Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook

Zondervan Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Review 1 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whew! What an explosive work of fiction that kept me reading till the wee hours of the morning! The sequel to Thunder in the Morning Calm (Pacific Rim series book 1) is even more jam-packed with heightened tensions between the two Chinas. The island attacked by Communist China begins the surge of suspense written on every page. Unlike in the first novel, “Gunner” is not the main character of this story; however, the President’s daughter is as she is serving in the Navy soon to encounter war.
Well-crafted military stories such as what Don Brown has authored remind us of the price paid for freedom, the hard decisions that must be made by our Commander in Chief and our dependence upon God for wisdom. High technology plays a role in the action taking place on the sea along with the easily evoked tensions between the two Chinas as the recent President of Communist China is determined to become the new world power by obliterating the United States.
Don Brown shares just a small synopsis of the history of the two Chinas as well as where the relationship between these two peoples stands. No matter how many military novels I read, when through with one, I am humbled by the work of our troops as well as proud of the job they do often times without anyone knowing their names. The tough decisions by many in our government to preserve life and bring aid to any people show us at least one reason for which to pray for our nation and its leaders.
I won’t soon forget the scenes richly painted on the page by the author, knowing that they likely pale in comparison to real life situations that occur. Fire of the Raging Dragon was highly stimulating and breathtaking. I cannot help but wonder what I will encounter as I approach the third book in the series, Storming the Black Ice. It is not just the plot that the audience will find intriguing, but the characters themselves as they work out their personal lives while carrying out orders from their superiors.
Don’t miss this attention-grabbing, heart-thumping action novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book!

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
elisha40
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this story! Full of action and suspense! I could NOT put this book down. I love all of Don Brown's books. They do not dissapoint!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense On South China Sea!

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
MyMrsO
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fire of the Raging Dragon, The Pacific Rim Series
"In the very near future, China, now the world’s largest industrial producer and consumer of Mideast Oil, passes a law that all new cars manufactured in that nation will be operated on natural gas. Beneath the floor of the South China Sea, around the contested Spratly Islands, billions of gallons of natural gas wait to be mined. "
Bestselling author Don Brown has built a loyal fan base by writing what he knows best: thrillers with heart. A former Navy JAG officer and action-officer at the Pentagon, Brown pens action-packed plots and finely-drawn characters that are credible and compelling.
In Fire of the Raging Dragon -the second book in Brown's bestselling Pacific Rim Series-Stephanie Surber is stationed on board a submarine tender in the South China Sea when a naval war breaks out. After a gruesome discovery escalates America's involvement, Stephanie's father, U.S. President Douglas Surber, must choose to take a stand against evil … or save the life of his daughter.
This is my first book by action author, Don Brown, and I'm his newest fan. It is a political thriller like no other. Don, who served five years in the U.S. Navy, writes a fast-paced book making good use of his knowledge about the military and their operations. This political thriller uses sub-headings as the storyline develops it's plots and subplots with twists and turns that begin to challenge what part of the story I'm reading, but yet I couldn't put the book down. I like a book that offers fairly accurate information and based on the author's background, his descriptions of the military and political situations throughout the story are guaranteed to engage any reader right to the conclusion. Also interesting is the background of history for both sides in the conflict. Readers won't miss the lack of profanity since the idea that this situation could actually occur today are described by an author whose knowledge of current affiars make this a thriller of a book! I would recommend this book for readers who enjoy suspense and action.
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 I was not compensated for this review and I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Yet From Don Brown

Date:December 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Khamneithang
Location:Hilltown
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In order to further its national interests and nefarious designs of world hegemony, the new power-hungry president of China, Tang Qhichet, also known as Raging Dragon, unleashes the might of its naval forces on the hapless Taiwanese forces on Itu Aba Island, which is located in the South China Sea. Beneath the floor of this sea, billions of gallons of natural gas wait to be mined. And China is hell-bent on mining this natural resource.
Though the Chinese gained control of the Itu Aba Island, the Taiwanese forces capture a Chinese civilian freighter Shemnong which was used for carrying weapons to reinforce communist forces. The crew members are also critically wounded. The US responds to Shemnong’s urgent request for medical assistance and to investigate crimes against humanity aboard the ship.
When the medical team boarded Shemnong, they made a shocking discovery, which even the strong stomach of steel that all doctors possess, the callous resistance to the grotesque, could not withstand. The ship’s manifest lists them as “medical supplies.”
The U.S. President Douglas Surber orders for the ship to be captured and placed in the care of the United States. A fuming Chinese president Tang Qhichet retaliated by attacking USS Vicksburg. As the situation spirals out of control, president Surber send the U.S. Seventh Fleet into the area. USS Emory S. Land, the first to respond, is captured by the Chinese. And aboard the submarine is Ensign Stephanie Surber, who is also the First Daughter of the United States. The Chinese demand the release of Shemnong or they would kill everyone on board USS Emory S. Land.
It is a difficult situation for the U.S. but the bridge must be crossed. The President must make a decision. Will he take a stand against evil? Or will he save the life of his daughter?
One thing that comes to mind as one reads the book is the vast knowledge that the author, Don Brown, exhibits all throughout the story which is simply incredible. The novel explores the history of both sides in the conflict.
Fire of the Raging Dragon by Don Brown is the second book in the Pacific Rim series. It is a political thriller like no other. Don who served five years in the U.S. Navy writes a fast-paced book making good use of his knowledge about the military and their operations, which is guaranteed to engage the reader to the very end. The book may well turn out to be a warning and a prophecy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fire of the Raging Dragon
#2 Pacific Rim Series
by Don Brown
The South China Sea is a hotbed of military rivals and attempted takeovers. The Chinese President launches an attack on the island of Itu Aba and takes power away from the Taiwanese. The United States has several ships and subs in the South China Sea to prevent these two Chinese countries from starting a war. A Naval officer on the U.S.S. Emory S. Land, a submarine tender, just happens to be the daughter of the United States President, and now Stephanie Surber is in great danger as attacks increase and the U.S. seizes a civilian Chinese ship carrying "crimes against humanity" evidence. This evidence is so volatile that the U.S. President must forget that his daughter is on a ship that has been taken over by the Chinese and make the decisions to keep the evidence safe and do the best possible to save everyone on Stephanie's ship.
I really enjoyed reading this novel. It was very fast paced, and even for a person with little understanding of Naval forces, the terms were explained well and it was easy to follow what was happening. It was so nice to read a novel that supports the Christians that are in the military, given the adage "cuss like a sailor." Which brings me to my disappointment in the novel that rather than making reference to a person cussing, there are two instances in which the cuss word is written out. There is also one use of hell which some people would argue is used as a cuss word and some would argue is used to speak of the actual place. When I pick up a novel listed as "Christian fiction," I do not expect to read any cuss words, and this novel cannot be put in my church library due to the cuss words in it. However, I still enjoyed the story and would love to read the first book in this series.
http://zondervan.com/9780310330158
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a possible future of military suspense

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is plenty of action in this novel, the second in the Pacific Rim Series.
It is sometime in the near future and China is on the loose. The new President of China is a man named Tang. He is called the Raging Dragon.
China attacks and takes a small island in the South China Sea. The island, Itu Aba, has vast amounts of much needed natural gas deposits below it. It had been under the control of the Taiwanese and they are determined to get it back.
The Taiwanese capture a Chinese freighter bound for Itu Aba. It is carrying arms but also has a hold full of what are called “medical supplies.” When the Taiwanese discover the crates of “medical supplies” actually contain evidence of horrible crimes against humanity, they turn to the Americans for help.
What ensues is a potentially world war causing confrontation between the Chinese and Americans. And the Chinese Raging Dragon is crazy enough to target America's west coast with nuclear missiles.
I found this to be a satisfying novel of military suspense. In addition to the military aspect, the daughter of the U. S. President is on a Navy ship right in the middle of the action. She is a newly commissioned ensign and the President must weight the safety of his daughter against the needs of the nation and the world. The President and his family are Christians and his faith plays a part in his decisions.
I don't know enough about the military aspects of the book to judge the author's accuracy but it is certainly an enjoyable read. I did wonder about not using spy satellite information. The Chinese note that the U. S. satellites photograph Chinese bases every two hours, yet much of the action in the book is based on the U. S. not knowing where ships are in the South China Sea.
The book is very informative on the background material leading up to the altercation. It seemed to me that it could represent a possible scene in the near future.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Review for Fire of the Raging Dragon

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
josk
Location:Sudbury, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:male
User submitted photo
As one who enjoys espionage and combat fiction, I found Don Brown’s, “Fire of the Raging Dragon,” an OK read. Through the course of the book, he takes a look at real to life US economic and international policies against the back drop of military adventure on the high seas. While some of the economic questions that he raises are excellent, the story he was telling seemed to wander somewhat. The plot was great but the story could have used more depth in the areas of character development and background. The end of the book, though good, was fairly predictable. Brown went to some lengths to try and wrap up many of the sub plots with the ending but some of the conclusions seemed abrupt and focused on the good guys (the US Navy and President) winning. While this works great for the book, it is not always the case in real life.
One of the things I enjoyed about “Fire of the Raging Dragon” was that is a clean read. Many authors of similar genre feel the need to fill their books with profanity and sexual encounters of the heroes. Thankfully, Brown stays far away from that and deals honestly with other aspects of combat without sensationalizing the violence.
I give this one three and half stars out of five!
Disclosure statement: I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Here's the book link to Zondervan:
http://zondervan.com/9780310330158
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Looking forward to the next in the series.

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book made me wish for a good speed-reading course to be offered in SC's upstate area. I had to read this in one sitting, like I did the previous books by Mr. Brown. Having lived in Asia some I could relate very well to the parts about China and Taiwan.
I wanted to give this five stars for the super story line, the suspense, the guess work on a possible romance (?), but... once again language makes me cringe and lower the rating.
Why is it that Christian writers, Christian publisher's editors, etc. feel that euphemistic cursing needs to be used? Such a spoiler.
If one can read over and sort of ignore this concern, then it's a totally great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A riveting, absorbing read!

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fire of the Raging Dragon" is a riveting, absorbing read, one that had me clutching the pages tightly as the plot unfolded at a breakneck pace. The plot seems all too real - what if the uneasy stalemate between the 2 Chinas truly was to explode and catch America in the fall-out? What if China was to exercise it's economic might and power over the trillions of dollars of American debt it holds? I enjoyed this second installment in the Pacific Rim Series even more than the first, finding it to be a book that is tightly plotted and filled with suspense. The story line of Stephanie, the US President's daughter, was intense indeed, and I could barely contain my urge to skip to the end of the book to see how things would resolve!
In short, Don Brown's books simply keeping getting better and better. With the exception of an overuse of exclamation marks throughout some scenes of the book, this book is well-written and seems well-researched and realistic. Fire of the Raging Dragon is sure to please fans like myself, who eagerly anticipate Brown's latest release, and equally sure to earn new fans as well. I highly recommend this book and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Zondervan, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fire of the Raging Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dianna A.
Location:South Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
It’s a novel full of “edge of your seat” drama and intrigue. At first I felt it started a bit slow but then the further I got into it the more I enjoyed it. I found myself having a hard time putting the book down by the end. You switch between each party involved and in the beginning it was quite confusing because I easily forgot which character was in which location, but, then as it unfolded I was able to put it all straight.
I’ll be honest I wasn’t sure that this would be something I would enjoy since I prefer reading historical novels but I was very pleased with how well written and how the story unfolded. It is a very interesting story line and I believe if you like modern warfare dramas you will love this one. I don’t know whether I will read anymore of this series or not but as a first time or one time read it was quite enjoyable.
*I received this novel free from Zondervan in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.