Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook

WaterBrook Press Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 3897%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Review 1 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where Faith Meets Action

Date:May 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vanillin and Ink
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nick Vujicic is a man of unique and unlikely circumstances, who is made rarer by his ability to touch so many different people so quickly and with such deep impact. His writing, while not ground-breaking, is honest and open and speaks loudly to people of many walks of life. It’s hard to hear or read his story without being inspired. How many times have I said I “can’t” do something while Nick is on a skateboard? It tends to put things in perspective of what we can all accomplish with a little faith and elbow grease.
The true message of it all is that, no matter what should happen, what your situation may be or what obstacles you may face, you have to believe in yourself and your own power to exact change in your life. Without that, you have nothing but hopes in a jar. In his book he says:
“Whether you are a Christian or not, you must never think that simply believing in something is enough. You can believe in your dreams, but you have to take action to make them happen. You can believe in your talents and have faith in your abilities, but if you don’t develop them and put them to use, what good are they? You can believe that you are a good and caring person, but if you don’t treat others with goodness and care, where is the proof?
You have a choice. You can believe or not believe. But if you believe – whatever you believe – you must act upon it.”
So many times I think we get into a comfortable position of leaning heavily on our “strengths” without trying to grow as people. We should always be pushing and learning and grabbing for the next highest bar, and Nick practices exactly what he preaches.
Blogging for Books provided this book to me for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:April 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jess88
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
UNSTOPPABLE : THE INCREDIBLE POWER OF FAITH IN ACTION
Being unstoppable is about believing and achieving It's about having faith in yourself, your talents, your purpose and most of all, In God's great love and His divine plan for your life. Millions around the world recognize the smiling face of Nick Vujicic. Born without arms or legs, Nick has not allowed his physical challenges to keep him from enjoying great adventures, a fulfilling and meaningful career, and loving relationships. Nick has overcome trials and hardships by focusing on the promises that he was made for a unique and specific purpose, that his life has value and is a gift to others, and that even though he may endure hardships, God is always present and in control. Nick credits his success to the power that is unleashed when we put our faith into action.
This is the first of Nick Vujicic's books I have ever read and I'm really glad I read it, it was very encouraging and inspiring. I liked the stories he told about his travels, and the stories about other people, and especially the story about how he met his wife :) My favorite quote from this book is: You have a choice. You can believe or not believe. But if you believe - whatever you believe - you must act upon it. Otherwise, Why believe? In UNSTOPPABLE Nick offers guidance and inspiration for dealing with: • personal crisis • relationship issues • career and job challenges • Health and disability concerns • bullying, persecution, cruelty and intolerance • feeling out of control • etc. in sharing compelling stories of his own experiences and those of many others, Nick explains how anyone can create a "ridiculously good life" and become unstoppable. What's standing in your way? Are you ready to become unstoppable?
* I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing group in exchange for this review.
Watch the book trailer here: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/video-unstoppable-by-nick-vujicic/
Read his love story here: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/pdf/UnstoppableLoveStory.pdf
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
rejoice
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Throughout the book, Nick, who was born without limbs, gives us this tremendous message. You must put your faith into action. Believe God and act upon it!
One of the key components to putting our faith into action is surrender to our all powerful God.
Nick's definition of surrender is intriguing. Surrender means letting go and believing in God's power to do what we cannot. In a play on word, he says, put the word GO in front of DISABLED and you have the phrase GOD IS ABLED.
Though we have limitations. God has none. Read this book and prepare to be inspired!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
SquarelySarah
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is just so much crammed into this small-ish paperback I could never completely cover it all so I'll just touch on a few things.
The term "faith in action" sums up the beautiful lesson in the first section of the book. It's a resounding theme to the end as well. "Why me?" Come on, you know you've said that before. I know I have! My disability isn't seen on the outside. You wouldn't know if I didn't tell you but it's crippled my life at times. Those are the times I have cried out to God, asking "why me?". Why NOT me? What good has it done for my life? How can I put that ability into it and use it, allow God to show me the purpose? Man, I'm just so excited about the new revelations that have come to me through obedience last Sunday and now, reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Nick

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie M
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book by Nick Vujicic that I have read. I have really enjoyed both books. This book picks up where the last book left off, and deals with many hot topics for today, bullying, relationship issues, self-destructive thoughts and emotions, personal crises, career and job challenges, health and disability concerns, imbalances we may have in our bodies, etc., as well as feeling out of control.
He tells stories from both his own life, as well as stories from people that he has met. I loved hearing the story how he met his beautiful wife, and their love story, their ups and their downs in their relationship. In the center of the book are pictures of Nick and various places of ministry, people he has ministered to, as well as a wedding picture of Nick and Kanae.
He is very honest in his struggles, and his feelings, and it makes him more relatable. He also shares insights, and shows how to handle various problems that we may encounter.
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review. The opinions are all my own. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Living his faith with action...

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Born without limbs, Nick Vujicic lives out his faith with action. He understands God has a plan for all of us…just the way we are. In his life, Nick has encountered many obstacles (bullying, suicide, depression, rejection) yet lives a ridicously good life (in his own words). In this book, Nick shares his personal stories as well as others while giving encouragement, inspiration, reassurance and confidence to everyone through God’s love for us.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Having heard of Nick Vujicic as an inspirational speaker, I was interested in reading his current book. Through humor and heartache, Nick shares his own struggles and triumphs in the hopes of proclaiming and helping others see their own worth as well as impact on the world. He is literally “unstoppable” when acting on his faith, having done more, shared more and conquered more than most people without limits. I found Nick to be quite an example…taking away any excuse not to put faith into action, making anyone unstoppable in the process as well.
RATING:
4.5 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Unstoppable from WaterBrook Press for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Such a powerful story.

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
GraceThorson
Location:Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick Vujicic is a speaker. He speaks to thousands of listeners, reaching their souls, and touching hearts enchained by pain and rejection. He's a writer. His books inspire and embolden believers and non-believers to live a radical life. He's an advocate. He fights for equality, kindness, and compassion. He was born without limbs, but that hasn't deterred him from doing the impossible.
Nick Vujicic is unstoppable. He never lets his physical limitations get in the way of living. He doesn't pursue a normal life like everyone else. He seeks out the extraordinary.
His past experiences allow him to connect with almost anyone. Through the pain he's suffered and from the joys he's found, people from diverse cultures who endure struggles are drawn to him. His driven spirit resonates with their needs. They feel it. He understands. He notices them. He gives them hope through his messages of faith.
"All you need is to put your faith, your talents, your education, your knowledge, and your skills out there to benefit others in ways big and small. Even the tiniest acts of kindness can have a ripple effect. Even people who think they have no power to impact the world around them can make a huge difference by joining forces and working together to become the change they desire." - Nick Vujicic
My Thoughts:
Wow! Such a powerful story. From the get-go, Unstoppable pulled me into its pages and immersed me emotionally with Nick's honest and humble writing. It's an easy read, in that, Nick's author voice is smooth and light. But, on the other end, his stories are heavy, filled with harsh realities and pain. The feelings expressed are a roller coaster of emotions.
I found Nick's heart on his challenges and victories to be eye-opening. The true-life stories he included of the people in his book were heart-rending, but full of grace. These people needed to be heard, and I'm so glad Nick mentioned them. Their stories will impact lives.
Drawing from his own past, Nick offers advice and encouragement to those experiencing bullying, depression, thoughts of suicide, cutting - anyone who's felt left in the shadows. His message for life is simple: love God, serve humanity. If you see someone in pain, help them.
"Too much of our world is about seeking comfort instead of providing it." - Nick Vujicic
This book may move you to cry. It may move you to take action. It may motivate you to face your weaknesses and bring them into the light. It may inspire you to serve your community with an unswerving devotion. It may open your eyes to see those who are afflicted. It may create an unstoppable spirit within your heart. You may be driven to do the impossible!
I was eager to read each and every chapter, so my only qualm about Unstoppable is that it was too short. I wanted it to go on. I know for a fact, I'll be picking up his other books: Life Without Limits, Limitless: Devotions for a Ridiculously Good Life, and Stand Strong: You Can Overcome Bullying. This is by far one of the best inspirational books I've ever read. Highly, highly recommended.
"Kindness is the noblest weapon to conquer with." - American Proverb
This book was provided to me by Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing UNSTOPPABLE by Nick Vujicic

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewing UNSTOPPABLE by Nick Vujicic
This is the second book I have read by this young man, and it is heart-stirring and remarkable as was the first one. There is a set of photos in it, ending with a beautiful pix of he and his wife.
One of the insightful messages he gives is about humility. He tells that when he was younger he did not like to ask anyone for help, and then relates how he was able to overcome this, letting the reader know it is something we all can struggle with. He says he once heard a father tell his son, a recent college graduate how to approach his new job: "Don't try to show them what you know, instead, show them how much you want to learn." That is advice for us all.
I am sure many will pick this book up who are struggling with the issues of 'life' and 'love'. Nick has great advice on that as well. One of the many things he says is that God didn't want him to discover his true love until he was mature enough to appreciate and nurture it. Just think, if everyone did that, how much heartache and disappointment would be avoided!
The book is full of helps for those being bullied or who are bullies. I liked his statement that he is 'armless, not harmless' ... and I was appalled how some of the youth bullied him. Parents, counselors, teachers, monitors all need to be more aware of what is going on with our youth. Where has morality, kindness, courtesy and respect gone? We need to all step up and be aware and do something.
There is also a lot of mention of suicide with tips on spotting those in danger of committing it, as well as helps for those who are cutting or leaning in that direction.
Nick has a great sense of humor, and he will keep you smiling as you wipe away the tears. His comments about marriage and commitment will do that; he says that when you commit to a loving relationship with someone, you surrender many things... selfishness, self-centered behavior... and the remote for the TV.
Here are some clips for the book:
Excerpt: Chapter 3-How Nick met his wife
Life Without Limbs Website
Trailer
Facebook
Twitter
More Info
Read Chapter One
Author Bio
I received this book from Blogging for Books for review, and highly recommend this book to everyone.
IBELIEVE2
BEVK
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

unstoppable review

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action" is the non-fiction work of inspirational speaker and evangelist, Nick Vujicic. The author writes of how to do something with your faith, rather than keeping it to yourself and how it benefits both you and the rest of the world. Not to mention God. This is Nick's second book. I have not read the other two. "Unstoppable" is not a biography, though he uses his own life and challenges of being born without limbs as a way to get his message across. The basic theme of the book is "Quit yer whining, ya big baby! I got no arms or legs and I'm on top of the Great Wall of China. Boo-ya!" Only he puts it much nicer. It is a good book, but not one that you can't just sit and read straight through. The ideal way to read it would be a chapter a day. Don't rush it, it will seem boring. If you read it a bit a day, it is much more inspirational. I received this book for free for participating in a book blast for his newest book, "Limitless".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I gave this book to my husband as a gift and the whole family has enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging read

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic is the latest book I’ve received from Waterbrook Multnomah for reviewing.
If the name doesn’t sound familiar, a picture of Nick probably would... he’s hard to forget as a motivational speaker with no arms or legs.
The book goes through dealing with all sorts of struggles... from bullies to social injustice to struggles to keep balance... and shows how they can be overcome through faith in God.
The book includes a lot of stories of various people who have connected with Nick through the years and their journeys, but also contains a lot about Nick and his life, including struggles with feelings of defeat and the road to marrying his wife. He’s openly honest, even about aspects of his own issues that a lot of people would prefer to hide.
It’s an interesting and inspirational... a bit of a motivational tone, but worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful encouragement

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:London Ontario Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not quite finished reading this book, but am thoroughly enjoying it. Nick is an amazing young man with a lot of insight into the issues of life. I have seen Nick in person, so this book is like meat added to the bones, so to speak. Nick is completely open throughout the book and gives examples of the lives of others. His chapter on bullying is a particularly moving one. If he can keep such a positive attitude much of the time, then there is no excuse for the rest of us who have all of our limbs. It is remarkable what Nick can do without arms and legs while many of the rest of us with arms and legs never accomplish in a lifetime a quarter of what he has done in a few years. This book is full of encouragement and living proof of the grace, mercy and love of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging for People Who Are Disabled or Not

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wordmachine
Location:United States
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In "Unstoppable" Nick Vujicic shares about obstacles and victories that have happened in his life from being born with no arms and legs. He gives real examples of some situations that have happened to him that also happen to people who are born with arms and legs. For instance, he was leading a ministry and ran into an economic crisis that generated hardships in his life on different levels. He also shares about his evangelist efforts that have reached many people throughout the world.
I feel pretty confident that "Unstoppable" will be an encouragement for many people with and without disabilities to allow God to use them in spite of their difficulties, often in ways that go beyond their thinking. The support that was given to Nick when he was going through hardships was evident to me; I hope that more people will be sent support in their lives while they are going through difficulties and setbacks. I discerned by reading this book that Nick has a way of noticing when some people are hurting, people he has never met who are sometimes out in a crowd.
Nick’s words were an encouragement to me as I read this book. There were times when discouragement crept up on me after I read it and I thought back to what I read in this book and it made me feel more encouraged.
*Note: The eBook version I received does not have the pictures that the hardback book version does, which is why I am giving it a 4 and why I give the hardback version a 5.
I received the “Unstoppable” eBook free from Waterbrook Multnomah for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerfully Empowering

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
JustMe78
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never heard of Nick Vujicic before I read this book and let me say this man is a real inspirational Child of God. He starts his life not knowing where he will fit in. Little does he know that God has an exponentially bigger plan for his life than he could ever fathom. This book will take you through times of tears and laughter and the overwhelming presence of God.
As Nick experiences attempted suicide and heartbreaking rejection and other tough life trials. Nick finds through parents and family who trusted God and the woman who would believe in Gods perfect timing in her own life and his own faith in action that when he trust God wholeheartedly the astounding things God can and will do in his life and the lives of others. He has touched many around the world in the name of Jesus Christ.
Isaiah 55:8-9 says “For My thoughts are not your thoughts and My ways are not your ways. As the heavens are higher than the earth so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.” This is one of the scriptures I think of as I recall the inspiring stories in this book. The other is Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you says the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future”. Meaning that no matter who we are, where we come from or how many limbs we have or don’t have we are purposeful and if we let God do a work in our lives we can change lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Too Can Be Unstoppable

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beacon2Light
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick Vujicic’s story is a fascinating one. You may have wondered how a man with an Eastern European name would have an Australian accent. To find out, you will have to read the book or do the research. Come on, you don’t want me to spoil the fun, do you?
Born without arms or legs, Nick’s life began in a very emotional way. However, his parents, though surprised by their son’s disabilities, encouraged him to focus on something quite different than his limitations. Nick came to call them disabilities with a G and an o in front of them; God-abilities. This is the story of a man who faced tremendous hurdles from the moment he was born, was bullied and even contemplated suicide but who today has become the epitome of an overcomer by the grace of God and his faith in God put into action.
As you go through the book you will find not only his story but the story of so many others who did incredible things by a faith put into action. Read the story of Mercy Ships, of a Liberian president who became the pendulum swing of her notorious predecessor and so many more who did hard things by God’s grace and a faith that was put into action. You will read of famous people and others who are little in the eyes of the world but big in the eyes of God.
If you have been on the internet, you evidently have seen what Nick Vujicic’s example can do to young people facing bullying, feeling unloved and unwanted. There are often tears and always hugs! He gives people hope through faith in Jesus Christ.
My only criticism of the book has to do with his Gospel presentation therein. I think that he can be perceived as a universalist through much of it, he doesn’t mention sin or hell and he at one point personifies the universe as is done by those outside of Christ. “It’s said that the universe rewards action and that certainly has been true for me,” he states on page 15. In fairness, though, it becomes obvious that he is a believer and a true evangelist, encouraging others to a faith in Christ that transforms.
I highly recommend this book. It is worth your time and effort. Anyone who can excel and find the silver lining behind being born without arms and legs is worthy of our admiration and our willingness to sit and be taught of how we too can be unstoppable.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
http://beacon2light.blogspot.com/2013/01/you-too-can-be-unstoppable-review-of.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and Challenging

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Guyer
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I became aware of Nick Vujicic through reading about Bethany Hamilton and when this book came up for review, I decided that it would be a good one to read. This book is inspirational book about following God, putting your faith in action and reaching out to others, even in the face of what might seem impossible challenges.
The very fact that this book is written by a successful, world traveling evangelist who was born with no arms and legs is inspirational enough to convince us that our challenges aren't bigger than God's power and his plans for our life. He also packs the book full of inspirational stories from others he has met on his path through life. Those who have influenced him and those who have been touched by him. Though usually, the inspiring seems to go both ways.
There are many reminders that our attitudes and our trust in God and his power are often bigger hurdles than the disabilities, diseases or relationships that we have that seem to be standing between us and a better life.
A couple of passages that stood out me are below:
One thing I would caution you about is that when you face an overwhelming medical problem, you may find yourself totally caught up in dealing with it, so being hill and getting healthy are all you think about. Professional counselors say it is important to accept and mange your illness, but is equally important to remember that you are still you. Don't abandon the things you love to do or the people you love to be with because you want to focus exclusively on restoring your health. The health challenge has happened to you, but don't let it take over your life or damage your sense of yourself and the value you bring into the world. You are more than this challenge.
I liked that one because, as a person facing a significant health challenge, I know that it is easy for that to become a huge focus in your life and to define you. I have enjoyed life so much more now that the diseases is just part of who I am and it is not the major focus of my life. It is always there, but it is not who I am. But, it can take awhile to get to that place and attitude.
Jessica believes that God used the illness of her body to strengthen her soul. She feels that being so sick forced her to focus on what beign a Christian and giving her life to God really meant. Through her terrible pain and the loss of the life she'd known, Jessica found a path to wisdom and understanding beyond anything she'd ever experienced before. "God wanted me to realize that life was not given to me just for my own satisfaction," she said. "In fact, that is not the purpose at all. He wanted me to realize that life as given to me so that I could bring Him glorly and be an encouragement for others. He wants the best for me, but He realizes the meaning of that more than I do.
Jessica found that meaning through surrender. "The way I view it, to surrender means giving to the Lord the things that you hold most dear. It means not holding on tightly to your idea of what will bring you happiness but trusting that He knows even better than you the desires of your heart - and that He will give you a fulfilled life even if it is not in the way that you envisioned," she said.
This is a good reminder. I think so often, we are miserable because we are holding so tightly to our idea or the world's idea of what will make us happy or what we need instead of trusting God and seeing life through His eyes. We need to surrender and obey and trust that He loves us and wants more for us than we can even imagine.
Nick deals with some tough subjects like bullying, suicidal thoughts, human trafficking, disease, etc. I appreciated the candid yet encouraging way he handled these subjects. He challenges us to look for ways to help those in need and encourages those facing difficulties.
If you are looking for an inspiring and yet challenging book to help you with your perspective on life or to encourage you in your ministry you might want to check this book out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2013
Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action is the second book by Nick Vujicic, a young man born without arms and legs who inspires millions through his stories of faith, perseverance, and triumph over adversity. In this book, he gives a glimpse into both his personal and professional life, as well as at the lives of others he's encountered along the way, and shows us the power that comes from stepping out in true faith.
I had the pleasure of listening to Nick speak at my church a few years ago, and he is a wonderful speaker.... touching, funny, engaging, and full of expression. While some of that didn't seem to come through as strongly in his book, his heart did. Two stories in particular that made an enormous impact on me were the story he told about the time that he was sidelined with depression and how he came out of it, and the story of how he met his wife.
One of the things that this book does so well is illustrates what it means not to never fall down, but how to pick yourself up when you do. His story of the time he basically shut-down, depressed over circumstances beyond his control, was a very real and powerful testimony of a flawed human being who admitted weakness and ultimately re-gained his strength through his faith in God.
And the story of meeting, dating, and ultimately marrying his wife? It's worth reading the entire book for that one story alone. Beautiful.
This was a quick and inspiring read, with an overall positive message of believing in yourself, stepping out in faith, and trusting that "with God, all things are possible."
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really excited to read Nick Vujicic newest book, "Unstoppable (The Incredible Power of Faith in Action)". I requested this book to review because I thought reading about Nick's experiences would be an encouragement to my children, and myself as well. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group and I in turn am writing this review. I am so glad I requested this book as it was so encouraging and left me feeling challenged to grow in my faith as a Christian.
For those who do not know who Nick Vujicic is, he is a motivational speaker, evangelist, author and director of the nonprofit organization;" Life Without Limbs" (visit www.lifewithoutlimbs.org) . Nick was born without arms and legs with no known cause and although he had a difficult time when he was young, Nick went onto to embrace the way God made him and now he preaches the Gospel around the world to millions. Nick physical disability has given him a platform to share the good news of Jesus and to encourage so many who are hurting around the world.
Nick's book "Unstoppable" was wonderful!!! It is an easy read, and not only does Nick share many of his own personal stories, but he shares those of many of the people that he knows personally and those who have been affected by Nick's ministry. One of things I love best about Nick's book is that you can totally see Jesus working in the life of Nick and those he has come in contact with. One story Nick shared had me thinking how wonderful our God is because He is in control of every circumstance in our life, even in the tragic events. God is present and He loves us so much.
As a Christian this book encouraged and challenged me in my faith, but I believe this book would be appreciated by anyone. Nick took time to address some challenging topics in his book such as; bullying, persecution, addictions, and many more. I would read this book for those topics alone.
This book is a definite read for everyone. Thanks to WaterBrook Multomah for sending me this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Each chapter was inspirational but some were more applicable to my life than others. For example, the chapter on suicide seemed to drag on as I don't have suicidal thoughts, but I feel that it would be very helpful for someone going through a difficult situation like that. My favorite chapter by far was the one wherein he described his journey to love even though it seemed impossible for someone with a disability such as his. Nick's ability to overcome in every situation has challenged me to become a better person and to love more deeply. Although this book was very motivational, I found it to be a slow read. Maybe this is because nonfiction rates at the bottom of my preference list, but it definitely lowered my opinion of the book in general. Check out Nick's website http://www.lifewithoutlimbs.org/
I received this e-book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging Reading

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlandWynda
Location:Minot, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By relating his personal experiences, as well as the experiences of others, the author, Nick Vujicic, makes a case for both trusting in God in all circumstances and for putting one's faith in action. Throughout the book the author constantly points to God's control in all things and how He orchestrates circumstances to allow people to both give and receive encouragement. God is also portrayed as the ultimate healer and the one on whom we can depend, even when things seem to be at their worst. The author refers to Scripture regularly, although I am sure some folks would have appreciated if he would have included the references/citations. However, I think the inclusion of those items would have made some of the passages very 'clunky' to read.
The only thing that prevents me from giving a full 5 star rating is that there are times when the author could almost be slipping into an infomercial for his other products and services. I don't think this was intentional, and some may even say it is understandable, given it is through his products and services that he collected the experiences and stories. Yet, it is something that can be a put off for some readers.
Overall, this was an easy read, with much encouragement.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>