Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Submerged - eBook

Bethany House Submerged - eBook

Bailey Craig vowed never to set foot in Yancey, Alaska, again. She has a past reputation, and Yancey's a town that doesn't forget. She's returned only to bury her beloved aunt killed in the mysterious plane crash.

Cole McKenna faces dangerous rescue dives and he faces the fear that a murderer may be threatening his town. But facing the reality of Bailey's reappearance is a tougher challenge. She broke his heart...

Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
62 out of 6497%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Submerged - eBook
Review 1 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5-Star Material

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What else could possibly happen?
Dani Pettrey has a series in play that’s every bit as exciting as watching the Red Sox win the World Series. You will want to add Dani’s three, soon to be four, books to your must read list – all are 5-star material.
Submerged marks Bailey Craig’s return to Alaska – a place she fled from years before – to bury a beloved aunt who’d been killed in a plane crash. But all is not as it seems and soon Bailey and former love of her live, Cole McKenna, are embroiled in a mystery investigation as the body count rises. Will they solve the mystery or will they, and it, remain submerged?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thriller - Romance, Suspense, Good plot & charac

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sabotaged flight. Two murdered divers. A single clue—a grainy image of sunken treasure.
Dive Rescue Captain Cole McKenna has never worked a case like this, but who he’s working with may prove more dangerous than the assignment. It’s been a lifetime since Bailey mangled his heart. Now she’s back in town and he needs her expertise to track down the illusive treasure.
Professor of Russian Studies Bailey Craig vowed never to set foot in Yancey again, but when her beloved aunt dies, she has no choice. Her plan of attack is simple: return for Agnes’s funeral, get the family business ready for a quick sale, and then put Yancey and all the heartbreaking memories wrapped up in it behind her for good.
Cole walking through her door, asking for her help on a murder investigation, wasn’t part of her plan, neither are the feelings he’s resurrecting—feelings best left dead.
Bailey agrees to help for the sake of the victims, and travels with Cole across Alaska’s rugged terrain and deep beneath its coastal waters. As the case escalates, so do their feelings for one another. Unfortunately, not everyone is willing to let go of the past and just when Bailey thinks she can’t take it any longer, the case shifts in a new and extremely personal direction, fastening her in for its duration.
Racing against the clock and a rising body count, Cole and Bailey fight to find the treasure and uncover the hidden history at the root of it all. But will they be too late?
Carol R. Gehringer
Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chantelle
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a fan of Dee Henderson you will love this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stumbled upon this book!

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
MerryMary
Location:Londonderry, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually found this book while on my town library's website. I was totally captivated by the cover and ordered it immediately! This book did not disappoint. Great story, great characters, twists and turns that you don't see coming. I have now read all 3 in the series. Great author. Enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure & romance in the land of midnight sun...

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is, rather obviously, my first time reading one of Dani Pettrey's books. I had read quite a few reviews and blog posts about the Alaskan Courage series so there was quite a build-up for reading it. So, I was pretty excited to receive a copy in the mail. It didn't take long to find out what everyone was 'talking' about, just a glance at the cover pulls you in and the author takes it from there, on a wild Alaskan adventure.
Bailey is a very likable heroine. She has every reason to feel very confident, she is intelligent, well educated, successful, and isn't the plainest of Janes. But she doesn't feel very confident at all, nope, going back to her hometown in Alaska just brings back her rocky past and the painful moniker she has tried to flee. She's a Christian now, changed a lot, but will she stay long enough to prove it?
Cole is a pretty cool guy. The oldest son, he let go of some of his dreams to come home and take care of his younger siblings. He is responsible, gentle, kind, and everything that Bailey finds hard to resist. His faith is a major part of his life, it wasn't always so, but he leans on it heavily now. With his siblings, Cole runs a shop that rents diving equipment as well as tours, and is also involved in rescue/recovery dives. Will he fall for Bailey again? And if so, will she just break his heart for a second time?
I loved the suspense thread in Submerged, the melding of modern diving and history. The mystery and romance are nicely balanced. The little bit of Russian and Russian-Alaskan history that are woven through the story were simply fascinating. I know there was some literary license but still... The story kept me reading long after I should have gone to bed, and when I finally had to sleep, I picked it up first thing in the morning so I could find out what was happening next.
I did wonder a little bit at the characters wearing shorts, sundresses, and flip-flops so often but I since I have never been to Alaska I won't question it too much.
Engaging characters, AMAZING scenery, danger, and romance make Submerged a great read!
(I won this book in a giveaway and am in no way obligated to review it. I have chosen to do so and all opinions are my own)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Submerged by Dani Pettrey

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submerged by Dani Pettrey*****
Bailey Craig moved to Oregon 10 years ago to get away from her past in Tariuk Island, in Yancey Alaska and plans never to return there. During those 10 years she has changed a lot about the way she lives and is now a devoted Christian. But she gets a call from a friend, Gus Holbrook in Yancey informing her of her beloved Aunt Agnes Grey’s death in a plane crash. Gus wants to know how soon she can arrive for her aunt’s funeral and go over details of her aunts business, The Russian-American Trading Post and living space above, hers now. As Bailey goes through Agnes’s things, both business and personal, something doesn’t seem right. As she digs deeper, she has a strong feeling that Aunt Agnes’s plane crash was not accidental.
Long time friend, Cole McKenna, remains on the island and continues to work at his family owned business, Last Frontier Adventure. He too has changed over the years and now follows Christ. He has never forgotten Bailey and likely never will. A certified search and rescue diver, he and his crew go into the water to rescue survivors from the plane crash only to find that the three passengers have died. Agnes Grey is one of the passengers of the small plane. Along with Deputy Landon Grainger, Cole seeks answers to causes of the plane crash and soon discovers evidence that the plane crash was not accidental. There are two more bizarre deaths on the island and they now suspect that the two other deaths are somehow related to Agnes’s death/murder as well.
Cole and Bailey end up working together to find out why those on the plane with Agnes and the two other deaths on the island were murdered and if there is a connection. Tensions are high as they try to overcome their past feelings, anger and find their feelings are just as strong.
I was captured from the first page and had a hard time putting it down until I finished it. I love Bailey, Cole and the rest of the characters in the book. They all have struggles much like we do in our own lives making them so real. I found myself getting so involved in their lives throughout the book. Dani paints such a clear picture of Alaska’s beauty and its history I felt I was right there. This is a great book full of mystery, suspense, romance, history, family dynamics, Christian values, forgiveness and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent! Hard to put down!

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book! Hard to put down! Can't wait for the next I the series to come out, and I'm looking forward to having the whole series so I can read them all again back-to-back!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Alaskan mystery

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alaskamom
Location:Alaska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submerged is a book I enjoyed for it's connection to Alaska; reading the quirks of Alaskan life in a novel form was fun. Reading about the diving lifestyle in Alaskan waters was interesting as well.
There is also a story of heartbreak, forgiveness & reconciliation throughout the story. Just a heads up, I found this book to be a more intense than I expected - might have been due to the underwater elements.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SUPENSE!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sophie returns to Hickory Ridge determined to make her mark as a journalist.
Ethan is a talented architect and is in charge for building the Blue Smoke Resort. But when Sophie's editorial puts his job in danger unexpected events unfold. Will Sophie and Ethan find where their hearts belong?
Even though it is the third in a series, Every Perfect Gift stands well on it's own. I loved how the characters where compelling and complex, struggling to reconcile their pasts and forgive.
I loved how their were unexpected twists to the story. The characters where truly engaging and I really came to care for them, which kept me reading because I wanted to know what would happen next.
Overall, a well paced story that engages and entertains, with characters that made me love them. A lovely book, that I wouldn't be shy to recommend.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow. Loved It!

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading and enjoying “Shattered” for the blog tour, I decided I needed to read the first book in the series. I finally convinced the library to get it…and can we say – New Favorite Book! Wow, it was so good. The first half? Yup, awesome. The second half? Beyond belief amazing. Now, a few things that stood out to me…the cover. Pretty cool. If you look close, you’ll note that the model had on mascara, which is now smearing in streaks down her face. Which I think is super cool because as any girl who’s ever gotten wet with un-water-proof-mascara on knows…that’s exactly what it does. Makes this cover real to me!
Once again, I loved the Alaska setting. It’s an amazing place, and I love it up there – reading books set there is a delight! Cole and Bailey too were such a delight to read about. I loved them both! And yes, I’m overusing the word love/d. ;) The suspense was super suspenseful, and the adventures and excitement were simply stunning. I also really loved getting to know Piper a bit in this book! I feel like I need to read “Shattered” again and see them all again now that I know them better! There were some very unique and fascinating settings – and concepts for the story as well. I was riveted the whole way through. I’m considering buying this one (despite the fact that the library now has it), but even if I decide not to buy it myself, I’ll be requesting it for my birthday or Christmas. It was THAT good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great new suspense author!

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the second book, Shattered, before this one and I although I still enjoyed it I would recommend starting with Submerged first. There was a lot of history with the characters that I had previously missed out on. This is Dani's first book, I believe, and what a start to her career! She is right up there in my opinion with well known suspense authors such as Irene Hannon and Lynette Eason. And she's extra cool because she's a fellow homeschooling mom.
I was immediately sucked into the story and didn't want to come up for air until I was done, but of course I had to a couple of times. I loved that it was set in Alaska, and that the McKenna's owned a dive shop - not something you would expect in Alaska! They use dry suits but even so that water must be awfully cold.
I saw today that the next book in the series, Stranded, is coming out this fall and I can't wait to read it. I like it when a series follows different people each book, but the characters are somehow known or related in some way to the ones you've already read about in previous books. This series follows the McKenna siblings.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Duke
Location:Beaver Dam, Ky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the book very much. Looking forward to the 2nd book
e 2nd
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read but not my favorite

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Billie Rayborn
Location:Pascagoula, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good book, but rather formulaic in my opinion. I've read several that follow the same form with just different situations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awsome story

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
mmmmm
Location:LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the good always prevails. This story has good story line. I enjoyed every minute of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic Debut from Dani Pettrey!

Date:March 6, 2013
I'm not sure why I put off reading this book for so long. I suppose I just didn't make the time for it. Shame on me, because it was simply fantastic! It's nearly impossible to believe that this is Dani Pettrey's debut novel. The plot was so tight and the suspense was incredibly well-written! I was intrigued from the very beginning and enjoyed the roller coaster to the end.
I love, love, LOVED Bailey and Cole and thoroughly enjoyed watching their relationship develop. Plus, Cole's family (clan may be more appropriate) was a lot of fun too. I look forward to getting to know them in future books. My only complaint was that things wrapped up a little quickly at the end. Minor complaint, though!
I wholeheartedly recommend Submerged and can't wait to see where Dani takes readers from here! [4.5 stars]
I was not asked to review this book. I offer my review freely. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
AntieM
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A very nice Christian mystery. It was entertaining, and kept my attention. I would definitely purchase books by this author again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great first book

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emmy Sue
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is amazing! I was scared, sad, excited, in suspense...everything a book should have within its pages. There was just enough romance for my taste; it's not dripping with it, but it was sprinkled throughout to make me go, "Aww!" at times, and not, "Blech!."
Ms. Pettrey delivered with this! I love it when books show sibling love and rivalry, and she did this with ease.
I usually have a hard time reading books that contain an insanely evil villain, but SUBMERGED has one that is just that; insane. And it made sense. I don't know how, but she made this guy completely believable. My hat's off to you, Dani.
Something else that impressed me was the author's ability to create a complex protagonist. Bailey Craig made some really bad choices in her school years, and even though she is a new creation in Christ, the image of her old self haunts her. It's not easy for her to forget, especially when she has to face her past head-on when she returns to her hometown of Yancey, Alaska, where her scorned first love still lives. Not to mention, the whole town knows of her escapades, and a few of its residents still taunt and harass her relentlessly.
I'd recommend this book because it's filled with hope and new beginnings. Anyone who has made mistakes in their past--and who hasn't?--will find hope when they read SUBMERGED. I can't wait until book #2 in the Alaskan Courage Series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Debut Suspense!

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
What a fabulously suspenseful novel from debut author Dani Pettrey!! Never before have I read a book with such a great mix of historical elements balanced against heart-pounding action. Considering that Dani's novel was set in Alaska, it wasn't far-fetched to include some intriguing Russian components, and believe me, they made the story. I normally shy away from Russian history or talk of czars and such in fiction, but the way it was presented here was so very interesting! Dani may have just gotten me a little farther outside my comfort zone in books here... :o)
The only thing (and truly, this really was the only thing) that I didn't care for were the character's names. With the exception of one or two, they were all a bit too faddish for me, and truthfully, a bit difficult to tell them apart in the beginning. I'm hoping for at least a few people to have more normal names in book two.
In spite of that one qualm, I can't wait to see what Dani has in store for these Alaska folks next! My guess is that it will be another gripping adventure full of twists and turns, and it'll be great for this reader to make a return trip to Yancey. :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rudy Lady
Location:Rudy, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this book. I am not into history but this book was so good even with the parts of history in it. I did not want to put it down. I look forward to the next book or books in this series. I would highly recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Submerged - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ ROMANTIC SUSPENSE!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
SUBMERGED by Dani Pettrey is an exciting inspirational romantic suspense. It is the beginning of a new series, "Alaskan Courage" and what a beginning. It is fast paced and action packed. Written with vivid descriptions and a cast of characters that will steal your heart away. What an amazing story of faith,suspense,danger,the Alaskan countryside,rescue divers,treasure diving,mystery,romance,family secrets,murder,second chances,healing and forgiveness. It has everything a romantic suspense reader could possibly want to read and than some. Follow,Bailey Craig and Cole McKenna into uncharted waters as they navigate their feelings for each other,stay alive and find a killer. "Submerged" will leave you breathless as you try to figure out who,what and why of the murders. A must read that will keep you up all night. I can hardly wait for the next installment into the "Alaskan Courage" series. What a debut! An author to watch for. If you enjoyed Dee Henderson, or Lynette Eason you will enjoy Dani Pettrey. Received for an honest review from the publisher.Details can be found at Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group,the author's website, and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING:SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.