Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook

Crossway Books & Bibles A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook

Have Sunday worship services, small group meetings and a full slate of Christian activities failed to satisfy your hunger for God? If so, best-selling author and noted pastor John Piper has just the remedy: the ancient Christian practice of fasting and prayer. In this helpful guide Piper will explain the biblical foundations of fasting and provide you with step-by-step instructions on how to incorporate fasting into your life. Don't miss this opportunity to develop a deeper Hunger for God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
Review 1 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exelent purchase!

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
roblesed
Location:Manati P.R.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A must read for all lesders and christian groups.Great for group studies and especially for all those called to ministries.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Hunger for God.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Chase
I was told this book was most helpful for losing weight. My wife and I are going through a weight loss course, a bible based program. This book is recommended reading, I bought 2 copies so we didn't have to share the book. My wife gave up and stopped reading her copy I am continuing to read the book. There is so much detail and repetition and a very boring read it is not blessing me yet and I am 1/3 way through.
-12points
3of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Hunger for God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cj Scott
This is one of the best treatments of the subject of fasting for the times in which we live. Piper's style is readable, if a bit wordy. It is not necessarily an easy book to read since for me, there was conviction on almost every page. As most of us know, truly beneficial conviction is sometimes difficult to hear. The service from Christianbook.com was superb as always.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Hunger for God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Devers
I ordered this book, "A Hunger For God" by Don Piper, because it was recommended by a Bible study course I am taking. I found the book very helpful and informative. If you want to know more about fasting as it relates to Scripture and the teachings of Jesus Christ, I highly recommend this book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Hunger for God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Thomas Flournoy
Awesome,I bought ten of them to pass out, I believe every Christian living in America should read this.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Hunger for God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tim Raymond
To be completely honest, I was disappointed by this book. I love Piper and have read the majority of his published writings. Consequently, I was expecting A Hunger for God to be on par with his other works. In my humble opinion, it was not. To me it seemed disjointed, comparatively shallow, and surprizingly impractical. I also found some of his uses of Old Testament passages questionable. Having said all that, it's still better than 97% of the books out there and apparently others found it more beneficial that I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Hunger for God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2003
Customer Avatar
Patricia C.
Excellent, excellent book! Piper has expanded my understanding of what fasting is really about. He explains almost every aspect of it in a way that anyone can understand. He even gives suggestions on how to PRACTICALLY apply fasting to our everyday lives. Read this book if you want to understand true fasting!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Hunger for God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2003
Customer Avatar
Paula Elarionoff
I am taking the time to comment on this book because it is especially eye opening. It was the first of Piper's books that I've read...and I plan to read many more of this incredible author. "Hunger for God" will always be among the most recommended book, and John Piper, my favorite author and teacher!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Hunger for God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2002
Customer Avatar
Derek Spalla
John Piper explains the meaning of fasting, touching on prayer and the glory of God. You can't read this book without being challenged to fast and fast with purpose that leads to action.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.