Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Moody Publishers Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001

With one ring of the phone, Lisa Jefferson went from GTE Airfone supervisor, suburban wife, and mother to the listening ear of a nation shattered by tragedy. Called tells the gripping account of 9/11 from her vantage point - from the moment she took the call from Todd Beamer on United Airlines Flight 93 to hearing the immortal words, Let's roll!. Her life was transformed simply by answering a telephone call. Jefferson sends a stirring challenge to all of us: whether it comes during quiet obscurity or international adversity, we must be prepared to answer God's call. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Review 1 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliantly written.

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bageera
Location:England
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was gripped from start to finish. Will give as present at Christmas. I am sure my Brother in law will love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for everyone

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dawn Corbin
Location:Hop Bottom, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 10 of these to share at church without even reading it. I just felt the Lord was saying buy 10. Dispite the sad circumstances that brought about this book, I was overwhelmed by the good feeling I got from reading it. It touched me in a way not many books do. Everyone that I gave a copy to called to say how much the book touched them. It is especially good to see how the Lord can use us if we are willing to let him. If we are willing he will give us the ability!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inspiring story

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have about an hour or so to spare, a good way to fill it would be to read Called by Lisa Jefferson and Felicia Middlebrooks. Lisa Jefferson was the Verizon AirFone supervisor who took the call from Todd Beamer from Flight 93 on September 11, 2001. Lisa's life was forever changed by a conversation that began with, "Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked," and ended with those now-famous words from Todd Beamer, "Let's roll!"
Lisa is confident that God put her in just the right spot at just the right time to handle the difficult challenge. As she and Todd spent those fifteen minutes on the phone, their common faith provided a connection much deeper. Her ability and willingness to share the experience with Lisa Beamer (Todd's wife) and others in Todd's family provided for them a sense of comfort. This previously quiet and private woman has since had many opportunities to publicly share the lessons God has brought to her. Lisa Jefferson's story of faith is a blessing and an inspiration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tricia Wilson
Location:Augusta, Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found it to be kind of boring and too many accolades for writer. I was looking for a book that pointed to a mighty God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another memory of 911

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Louise Garner
Location:St. James, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Another memory of 911 but from a totally different perspective.
A good story and a true one - written well and is interesting.
One to share with friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Ann
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book! Easy reading, read it in a day. Its a must read book! In a horrific situation God's peace can be there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book tugs at your heart strings.

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicky
Location:St. Albans, ME
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Watching God work is always amazing. It is difficult not to be brought to tears when reliving the tragedy of that day up close and personal through this lady, Lisa, who was caught up in the middle of it. Her courage and strength that came from God that enabled her to stay on the phone with Todd to help him and also to help her through the aftermath just tugs at your heart strings and makes you want to praise the Lord. This book is a prime example of how with God all things are possible and that his hand is there guiding us and helping us. This is a wonderful book. I highly recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Boring

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ricki Zaracki
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I expected this book to be more about Todd Beamer and the events surrounding his call to GTE Airfone, and not so much about her personally. It felt to me like she was bragging about being involved in that last call. I just didn't care for the tone of the book at all. I read 3/4 of the book and tossed it. Very disappointing.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I have read in a long time

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Hannah
Location:Durham, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this book. It was good to hear about what went on behind the scenes and how God was in control. Makes you think - would you be ready to step up when God called you in an emergency situation? Highly recommended for anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Read it then pass it on

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Brunett
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great book that is a quick read.
I really liked the details about the things the author and others have been doing since 911.
I have already passed it around to Christian friends, and now plan to leave it at the gym for anyone to borrow during a workout.
This book is having a far reaching affect for God's Kingdom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Augustine
Excellent book-shows us how God was there to help encourage and strengthen people in the midst of 9-11
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Yesterday was september 11th. Instead of watching tv, seeing the planes hit over and over and hearing the thousands of names of people lost in this tragedy, I read this book to my family. It makes the events personal and better to grasp, especially for my children. It raised questions and we sat together talking, praying in remembrance. This will become our 11 september-family-habit, just as we read the diary of Anne Frank together, once a year, to remember another immense tragedy.Books like this one are hard to find; I dont want my children to be overwhelmed by the horror and images, but I still want them to learn and nerver forget what happened.Thank you, Lisa. Our prayers go out to everyone. We will never forget!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mae Benting
I started reading the book the evening after I received it and could not put it down. By the time I put the book down to go to bed, I had read at least half of the book. It is easy to read and extremely interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dawn Dehart
This was xcellent reading. Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Glen Wood
The book is a quick read, but that doesn't mean it was easy to get through. I found it impossible to put down, while at the same time crying inside for what Lisa went through while assisting Todd at the most difficult time of his life. Besides the gut wrenching story of our neighbors dealing hand to hand with terrorists, it also has tough questions for each person's life. Excellent book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marianna Bodnar
I Love It.It A Very good book.My Mother & Sister Read LET'S ROLL!.That is How i know about Lisa Jefferson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Petzoldt
I haven't finished reading this book but it is great. i just cried sometimes. can't wait to finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dee East
Excellent book detailing the last moments of heroes to our America. May more of our citizens stand up and be counted to bless instead of curse our wonderful USA.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Called: Hello, my name is Mrs. Jefferson. I understand your plane is being hijacked. 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Hill
What a great book and price! This really makes us think about the folks we didn't think about at the time of 9/11. I read this in one night and could not put it down!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.