Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook

David C. Cook Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light, Easy Read

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
3ScorePat
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I never read any book by this author, I did enjoy the light reading. I read often and this was somewhat funny with an easy storyline. Just an all around good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOperation Bonnet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the book was awesome. I loved Amos (You are awesome!) I loved the message, mystery, and the bits of Amish. Ya'll, don't believe the other ratings. The book was AWESOME!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOperation Bonnet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shockingly Fantastic!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first experience reading this author's work. I must say I really, really liked it. It is very unique in its approach the Amish genre. You won't find another one like this hanging out on the bookshelves.
I guess I can see where one might either really love it or really hate it. The writing style is so different so old school readers might not appreciate it. However, I found it very engaging and the quick-wittedness displayed was fantastically humorous.
Go into this one with an open mind and let Ms. Stuart use Nellie to lead you on a fun little adventure with an Amish twist. Can't wait to see more!!!!! I hope you'll return to the new Amish fans you've gained.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOperation Bonnet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A FUN FUN FUN Read!

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
MSewell
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just sat for an entire afternoon ignoring all calls of housework, laundry, whining children, and a hungry husband and read cover to cover Operation Bonnet!!!!! What a gift!!!! Stuart is so incredibly talented, my cheeks ache from smiling and laughing so much. My sweet girls kept asking what was so funny and for the last several hours I've just been shushing them so I can continue reading - ALL DAY LONG!!! What a refreshing, lighthearted, fun read this was!
It sounds so cliche but I honest to God, laughed and cried - ok, I only cried once, but SOOOO GOOOD!!!! And I love love love love all Stuart's witty one liners! "The Amish Don Juan!" AND "Crazy Amish! Throwing kohlarabi and peanut frat parties!" AND..."I mean, the woman had never used a hair dryer, so newfangled ideas on how to cut onions might be a bit off-putting!!" Cracks me up!!!
It's been TOOO long since I've been 100% immersed in such a great, fun, witty, snarky book! LOVE LOVE LOVE Nellie! LOVE Amos - probably even funnier becasue we lived in Missouri for 8 years and our friend was a farmer and his hired hand's nickname was "SAP - Somewhat Amish Pete!!" And he was SOOOOO Amos!! Stuart hit him head on!!
What a fun, fun, fun fun day!! Thanks to Stuart for gifting Operation Bonnet to us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOperation Bonnet.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read with quirky characters

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kimberly has a very unique style of writing and she gets better with each book. This book is my favorite of hers so far. I love the premise and plot and her characters are just as quirky and fun as ever. The boss who can't talk without screaming, the best friend who's a guy and works at Radio Shack, which is perfect because Nellie with the red afro hair is a wanna be private investigator except that she lives in a relatively small town and has no P.I. jobs. Then comes along Amos, a former Amish young man that decides to hire Nellie. Ah, yes, and chaos has just started. She has to infiltrate his former Amish neighbors to get the info he needs...right... I love where it goes and Kimberly brings us along on every uncomfortable encounter along the way. My favorite thing about Kimberly's books are that she doesn't wrap everything up with a pretty, neat bow at the end. But she does bring everything to a close. Another good book from a very unique author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOperation Bonnet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hilarious - Laugh out-loud Good

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sight of this cover stopped me in my tracks as I tried to make sense of what this book might be about. Was this an Amish book? Not like any I’ve ever seen. I was thankful for the review copy of this book so I could find out what Kimberly Stuart was up to inside this new novel.
Operation Bonnet is the most hilarious P.I. detective story I’ve read in quite a while. The fact that Nellie Monroe’s first case involves her going undercover to gather information from inside an Amish community is a hoot and very clever, tongue and cheek writing on Kim’s part.
Nellie says, “I’ll go every week to the pastry shop and help bake. I’m not a cook and don’t care to be, but if I have to roll out pastry dough for three hours to get a woman to talk about what it’s like to be Amish and female in the twenty first century, doggone it, I will.”
Nellie is a twenty something gal who definitely walks to the beat of her own drum, works hard, is serious about being the best PI possible, is loyal and caring to her friends and family. She ponders why her grandmother loves God so much. She asks her why she paints, “…first to honor God who paints the sunsets and oceans and human hearts. And second so I don’t get cranky like so many of the old people in this world.”
Matt, Nellie’s friend since elementary school supports her in her career choice but has been acting kind of weird lately. Nellie has noticed his muscles, how Matt looks all manly all of a sudden and how her stomach has started to flip when he looks at her a certain way. What was going on there? She didn’t have time to figure out that right now she was in the middle of her first case. Her client was a shunned Amish boy named Amos and he needed her help.
Kimberly Stuart is not a new comer to Christian fiction but Operation Bonnet is the fist book I’ve read by this author. I love Kimberly’s humor and how real and honest Nellie is. I enjoyed Nellie’s friend Matt and how Amos seeks her for insider information from a certain Amish Community. Kimberly has a gift of making the reader laugh out-loud yet at the same time pens a spiritual thread that is sincere and natural. Kimberly reminded me of another author that makes me laugh out loud Jenny B. Jones. I’ll definitely be looking for Kimberly Stuart’s other books. I can’t wait for her next book to hit the shelf; you’ll anxiously be waiting for it too.
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOperation Bonnet.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

"Operation" that needs Surgery

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miranda Camp
Location:Deep South
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really just not that good.
Writing style is annoying and poor.
Story line is OK if you can stick with it.
Bottom Line - Save your money for some real Amish Fiction and leave this one for the clearance rack.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Operation Bonnet: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOperation Bonnet.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish with a Twist

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Here's a new twist on an Amish romance. Nellie Monroe, a wanna-be Private Eye gets her first assignment from formerly Amish Amos, an interesting character. He comically mixes things up as he soaks up the "English" livestyle by watching reruns of a Gidget marathon. For example, he would title this novel, Operation Moondoggie!
I enjoyed the well-rounded characters. I struggled with Nellie as she learned to make a fruit pie from scratch. I chuckled as I envisioned her working alongside Tank, with his unusual manner of speech. I lamented with her struggles with her beloved Nona's Alhtzeimer's. And, I waited for her to realize that Matt was her "man."
After Words are included which contain: Letter from Sergeant Jack Knight, Grandmother Mary's Rhubarb Pie, and A final word from Amos Shetler. This is a fun read. Go for it!
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and David C. Cook for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.