Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northfield Publishing The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships

Northfield Publishing The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships

Just as you have a distinct love language, you also hear and express the words and gestures of apology in a different language. It's not a matter of will-it's a matter of how. By helping people identify the languages of apology, this groundbreaking study clears the way toward healing and sustaining vital relationships.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
Review 1 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it helped me make a breakthrough

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
chickie
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was an eye-opener. I was unaware that people receiving apologies had different expectations. I also was able to identify my expected apology language. I thought we were all on the same page.
The book helped me to apologize for my part when I felt that I was wronged. I confronted the person who wronged me in a very aggressive manner. After reading this book, I was able to see that my approach was hurtful, so I was able to sincerely apologize for my manner.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:Regina, Saskatchewan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this book not only for myself but to lend out to other people that are hurting in this way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading for couples

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Maysville, Ky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book opened up my eyes to various relationships & communication differences. I had read Gary Chapman's 5 Love Languages, but didn't apply it in the area of apologies. Couples could get so much out of this book & how to deal with arguments in your life. This also applies to any relationship where there is a disagreement.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Styles of Apology

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
PatWKirk
Location:Kansas
Gender:female
Have you ever had a disagreement with spouse, friend, or coworker and the apology given didn’t mend your hurt feelings? Or maybe you tried to apologize only to have your apology rejected. Possibly your apology didn’t match the style of the receiver.
Gary Chapman and Jennifer Thomas discuss the various apology styles in The Five Languages of Apology. Apologies can range from a simple “I’m sorry” to restitution. One man, successful in his lifetime dream of a sports career, had an affair. To make amends, he gave up his dream and quit sports, thus taking himself out of temptation’s way. His wife didn’t ask him to do that, but it saved his marriage.
Sometimes the receiver responds well to a gift. Another recipient might feel offended.
Chapman writes like an educated man. He doesn’t use jargon or three-syllable words, but The 5 Languages of Apology is not a conversation over the table at Starbucks. The book reads well but the style is a little dry.
I received this book from Moody Press.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It helped me to know how to heal broken friends.

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mark Massie
Location:Ironton, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will recommend this product to all of my friends so they can heal their broken relationships too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy with my purchase!

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
dawnb
Location:Belhaven, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another great book by Gary Chapman! The price was great as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've ever wondered whether or not you had a hard heart and were unforgiving, this book can really make sense of how we process information, and what "works" individually. It details the different types of apology, and why some types can bounce off our heart like popcorn, while others make it melt like butter (I know, tres cheesy)! You get a solid picture of what type of apology means the most to you, so you can do away with self blame and get to the heart of forgiveness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

divorce let's end the drama & trama

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
pastor wendy
Location:Panama City Beach, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if couples were willing to implement the biblical principles found in this book we could end divorce in this nation! powerful tool, we gave one to our entire leadership at The Legacy Family Church. Thanks CBD!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Courtney
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this book! I learned my sweet Husband's apology language and will put it in to practice. Great price and quality too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chip
Location:Monterey, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As with all of the Chapman books, this is a good read with lots of help and ideas.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an interesting concept

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
sandy
Location:Angola, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will help me in my counseling practice to help clients see the importance of apology and understand what those they have offended most need to hear from them to reconcile the relationship.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Millie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gary Chapman is an awesome author and speaker! This book is a great follow up to his previous Love Language books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good insights in this book

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr Bob
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will try to use this with my SS class.
I think we can all see ourselves in this text.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamaruth
Location:Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book for those who:
1)Don't know why their apology was not accepted.
2) Know an apology is due, but do not know how to start
3)Need examples
GREAT BOOK! Helps with forgivness, too!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
trinity
Location:Richland, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. Our "Unofficial Ladies' Small Group" decided on going through this book after two of us read parts of it. Apologies are hard to do and know you are really communicating with the other person. The authors have written some very practical means of expressing your apologies and the importance of being sincere.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave And Debbie Milligan
Great book, I also give this book to couples when I do marriage counseling, thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Kibbles
Excellent book on forgiveness and knowing your language of apology. I would highly recommend this book to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janie Ramsey
Easy to follow Instruction book for healing broken relationships broken by hurts, anger, and carelessly spoken words. Great for Counselors, Pastors or anyone who deals with angry relationships.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
TracyT
This book especially along with "The Five Love Languages should be mandatory reading for every married couple! We give as wedding gifts these two books to everyone getting married in our sphere of influence.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships
This review is fromThe Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Book Bargains & Previews
Along the same lines of the other books by Gary Chapman, The Five Languages of Apology takes a relational issue and then helps the reader see if from different perspectives. For this book Chapman teamed up with psychologist Jennifer Thomas to discuss a persons "apology language" - that is what an individual believes represents a real apology. The authors stress needing to know the "language" of the person you are apologizing to in order for the apology to be effective.This book really made me think. When I apologize for something I usually just want to get it over with as quick and painlessly as possible; I rarely think of the type of apology the offended party needs. Needless to say, my perspective is changed after reading this book.I highly recommend this book. It will improve your relationships.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>