Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House My Stubborn Heart - eBook

Bethany House My Stubborn Heart - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
54 out of 5992%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
Review 1 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Romance

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katrina
Location:Western Ky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This author introduces us to two very strong characters who finds out sometimes you must just put your faith in God and follow where he leads you.
Kate Donovan travels from Dallas to Redbud, Penn. with her grandmother. Kate is taking a much needed break from her job as a social worker and using this time to help restore the home her grandmother grew up in. This is a huge renovation and her grandmother has hired Matt Jarreau to assist them. Kate recognizes a troubled soul when she sees one and when she finds out Matt's history her one true goal was to make him laugh. Matt is a former pro hockey player who just walked away from it all when his wife died. He has lived a quiet life since moving to Redbud, but when he meets Kate and her grandmother his life will never be the same. These characters give you a glimpse of their heart and soul showing strong emotions of tenderness and compassion. Life doesn't always happen they way we plan.
I loved this book. I would recommend it to anyone who loves reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Becky Wade.
I've recently determined that she knows how to write exactly the kind of romance I love. Her books aren't overly cheesy, the characters act like real people and I laugh out loud through most of the story. She's a great writer and I shall now be singing her praises right alongside my other favorite authors.
So that being said... you might be getting a bit of a biased review. :)
Kate and Matt are wonderful characters. I love the spunky woman who gives her all to restore a broken soul. I love the brooding yet vulnerable hero who isn't afraid to put his heart out on the line when he knows he still has a chance to win the girl he loves. I love meddling old people who bring a little joy into lonely lives and I love hockey players. Good looking ones. So ya... you might say this was my kind of book!
I highly recommend this story if you love a funny, lighthearted romance with depth. I'd read it again. In fact, I probably will...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun, lighthearted Christian Romance

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a fun, lighthearted read. I thoroughly enjoyed Becky Wade's writing style. The story is both humorous and fun, yet it has a powerful message. I fell in love with the little town of Redbud and Chapel Bluff through the pictures the author painted. The interaction between the characters was comical and the dialogue felt very realistic.
I loved Kate Donovan. Her character was smart, funny, strong, and yet so human. Her actions spoke of her faith in God, but she wasn't written as a saint. She recognized her faults and worked to keep them in check. It's refreshing to see a Christian author write such human characters. Matt Jarreau's character really struck me, on a very personal level. His actions and personality at the beginning of the story spoke of his great loss and his anger and bitterness toward God. He, also, was written as a very human character. It's hard to capture the emotion and grief a person goes through after a loss, and Becky Wade did an amazing job. The supporting characters were just as great! I loved the "seniors" and their role in the story. Their interaction with Kate and Matt kept the story fun and interesting.
The romance between Matt and Kate was well written, yet not overplayed. The Christian message was two fold. For Matt, learning that God forgives and is always there for you, even when you can't see Him or feel Him through your hurt, was the hardest. Kate's role in Matt's life was to help bring him to that realization through her interactions with him. Kate, while strong in her faith, struggled with learning that God's way is the best way, even when you don't think so.
Overall, this is a fun, lighthearted romance with a great message. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More Depth and Character than a Typical Romance

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kate has come to Pennsylvania to help her grandmother restore the family home, and to give herself a break from the job she no longer loves. When she meets their contractor, Matt, she senses that there is something broken within him and makes it her mission to draw him out and to become his friend. As she gets him to let her in bit by bit, however, she finds that there may be more, and less, to her mission than she'd thought or hoped for.
This book started off a little rocky for me; I found the "setting of the stage" in the prologue to be a strange start. While it gave some background on the main characters, it took me awhile to adjust from the odd opening to get into the story. Once I was in, however, I was hooked. Kate's persistence in winning over Matt was sweet, and there was just enough of the story from his point of view to see when he transitioned from being annoyed by her into being impressed by her. Her insights with what God was doing with Matt, and her struggles with choosing to follow His lead gave the story more depth than a typical romance. Throw in a supporting cast of 70-somethings, and a quirky antiques appraiser, and this was one of the most original feeling books I've read in awhile.
I give this book 4 stars; I wish I could revisit these characters again in a couple of years and see how they're doing.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good and Typical

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is your typical Christian contemporary romance, this book resonated with me on many levels. I sympathized with Kate, and I am sure I have a guy in my life very similar to Matt. This debut Christian romance does not disappoint, and it has a wide audience appeal. Everyone from the incurable romantic, to the sportsperson to the amateur antique hunter will probably find something to like in this book.
Almost until the last several pages, I was completely immersed in this story. I found it humorous at times, and sometimes I found it even somewhat emotional. Becky Wade was able to strike the perfect balance between Kate and Matt, and I did not feel any of the romance between them was sappy.
That is until the end. I was disappointed that the author seemed to speed through the ending--almost like she had to wrap things up too quickly. I also did not like the fact that Kate dropped out of church and still ended up discovering God's will. I get tired of stories that end too abruptly, but since this is a debut novel, I will give the author some slack. The fact that she made me like a contemporary romance certainly shows me she is a good author since contemporary romances are not normally "my thing."
This is a fast read, and for the incurable romantics out there, you will not be sorry you picked up this book!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Read!

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronya
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s so much fun to discover a fun new author…even more fun when that discovery comes by winning a contest! I had been looking at My Stubborn Heart on the bookstore bookshelf for quite a while, but with so many other books by authors I knew that I wanted to purchase, and not knowing this author, it ended up on the back burner. Of course, now all of Becky’s books are on my Must-Buy/Must-Read list.
I’m not exactly sure what I was expecting, but I was pleasantly surprised by how quickly Becky captured my attention in this book. I immediately fell in love with the characters. I live with my 85-year-old grandmother, so the cute relationship between Kate and her grandma (and Grandma’s menagerie of friends) was familiar and enjoyable.
The setting was enchanting, an old family estate in need of restoration. Of course, with an estate to restore, we need a handyman. I always enjoy a story with a handyman. I have no idea why, but I don’t think I’ve read a handyman story yet that I didn’t like. Silly, but true!
Our handyman in this book, Matt, was really hurting and far from God. He is in need of restoration himself. When Kate, Grandma and friends arrive on the scene God meets them right in the middle of all the crazy fun and heart-bearing moments.
I enjoyed the realistic manner in which the characters interacted. Our experiences shape the way we see and react to things and how we therefore expect others to react. In the same way, our characters were shaped by what they had experienced. They had expectations of each other and God that stemmed from their experiences and their perceptions of them. It was also refreshing that our characters were not perfect. Even the characters who were following God closely sometimes acted on their own and didn’t do things as God would have guided. These aspects made for a story that can not only be enjoyed but related to and the lessons applied to our own lives too.
Becky is a wonderful writer who knows just how to grab your heart and pull you into the story. She throws in just enough humor and fun to keep you laughing while you learn with the characters to trust God to see you through. I am now really looking forward to Undeniably Yours!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent story! I didn't want to put it down.

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lori Z
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent story! I didn't want to put it down. I loved the character of Matt the hockey player especially, and how she drew him out and helped him to change. Great love story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Light Read

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Location:Atlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade is a novel about a young woman burned out by her job and frustrated by her lack of success in the dating pool. As a means of escape, she joins her grandmother on a renovation project at an old family estate. The man hired to do the repairs is a former professional athlete who does his best to fly under the radar and shield his wounded heart from everyone. As is to be expected, the two of them soon develop an attraction to each other that neither one is willing to admit. The title of the book can aptly be applied to both characters.
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. In addition to the main storyline about Kate and Matt, there is a subplot about Kate’s grandmother and her group of zany elderly friends. Gram and her friends are quite entertaining as they not-so-subtly try to encourage a pairing between Kate and Matt.
One thing I particularly liked about this novel was that the timeframe over which events took place was realistic. Matt and Kate did not fall for each other and then end up married in a few short months. The author took time to allow the characters to grow and change at a believable pace.
Overall, this book is a light read with engaging characters and a good storyline. I would recommend it to others, and it would make a great beach read for the summer.
Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Enjoyable Read With Heart, Hope, and Humor

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew this book was worth 5 stars in the FIRST two pages and the story DOES NOT disappoint at any point along the way. This is Wade’s first book??!! She absolutely writes a bestseller with heart, hope, humor, and finding out how God can use brokenness even in a stubborn heart. If it were possible, I’d bestow 6 or 7 stars on this book easily. I fell in love with Kate’s character right away and if she were real, I’d want her for a best friend. I so understood her feelings, her faith, and her fears in every part of the story and anything she experienced I was right there with her. I have very little in common with her (I’m not into antiques or taffy), but I totally related to the inability and not wanting to cook. Watching the friendship between her and Matt develop and grow while Kate puts all her creativity and efforts into restoring Chapel Bluff was such a treat and I really felt the large house transform into a real home as they worked on it.
There is plenty of romance, but the way Wade writes it is so subtle and precious that I was sucked into it and turning pages to see what would be the next step. There’s a scene in Pride and Prejudice where Darcy touches Elizabeth’s hand to help her into the carriage as she leaves. She is surprised at his gesture and as he walks away from the carriage, the camera focuses on his hand. His hand reacts to this touch they shared and the viewer comes to appreciate that even that little touch has so much power in it! That’s how it felt reading this book. The simplest gestures, looks, body language, conversation or lack of….speaks VOLUMES in this story! It’s a challenge to convey this in a film much less in a book, but Wade effortlessly takes the reader through this journey of emotions and house restoration with each character and keeps you wanting more. I actually laughed and cried in this one, the tension in this story is tangible, and I learned a lot with Kate and Matt’s story. I hope Wade continues to writes books because her storytelling skills will resonate with readers for years to come and I’m thankful for authors like her; she has touched me, inspired me, romanced me, and blessed me with her FIRST book, WOW!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Romance!

Date:April 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this book. I loved the characters of Matt and Kate. Both are struggling in their own way. This is a story of deep hurt and loss, broken relationships, and a loss of faith in God.
Does God put certain people in our path to help our healing from a loss and deep hurt? Does he care about us if we have broken relationships? Can God restore our faith through love, caring, and just being there for another person?
I really bonded with Matt and Kate and was a cheerleader for them. I held my breath when things weren't going the way I wanted them to. I laughed and smiled too with other loveable characters in this book. I will admit toward the end I cried. This book really touched me.
Even though this was the authors debut book I must admit I read her second book, Undeniably Yours, first. Undeniably Yours was also a 5 star book for me. I am so looking forward to this author's next book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable romance novel

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
momof2
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this fun contemporary romance novel titled My Stubborn Heartfollow by Becky Wade. Kate who is the main character in this book takes time off work to help her grandma restore an old house. This is where she meets Matt who is the contractor. Matt has some deep scars from a tragedy in his past life and isn’t looking for love. With Kate’s insistence on finding out more and more about Matt and his pain, Matt’s defenses begin to crumble. The story also includes a crazy cast of seniors who “help” Matt and Kate’s connection to grow. I’m not going to tell you how the story ends. You will need to read this book to find out but I can tell you it has a great ending!
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House. All opinions are 100% my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Romance to Fall in Love With

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
It's been a long time since I read a romance novel that left me completely and utterly speechless. No joke...I'm not the target market for romance novels. I was as an impressionable, young, braces-on-my-teeth teenager complete with a dad who thought I shouldn't read so many of them (even if they were Christian). Since then, I'm not so impressionable, but I find that my attention wanders greatly. So, imagine my surprise to find one that I fell in love with from start to finish. I loved Matt's moodiness, Kate's persistence, and oh...those sweet, meddling, need-to-go-on-a-date seniors who were nosy as all-get-out. I loved the redemptive theme and the unfailing love of God that was present in every chapter. But if the truth be told, I really, really loved the romance. It was the kind that made me feel all giddy inside with loads of warm fuzzies. It was the kind that made me want to give my hubby that extra kiss in the morning before work. And it was the kind that made me thankful for parents who have been married for 40+ years and have had a romance that has endured all those hard times.
So, maybe I'll get back on that romance bandwagon. Well...leastwise when Becky Wade comes along with her next novel. You better believe that I'll be jumping on for that ride. :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I wish this book would be made into a movie!

Date:November 15, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Withering under a load of burn out, Kate Donovan agrees to accompany her grandmother to Pennsylvania and spend a few months restoring the old house that her grandmother grew up in. Matt Jarreau, the handsome man her grandmother hired to renovate the house, is a loner. When Kate's innocent attempts at friendship with him are rebuffed, her stubborn heart refuses to let her stop reaching out. As tension grows between Kate and Matt, so does something else. A love that leads them to a greater revelation of God's love for them. As they both face career decisions and the pain of Matt's past, only a love stronger than themselves will be able to hold them together. Can they accept God's will? Or must they sacrifice their hope and love?
My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade far exceeded my expectations. From the explanatory, yet intriguing prologue, I was hooked on the story line. I would love to see this book made into a movie. To me, it has has all the great elements: authentic characters complete with flaws and pain, a strong mysterious male, romantic tension between the two main characters, personal tension internal to each character, and redemptive love. Kate essentially sums up the theme of the book during a conversation with Matt: “He [God] never promised us that we wouldn't suffer. But He's too good just not to redeem it. And He does promise us that He won't leave us. That He'll be with us through the worst. That He loves us.” (Page 180) This theme, woven into both the plot and characters, is strong enough to touch the reader's heart. My Stubborn Heart is one of the best books I've read this year and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys romantic fiction. I'll definitely be looking forward to more books by Becky Wade!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Chick Lit!

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade is a very fresh novel. It is a Christian romance novel, but unlike any I have read before. The author kept the emotions, actions, and thoughts real. For example, the main character, Kate, complains about her breast size, Kate and Matt have an argument, and one sentence was, "He kissed her and kissed her and kissed her and she kissed him back, until she was forced to come up for air." I have read too many Christian romance novels where things like that aren't mentioned. However, how many of us Christian women didn't have body image issues especially when dating? Or you didn't kiss your boyfriend passionately?
The characters were well-developed and the story flowed well, which made it hard to put down. Although I had nothing in common with the main character except our ages, I really liked Kate. She was spunky and although we had nothing in common, I felt like we could be friends!
The book had a couple of enjoyable secondary stories and lots of humor. There was a wide range of emotions in the book, especially as Matt's past was incredibly sad.
One complaint is that I don't know if the author thought out the whole restoring the house storyline completely through. If I was renovating a house, I don't know that I would have painted all of the walls before having the floors sanded and refinished (too much dust being kicked up on freshly painted walls).
Additionally, I don't feel that the end of the book was as strong as the rest of the book. I wasn't disappointed, though. Perhaps it is that it ended abruptly. I felt the author could have built up the last chapter more.
All in all, I really enjoyed this book, and look forward to reading more books by Becky Wade.
I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher, in exchange for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Healing, Soul Searching and Love

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed My Stubborn Heart. It was perfect for some fun summer reading. I've always thought it would be so neat to restore a old house. While walking and thinking God's words to Matthew come to mind: " If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, nothing will be impossible for you". Kate had a plan she just hoped this plan was not only the right plan but maybe included a little love. In step's Matt the former hockey player that is now working with her to renovate the her childhood home. Both Matt and Kate have some soul searching and healing to do. God works in mysterious ways and has he placed them together to help each other heal and find love?
thank you Bethany House for sending me a review copy of My Stubborn Heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bravo Becky Wade! Calling all the romantics!

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, the happy ending! A hero to sigh for, a heroine that every girl can understand, a love story that grips you from the very first word. I spent one whole day finishing this book and I am quite satisfied!
Wow! Bravo, Becky Wade! I couldn't put this one down. My Stubborn Heart has received well-deserved rave reviews and I'm glad I got the chance to embark on the adventure. And if you also chose to, I believe that at the end of it you'll most likely feel the same.
Very good story line, with believable and retable characters. Laugh-out-loud funny story, SO cute, witty and also deep. To be honest, I can't believe this a debut and I'm definitely adding Becky Wade to my list of authors to look out for.
Bravo! Again Bravo!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Beautiful story

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joanna
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kate Donavan along with her grandmother and retired friends are most enjoyable characters. Matt Jarreau, a former high level hockey player who suffered a tragic loss, has been hired to restore Kate's grandmother's family home in Redbud, PA. God does work on the main characters' stubborn hearts, but the Christian inferences were not as subtle or as uplifting as I would have liked. The answers or conversations directly from God that pop into the characters' heads bothered me. Yet the book is an easy, enjoyable read, and I thank Bethany House for sending me a copy to review. I would read another book by this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this story!

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very well developed Christian romance book. This author is a great writer and I will be reading every book she writes.
This book is about Kate Donovan and Matt Jarreau. How they meet and fall in love is the majority of the story. I personally liked the ending the best. It is realistic yet romantic. I thought the relationship that Kate had with the other important characters in the story was well written and believable. I liked how Matt interacted with the people in the town. The author’s portrayal of this characters reaction to events was excellent.
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I liked how the story moved at a realistic pace. You can see how the relationship between the two main characters develops and it is at a realistic pace as well. I liked how easily the words flowed in the book making this story very easy to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good Christian romance!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Relaxing Sunday Reader
Location:Marion, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised to find out this was Becky Wades first novel. I am certain it will not be her last. I am writing having just finished its pages and my faces is stained with tears of first sadness then anxiety then joy. The characters are unbelievably believable, and the story line very true to life. I got so into this book that I put down my 'to do list" for the afternoon just to find out how it ended. I would recommend this read to anyone who loves real life romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for My Stubborn Heart - eBook
This review is fromMy Stubborn Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the read

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Keira
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review
My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade
I found this book to be an easy read and entertaining enough to hold my attention. The characters seemed realistic, down to earth and easily relatable. I enjoyed the relationship between Kate and her grandmother and appreciated the emphasis on spending quality time with people outside the normal social circles. I enjoyed getting a glimpse into Matt's thoughts as well and would have enjoyed more of those. The book was only a little cheesy and that was easily overlooked by the refreshing honest that the characters held. Although not perhaps completely congruent with the decision of a early thirties women i did like the attempt at relationship restraint. I enjoy her relationship with God and the ease that it carried however it could have harbored more dialog and honesty on her side of it and more then one word answers on His. I would recommend this book to my friends as a light and uplifting book. I would say it is overall worth the read.
I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.