Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Growth Press Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God

New Growth Press Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God

As a parent you know it's important to pass the Gospel story on to your children, yet we live in a busy world filled with distractions. Long Story Short, by family pastor Marty Machowski will help you pass on Biblical truth in just ten minutes a day, five times a week through fun, devotional readings and activities. Long Story Short is suitable for children from preschool to high school.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Review 1 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A gem!

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laurel R
Location:Chico, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible study does what all should- show the Bible as a cohesive unit all pointing to Christ. The New Testament interprets the Old, not vice-versa.
Love that it walks through so many passages of scripture and is easy to understand for my 5 year old. Definitely recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even better than expected

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MatsuMom
Location:Alaska
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm glad I ordered 2 of these (one for myself, and one for my sister) and I might even order more for friends! We are new to doing a family devotional, and was a little worried how this new tradition would be received by my kids and husband. We did our first devotional after we ate dinner, and it couldn't have gone smoother. The content and questions kept my kids talking and they had such great input and ideas! After we were done with the first one, my kids begged me to do another one, and the next day they both said they couldn't wait for devotional time!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple, Christ-centered

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie in Colorado
Location:Denver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using this to begin each day of homeschool w/my children. Generating good discussion and focusing them on how Christ is seen throughout scripture.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very thorough, kid level devotions

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
bbgd
We are really enjoying this book as a family. We have a Kindy girl and 2nd grade boy. I do believe that this book would go over the heads of children younger than this, but this is great for the stages our kids are in now.
It isn't fast- I think we're on week 3 and still in the beginning (and I mean beginning/creation) of genesis. But it is packed with nuances that get glossed over when the stories are told/read their usual ways.
I'd recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best I've Found

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Energy4Him
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm impressed with this family devotion book as it is the first and only one that my family has used which I've found is interesting and thought provoking for every family member. Gets us into God's Word as a family and then gets us talking with simple yet thought-provoking questions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I was looking for.

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
kirlei
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's hard to find good, solid and Biblical devotions that are age appropriate for 3-6 year olds. They are either too watered down or the presentation is at a comprehension level above that of this age range. This devotion is family friendly, Biblically accurate as well as interesting and challenging enough for 3-6 year olds. The only thing I would change is to make it a 7 day week each week instead of a 5 day week each week.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I was looking for!!!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Molly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what I was looking for to spend more scripture based time with my three children, ages 3-7.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I was looking for

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mom in Florida
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very impressed with the purchase of this book. It provides short, simple, easy to understand devotionals that are chronological in the Bible. I love how it ties the old testament stories to Jesus and how they apply to today. That is what I was looking for. This easily can be used for any age group of children or teens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helping children see Christ in all of Scripture

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Life Long Reader
Location:Howard City, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are a lot of devotionals out there for kids but not all of them are worth using with your family. Too often we see childrens devotionals that are centered on teaching good morals but not necessarily the whole story of the Bible. They don't all teach God's unfolding redemptive plan through Jesus Christ.
Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotionals to Draw Your Family to God by Marty Machowski is a devotional book worth it's weight in gold. It is gospel-centered and therefore Jesus-centered. Rooted in the Old Testament, this book helps parents take their children through its major stories. Each week grounds you in the Old Testament and then links you to the New Testament to show you how Jesus is at the center and brings it all together. This book moves through all parts of the Bible like Psalms and Revelation to show that Jesus is whispered and proclaimed on every page by every author.
The book is structured with 78 weeks and 5 devotionals per week. Each week has a theme and each day has a theme verse. Parents can read the verse for the day and use the assisting paragraph for discussion. There are usually three follow up questions related to the days verse. Knowing there are questions to answer will encourage your children to pay attention and learn more. Each days devotional closes with a suggestion on how to use the verses content in your closing prayer with your kids.
Westminster Bookstore has this great childrens devotional for only $13.39! Get one for family and pass it along to your friends and family with younger children!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Long Story Short: Ten-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent devo book, even for a 3 year old

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
bipy
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I just started this devo book with my 3 year old. I love how it doesn't just teach the Bible stories but it also has application points and relates the story (even old testament ones) to Jesus. Just in the first two weeks of learning about the Creation and the Fall, we also learned about what it means to delight in God's word (Ps 1), Names of Jesus (Is 9:6), and much more. I am delighting in this book by reading it with my son, enjoying it, and I can't wait to read it with him every morning.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.