Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision

Zondervan Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision

What is the one aspect of this broken world that, when you see it, touch it, get near it, you just can't stand? Very likely, that firestorm of frustration reflects your holy discontent, a reality so troubling that you are thrust off the couch and into the game. It's during these defining times when your eyes open to the needs surrounding you and your heart hungers to respond that you hear God say, "I feel the same way about this problem. Now, let's go solve it together!"

Bill Hybels invites you to consider the dramatic impact your life will have when you allow your holy discontent to fuel instead of frustrate you. Using examples from the Bible, his own life, and the experiences of others, Hybels shows how you can find and feed your personal area of holy discontent, fight for it when things get risky, and follow it when it takes a mid-course turn. As you live from the energy of your holy discontent, you'll fulfill your role in setting what is wrong in this world right!

Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
12 out of 1486%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Review 1 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent fire in the heart starting book.

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
surfergirl
Location:Harlingen, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was so good to read about people that I have admired over the years and learn the depths to which they have served.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Bill Hybels

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:Kanata, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book gets to the heart of tapping into and discovering what it is that drives our passion toward carrying out an effective ministry to benefit others. Hybels points out that the road isn't easy, but it's always worth it. He reminds us that we are never alone in our pursuit, we are partnering with God to carry out His purposes on earth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is that one thing that gets to you? That one thing that's wrong with the world that you just can't stand? This is what Bill Hybels calls your Holy Discontent. It's the thing that makes you take action. For some it may be poverty. For others, racial injustice. No matter what your holy discontent may be, Hybels challenges you to find it, feed it, and fight for it.
This is an excellent book! If I had any doubt what my holy discontent was before I started this book, I don't now. It stayed on my mind the entire time. Bill Hybels gives many examples of people, both well-known and not-so-well-known, who have found, fed, and fought for their holy discontent. These stories are encouraging and uplifting. It's great to have a name for that heart-breaking passion that stirs the soul to action: holy discontent.
Read it... you won't be sorry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
shepherd13
Location:Alberta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's nice that Mr. Hybels is trying to encourage people to be passionate about doing good things but it was a very self centered book. He mostly talks about You needing to decide to do good things and go out and do them on your own. He fails to mention that you need God and the Holy Spirit to help with that passion. I agree with the other reviews that said it could be a secular book other than the few times it mentions God. I was hoping it would be a book about praying to the Holy Spirit to give us a passion to do good in this world but it is never even mentioned.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!!!

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Location:Queens. NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book opened my eyes to a lot of things within myself...I can truly say, after reading this book I am now sure that I have found my " Holly Discontent"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
gootgirl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely marvelous book--have purchased 10 and given them away--all love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

spoke to me personally.

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
sally
Location:Jones, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has helped to give me a "name" for my passion to serve God and has energized me to refuel that passion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!!!!!!!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brandon Jones
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill Hybels really gives a very practical call for us to get up and do something for God. This book has helped me and is helping me to do what God has called me to do. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to be a doer of the Word and not just a hearer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Holy Discontent Rocks!

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Schneider
Location:Hoover, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill Hybells, although not the best author in the world, has a keen way of helping the average person realize why they get frustrated and how to channel that frustration into positive action. It is a quick read, one to two sittings and very motivational.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What about Christ?

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Megan Huddleston
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book was very inspirational and challenging with regard to good social service but seemed to be lacking with regard to Christ. He talked a lot about "Popeye moments" (a point when you can't sit by and watch anymore) without ever addressing what brings a person to that (*Holy* Discontent) point, which is Christ irrevocably changing their heart. And that foundational relationship is the fuel that enables on-fire individuals to avoid burn out. To borrow a line I once heard, "Satan isn't opposed to good morals. He's opposed to Jesus Christ." It is very noble to be an optimistic go-getter/server but if Christ isn't the focus and desired end result then I would surely call it "Good Discontent" but pause before calling it "Holy Discontent." If it helps at all, I went through part of a very similar book that appeared to be more Christ-relationship focused, entitled "Visioneering" by Andy Stanley.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ally
Location:New Jersey
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holy Discontent is the perfect book to read when you know there is something that is stirring in your heart but you just don't know what to do with it! This book directs you to ways to pin point what your holy discontent is and how to do something about it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read!

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sniper
Location:St. Augustine, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very well writen. Makes you really want to stop what your doing and with Gods guidence and blessing go out there and attack the thing that is just driving you crazy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent easy read packed with inspiration!

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa in MN
Location:Roseville, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just went on my first mission trip to Haiti in November and my heart was broken wide open for my brothers and sisters in Haiti. One of my leaders on the trip recommended I read this book! WOW - I can't say enough about how much this book was able to put into words exactly how I am feeling! A must read! Can read in just a few hours - and gain insight and inspiration for a lifetime! I am going to order some to give to fellow missionaries and friends and family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book; it inspires me.

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Poteau, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book challenges you to find out what "wrecks" you as a Christian and to then move toward it. It is challenging and yet also tells you how to pursue your passion for Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
This book presents a great encouragement to those of us who feel the Holy Spirit's urging to do something. Thank you Bill Hybels for insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dan Larson
I appreciated this material very much. I thought it was very deep and very effective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mel
Wonderful book! I read it after I returned from Haiti following the earthquake of January 2010. I've since ordered 15 more copies for fellow team members who are dealing with the need/desire to go back and do more. I highly recommend this book for anyone who desires to accomplish what God is calling you to do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kevin Doepp
This book will either change your view or help shape your view on making a difference as believers in this world. We all have something that burns us up and this book shares stories of others who have gone before us and inspires us to go ahead. Hybels does a great job in his presentation and will inspire anyone who reads this to go after their holy discontent with passion. I learned a ton from this book including what really fuels my fire. I highly recommend this read to everyone. It is a 10!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Victor Pinelli
As described: NO markings NO bent pages.Excellent condition. Quick shipping.Nice price. Recommend Seller Highly !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Holy Discontent: Fueling the Fire That Ignites Personal Vision
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve Gobble
This book is very enlightening. I would recommend it to anyone who desires a closer walk with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>