Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series

Zondervan The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series

Jesus communicated deep spiritual truths through simple, vivid, and engaging stories. Woven from stuff of everyday life, His parables made the kingdom of God understandable and accessible to his listeners.

The Deeper Connections series is written and taught by biblical experts—six professors with specialized areas of knowledge. This volume consists of six sessions, each taught by a different instructor, and consists of three components: historical and cultural background, an engaging, close look at the biblical text and its meaning, and accurate, encouraging and challenging applications to life today. Approx. 170 minutes. The Participant's Guide will help you get the most out of The Life of Jesus.

Sessions:

  • The Coming Of The Kingdom (Matt 13:24-33)
  • The Grace Of The Kingdom (Luke 7:36-50)
  • The God Of The Kingdom (Luke 15:11-32)
  • The Demand Of The Kingdom (Matt. 13:44-46)
  • The Mission Of The Kingdom (Matt. 22:1-14)
  • The Fulfillment Of The Kingdom (Matt. 25:31-46)
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Review 1 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good learning tool to seeing thing different!

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
4jaz
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are a sm. group watching this DVD. Everyone seems to be getting something out of it for all levels of learning. Some of the studies are so incredible that you have to share them with others. Easy to work with. It's been going house to house with the home owner leading. So it;'s easy.
Only marked the quality down because it is kind of weird that the speakers never look at the camera.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for adult Sunday school

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
ida mae
Location:Northeast Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you think you can't learn anything more about the parables, then this is for you! Has a lot about the historical context of the parables that you may not know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A little too much 'literary license'

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teja
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The idea behind the series is great, diving deeper into Jesus' parables and applying them to today. My problem with this series as with a number of otherwise good small group curriculum is the literary license some use to 'add' to the gospel. For example in the second topic, The Two Debtors, Dr. Burge does a great job giving insight into how societal custom and Jewish law played such a huge role in how the the woman was viewed and how that impacted not only the parable, but how those listening would understand it. The problem is he takes it too far, by adding conjecture and possibilities and passing them off as fact. Some of what he suggests might have happen, maybe even everything, but the fact is, it isn't recorded in scripture and since he wasn't there, he should qualify his additions as such. Nothing more than possibilities. Instead, what we get instead of the Gospel according to Luke, is the Gospel according to Dr. Burge. If this were a movie, he can have that license. Considering this is a small group series being viewed by many people with all types of biblical knowledge, he and everyone else should stick to what is written and known, not to what is thought and suspected.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
J. Barrett
Zondervan's "Deeper Connections" is an excellent resource for the church or any small group. Matt Williams, the general editor of the series, has gathered together a solid group of scholars who are experts in their fields, but who can also communicate to the church. The series contains a dvd and participant's guide (both purchased separately). The dvd and guide are designed to follow a three-part pattern: a close look at the original meaning of the biblical text, attention to the historical and cultural background, and an encouraging and challenging application of the text's meaning for today. Thus, each study is broken up into three short segments that take small groups deeper into various texts of the Gospels. Between each of these teaching segments, there is time for group discussion. Jarrett Stevens, the host, introduces each section from a different location in Israel which is always interesting and helpful.So far my small group has gone through the two dvds and it has produced a lot of valuable and fruitful conversations. The teachers have all shown a great balance of challenging us to understand the texts and applying them to our lives. The dvd allows room for discussion, and the participants guide is clear and practical as it helps initiate conversations with relevant and challenging questions. The participant's guide also has a section for five days of personal reflection that centers on the text that was just studied.Overall, Deeper Connections is a great Bible study series that challenges both our hearts and our minds and seeks to deepen our relationship with Jesus. It has definitely risen above my expectations. While I have often felt like other Bible studies (not all) try to transform lives through good concepts with a Bible quote here or there, this series is firmly rooted Scripture. As it stands, my small group plans on purchasing the other dvd studies.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol
Our small group liked the format of this study. The DVD teaching averages about 30 minutes each session and is divided into several segments with questions for discussion in between. The format keeps it interesting. The teaching is well done and provides excellent insight into the culture and traditions of the day. The discussion questions lead you to look at the parables as a member of Jesus' original audience. The new insight you have gained allows you to understand the imagery Jesus is using and to extract deeper meaning from the parable. There is no advance preparation needed for this study. However, there are five days of application included to do the following week. Reading these scriptures and answering the questions help you to apply the principle Jesus taught through the parable to your own life. This study is great for all groups regardless of their level of Biblical knowledge. It can be used effectively regardless of the commitment level of individual group members.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet
Our group of 8 ladies loved this DVD. It was enlightening, informative, and really helped to bring more understanding of the parables.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jody West
My Sunday School Class is almost to the end of this study. The content is very good and interesting! But the presentation is a bit dry and not having eye contact from the speakers is a little frustrating. However, we have enjoyed the speakers' insight into the parables.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chuck
I am currently leading this study with my Sunday School class and we think it is outstanding. The cultural insight and biblical context that the men use help to explain each parable in a way that we never knew, or thought of, before. Each man does a great job unpacking the meaning that Jesus was trying to portray to His listeners and they explain it in a way that any level of Bible reader can understand. I did tweak some of the study questions for my group, mainly because we usually didn't have enough time for the study the way it is lined out in the participants guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Hand
in depth study of the parables with new insight. good for single study as well as group would recommend for both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rod Matthews
Visually stunning and theologically sound. The photography and content are quite good. Two suggestions, the audio is not always clear and the sound levels not consistent between segments within the sessions. Sometimes you have to turn the volume up quite a bit to clearly hear the dialogue, then turn it down for the next segment. Also the instructors are reading text from a prompter and it is bit off putting to have them read and not make eye contact with the viewer. These are minor suggestions. This is a very good series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Parables of Jesus DVD, Deeper Connections Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Don
I led this bible study and everyone in my small group loved the study it really gave you a history at the time of Jesus and applied it to modern times and went a little further and gave you suggested reading for 5 more days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.