Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan

Zondervan A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan

A Reader's Hebrew Bible saves time and effort in studying the Hebrew Old Testament. By eliminating the need to look up definitions, the footnotes allow the user to read the Hebrew and Aramaic text more quickly, focusing on parsing and grammatical issues. A Reader's Hebrew Bible offers the complete text of the Hebrew and Aramaic Bible using the Leningrad Codex (minus critical apparatus), shaded Hebrew names that occur less than 100 times, footnoted definitions of all Hebrew words occurring 100 times or less (twenty-five or less for Aramaic words), context-specific glosses, stem-specific glossed definitions for verb forms (Qal, Piel, Hiphil, etc.), Ketib/Qere readings both noted in the text and differentiated appropriately, and a marker ribbon.

A. Philip Brown II (Ph.D., Bob Jones University) is associateprofessor of Bible and Theology at God's Bible School and College in Cincinnati, Ohio. He co-edited the 3rd edition of Handbook of New Testament Greek, a publication for Bob Jones University.

Bryan W. Smith (Ph.D., Bob Jones University) is Bible integration coordinator at Bob Jones University Press.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Review 1 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent value

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
biblebob
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my readers Hebrew Bible just a few days ago, I was impressed, what a beautiful edition of the Hebrew bible, I recommend it to anyone wanting to study the original language of the Old Testament. It contains the full edition of the Leningrad codex, and compares nearly word for word with only a few minor variations mainly vowel points or spelling with the Aleppo codex, the oldest Masoretic manuscript extant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A reliable and highly readible Hebrew Bible

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shamuel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The text in this Hebrew Bible is based on one of the most reliable Hebrew Bible sources (the Leningrad Codex).
This Hebrew Bible is highly user-friendly as it helps to focus more to actual reading by providing the English translations of many of the words on the same page (plus it also presents many words in the general forms which is beneficial for those learning the language).
One reason this is important is that the Hebrew verbs tend to be a little tricky because of the prefixes, suffixes and different forms and conjugations. Thus this version of the Hebrew Bible helps to understand many of the verbs that would be practically impossible to find in an ordinary dictionary.
What's more, the text is pleasantly spacy especially when compared with some other versions of the Hebrew Bible, which helps reading all those vital vowel marks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
brothermoore
Location:N Las Vegas, NV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Critical Apparatus -
Even though this doesn't have the critical apparatus, that really isn't a huge deal. The differences between the codexes aren't really as major as some make them out to be. The major differences are so few, they could be listed on a page. In fact, this Bible does just that. On the last page, I think, there is a list of the verses with differences. Even at that, NONE of the differences are theological in nature or change the narrative.
Readability - I definitely recommend this Bible for students of Biblical Hebrew. A professor I spoke to agreed with me, though he suggested I also pick up the BHS. The layout of this Bible, though, is formatted more like what we are used to seeing in English Bibles. This is a big plus. Also, the key word guide at the bottom of each page is just genius. It serves very well to supplement your memory of vocab and comprehension of text while you are still learning the language.
Presentation - Again, it is formatted more like what we are used to in English Bibles. It has a similar feel to Bibles I am used to. Beautiful cover, nice edging.
Only bad thing I could say is that I would have preferred to have bought this in genuine leather. Other than that, it has been very helpful in my studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
jeromer
Location:az
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent tool for the student who is reading and studying from the Hebrew Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Singer
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is fascinating to see the poetic use of Hebrew words that does not come out in the English language. Note that this Bible assumes a beginning knowledge of Hebrew and is useful for expanding on that vocabulary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tom Champness
What a find! This book has speeded up my reading of the Hebrew Bible by 1000%. I decided to read the first chapter of each book in the O.T. and finished that project in just two weeks. Now on to the chapter twos! All who use this book owe a profound debt to the prodigious labors of Drs. Brown and Smith on our behalf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dennis Lucas
This book is fabulous. Knowing Hebrewgrammar is very helpful. On the first pageof Esther, the numbering for the words offone number for a number of words, but thengets back on track. It is most enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
InThyLight
A Readers Hebrew Bible is an indispensable tool for learning to read biblical Hebrew. Seminarians and ministers will love this attractive and handy reader for use in the classroom and in personal study. There is no better Hebrew tool on the market for growing the beginners skill in reading and meditating upon Gods Torah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janette Berrios
When I ordered this Hebrew Bible for my friendwho is not Jewish but always wanted a Hebrew Bible, I was taken back by the beauty of the cover and the silver around the pages. I know in my heart that my friend will love thisbible. Thank you ChristianBooks.com for always having the best of everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Reader's Hebrew Bible - Italian Duo-Tone, Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Trierr
Zondervan has finally come out with a Hebrew equivalent to the Reader's Greek New Testament. For those that liked its Greek predecessor, this is a wonderful addition that will help students of the Hebrew Bible read in the original languages. The only immediate downside I can find is that the binding is a bit stiff and not of the quality that one might expect for a Bible. But that's a minor issue for such a momentous work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.