Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6

Zondervan In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6

Five interactive sessions take you on a journey to the land and culture in which the disciples learned to follow Jesus, their Rabbi, so closely that they were covered by the dust kicked up by his feet. Discover how you can get dusty and be closer to your Rabbi, Jesus by doing what He does. Designed for use with Faith Lessons In the Dust of the Rabbi DVD, sold separately. In addition to the small group discussions, there are 5, in-depth personal studies per session.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Review 1 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
ozdoc
Location:McPherson KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Second time around for some of my class. I have all 12 DVDs. We study them over and over. The church uses each or parts of them for Communion meditation. Great insight! I wish there was a subject index for each or all of them for quick reference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I expected

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherry
Location:Cerritos, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had originally had this series on the old VHS tapes and the questions were on one sheet of paper and so, we typed them out and gave them to everyone to have for our study. I am glad that now we can each have our own copy of the study guide. It is a little too involved (all the 4 min for this and 10 min for that are really not necessary, maybe in a special leaders study guide, but not individual guides) I like that there is additional personal study options included.
We enjoyed the first 5 VHS so much that our Sunday School class decided to purchase the entire DVD set and when we are done, we are going to donate the series to our church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic used in a group with a facilitator.

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
mosturgis
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book when used with a group that has a facilitator and the dvd that goes with the book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inspired new way to look at discipleship.

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
biblesearcher
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My long time adult class loves this series. It's a new way to see the Bible through the eyes of the disciples. This vol 6 has given us a new surge of faith, discipleship and witness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Study - Eye opening and humbling

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
See what we, as westerners miss by not understanding the Jewish culture and the Torah. Awesome study of Jesus. Get the DVD with the same name and use them together! Fsbulous study!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The content is great

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
mienne
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Some of the pages were smeary and not easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good study of Jesus

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
nurse judy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful way to get into the meat of the ministry of Jesus Christ and how to stay focused on the gospels to help shape one's life of living in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible Study Resource

Date:January 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
phil48
Location:Oklahoma City
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I were first introduced to That The World May Know series back in the 90's when someone filled in for our Sunday School teacher. After we had a couple of lessons and videos in SS we wanted more and found the videos/DVD's and guides online at CBD and have used them in our homeschool, as a family time, and for our own Bible studies. We both grew up in church, but for some reason we have never heard the teaching that Ray VanderLaan communicates. The insights of culture, history, etc. he gives are amazing. I forgot which DVD explains the hot/cold/lukewarm churches -- maybe #5 -- but I promise it will probably not be the explanation you've heard all your life. We have played the videos over and over and always gain something new each time we view them. The only thing I don't like about the new guides are there are no "suggested responses" in them and I sometimes have a difficult time trying to figure out what point he is trying to make or what the question is implying. #6 guide is much smaller in size than 1-5, but 1-5 has the teacher's part plus the student's part. #6 guide also begins having daily devotionals/Bible studies which 1-5 didn't have for each segment/video. We bought through #12 for us for Christmas and hope they continue to be made. We can't get enough of his teaching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful study

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
luckyjoyce1
Location:Cincinnati, Oh
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study book helps you to put yourself in the picture with Jesus & the disciples. It isn't a difficult study but it takes time to do it. Our small group is taking three weeks to complete each of the sessions. We feel as though we are getting much more from the lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Walking with Jesus
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study is great for anyone who wants to have a deeper relationship with Jesus. Besides the video sessions, the book is full of side notes, scriptures, maps, pictures, etc of things to inspire one to be more like Jesus, His disciple. This product is a great value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kenneth
Location:Lockport, New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Excellent product! This is the second time we've used it in our "home group" (different people). "CBD"s purchase price was excellent and delivery was prompt as usual.
Thank you "CBD" for consistent service and excellent pricing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruby Harper
I am a Sunday School Teacher and this is the sixth DVD and guide book we have used. My class loves this material. It gives you indepth insight of the scriptures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy Kamena
This was a study we chose for a 6-7 week life group study. Unfortunately, we had to return because there was just too much material for that period of time. Appeared to be a great study buy just too long & involved for the period we had available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda Plastow
This is a wonderful study. It gives you a historical perspective so you can better understand why certain things happened in the Bible. Amazing for small groups!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leonhardt
Very good- compliments Ray's videos, which are EXCELLENT!! Thorough and somewhat repetitive study... but if you want to learn, this is one of the best study guides for the Faith Lesson Videos!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
First Church Of The Nazarene
Ordered this to go with the video. It looks like it will be a good companion to the video for small group discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
J. Tibbetts
This study is different from others we have experienced in the past. We just finished Purpose Driven Life and this study dovetails into that study. (However, this study "stands alone".) We didn't expect the indepth study of what discipleship meant in Jesus' time. This is a great aspect of the study...this perspective gives a whole new meaning to discipleship. It is not the type of study that you can cram the evening before the study group; it is set up to walk you through the week. I advise just letting group members walk through the study, giving priority to absorbing it rather than rushing to meet a set schedule. Be flexible and enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donald Wade
It really helps to recall the things discussed on the DVD, but it reinforces it with lots of added material that expands upon the subject matter on the DVD, therefore making it a wonderful tool for either an individual or small group study. A very good addition to the DVD's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Husley
This series really brings the study of discipleship to life and puts it in historical context. The DVD footage is magnificent and the content is intriguing. For those of us who may never have the opportunity to visit the Holy Lands in person, this may be the next best thing. Dr. Vander Laan takes viewers through the same lands where Christ, Himself, lived, walked and taught. Our Discipleship class is sure to receive a blessing from this great study series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for In The Dust Of The Rabbi Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hal Haire
We used this in a Wednesday evening, adult format and it was responded to very well by our people. The teaching is excellent and done from on-site locations in Israel and Turkey. Ray's approach is factual, interesting, and creative - not what you've typically heard before. Our people were impressed and attendance stayed high throughout. The workbooks are expensive, but they are well-done and include lots of valuable extra material - including daily devotions for the duration of the study!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>