Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sheaf House Publishers Mirrored Image - eBook

Sheaf House Publishers Mirrored Image - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirrored Image - eBook
Review 1 for Mirrored Image - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great read while on vacation

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carmela
Location:Hamilton, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book had all the aspects of a good thriller. It will keep you in suspense. Nice love story too. Very clean and pleasant reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every once in a while you run across a great book

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every once in a while you run across a book that holds you captive. The cover, the blurb on the back, and most especially the book. This is one of those.
In a way, Mirrored Image reminds me of Alice K Arenz, aka A.K. Arenz. As A.K. Arenz, Alice wrote cozy mysteries--the kind that keep you grinning while you read and enjoy the mystery. As Alice, it's spine-tingling, edge of the seat, keep you guessing until the last chapter writing.
Cassie Chase has a career she loves--a columnist writing light-hearted articles about whimsical happenings around the country. Her editor and friend David thought she wasted her talents, so he threw her into investigating and writing about the murder of a young woman who just happens to look amazingly like Cassie.
Even more amazing--this look-alike victim knew her editor, the publisher of the newspaper, her sister-in-law, her brother, and her editor's secretary. None of them ever mentioned this woman who so amazingly resembled Cassie.
To top that off, her house is robbed--sort of--the same day as the murder. Except instead of taking anything, the intruder sleeps in her bed. Otherwise, the house is cleaner than when she left it. Things get stranger when someone apparently wants to also do harm to her.
Cassie butts heads with a handsome policeman as separately and together they search for clues. Detective Jeff McMichaels would like to work on his own, but he finds he has to take her along to keep her safe.
Did the murderer kill the wrong person? Will she be next? Should you buy the book and find out for yourself?
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mirrored Image - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great mystery/thriller

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book reminds me a lot of the detective mystery tv shows I like to watch, even though it takes place in the 1980s before forensics and DNA came out. A police detective and a newspaper reporter work together to solve the mystery of who murdered the school teacher. In the process, they discover they are attracted to each other and that the reporter is in danger of becoming the next victim. Also, these two uncover a lot of small town secrets, any of which could have led to the murder.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mirrored Image - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disappointed

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had never heard of this author so I decided to purchase this book after reading the description. The storyline is a very good idea, but the writing just wasn't there. I found myself going back several times to reread paragraphs. The writing was not awful but also not good. I wsn't glued to the book as I usually am with my favorite authors. She jumps around so much without doing it naturally. I found a few times while she talking to someone she then says something she doesn't want them to hear. I'm thinking why did she say that and then in the next sentence you find out the had left the room. That would have been nice to know sooner. Another time she is in her office with two other people. They are having a heated discusson then all of a sudden she calls for a taxi and leaves her office. How and when did the conversation end and when did they leave her office. I just really could not get into this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A mystery lovers dream

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like most lovers of mystery stories, I like to guess where the author is going. But from the first few chapters I found myself asking. “Where did Alice come up with all these twists and turns?” She kept me guessing until the very last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twists and Turns

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has more twists and turns than when my hair was permed! Just as you think you have one thing figured out, Ms Arenz adds something new to the mystery. Then to keep it even more interesting, she adds enough romance to make you fantasize how the relationship will blossom (and all without being sappy). I especially appreciated her characterizations which developed well with the mystery. I seldom consider a novel worth 5 star, but this one definitely is!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynette Sandler, a dead woman, bears a striking resemblance to reporter Cassandra Chase, who has been assigned to cover the murder. Cassie’s home is repeatedly broken into and her life is threatened. Will she be the next victim?
As Cassie investigates Lynette’s past, she learns their lives have an unusual number of connections and people who knew both of them, including her brother, never mentioned Lynette to her. Both women kept secrets, which may have put them in danger.
Add to the mix Detective McMichaels, who reluctantly falls for the reporter he spars with as they both work to uncover the murderer.
This mystery unfolds like a bizarre nightmare. Readers will keep the pages flying to reach the conclusion and discover who actually killed Lynette and attacked Cassie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An intriguing "not so cozy" mystery.

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Engstrom
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be prepared to come up for air after reading this book. Unlike Arenz’ previous cozy mysteries, there’s nothing cozy about Mirrored Image. Intrigue is woven like fine lace from the very first page.
There’s an old adage that everyone has a double, an exact look-a-like. But, in the same town? Cassandra Chase is a feisty reporter. Lynette Sandler was a beloved schoolteacher. The two women couldn’t have been more diverse in personalities, tastes and lifestyles. Except for their faces. Why was the sweet-natured schoolteacher murdered so cruelly? Could it possibly have been a case of mistaken identity? When Detective Jeff McMichaels reluctantly listens to the information his partner has dug up about the Chase family his interest is piqued. He leans forward with hands folded to quietly announce, “The plot sickens.”
The author is truly masterful at twists and turns and innuendoes. That may sound simplistic; but there is nothing simple about the plot.
I highly recommend this engrossing book. Just don’t expect its mystery to be cozy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mirrored Image blew me away!

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Kingston Springs, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My goodness, this one kept me on the edge of my seat from page one to the very end! Alice K. Arenz is sheer genius. To spin a tale like this is no easy task, but she did it flawlessly. Each of the characters were complex, and the author made you pay acute attention to their every conversation and nuance. She wove their pasts expertly into their present-day stories, each more compelling than the other. LOVE when that happens in a book!
There are whodunits, there are mysteries, and then there's MIRRORED IMAGE. Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. Keep 'em coming, Alice!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun challenge for mystery-solvers!

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karin
Location:Northern Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Make sure you're paying attention when you pick up this book! Arenz take two virtually unrelated characters and weaves a complex web of connections and motivations. I had a hard time putting the book down as I tried to figure out how it all worked together. I had to flip back a couple of times to keep all of the characters straight, but Arenz keeps the them interesting and the plot driving in this fun, suspense-filled mystery. A must-read for the person who enjoys the challenge of figuring it all out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This one will keep you turning the pages

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha Rogers
Location:Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suppose you awakened one day to see someone who resembles you on the front page of the newspaper? Not so bad unless that person happened to have been murdered. This is the premise of Alice K. Arenz’s newest release, Mirrored Image. When Cassie Chase’s editor sees the picture, he immediately assigns her to write about the dead woman, Lynette Sandler. Eccentric and not the least interested in a murder case, Cassie takes on her assignment reluctantly, and in the process uncovers a twisted, complicated situation involving her own family. When Cassie’s home is invaded and attacks begin against her, she begins to wonder if she was the real target for murder. The secrets she reveals add more danger but Cassie plows ahead until she finds the real truth and not that built on lies from the past and the present. This one will keep you up late turning pages to find where the truth lies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspensful to the End

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was given to me in the hope that I would enjoy it enough to tell others about it, and I'm pleased to say it's a great read.
In Mirrored Image, Cassie Chase, a writer for the local paper is assigned to write a series about a murder victim. The twist is that the victim is her double. Frustrated by her predicament, but stubborn enough to face the challenge head on, she approaches Detective McMichaels with more attitude and bravada than is wise and the tension begins.
Detective McMichaels is astounded that Cassie's boss would put her on such a dangerous assignment since she's only covered fluf stories in the past, and he's convinced that Cassie and the victim are somehow linked.
I was certain from chapter one on that I knew who the murderer was, but was pleased to find out I was wrong. The plot is full of unexpected twists and turns and kept me interested to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mirrored Image - eBook
This review is fromMirrored Image.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Betrayal, suspense, romance.. this book has it all

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hated to put this book down (secretly hoping there will be more books forthcoming with these characters) my favorite book from Arenz thus far. You won't be disappointed with this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.