Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook

Multnomah Books A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook

We know instinctively that we're heading for an eternity of something after death. But an eternity of what? In this soul-stirring follow-up to his runaway bestsellers The Prayer of Jabez and Secrets of the Vine, Bruce Wilkinson leads you to some astonishing and entirely biblical answers about the hereafter. He gives a fresh view of the eternal existence you're investing in right now - showing why it's worth it (at a thousand percent return on your investment) to serve God with all your heart for all your life!
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Review 1 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Life God Rewards

Date:April 27, 2012
Author Bruce Wilkinson discovered what he was taught and what he believed about eternal rewards seemed to be contradictory to Jesus' teaching. So he set out on a five year study on the subject of rewards. In A Life God Rewards, Bruce uses the Bible to explain what he learned and shows us that our belief and our behavior determine how we will spend eternity.
He makes it clear how our belief determines how we spend eternity. Good works won't get us into heaven. The gift of salvation in Jesus gets us unto heaven. Period. Bruce tackles this touchy subject for many people. Our good works determine our rewards.
Good works are our behavior that determines how we spend eternity. Bruce shows us there are varying degrees of rewards for those who are in heaven and varying degrees of suffering for those who are in hell. These rewards from good works are all determined while we are still alive on earth.
This book is small but it has a lot of information. I would recommend looking up and studying all the Bible verses that Bruce uses to explain rewards. Did you know the Greek words for "reward" means wages and repay? We are getting reimbursed for our good works done here on earth. After reading this book, you will look at all you do, whether it is for God or not, in a different light. Bruce reminds us of two things, the final promise of Jesus, "Behold, I am coming quickly, and My reward is with me, to give to every one according to his work" (Revelation 22:12) and the best reward is when Jesus says, "Well done, good and faithful servant!" I would recommend this book for anyone wanting to learn more about the Bible and Jesus' love for us.
This book is in my personal library and I received nothing in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Meredith Kimmerle
This is a great book for gift or personal use.I have given this numerous times always with the same results - total enjoyment of the recipient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2008
This little book helps one to look at their actions as well as their giving & motivates to make both better - not out of obligation - but from an understanding of how it pleases the Lord Jesus (and isn't that what we believers want - to know that we are pleasing to God?). The message in this book should be taught in place of tithing, much more fruit would be produced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I am sad to read the reviews of people who put down the idea that we could benefit from thinking about rewards in heaven. If Jesus did not want us to know about the rewards he would not have mentioned them. I found this book refreshing. Too many people think that once you receive Jesus as your Lord, there is nothing more to do. So many Christians today are more interested in building their bank accounts than building the kingdom of God. They are so infatuated with rewards on earth that they don't realize they are wasting their time seeking earthly treasure. This book brings out the scriptures that show how foolish it is to invest in this world when we can invest in God's kingdom. God wants us to have treasure in heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Finestfirst
though just started reading, content serves as an excellent reminder that we have been given the gift of choice. and, where is our focus each day? on Him and how we live our life, or on us and our earthly desires?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marge Osborn
This little book gives you a new way to look at Heaven with all the scripture to back it up. You will deeply enjoy this great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marge Osborn
This book will change your reasoning for what you do on this earth. Its a paradyn change in attitude
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2004
Customer Avatar
Megan
I am a teen, I received this book from a Sunday School class, I read it and I LOVE IT! It truly opens you heart to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2003
Customer Avatar
HN
I've been to a few Promise Keeper Conventions where "many" men (not all) pour forth their hearts to God. If you've never had the awesome experience of listening to 48,000+ people worship and sing songs such as "Holy, Holy, Holy" to their Lord, you won't understand. It's truly awesome and unique, very different from worshipping with a group of 30 or 700 people in church. That said, if you're not "satisfied" with what heaven has to offer and you have to think about rewards during a Promise Keeper Convention, then your life is meaningless. In the presence of God, you're there to do only one thing: worship Him. That's what the Promise Keeper Convention is all about, worshipping Him and losing your old self and desires. I have two siblings. Much like that one reviewer said, one of my sisters is more interested in getting "rewards" from my parents whenever she meets up with them. They always anticipate this. The other could care less, as shes only there to love them. Which one of these is found with favor? My heart bled with love for God at the Promise Keeper Convention because my entire focus was on my Father. My heart will bleed when I can bow down in Heaven and worship in His presence, amongst an infinite sea of love. At that point, "who gives a rip about the rewards." The "Jones" do not live in the Kingdom of Heaven, so you won't have to keep up with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Susan Hammond
I found this book to be a great reminder of the truths of our future rewards for serving Christ with every aspect of our lives today. At this point in church history, when so much of our behaviors are conditioned by our own selfishness for "here and now gratification," this book calls us back to the reality of sacred cause and effect. In Philippians 2: 21, Paul lamented that, "everyone looks out for his own interests and not the interests of Christ Jesus." Dr. Wilkinson exhorts us, essentially, to manage our lives in such a way as to put the interests of Christ first, and thereby "greatly increase your Master's Kingdom" (pg 65). The Apostle Paul told us that he chose to "press on toward the goal to win the prize" (Phil.3:14). Indeed, the race does matter, and its quality effects the outcome: "run in such a way as to get the prize" (1 Cor.9:24b). May the interests of Christ prevail in us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2002
Customer Avatar
Eb Jackson
Bruce Wilkinson explores the reality of eternity and its relationship to our present behavior. The result is remarkably astonishing, if not down right convicting. We encourage you to buy A Life God Rewards by Bruce Wilkinson and, to take advantage of the shipping rate, you will also want to order THE PRAYER OF HANNAH by Kenn Gividen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Life God Rewards: Why Everything You Do Today Matters Forever - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2002
Customer Avatar
Alpha
As I indicated on Amazon.com as well, I would rather focus on the race than the "rewards". I would rather be the disciple that pours his heart towards Christ and His ministry than the Christian who is constantly thinking about his/her eternal gain. The Bible mentions MANY times about our "rewards". But as Christian, we need to look beyond that, as God intends for all of us to set our (mature) spirit on the race. I love running a race. I have NEVER met an Olympic runner (a mature athlete) who focuses on the reward in a 100 meter dead heat. At the professional level, it is not even conceived. It is written and well known among athletes and spectators that there is a prize at the end, but no one focuses on it. As the 100 meter last "lessthan" 9.9 seconds, so do our lives by God's eternal clock. Focus on the race. My love and joy will be in His presence, not His "presents". When I come home for Christmas, I come home to share my love and be in the presence of my father and mother (I really do), not to pick up my "Christmas presents." If there is anyone among you who can stand before God, the Lord Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit, and all of the Heavenly Hosts and "proudly" state, "Give me my inheritance", then let them claim their rewards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.