Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook

Revell Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook

The only man pragmatic Lilly Hart needs in her life is a six year old. Widowed two years ago, Lilly leaves the shelter of her intrusive in-laws' home to stand on her own and provide for her young son by working for the summer as a cook at Lake Manawa. However, her in-laws find that life utterly unsuitable for their grandson, and when a row ensues, a handsome stranger--who designs roller coasters, of all things--intercedes on her behalf. Still, Lilly is not about to get involved with any man, especially this cocky (though charismatic) gentleman. Little does she know she is about to begin the ride of her life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book by a great author, great series!

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilly Hart has taken her six-year-old son, Levi, and left her in-laws home. In the three years since her husband has been gone she has gotten fed up with their intrusiveness and trying to send Levi off to a boarding school, which his dad had hated and did not plan on doing with Levi.
Lilly takes a job as cook in a Midway diner in Lake Manawa, she is hired before the season starts so she can feed the workers that are building the Red Velvet Roller Coaster. Levi makes friends with Nick, the designer of the coaster and can hardly wait to ride it when it's finished. Lilly tries to avoid becoming friends with Nick and refuses to ride the coaster or let Levi get his hopes of for a ride.
Claude Hart, a prominent attorney in town, Levi's grandpa, wants to cause problems for Lilly and Nick, since he is a good friend of Levi's. He will do anything to get Levi taken away from Lilly, even cause someone to die, if that's what it takes.
I just can't say enough about this series, I found it totally entertaining! Of course it helps that I am familiar with the area and have driven through the Omaha/Council Bluffs/Lake Manawa area countless times and have stopped in Lake Manawa many, many times. Yes, it is completely different now but I enjoy reading about areas I know. Another thing who doesn't like reading about summer vacations, spending a whole summer on the lake with an amusement park? I would suggest this book to anyone that likes a fun read with a little twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Ride Of Her Life by Lorna Seilstad

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Favorite Scene:
“Rolling onto her side, she punched the pillow beneath her head. No, I will not cry tonight. Not again. I have a new home. I’m starting over. I’ll be fine. Her heart didn’t listen, and soon the corner of the pillow lay soaked. Ligntning flashed outside, and she rolled onto her stomach. The heavy stomping of thunder only made the little house seem more empty, and the solitude engulfed her.
But she was safe.
Dry.
Thanks to Nick.
After wiping her eyes, she propped herself on her elbows before pulling the Bible closer. She didn’t want to open it. God had let too many storms occur in her life, and He hadn’t exactly been stilling them.
Trust me.
She felt the words press again on her heart. But why should she? She flipped the Bible open to the book of Luke and the story of Jesus stilling the storm. What had Brother Hamilton said? That Jesus doesn’t still every storm, but He’s in the boat with you?
But where were you in my storm? Were you sleeping? Didn’t you care?
She wanted to pull the words back. Who was she to question the Lord? Her eyes dropped to the Bible splayed in front of her. The apostles questioned Jesus, but He questioned their faith. The missed the greatness of the One in the boat with them.
But it was the words written in the margin in her mother’s hand that caught her eye. Faith entrusts oneself and one’s children to God in the midst of danger.
Her mother had told her she was leaning on her own wisdom and not the power of God. Had her own mother struggled with the same things when Lilly’s father had died?
Lilly’s heart throbbed. Lord, I see what I’ve been doing. When the storms came, I had the same choice the apostles had. I could have responded with fear or faith. And I chose fear. I stopped trusting You and startewd trusting only myself. Please, Lord, please forgive me.
Though the thunder continued to rumble, a quiet surrounded her heart. She chose the believe in the greatness of the One who calmed the storms.
She traced her finger over her mother’s words again, saying them aloud. “Faith entrusts oneself and one’s children to God in the midst of danger.”
Mama, I hope I never have to find out if I have your kind of faith.“
I think when people read a romance book, even an Inspirational one, they look more for the romance and don’t expect to have any spiritual revelations. I know in my own reading that’s usually the case. When I read, I like to make page notes of my favorite scenes and narrow them down to one final scene to include in my review. When I read this scene, I KNEW it was the one I wanted to include.
I think we all have struggled in this area at some point in our lives, maybe several times. I know I have. This passage really spoke to my spiritual nature. I have been through many storms in the past several years and, in the back of my mind, I always had the niggling thought of, “God where are you?”. This scene helped me to realize I was trusting myself to fix the situations and not seeing the greatness of the One in the boat with me. I loved this scene and it really opened my eyes. Now, I know some of you are wondering, “What about the romance?”. No worries! There is plenty of that, too.
Meet The Characters:
Lilly Hart: For those of you who have read the previous two books in this series, you know Lilly is a very spiritual person. She puts everything in God’s hands. Although, she struggled with that a little in this book after the death of her husband. She is a very strong woman. Making her own way in the world for her and her son, Levi. She’s humble, very loving and lovable.
Nick Perrin: Nick is my kind of hero. He’s very spiritual, trusting every situation to God, and very protective. He would risk his life to protect Lilly and Levi. A roller Coaster builder and operator, he takes risks every day. Very fun-loving but he knows when to be serious, too.
Levi Hart: Can you say, “Adorable”? Levi’s six year old cuteness came out on every page. Lorna captured him perfectly. I just wanted to hug him and pinch his little cheeks. LOL
My Thoughts:
I have been hooked on Lorna Seilstad’s books since I read Making Waves. This one was no exception. This last book in the Lake Manawa Series was quite a ride. (Pun intended!) It had just the right ammount of romance, spiritual overtones and drama combined. Neither were over-bearing, but very well balanced. Mark Westing, Marguerite’s little brother, was all grown up and played a significant part in this book. I was glad to see he wasn’t forgotten. I hate to see a significant character dropped. I was also glad to read Lilly’s story. I felt she had been short-changed when I read book two. From the first book I wanted to read about Lilly. Now this series is complete for me. A wonderful read. If you haven’t read it, I do recommend you pick it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

More Like 3.5 Stars

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
While I have thoroughly enjoyed the last two book offerings by up-and-coming CHF author Lorna Seilstad, her latest book, unfortunately, left me wanting. The heroines from her first two books had oodles of spunk, sass, and no-nonsense personalities that I was itching to meet another one in The Ride of Her Life. In spite of this one qualm, Lorna still managed to create an exciting story with a great message at it's core--that "God has not given us a spirit of fear..." Now that the Lake Manawa series has come to a close, I'm curious to see what Lorna will think up next. Just give me a spunky heroine and a handsome hero and there's no doubt I'll be one happy reader!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Summer Romance

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A story sure to quirk up the corners of many a mouth!
Lilly Hart is a cook working on the shore of Lake Mawana, and she has dreams of giving her 6 year-old son, Levi. But the parents of Lilly's late husband have plans for Levi that threaten what Lilly and her late husband held dear. Then along comes Nick the striking Roller Coaster builder, who tests both Lilly's ability to trust others and to trust God, challenging her to open her heart once more.
This book has stellar dialogue, and I loved the way the many characters interacted with each other so naturally, especially Lilly and Nick.
Another thing that I really appreciated was how even though teh book took place over a short period of time, the relationships that were built did not feel rushed in the least. They all seemed to progress naturally in their own time.
Another thing I wanted to bring up was how, even though I hadn't read the last two books, I had no trouble whatsoever just hopping in on the last book, though now I can most certainly say that I really want to read the first two :)
I adored the character of Levi, and I felt that Ms. Seilstad got him just right, making him neither too childish or too mature, something that is rather hard to do! Nick was a great hero, possibly one of the best I've read in a while because of how he was steady and romantic in a more subtle way, he wasn't ever stealing the show.
Overall this is a sweet romance, with both a healthy dose of humor and wit , as well as a plot that moved well, making this book hard to put down! Most definitely a book that I would recommend!
I received this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun historical set in 1906 amusement park

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Slip away to Lake Manawa, Iowa, in 1906, where widow Lilly Hart runs a diner and tries to make a life for her young son, Levi. The local amusement park is preparing for the summer season, and Nick Perrin and his crew are building an exciting roller coaster that’s sure to attract visitors. Another attraction develops, this one between Nick and Lilly. He befriends Levi and fills a needed male role in the boy’s life. Lilly doesn’t think she needs a love interest, and definitely not with a man who will soon be moving on. All her life she has longed for a home of her own and is determined to obtain one.
Add to Lilly’s troubles a strained relationship with her wealthy inlaws, who want to send her son away to a top boarding school. She had risen from the working class when she married Ben, but his parents never thought her good enough. Now she must support herself and her son or accept their charity and give in to their demands, which she refuses to do. What will her father-in-law stoop to in order to achieve his goal?
This story makes a fine summer read—whether while on vacation or to serve as a virtual getaway. Although it is the third in the Lake Manawa Summers series, it stands alone and fills in necessary background information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Humor and heart

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorna Seilstad won me over in Making Waves and A Great Catch with her combination of humor, hard-hitting questions, and a charming setting at a turn-of-the-century lakeside resort. The Ride of Her Life completes the Lake Manawa series in the same delightful manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Looking for a joyful, entertaining read with characters easy to adore? Look no further than Lorna Seilstad’s third Lake Manawa novel, The Ride of Her Life. Instilled with humour, interesting characters and unique historical details of the beginning of the roller coaster craze, this book is quite delightful. Lorna takes her place alongside Karen Witemeyer and Deeanne Gist as a talented writer who adds frivolity and wit to her historical romantic tales. That said, Lilly’s struggle to maintain her independence and provide for her little Levi, and her faith journey add all the substance this story needs. With a charming leading man in Nick, Lorna has produced another lighthearted gem which is engaging and sweet and provides a satisfying end to her series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Ride of Her Life is book #3 in the Lake Manawa Summers series and I was not disappointed. I loved getting to know Lilly better and getting caught up with her life since I was introduced to her back in the first book.
I thought the author did a amazing job of bringing her characters to life especially little Levi. Kids can be hard to write sometimes, but she did a great job of it.
I was particularly loved the idea of Nick building rollar coasters. I have never read about this before and I found the concept fascinating.
Very rarely to I get through a trilogy love all three books, but Lorna Seilstad's series Lake Manawa Summers has been added to this small list of mine. Worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic summer romance

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book I've read by this author, but now I've got to go back and read the first two books in this series ASAP! The book had everything that I'm looking for in a historical romance, great characters, a fun and unique setting, and so much romance!
This story really is a romance, the bulk of the tale focuses on Lilly and Nick. They spend so much time together getting to know each other, I loved all of their scenes together.
The supporting characters in the book were fantastic as well. Lilly's son, Levi, is adorable and his scenes never feel forced or used just to be cute. He had a lot of funny lines, but they all seemed very realistic.
I can't wait to read the first two books in this series. My only complaint is that this series is over now!
book sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A NICE LIGHT READ

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the summer of 1906, Lilly Hart is a widow of two years with a six year old son. She is determined to provide for him without the help of her in-laws, and has accepted a position at a cafe at Lake Manawa Park. The crews are are still working, trying to get the park ready for opening day, when Lilly meets Nick, the designer of the new roller coaster ride. Lilly is not only afraid to take a chance on the new roller coaster, but is afraid to take a chance on a new love, as well.
Once again, a writer has come along and shown me that Christian fiction can be well-written and entertaining. My complaints in the past have been too many cliches, too sappy, too unbelievably preachy, etc. Ms. Seilstad has avoided all of those. This novel is just a nice, light entertaining read, and is based on historical fact. The novel probably piqued my interest because historical fiction is one of my favorite genres, and the subject of old amusement parks really interests me.
This novel is safe for any age, and certainly non-offensive. As stated earlier, I found it entertaining enough to give it 4 stars out of 5.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Baker Publishing Group <http://www.BakerPublishingGroup.com > book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite Book in the Series!

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get ready for a thrill ride, romantic curves and turns and cute children, all in one book!
Okay, talk about a fun, romantic read! This is the third and last book in the Lake Manawa Summers Series by Lorna Seilstad. And I felt let down! Not by the book but that this is the end of the series:( At the end of this book I feel like I am leaving friends who I have come to know over the last year or so. Because not only is this book about Lilly and Nick, but it also includes Marguerite and Emily from the past books.
This is a book that really brings a good ending to the series. Lilly is such a stubborn lady that wants to stand on her own and do things by herself but she finds out that it isn't wrong to accept help from others. I know from my own personal experience that sometimes a little help is just what you need to get through the day. Just that other person being there for you. Nick Perrin is a roller coaster designer and he is quite a manly hero. Always ready to be there for Lilly but as Sean points out, you can't always be there and you can't change everything. The Lord is the one we have to rely on. And let me tell you, Levi is just the most adorable little boy! He has that fun love of bugs and snakes and other creepy crawlers:)
If you love a good historical book, this is one to pick up. Mystery, romance, thrills and excitement are all mixed together in one book. Can't wait to see what Lorna has in store for her readers next!
Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received a copy of this book for review purposes. I did not receive any monetary compensation. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More like 4.5 stars. Enjoyable read!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a bit sad to see this series end. I've enjoyed each novel and experiencing the romantic conflicts therein. This story was especially sweet because of the little boy, Levi. He had so many cute phrases and his excitement over everything was quite contagious. I found Nick's affection for the child quite precious, and if I were a single mom, that relationship alone would melt my heart. Oh, and the hero, Nick, with the "lethal" blue eyes held my heart early on. I enjoyed the emotional ups and downs with this story and watching Lilly grow over time. She was a real stinker at first because she was stubborn and fearful over everything, but she did learn to let go of trying to control all aspects of her life and always protecting her heart. She was rewarded for learning to trust God with her circumstances and trusting Nick with her heart. It was beautiful thing to behold when she finally allowed herself to let Nick into her heart to stay. Those yummy kisses were breath-stealing, too. The author really knows how to write a fun and enjoyable romantic beach read. I enjoyed spending time at Lake Manawa and experiencing love with each of these characters. I highly recommend this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed following Lily into a book of her own. Life certainly had some changes for her and that’s going to continue’
She takes her son and leaves the shelter of her snooty in-laws.
She’s courageous enough to do all kinds of things except let another man into her heart and to ride a roller coaster.
She faces many battles over her son with the in-laws , and doesn’t always win towards the end of this book. Before you finish this book, it will have you on edge with both Lily’s stubbornness and all the action.
I certainly hope this isn’t the last of the Lake Manawa Summers series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hop on board and enjoy the ride!

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Ride of Her Life by Lorna Seilstad contains a rather interesting cast of characters:
*a fearful widow with a young son who loves snakes, bugs, and animals of all kinds
*a roller coaster designer who lives on scary thrills
*a couple of b-a-d men
...leaving you with a story that has as many twists and turns as a roller coaster ride!
The road to love is never easy, and this road has enough ups and downs to keep you guessing. Learning to trust is the first step in any relationship. Lilly must learn to let go of the past and trust God for her future. Nick also needs to forget the hurts he has experienced and trust in God's plans for him.
The Ride of Her Life is a well-researched book set in the early 1900's when amusement parks and especially roller coasters were all the rage. Attention to detail and a bit of a mystery and excellent descriptions make this a book you can't put down. So hop on board and enjoy the ride!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3rd and final book in this series

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Third and final book in the Lake Manawa Summers series, The Ride of Her Life promises more of the fun, action-packed adventure that readers have come to associate Lorna Seilstad’s books with. For readers like myself who love historical fiction, Lorna once again explores the early 1900’s and includes interesting characters and locations in her storyline.
Lilly Hart, a young widower raising her small son, unintentionally causes herself some headaches at work when she is rude to the man responsible for bringing jobs to Lake Manawa. In order to keep her job at Thorton’s Lunch Counter, Lilly’s boss is adamant that she go out of her way and indulge Mr. Perrin. Nick Perrin is determined to build the best and safest roller coaster in the West, and during his summer stay, his path crosses Lilly’s many time. Lilly’s determination for independence from her overbearing in-laws, causes her to be in Nick’s presence even more.
The romance that develops is sweet and while Lilly thinks she’s not ready to love again, Nick Perrin might be the man to change her mind. Lorna researches her storylines carefully and I found this book interesting, because I had no idea that the popularity of amusement parks took off in the early 1900’s. According to Lorna’s research, 2,000 amusement parks were opened in the United States prior to the Great Depression. I also didn’t know that the world’s oldest operating coaster is still in operation today. If you are looking for a sweet, summertime romance, find a nice spot in the shade and spend the afternoon with Lilly Hart at Lake Manawa.
Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Saying Goodbye

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lilly Hart is working her fingers to the bone and taking care of her 6 year old son Levi! Her husband Ben died in a tragic train accident, and her in-laws want to take Levi and send him to boarding school. They start the book living in a tent at Lake Manawa.
This is the third book in this wonderful series! I hate to see it ending! All of our friends are back, and we spend some time with them. There is also a new character....Nick Perrin. He is building a new roller coaster at the Lake, and trying to capture Lilly's eye.
Sparks will begin to fly...even in the kitchen!! Loved it! Of course delightful Levi will keep everyone hopping with his six year old enthusiasm. Don't miss this wonderful read, and conclusion to this great series!
Thank you Revell Publishing for letting me review this book, there was no other compensation, and I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Packed with Romance, Friends, and Faith

Date:May 27, 2012
Widow Lilly Hart and her six-year-old son have moved to Lake Manawa for the summer. Lilly hopes that taking a job at a diner will not only provide for her and her son but also help her escape her overbearing in-laws. When her son befriends Nick, the roller coaster engineer, Lilly is determined to keep him at arms' length. But when Nick starts to get through her defenses, she must look to the Lord for guidance and wisdom.
What a wonderful story! Packed with romance, friends, and faith, The Ride of Her Life is a perfect read! Seilstad does a great job writing about characters that I felt an instant connection with. Lilly is a strong heroine who works hard for her family and is determined to provide a better life for her son than the one she had growing up. I appreciated her independence and stubborn streak—two things I often see in myself! She had a fantastic group of friends (introduced in the previous two books in the series) who loved her and were willing to do anything to help her. The romance factor between Nick and Lilly was sigh-worthy. There were a number of challenges that they faced throughout the story, and it was interesting to get both perspectives and see how they would resolve these conflicts. I loved how Nick related to Lilly's son and truly cared for him as well.
The backdrop of a summer resort was fascinating as well. As a roller coaster junkie, the storyline about the roller coaster was particularly intriguing. I could tell that the author did her research and expertly wove interesting details throughout the book.
I haven't read the first two books in the series but am looking forward to reading them as soon as I get a chance. I'll definitely be on the lookout for more from Lorna Seilstad in the future! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL,SUMMER READ!

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE RIDE OF HER LIFE by Lorna Seilstad is a wonderful Christian Historical Romance set in 1906 Lake Manawa,Iowa.It is Book 3 in the "Lake Manawa Summers" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Making Waves" and "Great Catch". Step into summer fun in 1906 at Lake Manawa as Lily and Nick go on the ride of their lives. Travel with them through their dreams,faith,on a roller coaster ride,and romance. Another fun read by this author. Written with vivid descriptions of the era. The characters will capture your heart as you go with Lily on "The Ride of Her Life". A truly fun read from the first age to the last page. Ms. Seilstad is a great storyteller that leaves the reader coming back for more. Lake Manawa comes to life through the pages and the characters of "The Ride of Her Life". A wonderful read from a talented storyteller. Received for an honest review from the author. Details can be found at Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group,the author's website and My Book Addiction and More.
“Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: Sweet: No sex or scenes of physical intimacy except some kissing. No graphic violence or profanity.
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Escape to Manawa! You'll Be Glad You Did.

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m just a bit sad as I write this review. Why? Because book three in the “Manawa Summers” series has come to an end. A very satisfying end, but an end none the less, thus the part of me that is sad.
Once you’ve traveled to Lake Manawa, Iowa, you will never want to leave. Having spent three books there, felt the sand between my toes, the sea breeze on my face and made friends with Marguerite, Emily and Lilly, I promise you I will be visiting again and again and again…
Lilly is the star of “The Ride of Her Life” and the poor woman definitely has a ride – and it’s not all roller coaster thrills. A budding romance that might require more daring than she’s willing to chance, in-laws that should (I’m sorry) be hung by the toes for the torture they put their former daughter in law through and the cutest little boy you will read about in today’s Christian fiction.
The novel is darling. I love the characters. The romance. The little boy (yes, I know I already mentioned him, read the book and you’ll know why). The setting is truly escape-worthy. Tension abounds, along with the scent of flame-torched fried chicken. Nick is a stand-out hero, one I really wanted to see get his happily-ever-after. Perfect.
A hidden escape that becomes an intimate gathering of all that makes a good novel so incredibly enjoyable. Escape to Manawa Island, you’ll be so glad you did!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
**Available May 2012 from Revell, a division of Baker publishing.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ride of Her Life, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Roller Coaster of a Story

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a sweet story of persistence winning over fear. Nick is a man of persistence who gets what he wants. Lilly, on the other hand, has allowed her past to bring fear into her life. The love story is a roller coaster ride of progress and dips and dives in the relationship and Lilly’s learning to trust. The characters are consistent and well-developed. The story line has enough fun and turmoil and even a couple of “bad guys” to keep it interesting. A fun, read with a lesson to learn. Although this is the final book of a trilogy, it will stand on its own well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>