Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23

Zondervan A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23

It's been thirty five years and two million copies since W. Phillip Keller gave us A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23, and it continues to encourage and inspire Christians with its classic insights into the heart of the Good Shepherd, Jesus Christ. Page by page, Keller reveals new facets of the Shepherd of Psalm 23 and his tireless, devoted care of His sheep. In these pages you will discover an uplifting expression of Christ's love for those that trust him as their protector, guide, provider and faithful keeper. Scripture is from the NIV 1984 Edition. Hardcover edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
125
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
62 out of 6398%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Review 1 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
ole dad
Location:Fort Smith, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent study, great price. To read the Great Shepherd's love and care for His sheep is always encouraging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the book because the author knew what he was talking about!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully great read!

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 11 copies for my ladies bible study group because the study we are doing keeps refering to it. The women have raved about it with comments like, "It has thoroughly changed how I understand the 23rd Psalm."
Excellent.........shoulld be required reading.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skippyjon
Location:Denver,co
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! It gave me a whole new insight to the 23rd Psalm! I gave the book to several other people. It made the 23rd Psalm come alive.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pikkanin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift at Christmas for my students. Great look through the eyes of a Shepherd
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Insights

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
grammoo
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book several years ago, and learned a lot from Mr. Keller's writing. His knowledge of the relationship between a shepherd and his sheep helped me see Psalm 23 in a whole new light. I recently bought several of these books to share with a ladies' Bible study group as we studied the names of God, one of which was Jehovah-Raah, The LORD my Shepherd. A great book that helps us understand that relationship in our daily lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Take

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Eatonville, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really appreciate the shepherd's take on Psalm 23. It helps to make this Psalm more personal and more understandable. The author relates to us as we really are- totally incapable of managing ourselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book to use for a Bible Study. Enjoyed teaching from this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
bren
Location:Palm Bay, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have read this in the past and once again I have gleaned so much from this. I'm hoping to start a book study on this after the first of the year and wanted to provided the books for the ladies when they attend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Lord Is My Sherpherd!

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
gbautista72
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book. Short, simple, easy to understand. The writer, from his own personal experience as a shepherd correlates to Psalm 23. The analogies, explanations, insights & illumination are awesome! He walks us through the Psalm, drawing parallels to Psalm 23 & his life as a shepherd. Encouraging & faith inspiring! I will read other books by this author. He's good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donnie Gamble
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent Bible study. Keller takes the actual duties of a shepherd in the care of his flock for correlating what is happening in the 23rd Psalm. Many people do not understand the responsibilities of a shepherd. God in his care for humankind performs the same acts of care and protection for those whom He created in His image. O how good and merciful is our Lord God. A good read for those who just made the commitment to the Lord and an eye-opener for those who have spent twenty plus years in a congregation without understanding the grace and mercy of God. Have read the book multiple times plus given as gifts to some who ask question but continue talking and miss the reply.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very informative.

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
juanprecas
Location:Dorchester, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this book to any believer who wants to be a good sheep and to any Pastor who wants to be a great lead sheep and a wonderful Shepherd(Pastor)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Commentary

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debC
Location:Branson, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author's background as a sheepherder gives this book a realistic understanding of David's psalm. Excellent, thought-provoking book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
loulou
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My women's Bible study group is looking forward to reading and discussing this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book and have purchased several as gif

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
corky
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book. Robert Morgan is the best devotional writer of his time.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great read on Who our Shepherd is.

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
CieR
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book takes the perspective of a real life sheep herder. It gives wonderful insight into what Jesus does and is to us as the Great and Good Shepherd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fanny
Location:Irving, TExas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read it many times, and have given this little book to friends. Very comforting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a rich book!

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
musiclover
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book was recommended by my pastor so I bought several to share with some friends at church. We are thinking about using it as a study book in our women's mission group. It is so rich that I can only read a bit at a time and meditate on it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book...

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth Ward
Location:Franklin Springs, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift, but I have had two copies over the last several years. It is such a precious book, and I highly recommend it to anyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really encouraging look at the 23rd Psalm

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Love
Location:Crawfordvile, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This particular book is currently being used in my SS Class. It makes the Psalm so much more meaningful when you learn about the way a "good shepherd" would interact with and care for his flock. Having not grown up on a farm or even where sheep were raised, it was and is very enlightening!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>