Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IVP Books Finding God in The Shack - eBook

IVP Books Finding God in The Shack - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
Review 1 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
rita
This book is amazing, it explains The Shack so that there is a better understanding of why everything happened in the way it happen. Great jog.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jane Hasey
This book is a great assist in digesting the issues from "The Shack". Mr. Rauser is a very understandable theologian who guides the reader to the underlying issues and shows where in the Bible these same issues are discussed. I agree with him that "The Shack" is the converation starter our generation has needed to start really digesting meatier Christian issues and to come away with respect and deep love for our truly awesome God.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Butch Rhodes
Very good book. Will deepen your understanding of "The Shack" and all that was presented in that book.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stewart Marshall
Excellent theological analysis of The Shack. All too often people try and read intentions into someones writing. I think this books shows us the deep meaning and relevnace of "The Shack" in today's theology.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judee Yerion
Found this presentation of the subject easy to read and to understand. Will be most helpful when leading discussion groups over the book THE SHACK.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Muth
A neccesary companion to the shack. It helped with some questions I had when reading the shack. Valuable tool.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Garner
I am using both this book and one of a similar title by Roger E. Olsen as resources in facilitating a Sunday School class discussion of the issues raised in The Shack. Rauser's book is definitely better, both in its theological presentation and the examples he cites. Both have something to offer, but if you can only afford one...this is the one to buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
H R Walker
Rev. Rauser has enriched my understanding ofThe Shack and provided helpful information for a better realization of the theologicalaspects found in the book. This book would bea helping stepping stone to the setting up a discussion group to enrich readers enjoymentof The Shack.HR Walker
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
I have read and loved The Shack (and have given away 3 copies of it on my blog so far), reviewed it, encouraged many others to read it and defended it (not always very tactfully) from some that don't agree with it. This book is the missing link for those of us that love The Shack but can't always defend it properly or for those that might need a little clarification on why The Shack is a great book and not a theological nightmare. Randal Rauser is a theologian that has laid out, in an easy to read format, why The Shack has been a great tool for opening people's eyes to some amazing ideas and facts about God. He addresses many sticking points people have including -1) The Trinity2) Why bad things happen to good people3) Why God is portrayed like He is4) Much, much moreThis book will provide a lot of food for thought on its own. Take this for example when he is discussing God and Abraham with the whole sacrifice Isaac scenario..."If God knows all events before they occur, including every detail of Abraham's life, then what was the point of the testing? The point was not that GOD would learn Abraham was fully committed to him, but rather that ABRAHAM would learn from and be strengthened by his own faithfulness." (page 29) Grab a copy of this book and delve into the theological eyeopener that many of us lovingly refer to as "The Shack".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Finding God in The Shack - eBook
This review is fromFinding God in the Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
I suppose I should tell you right up front that I loved William Youngs The Shack! I know that, because I was so deeply moved by that novel, I was completely ready to embrace the title Im about to review.Finding God in The Shack by Randal Rauser is a brilliant analysis of the novel The Shack by William Young. Rausers insightful perspective illuminates concepts creatively addressed in The Shack, such as the Trinity. After reading Rausers commentary, I had to step back and admit, sadly, that Christians really do appear monotheistic! The novel The Shack bursts all preconceptions in this area. I was incredibly surprised to learn that several areas were being debated with regard to The Shack. One of the most surprising debates was that Young was promoting goddess worship because two of the characters portraying the Trinity were female. Personally, I feel that this idea is completely off the mark! I was impressed with how the author didnt ignore a less popular opinion, but instead brought it forth clearly and thoughtfully and presented his views in a respectful way. I was fascinated by Rausers words depictinghow off our perception of God really is, as well as how he demonstrated godly character by eloquently defending a beautiful work of controversial fiction with grace and intelligence.I would definitely use this book in conjunction with The Shack to facilitate a book group. I am very interested to learn what William Young thinks of this book. Rausers writing has inspired me in a myriad of ways from pursuing further education in apologetics to being a more thoughtful parent. I highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.