heal from the hurt in her heart caused by the tragic death of her best friend, Patty. It seems that Sarah's life ground to a halt when Patty's ended. She throws herself into her baking and makes amazing cupcakes, but does not embrace life anymore.
Jathan Schrock is a visitor to her community, a bachelor who has come to hunt and sort out the mixed emotions he has toward his family. The weight of others' expectations weighs heavily on him and as he tries to determine what path to follow, he finds himself falling for Sarah.
Will Sarah and Jathan be able to find a path to walk together? How will other people's expectations and perceptions of them color their relationship? Tricia Goyer writes a wonderful story, with flashbacks to conversations that Sarah and Patty had throughout their lives. I am looking forward to reading the second book of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was hooked before the 1st chapter ended

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia you had me hooked before the first chapter ended. The Memory Jar by Tricia Goyer was a very enjoyable book. I loved the whole idea of memory jars and thought it made this book all the more special in light of Sarah having lost her best friend. I liked how the reader is introduced to
Sarah and her best friend, Patty as children and then are allowed inside their heads to understand them as people. Jathan was an Amish "knight in shining armor" and Sarah soon sees him in that role.
The memory jar is about friendship, love, family and loyalty. I will be watching for the next books in the Seven Brides for Seven Brothers series. Tricia gets a high 5 for The Memory Jar.
I received this book from Net Galley and Zondervan for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

the memory jar

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
This may look like a regular amish romance, but trust me, it's not.
There is a depth to it, which is even more elegant, seen through the simple life of amish people.
This is a story about loss.
About fear and about shutting your feelings inside, and being scared of letting anyone get close.
Our heroine, Sarah, may be a little simple at times, but at last she does get it right. And personally I believe that, amish or not, simple or not, it took guts to behave as she did at the second half of the book.
The first half of the book, so to speak, is a gentle romance. Of the kind that refreshes you as you read it, and calms you, and warms your heart. Jathan is so big and strong and sensitive, and he is so protective of her, I just loved him. But then, in the second half of the book, the issues are kicked up a notch.
Sarah has to leave her comfort zone, and she has to strike out and make desicions for herself.
She has to be braver than ever before and she has to face the greatest fear of them all.
Trusting others.
And trusting God with her life.
I loved this book, and the lessons it contains. I will only deduct one point because I didn't like the way Jathan behaved at the end, I thought he was weak and a coward and it was out of character for him. In fact, I thought it was a bit foolish how Sarah immediately took him back, somewhat immature.
But other than that I completely recommend this book to those who have no problem reading about the amish way of life.
Rating: 3/5
I received this book from Zondervan in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Memory Jar

Date:January 1, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was enamored with this book from the start. Can you just imagine the commotion that these bachelors raise every spring when they arrive in this tiny community? I can just picture all those sweet young girls whispering and giggling together as they check out this year’s new crop of eligible men. It just makes me smile thinking about it.
Since this is a Tricia Goyer book there are a couple of different things going on that she has masterfully woven together to create a satisfying story. Both of our main characters have back stories that affect the budding relationship between the two of them. Sarah can’t seem to move past the loss of her best friend and Jathan has family obligations that he just can’t find peace about.
One of my favorite aspects of this story is when the two of them have conflict they actually talk about what is bothering them. Many authors use misunderstandings to push the story along. I prefer Tricia’s approach to deepening the storyline and the characters themselves. By the end of the novel both Jathan and Sarah have matured in their walk of faith and in their relationships with others.
Let me give you a little warning . . . this book is going to make you hungry! Hungry for the delicious sounding cupcakes that Sarah is famous for and hungry for the next book in the series. The Promise Box is the title of book two and is scheduled to come out in May 2013. I will definitely be looking forward to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More than a sweet romance

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Memory Jar is more than a sweet romance. Sarah and Jathan juggle the desires of family and community, their personal dreams, and following God's will. And Sarah also has important lessons to live about treasuring the past instead of dwelling in the past. Tricia Goyer's writing, as always, is engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Story line is for young women (single)

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Story line did not draw me into the characters or the story.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another wonderful story by Tricia Goyer

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Shelter still misses her best friend several years after she drowned. Patty taught Sarah a lot about life, she is the one that got Sarah started on her first memory jar. Not only did she lose Patty, but after the drowning she lost Patty's brother, Michael, who she had a huge crush on. Patty's mother could not take living in Montana with so many memories so they moved.
Sarah has had a hard time moving on with her life and throws herself into baking, mainly cupcakes. She has found a new man she thinks she'd like to spend the rest of her life with, Amos. Amos doesn't show her much interest, although he's friendly, he's not ready to see any one girl.
Jathan has come to Montana from Berlin, OH to find himself, he is being forced into working in a factory so his dad and brothers can build furniture in their small shop. They need Jathan to bring in some steady money to help support the entire family. Jathan isn't interested in woodwork, he likes to bake and do bookwork.
Sarah, Amos, Jathan and some others go on a hike in the mountains, the same mountain trail that leads to a cabin Patty and Sarah had found when they were young and it leads to the lake where Patty had drowned. Sarah twists her ankle and decides to wait while the rest of the group proceed. When it starts getting dark she's afraid they forgot about her and starts limping back down the trail. On the way she sees a different path and decides to take that, she soon comes to a dead end and it's too late to try to make it all the way back down so she decides to wait the night out there and prays a bear doesn't find her.
Jathan is worried about Sarah and tells the rest of the group to go ahead on down the other side of the mountain and to send for help if he and Sarah don't meet them at the bottom. When Sarah is not where they left her, he sees her footprints and follows her trail, luckily he takes the same trail she did and finds her sitting on a log. They end up spending the night in the woods and getting to know each other. In the morning they wake up early and head on down, where they meet the rescuers heading up the mountain along with her parents.
During Sarah's recovery Jathan helps her with her baking and they get to know one another better. They are soon talking about his mother's bakery back in Ohio and they are both having ideas of their own that seem to be about the same things, baking together and spending more time together so they can get to know even more about each other. When Jathan gets called home after his dad had a stroke and they aren't sure he'll even survive, things don't look too good for their future.
When Jathan gets home and sees his dad, he can't talk, he feels even more like he's being forced into working at the factory. Not only that, Anna, his mother's friends daughter, thinks they will be married. The two mothers have talked about their marriage since they were little kids. Jathan talks to his dad, even though he can't answer, and tells him of his new plans, plans to bring Sarah to work in the bakery with his mom and his aunt. They will start selling cupcakes, he will do the books and he is not going to work at the factory.
Sarah arrives in Berlin, goes to work at the bakery and soon business is booming. There is a problem though, the regular customers are no longer coming in because of the changes that have been made, suggestions made by Sarah. Jathan's mom and aunt voice their opinion and he finds himself firing Sarah immediately and going to work in the factory. It seems the mother that wanted her son to marry Sarah now wants nothing to do with her, not only that she doesn't want her son to have anything to do with her.
Now Sarah has to figure out what she's going to do, she likes Ohio but can she stay there, should she go back to Montana to her family and how soon does she have to make a decision.
Tricia does a wonderful job of keeping you interested in this story, she tugs at your heartstrings for sure. There are ups and downs, just like life has, and what a wonderful friend Sarah had in Patty and it's amazing the things she taught Sarah about life in their young lives that helped her later on. The idea of a memory jar is a beautiful idea and the things Patty says it can teach you. Tricia gives you a lot of things to think about are plentiful.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley <http://www.netgalley.com/> book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

the memory jar review

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The Memory Jar" by Tricia Goyer is the story of an Amish girl, Sarah, living in a small community in Montana. Sarah is a little weird (according to Amish ways) and has been living in a deep grief for her life-long best friend, Patty, who had died two years before. Her neck of the woods is near a popular hunting grounds; where she meets Jathan, who is kind of a wimp. He feels trapped to do whatever anybody tells him to do. He agrees to whatever his parents, brothers, society in general ask of him. I never really liked him, which makes it hard to get into the love story part. I was always rooting for Sarah's independence. Patty and Sarah did have this tradition that I just loved. The memory jars. They would keep little momentos of special moments in jars. Such a good idea.
As far as the book goes, it is well written, Sarah is a likable character, the Patty-Sarah storyline, is great. Really takes me back. But, I don't like Jathan, and the whole Amish line is very predictable. The characters are more "Amish" than human. Wish it could have been told in a more personal manner. I received this e-book for free from www.edelweiss.abovethetreeline.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Gifted Author Weaves a Memorable Tale!

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's Sarah's 10th birthday and she had "only the forest floor to occupy her" in the Amish community of West Kootenai, Montana. "Pine needles, a clump of moss, a golden leaf" were placed into an old jelly jar found in her mem's cupboard. "A pinecone would be a good find for her collection." As Sarah searched for the perfect pinecone, another young Amish girl came bounding through the woods! A freespirted child, Patty discovered beauty and excitement in every situation, and her adventurous nature was contagious. Sarah offered to get another jar for them to collect wonderful things together. These flashbacks throughout the book build upon Sarah's friendship with Patty, enhancing the story and the significance of the contents of the memory jars Sarah holds so close to her heart.
Sarah is 24 years old, single, and with a fear of commitment. Two years earlier a boating accident claimed the friend who meant everything to her. Her grief and guilt have consumed her, leaving her alone, with no one to share her dreams. Sarah's painful memories threaten her ability to move forward. She continues to dream about a future husband and family, and owning a bakery where she can create "fancy" cupcakes. Her passion for baking and following God's will for her life spills over to others as she cooks and bakes with the Englisch at West Kootenai Kraft and Grocery, putting smiles on the faces of those she encounters. Sarah has an established reputation for her delicious cupcakes!
Jathan Shrock, tall, handsome, and with obstacles to overcome, moved to West Kootenai to work and establish residency in order to hunt. Family expectations and obligations have overwhelmed Jathan, and his inner struggles regarding his life's dream need to be explored away from the constant demands of his family. Guilt and responsibilities overcome him as he seeks God's direction in his life. Jathan doesn't fit the mold that his father and brothers have carved for him, and leaving Berlin Ohio behind for a time is his only solace. Jathan's dream is for a home and family of his own, and to own his own business, possibly his mother's bakery. He has a good business sense and is accomplished in the kitchen, having helped his mem throughout the years.
In West Kootenai it is tradition to "climb the mountains." Sarah had reached a crossroad in her life and felt she was ready for the challenge. Sarah, two Amish girlfriends, Jathan and his Amish friend set out for the day's hike together. The physical challenges were numerous, and not far from the mountaintop Sarah twisted her ankle. While she remained behind the others forged ahead to the summit. Thinking that her friends had forgotten her, Sarah started her way down the mountain alone, but took the wrong trail and became lost. When the others realized they had taken a different path down the mountain and hadn't found Sarah, Jathan climbed back up to look for her. He found signs of Sarah's trail down the mountainside, and eventually discovered her shortly before nightfall. As they were forced to spend a long and cold night on the side of the mountain Jathan foraged for dry wood and started a fire to keep them warm. As the night wore on Sarah opened up to Jathan, and talked about her friend, Patty, and her dreams of owning a bakery. Jathan shared his visions of God's splendor on the mountain. He is like a balm to Sarah, but he wasn't yet prepared to share his own burdens. As dawn began to break Jathan carried Sarah back to the mountain trail and reached the valley below as rescuers were arriving.
As the days progressed Jathan and Sarah's attraction and friendship developed further, and they discussed a future business together in Jathan's mem's bakery in Ohio. Unfortunately Jathan receives news that his father has had a stroke and he is needed at home. He leaves immediately, and a confused Sarah is left to wonder what will become of their friendship. Jathan realizes that Sarah could be a help in the bakery, and asks her to come to Berlin, Ohio. Sarah's aunt lives in Berlin, and as she prepares to take her leave her mother presents her with Patty's memory jar, that she had been keeping for such a time as this. Sarah takes one of her own memory jars along with Patty's to Ohio, and as she takes time to examine the contents of Patty's memory jar the healing process begins. New challenges confront Sarah as she begins her life in Ohio, but feeling God's presence fills her spirit.
The Memory Jar is filled with descriptive elements. The author paints vivid images of the areas surrounding both West Kootenai, Montana, and Berlin, Ohio. This is a carefully thought out story of the vulnerabilities and internal struggles of the main characters in this book. It is an emotional journey through the lives of two people whose struggles to overcome the past and present are presented realistically and in a heartwarming and sometimes heartbreaking manner. The main characters in "The Memory Jar" are endearing, believable, and have depth. The plot is well developed, moves along at a wonderful pace, and raises questions throughout the story that cause the reader think more deeply about life and our human frailties. I loved this book, and will be reading it again. The story evoked emotions that had me smiling, laughing, crying, and feeling spiritually uplifted. I highly recommend this beautifully woven tale to those who love Amish Christian fiction.
I was given a copy of this book by Zondervan for the express purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Broken Hearts, Restoration and Romance

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer in her new book, “The Memory Jar” Book One in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series published by Zondervan takes us into the life of Sarah Shelter.
From the back cover: For five years, love has passed her up. For one moment, can she put down her guard?
Every year, a number of young Amish men descend on the cozy mountain town of West Kootenai, Montana, arriving in the spring to live there for six months and receive ‘resident’ status for the hunting season in the fall. They arrive as bachelors, but go home with brides!
Sarah Shelter has lived in West Kootenai for the last ten years and wonders if she will ever fall in love. Since the tragic death of her best friend, she saves her memories in a jar along with the small items connected to them. For just as long, she’s also been carrying around her emotions instead of allowing them to penetrate deep into her heart. Until she meets Jathan Schrock.
Can this kind and gentle man break down her walls, and can Sarah risk her heart to finally achieve her dreams?
Tricia Goyer has an attention to details that help draw you into the story as well, of course, as her marvelous characters. Ms. Goyer lets you feel Sarah’s heartbreak and then her hope coming alive when she meets Jathan. Both Sarah and Jathan are presented in such a real manner that you feel as though they are friends of yours and when the book eventually ends you are sorry to see them go. “The Memory Jar is an exciting book with the romance taking top priority as each of them deals with their individual issues. ”The Memory Jar” deals with themes of forgiveness and restoration as only God can produce. Ms. Goyer has done it again. I liked this book a lot. I am so looking forward to book two in this series.
Win an Amish Kindle Gift Pack from @TriciaGoyer and RSVP for her “Memory Jar” Author Chat Party on 11/7
Celebrate with Tricia by entering her Amish Kindle Gift Pack Giveaway and RSVPing to her Facebook party on November 7th. (And be sure to catch the fun video trailer or try your hand at one of the simple, keepsake crafts Tricia has put together on her website.)
One fortunate winners will receive:
A brand new Kindle Fire
Custom-made Memory Jar Kindle Cover
Amish-made decorative items {Wall hanging, horse/buggy and Amish houses}
The Memory Jar {Be swept away by this captivating series.}
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on November 6th. Winner will be announced at the “Memory Jar Author Chat Party on 11/7. Connect with Tricia for an evening of book chat, Amish trivia, and a live video chat! There will also be a chance to win gift certificates, books, and other fun prizes!
So grab your copy of The Memory Jar and join Tricia on the evening of the November 7th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the book – don’t let that stop you from coming!)
Don’t miss a moment of the fun, RSVP today. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 7th!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lovely tale of Amish love

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marcy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. Both her novels of historical fiction and tales of Amish life stir emotion within me, unlike most other books I've read. The Memory Jar is no different. Getting to know Sarah and Patty through their memory jars, and Sarah's flashbacks to their childhood, was a sweet and endearing way to develop these characters. Although Patty has been gone for 2 years, she is an integral part of the story because she was the first person to accept Sarah exactly as she was and to encourage her God-given creativity, a creativity viewed as "fancy" to most in the Amish community. The next person to truly understand Sarah would be Jathan, an Amish man from Ohio, who has landed in Montana, where Sarah lives, to escape the harsh reality that he's a little different, too.
I found myself feeling as though I was peeking into something sacred -- a God-ordained story of love and loss, dreams and reality, but most of all, the lives of two people, both carrying around pain in their hearts, as well as hopes for the future. Hopes that as an Amish man and woman, were not readily accepted by their communities, or even their families. It took finding each other to allow themselves to do that which would make these hopes and dreams come to life. But it was not easy. Releasing years of pain in order to accept love never is. Standing up for what you truly believe is not either.
I smiled.
I laughed.
I cried.
A lot.
If you are a lover of Amish fiction, you will adore this story. If you haven't read Amish fiction before, you'll want to begin here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Memory Jar

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed Tricia's first Amish series (Big Sky series) and I was happy to see some of those characters make an appearance in The Memory Jar, since part of the book is set in West Kootenai, and part in Ohio. Sarah isn't a typical Amish woman, with her love of cupcake baking, but her best friend Patty had a big part in showing Sarah it is okay to be different. Jathan isn't a typical Amish man, either, only he took more guff over his differences. The healing that took place as Sarah and Jathan began to get to know each other and carry each others burdens, so to speak, was heartwarming. The story took some unexpected twists and turns, and I found the end a bit improbable, but this was a good start to a new series. I'm looking forward to reading on as more bachelors find their brides in Montana.
With thanks to Zondervan Publishers, via NetGalley, for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet (and Painful) Memories

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Shelter works as a baker at the West Kootenai Kraft and Grocery and watches the young Amish bachelors who come each year to live a few months in Montana for the chance to gain resident status and hunt wild game. Many of the bachelors also leave West Kootenai with brides.
For years, Sarah has saved little items in her memory jar, something that is even more special to her since the death of her best friend Patty a few years earlier. Sarah's painful memories threaten to hold her back from finding love and from pursuing her dreams of someday running her own bakery.
Then she meets Jathan Schrock. Will this young bachelor from Holmes County, Ohio, help her use the memories from her jar to move out of her past and into the future she has long dreamed of?
Tricia Goyer has written a heartwarming story in The Memory Jar, with characters experiencing a variety of life's joys and hurts. Following Sarah and Jathan through the ups and downs of their relationship is a touching journey filled with both disappointment and fulfillment. This is a great read for fans of Amish fiction -- or anyone who enjoys a well-written story of hope and love.
Thanks to Tricia Goyer for providing me a copy of The Memory Jar. I am happy to give this book a five-star recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The keeping of one's memories is a treasure

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I found the concept of a "memory jar" as kept by Sarah in "The Memory Jar" rather quaint even for an Amish story. To think that teens and adults would collect rocks, tiny pinecones, etc. and store them in a jar to aid as a tool to recollect their special moments or experiences in life is not in keeping with any society beyond that one really backward or very young. In spite of my concept and thinking on a "memory jar" that is an item of particular importance in The Memory Jar by Tricia Goyer.
When a young girl our heroine and her young friend both keep their memories intact inside th memory jar. This becomes especially important to Sarah after her best friend Patty dies in a boating accident. Memories are all Sarah has left of Patty and therefore the jar becomes important.
Sarah can not seem to get into the boy meets girl and girl and boy marry scenario that is expected of the Amish. She is not much for routine housekeeping responsibility and dotes on her skills as a "fancy" baker. She dreams of one day having her own bakery.
Jathan arrives on the scene along with other young Amish bachelors who come to the area hunting - both for wild game and for brides. Jathan is somewhat shy but he has spotted Sarah. They are in a group that goes hiking and become well acquainted because she has an injury and he helps her.
As the story progresses, they have family and community issues that put roadblocks in their path. It looks like things might work out for them and then it all falls apart. Will their relationship end up in the memory jar? Will it be a good memory, or will it be a memory of heartbreak?
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of the book on behalf of the publisher and author in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Memory Jar

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Sarah Shetler and her healing and finding a new life. As a little girl her family moved from Kentucky to Montana, where she is befriended by Patty. Patty and Sarah share so much of their youth together and create so many memories.
When we begin this book there has been a tragic accident and Sarah's Dear friend Patty has been killed. For Sarah, Patty was that perfect "almost Sister" type friend. They shared so many memories...as we travel through the book we are given glimpses into there happy moments. They each had a memory jar...little tokens of a special memory. How awesome...we all carry these precious thoughts, but to touch something that brings us back to those moments. Wonderful!
I feel Sarah's pain and how hard it must have been for her to find peace and feel those happy times now that her friend is gone. Along come Jathan, he has come to search his heart, and spend time in the cozy little town of West Kootenai, Montana. Every year bachelors come to go hunting in the mountains.
When they find an attraction to one another, Sarah lets down her guard and starts sharing Patty with him. He also lets her know his Mam owns a Bakery! Sarah's passion is making incredible cupcakes....I want her recipes! YUM!
When Jathan is called back home after is Daed had had a stroke will it be the end for them?
This is a story of finding oneself, and peace at our decisions, and following what is God's plan.
This is the first book in this series, and am anxious to read more of this heart warming stories!
I received this book through Litfuse Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Memory Jar by Tricia Goyer

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This moment is the most important one of all. We can either enjoy it, and the people we are with; or we can wish for something from the past back, or want to rush into the future. But then we miss the gifts that are here...in this moment.
Sarah Shelter misses her best friend, Patty, who two years before drowned in a boating accident. Sarah learned a lot about life from Patty, and she is the one who helped to start Sarah’s interest in making memory jars. Sarah keeps little trinkets that she has collected to help her remember special times. These memories, especially the ones she made with Patty, Sarah holds outside of herself; in her jars.
As a way to deal with her grief, Sarah turned to her baking, and works at the West Kootenai Kraft and Grocery as one of their bakers. She finds solace in baking things, especially cupcakes, that make people smile. Sarah also has a dream, a dream that Patty had encouraged, which is to own her own bakery one day. But her Mem wants her to focus on finding a husband and becoming a good Amish wife.
Jathan Schrock (one of the bachelors who is visiting West Kootenai, Montana on a hunting trip) has his own issues from the past that he needs to deal with. He also would like to have his own business, and a wife and kids someday, but he knows that it is his duty as the youngest son to support his aging parents.
The Memory Jar by Tricia Goyer is a sweet story that contains both a love for God's creation, as well as a message of how God can heal broken hearts when we let him. Jathan and Sarah are both well-developed characters; who had endured themselves to my heart. Tricia has done a wonderful job of depicting the Amish way of life in the first book of her new series Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors; which captivated me from the first page to the last. A very enjoyable story. I now look forward to the next book, The Promise Box
**The Memory Jar by Tricia Goyer was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Memory Jar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Memory Jar

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Shelter baked the best cupcakes in West Kootenai, Montana. Some of the visiting young Amish bachelors claim they are the best they have ever eaten.
Sarah has been invited to go hiking up the mountain with some of the local Amish girls and some visiting Amish Bachelors. It was to be a fun outing. She needs to make new friends. She has mourned the loss of her best friend for some time now. The young woman drowned in a boating accident. Sarah must move on with her life but it is so hard to forget that tragic day and the loss of her friend.
On the hiking trip circumstances beyond her control bring Sarah and Jathan Schrock, one of the bachelors together. She must trust him to get her back down the mountain. His kindness and attentiveness touched her heart. They were able to share their dreams with each other and Sarah told him about the loss of her friend and the pain of that loss. Sarah even told him about the Memory Jar. She has found a new friend in this handsome young Amish man. Will she be able to trust him with her heart and dreams.
Sarah is a beautiful character she has so much love for God and her fellow man whether they be Amish or English. When she leaves her mountain she feels the pressure of change and some people attempt to stifle her brilliant light of love, along with her dreams.
The character Jathan is the youngest in his large family and he feels burdened by the goals and demands of his family especially his father. He has never been able to share his dream for the future with them. But with Sarah it was different she encourages him to follow his dream if it is God's will. He ends up letting other people cloud his judgement which in turn caused a lot of people pain.
Fear seemed to play a big role in this story.
Tricia Goyer knows how to grab your attention and keep it. The story is a valuable life lesson that will inspire the reader.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan/Litfuse Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>