Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook

Revell Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook

Moved by the desire for adventure and a yearning to help the Ute Indians, twenty-year-old Shiloh Wainright impulsively accepts a teaching position at the White River Indian Agency in northwestern Colorado. The new job, however, isn't what she imagined it would be, and Shiloh soon finds herself caught in the cross fire between the Utes, their unyielding Indian Agent, and the unrealistic demands of the US government. Her unexpected encounter with Jesse Blackwater, an embittered half-breed Ute and childhood friend, only complicates matters as they battle their growing feelings for each other amidst the spiraling tensions threatening to explode into a catastrophic Indian uprising.
Average Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 out of 1782%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Explains US treatment of Indians

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend this book for young women. Story line did capture historical facts of how the government treated the Indian nations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Conflict

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A book that grew on me.
Shiloh Wainright comes to The White River Indian Agency with high hopes of being able to make a difference in the lives of the Ute Indians, as a school teacher. But conflicts quickly arise, leaving Shiloh stuck in the middle.
Jesse Blackwater is a man caught between two worlds, left bitter by his past.
History swirls and conflicts rise, will Shiloh and Jesse be able to overcome the trials set before them?
Filled with drama, and lots of tough situations. There were times when I wasn't sure if they were going to find a way out! I also really liked how historical this book was, based on true happenings, and at the same time that made it a bit tough to read because some parts were rather devastating.
There was alot going on in just one book! Yet at the same time I found it a bit hard to really connect with the characters, because alot of things that really showed us who the characters were happened in the past, bu that might just be me personally. I really admired Shiloh, though, and how she really took the time and effort to make her faith a priority, and she really did put Jesus first in her life, and chose to make the best out of a bad situation.
I think was really what made this book unique was how broadly the cultural lines were drawn, it great poignancy. I would say that this book is more of a historical than a romance, so I think that would be a great thing to know before reading it. Faced with inner and outer struggles, Jesse and Shiloh, fight back with courage, faith and forgiveness. One of the things I will say is that the more I thought about this book after I had finished it, the more it grew on me. A very well done book, indeed. Thanks!
“Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Congratulations!

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lauretta
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At last!
A book from Kathleen Morgan that is absolutely clean of unnecessary scenes that make you wonder whether the book is suitable for the Christian market or not.
Her writing is always excellent and even well researched.
The relationship between Shiloh and Jesse was founded on true friendship and love for each other that was not based on lust or their physical appearance and grew stronger in a very correct manner.
I highly recommend this book to any looking for appropriate reading for their younger daughters.
I did not read the first book in the series based on the heroine in the first scene of the book found in a very compromising situation. This makes one wonder what the rest of the book would be like if it starts like that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Booklover
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really disappointed in this book. I liked the first one, but this one was very slow. I had a hard time getting into it, kind of had to force myself to read it. I agree with another reviewer who said that it would finally get good, then slow down again. As Shiloh and Jesse struggle to figure out where they would live and what they would do they discuss her living with him with the other Ute people, but at the end they never say what they will do. I also didn't think she wrapped up Jordan's story very well. Unless her intention is to do a story for her later, it was very much open-ended. She never makes clear if she regained her memory any better or if she starts to have maternal feelings for her daughter. Finally, I found the love of an Indian who believes in many gods and a supposedly strong Christian woman who's faith is the most important thing to her to be unbelievable. If the Lord was the most important thing she would have found a strong Christian man who shared her beliefs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Devotees of a traditional Christian romance will find much to love in Kathleen Morgan’s second Heart of the Rockies novel, A Love Forbidden. The idealistic Shiloh hopes to make a difference in the life of young Ute Indians while her childhood friend, driven from her family home, Jesse Blackwater is determined to turn his back on all white people. Their attraction takes the usual twists and turns as they both consider the implications of acting on their feelings given the rising tensions between their opposing cultures. As always, Kathleen provides solid characterisation and interesting historical detail of actual events surrounding the Indian uprising, and some very tender and moving moments between Jesse and Shiloh. A Love Forbidden is an sweet read albeit without any surprises regarding the outcome which ends a little too quickly and neatly for my complete satisfaction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A refreshing book set in the 1800s

Date:June 1, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this series! I haven't read the first book, but I had not problem following along with the characters and I don't feel like I've missed anything by not reading the first book. However, I did download the first book because I wanted to see how the series started.
This was a refreshing book for me. It focused on a topic that isn't normally covered but set in the time period of the 1800s. However, when we think of the 1800s, we think big dresses, the proper ways, etc. This book focused on how the Ute Indians were being driven away from their land and how the government was not holding up their end of the treaty and basically lied to the Utes. In order to help the Utes understand the white man and to know how to deal with them and not be duped, Shiloh follows God's leading and goes to the Utes to try to teach their children how to read and be educated. The Utes aren't too fond of sending their children to school because they feel that it would mean adopting the ways of the white man and losing their own culture. Shiloh is passionate about teaching and passionate about protecting the Utes. And if that doesn't sound complicated enough to do, there's also a man, Jesse, that used to work for her father who is now with the Utes. As they attempt to continue their friendship, it begins to blossom into romance. However, you can imagine that this won't do....a Ute (who is half white, by the way) and a white well-to-do woman. So how they can move forward in their relationship when one helps the government and one helps the Utes? How can the possibly make people see and understand and possibly accept their love?
This book was different for me from what I normally get to read, but it hooked me from the beginning. I didn't want to put it down! Definitely a book that won't disappoint.
_____________________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book. You can buy this book from Revell or from any bookstore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shiloh’s been in love most of her life, but didn’t have a clue. Deciding she needs a little adventure and escape from family tensions, she signs a contract with the White River Indiana Agency.
Although she was looking forward to teaching the Ute children, she was in for some surprises when she actually arrived at her new job.
One of those surprises was Jesse, a childhood friend who happened to be a half breed. Her relationship with Jesse is an on again, off again affair. Of course, mingled in are more family problems and an Indian uprising.
Get out that box of tissues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Forgiveness

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cover on this book pulled me in, but it took me awhile to get into the story. The setting of the book is in beautiful Colorado in the late 1870's, and we get to travel through this area with the characters.
Jesse Blackwater and Shiloh Wainwright end up in the same Indian Village, when Shiloh tries to take a job there as a teacher. What a hard life poor Jesse has had and he really touched me....things that should never go on in a child's life, happened to him.
You can feel the sparks fly between the two, but Jesse or Nuaru has lost site of the God he accepted in his youth. I can see God's hand in putting Shiloh and Jesse back into ones lives in the Ute's Village.
We follow the Goverment plan to move these people off their land and onto a Reservation. Of course, there is resistance...I tried to think how I would feel with someone coming in and taking my land??
You will wonder how all of this is going to come out, and if they will survive to marry?? Also will both come to terms with Forgiveness?
This is a reality read, things that happened mixed in with a different type of Love story.
Enjoy!
I received this book from the Publisher Revell, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love and politics

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3.5 Stars
I was really drawn in by the summary of this one, I really like reading this type of story in this time period and setting. However, the story seemed a little slow for me. I really wanted to like it, but I kept finding myself trudging through lots of political facts when i wanted to read about the feelings of the characters. The book is based on real events, so I can see how the author got caught up in explaining all the facts of the situations. However, I would have preferred those events to have been the backdrop for the love story instead of the other way around.
Even though I didn't really think there was enough of it, I thought that the romance was extremely well done. I really felt the chemistry between Jesse and Shiloh. I loved that they had a history together, and I think that really strengthened their bond. Their scenes together were so believable and it was easy to be caught up in their love story. Unfortunately, the rest of the book moved rather slowly for my tastes.
I thought that I would enjoy this book more, since I really like reading about the setting and era. However, I did have fun seeing the sparks fly between the two leads.
book sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A SOLID STORY OF THE LOVE!

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A LOVE FORBIDDEN by Kathleen Morgan is an interesting inspirational historical romance set in 1879 Colorado Rockies. A fast paced story of faith,love,romance, forgiveness,compassion,healing,and two different worlds."Heart of the Rockies" series,book #2, but can be read as a stand alone. See,"A Heart Divided". "A Love Forbidden" is the story of Shiloh Wainwright,eager to use her teaching skills to improve the lives of the ute Indian children at the White River Indian Agency in northwestern Colorado. And Jesse Blackwater,an half-Ute,who was once her childhood friend until an unfortunate thing happened to him on her family's Colorado rance. A lie told that could destroy a man,sent him to his heritage,which could get him killed. Shiloh and Jesse re-unite only to find an uprising between the Ute's and the U.S. government. Shilah is captured,witness' the horrors of the uprising,her new friends are also captured or killed and she is to become a Indian's wife and slave. Unless, Jesse can get to her in time to save her. Together, Jesse and Shiloh learn God's healing,forgiveness and compassion. "A Love Forbidden' is a fast paced,story full of action,that will keep you on the edge of your seat as you follow Jesse and Shiloh on their journey to love and happiness.Anyone who enjoys Americana,Colorado Ute Indian history,romance,and a wonderful Christian read will enjoy this amazing story. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Revell,a division of Baker Publishing Group,the author's website,and My Book Addiction and More.
Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.*
RATING: 4.5
HEAT:Sweet: No sex or scenes of physical intimacy except some kissing. No graphic violence or profanity.
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too predictable in my opinion

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is book two in the Heart of The Rockies series. I didn’t read the first book so I’m not sure how much impact that would have had on my enjoyment of this story, but for some reason I had a hard time connecting with this book. It seemed very predictable, and I felt like I knew the ending of the story, right from the first chapter.
The story is sweet, and the characters are endearing, but it many ways it reminded me of a “Dr Quinn Medicine Woman” episode. The book focuses on Shiloh Wainwright who meets up again with her childhood friend, Jesse Blackwater. Jesse is a “half breed” Ute Indian who finds it hard to figure out where he belongs. The Indians view him as white, and the whites view him as Indian so he forever straddles the two worlds. Shiloh accepts a teaching position at the White River Agency, in hopes of helping the Ute children adapt to the ways and education of the white man. Little does she know, Jesse is there and they reconnect when Shiloh arrives and attempts to bring change to the Utes.
Though they rekindle old feelings for each other, it’s uncertain whether or not their relationship will ever be accepted. Overall, this is a clean love story with a nice background of historical fiction centered on the Ute Indians and their life in the Colorado Territory.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly captivating story!

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is just something about forbidden love that draws me to the story every time, especially when it has to do with Native Americans and the many prejudices they suffered over the years. There was little to compromise when it came to love. If you married you either lived with the tribe and were persecuted, or you lived among the whites and were persecuted. At any rate, I find many historical battles quite fascinating as well as the way different cultures saw things such as marriage, family, and God. The part where the massacre took place was terrifying and I felt the horror of it. But I also saw what Meeker did to provoke the situation in the first place.
This book intrigued me because of the plot and conflict and I read it quickly. The beginning was fairly traumatic and I couldn't help loving Jessie as a result. He suffered a lot over the years that it was easy to see why he was distrustful of people. I could also see the draw Shiloh felt toward him. There was something very passionate about Jessie that made me care about him. I also cared for Shiloh and appreciated her heart for people who were in unfortunate circumstances. The characters were well drawn out and the conflict kept me reading. And those ardent, searing kisses... whew! Kathleen Morgan sure knows how to stoke a romantic fire in her novels. This was a very enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Locked Away

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane A Brown
Location:Cheyenne, WY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shiloh Wainwright, a girl that followed her heart, became a woman that wouldn’t give up. Leaving her old life behind she braves the wilds of the Colorado Rockies of 1879 to become a teacher at a mission for Ute children. Struggling to get more than one child to come to school becomes a greater challenge that Shiloh expected. Working hard to convince the families she apeals with her best efforts, but makes only small headway. Danger quickly escallates as unrest grows between the Utes and the US government. The results are devastating.
Jesse Blackwater, once a close friend of Shiloh’s, must choose between the white world he left behind and his Ute family. Shill carrying affection for Shiloh he fights against his heart. But when he returns from a hunting trip to find the mission home burned and many murdered, he fears for her life. Remembering his childhood teachings, he turns to God for strength.
A Love Forbidden, will awaken your pioneer spirit..
“Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:May 20, 2012
While I've seen quite a few Kathleen Morgan novels featured on other blogs, A Love Forbidden was first I've read by the author. I had high expectations for this book—frontier life, romance, Indians, what more could you want from a western? Sadly, I didn't enjoy the book as much as I hoped.
The book started off with a bang. Flashing back several years, we are introduced to Shiloh and Jesse. The scene is intense—Jesse is being whipped by some of the ranch hands on Shiloh's family ranch. The emotions of the scene are palpable and I was immediately hooked. Unfortunately, the plot slowed down after that and I had to really push myself to finish. The story did pick up again (around page 150), but it seemed to pick up in spurts and then slow back down again. I never really connected with the characters either. I liked Jesse and Shiloh but I wasn't very invested in them or their relationship. The end of the book seemed a bit rushed as well. I think a better pace for the story would have helped me enjoy it more.
While the other reviews that have been posted have been quite positive, this book just wasn't for me. I may try another series by this author but will most likely pass on the rest of this series. [2 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Forgiveness, Faith, and Western Adventure

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A Love Forbidden by Kathleen Morgan immerses readers in the majestic Colorado Rockies during the era of tumultuous relations between Native American tribes and settlers. The plot is fraught with danger and tension with some unexpected detours along the way. I initially expected more focus to be placed on Shiloh's attempts to educate the Ute children, but a significant portion of the novel is spent away from the Indian camps. The deteriorating Indian-white relations ignite a rapid plot progression during the second half of the novel. After learning in the Author's Note that some of the events were based on historical accounts, the tragedy became more real and heartbreaking. While reading the novel, I felt a bit detached from the emotional turmoil that certain events would have caused. Shiloh witnessed disturbing scenes but seemed to have little difficulty healing, and her emotions focused more on her relationship with Jesse. Shiloh's strength and bravery is admirable, as well as her unwillingness to sacrifice her faith for Jesse's love. She faces each challenge resolutely, but I would have connected more with her character by witnessing more of her deep emotions and weaknesses.
Through Jesse's character, Morgan shows the vast differences between the Ute and white ways of life. Jesse has experienced life in both cultures, but faces an inner battle when he must decide where he belongs. As an adult, Jesse embraces the Ute faith and turns his back on his childhood Christian beliefs. The insights into his past make it easy to sympathize with his struggle to choose between life with the Utes and life with Shiloh; life with one means life without the other. A transformation in Jesse's faith is the key to his inner peace and future happiness and is pivotal in the ultimate outcome of the novel. I find it more impactful to witness life-changing events in a novel, but Jesse's decision to re-embrace the Christian faith is recounted in a conversation. Regardless, the ending is pleasing and hopefully Morgan will revisit Shiloh and Jesse into future novels.
Kathleen Morgan weaves messages of forgiveness and healing throughout the plot while incorporating romance and a breathtaking landscape. She blends historical events into the fictional plot and conveys a factual account of the events leading up to the Meeker Massacre without overwhelming the reader. A Love Forbidden is an enjoyable read with some classic western excitement that will keep readers turning the pages.
Available May 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

NOT MY FAVORITE GENRE....

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Kathleen Morgan's second book of her "Heart of the Rockies" series, Shiloh Wainwright sets out on her own to the Colorado frontier to teach the children of the Ute tribe. There she renews her acquaintance with Jesse Blackwater, whom she has not seen since he was the victim of bigotry and cruelty at the hands of her family years before. Her feelings for Jesse have not lessened, but make matters more difficult for her in her new position.
Before I say anything else, let me admit that Christian romance is not always my favorite genre. They often seem to be a string of cliches, very predictable and unbelievably sweet. With all due respect to the author, I found this novel to fall into that category. Furthermore, I was bothered by the (hopefully) outdated portrayal of Native Americans. While I realize that at that time in history they were looked upon as savages, I felt that perhaps more care could have been taken to show that while they had not yet been evangelized, they were a civilized people who deserved better treatment than they received.
If I have misunderstood the author's meaning, I apologize to her. I do not believe that it was her intent to offend. As I said earlier, this is not my favorite genre anyway, so I could be guilty of my own bias.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Baker Publishing Group <http://www. BakerPublishingGroup.com > book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Forbidden, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating fictional account of life in 1870s

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kathleen Morgan has done it again! Her new book, A Love Forbidden, is a delightful, fascinating fictional account of life and times in the late 1870's.
At that time, women were only to be wives and mothers, and were not to have a career or an opinion which did not match that of their father or husband. Indians were considered unwashed savages and not to be allowed off their reservations.
Shiloh Wainwright is different. She has not only prepared for a career as a teacher, but her desire is to teach the children of the Ute Indian tribes. She wants to help the Indians and even to make friends with those who were, at best, not considered to be on the same social level as she was.
As a child, Shiloh had, as a friend, a young Indian man named Jesse, who worked as a field hand for her father. Jesse was an embittered young man, spurning God and the white man's ways. How Jesse and Shiloh overcome their differences to become friends and learn to forgive - not only each other, but those who would wish to harm them - is a well told story.
Descriptive language, true-to-life situations, and a talent for painting word pictures so vivid that you can see, smell, and even taste as if you were there, make this a book you will not want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.