Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?

In his most powerful book since What's So Amazing about Grace? and The Jesus I Never Knew, Yancey probes the most fundamental, challenging, perplexing, and deeply rewarding aspect---the very heartbeat---of your relationship with God: prayer. In theory, prayer is the essential human act, a priceless point of contact between you and the God of the universe. In practice however, prayer is often frustrating, confusing, and fraught with mystery. Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference? explores the mysterious intersection where you and God meet and relate. Writing as a fellow pilgrim, Yancey explores the questions surrounding prayer that you may wonder about but not know how to express. Above all, Yancey shows you how to pray to a God who sees what lies ahead of you, knows what lies within you, and who invites you into an eternal partnership with Him---through prayer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Review 1 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a book that is quite easy to understand.

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lois Flett
Location:Saskatchewan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a book that is quite easy to understand though I find it isn't a book to just sit down and read through it has quite a bit to think about and digest. It is answering lots of my questions. Our Son ordered it at the same time as we did without even knowing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Your prayer life will go to the next level

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
goodman81
Location:Farmerville, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillip Yancy "Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?" is thought-provocking making you think about your prayer life. It answered the question, "Is the Lord listening to me?" and why the Lord will give you another, better answer, sometimes. The Lord knows everything about you (your sins, your job, your finances, your girlfriend, or spouse, your illnesses, your friendships and relationships, etc.) and what you are going to pray to Him, even before you pray. Phillip Yancy took a hard look at prayer through his countless study of it through prayer books and scientific studies on prayer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Book!!

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mima
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book walks you through many different ways of praying..For those that struggle on how to pray, this book helps you put your thoughts into Prayers. Love the book.. A must read..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lyle Beabout
Location:Hilton, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anything by Philip Yancey is great--but this is one of his best! His look into prayer has helped me change my prayer life around from being tedious and mundane to being something more of a conversation with God. Our Heavenly Father is our Friend, and we should talk to Him just as we do our earthly friends. Yancey continues to write books on questions we are afraid to ask out loud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prayer..Does it make a difference? Wonderful book!

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
doggies
Location:Portsmouth,nh
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have led Bible studies before, a couple on the subject of prayer. I have also read books on prayer, some quite well-known.
This is the first one that I have found that talks about the reality of prayer .... the fears, the doubts, and the hopes of the praying person. There is no "acting" in this book. It tells it like it is on probably the most important part of a Christian's life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev. Owen Haring
This is a good book that deals with issues that don't have simple clear solutions. Perhaps the greatest message it brings is the focus one is to have towards God and not ourselves when we pray. See what God is doing in our lives, rather than wanting God to do something for us. It is a subtle but vital distinction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thing One
I love this book. It's not a book to read quickly but it sheds so much light on prayer. Mr. Yancey is one of my favorite writers. He gives me such "light bulb" moments!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Way
I'm currently reading Yancey's Prayer: Does it Make a Difference for the third time. It's the best book on prayer I've ever read. As always, Yancey is honest, transparent and authentic. His quoting of letters sent to him by people of all walks of life is a very interesting feature of the book. Yancey avoids cookie-cutter Christian cliches. He explores prayer from many viewpoints. I highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marlys Samler
This is a great book, says what I have often felt or thought about prayer. Very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stan
As an avid reader of anything by Philip Yancey, this book {although not finished} has not let me down. Instead, after Nouwen's thoughts on prayer this is welcom addition for answers to so many who keep asking why?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
While Philip Yancey writes about some profound theological concepts, he is not a theologian. In his own words, he writes "as a pilgrim, not an expert." His writing reflects a nonjudgmental, humble willingness to learn from others. His writing style is warm and engaging, and his thorough research results in many beneficial insights. All that said, not everyone will agree with every word he writes. The book offers many gems, including this one: "A sense of unworthiness hardly disqualifies me from prayer; rather, it serves as a necessary starting point. Apart from feeling unworthy, why call on God in the first place? Unworthiness establishes the ground rules, setting the proper alignment between broken human beings and a perfect God. I now consider it a motivation for prayer, not a hindrance." (page 185)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sophie Stanley
We are reading this book as a group and loving every bit of it. It doesn't give definative answers as much as it makes you think about the way you speak to the Lord and gives you ideas to improve your relationship with Him. I really like it and would recomend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joanne Bollig
I am reading this book in conjunction with leading the class at our church using the DVD/participant's guides. I've used excerpts from the book to help with class discussions. The book is a wonderful read on it's own, very insightfully the author takes you on his own journey discovering the value of prayer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Mcnair
All the issues that honest people who try to pray struggle with are addressed in this book.It's a great resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Beeler
As with all of Yancey's books, Prayer is excellent! I would encourage everyone to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Hunt
This book is an excellent addition for anyone taking the DVD course along with the workbook. It stands alone as a good book on prayer and why and how to pray
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Charles
We had to purchase another copy because we gave our first copy away, and we expect that we will be purchasing additional copies before too long - this exceptional book is that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
pezz
I think this is possibly the worst book I have ever read. It' almost morbid and fatalistic. It does not offer solid hope and confidence in a God who answers prayer.Buy anything else and read it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rayne
I am sorry to say, this book distressed me. I felt that Yancey went into far-too-vivid, gut-wrenching detail on "prayers not answered". I was going through an arid time in my prayer life, and, unfortunately, reading this book made things temporarily WORSE. I know this was not Yancey's intention, nor do many other readers seem to have reacted this way. I don't feel especially proud of my reaction. Nevertheless, I found this book hurtful rather than helpful. It seemed to start out in an interesting way, then got worse and worse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judi L Bowland
It is a wonderful book. Have to mark where to stop or I would keep reading and be finished in a very short time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>